Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you do if a car blocked your driveway?

• 27-10-2013 07:45AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,933 ✭✭✭

Yesterday our car was completely blocked in for several hours.

Luckily we didn't need to go anywhere. But it did make me curious what do you do when this happens? Call the guards? Is this a community warden thing? Do you ring them up separately?

I nearly wanted to call in principle, but in the end let it slide without even a snarky note. But I'd like to know what to do next time especially if we had a pressing need to use our car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

newkie wrote: »

Luckily we didn't need to go anywhere. But it did make me curious what do you do when this happens? Call the guards? Is this a community warden thing? Do you ring them up separately?

I nearly wanted to call in principle, but in the end let it slide without even a snarky note. But I'd like to know what to do next time especially if we had a pressing need to use our car.
    It must be one of the most annoying thing that someone can do to you . It happened me twice a few years ago in town by the same car that seemed to think he had every right to block me in when he went for a Saturday morning stroll around the shops .
    The second time I put his wing mirror to the sky and that ended his parking there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭.243

Happened to me a few years ago when i was working on a house,the householder had told me that she herself was getting blocked in by the same car occasionally,
    So i knocked on doors,rang the local garda station no luck,
    So i made a call to a friend who arrived with a jeep and a chain and we dragged it down and left it in the middle of the street with just enough room to get around it
    The householder rang me 2 hours later to say the gardai arrived with a tow truck and removed the problem
    An hour after that i got a second call to say an oul biddy arrived back with bags of shopping and the bags were from the shops in the city centre so she parked there to go in on the train,
    And instead of coming back to find her car she came back to two very neat black straight lines on the road

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭hoody

I definitely wouldn't tolerate this. Best option is to call the guards and ask for their advice - although this wouldn't carry the same sense of satisfaction as the direct action that moy83 and .243 went for!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭.243

hoody wrote: »
    I definitely wouldn't tolerate this. Best option is to call the guards and ask for their advice - although this wouldn't carry the same sense of satisfaction as the direct action that moy83 and .243 went for!
    unfortunatly the guards cant do anything unless its obstructing a public footpath or a road

.243 wrote: »
    unfortunatly the guards cant do anything unless its obstructing a public footpath or a road

Remove the number plates and say it's abandoned, they won't belong getting involved then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,400 ✭✭✭inisboffin

I believe they can if it is blocking access to your driveway, at least that's what they told my neighbour. A car was parked *partially* across, but just enough room to drive in, and they could do nothing. Same guy was back next week and totally blocked it so neighbour rang guards. They looked up the plates and rang owner and said if he didn't move it would be towed as it was blocking a driveway access. This was an ongoing problem so it obviously wouldn't help if it was just a one off person gone shopping.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Remove the number plates and say it's abandoned, they won't belong getting involved then.
    It won't be their problem. They'll tell you to call the Council

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 478 ✭✭Stella Virgo

call the cops,tell them u have urgent appt,etc,at the very least they will put a 40e ticket on it :D. they can get it towed. (did ya never see all the cars with tickets, clamps, at the matches in salthill??):D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,890 ✭✭✭tomdempsey200

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭Murt10

Might also be an idea, if you could, to get someone to park right up against their rear bumper and someone else to park right in front, blocking them in.

When they knock at your door to ask you you if you know who owns the cars, you can ask them if they are in a hurry anywhere, and feign sympathy.

After an appropriate period you can have the other cars move.

Be even better if they call the Gardai. The other cars are correctly parked, they are the ones that are illegally parked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭dricko_lim

Happened to someone I know who got so fed up they smeared dog $hit under the door handles. Safe to say they never returned :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,653 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Obstructing a private entrance is an offence, so they can deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,453 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Victor wrote: »

The trick is to find a way of asking for their help in a way that motivates them to actually do so.

Using a calm reasonable tone while mentioning your urgent hospital appointment may help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,196 ✭✭✭Shint0

Exactly. It's an offence under the RTA as emergency services also need to be able to gain access.

Jam a banana up the exhaust.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,156 ✭✭✭Iwannahurl

unfortunatly the guards cant rarely do anything unless its obstructing a public footpath or a road or someone's driveway

FYP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭flower tattoo

A neighbour kept parking slightly over my drive making it very difficult to get in so we got a friend with a land rover to push the car down the road, but still up against the kerb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Ram the sh*t out of it yo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,436 ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

They won't unfortunately. Had the same thing happen to me. The Guards came (fairly quickly in fairness). The knocked on a few doors and then just shrugged their shoulders. They said they couldn't get it moved unless it was an emergency situation (undefined) and told me I had to call the council, which I did, but they never called out and the car was eventually moved by the owner about a day and a half later.
    I gave the owner a good bollocking about it but someone else just parks there the next time.
    The joys of city centre living.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

I came home from work one morning to find someone parked in my driveway.

Turns out they were in the clinic across the road, the excuse was "oh I always parked here while the house was empty" my response was "il rip the door off and shove it up your ass if I ever see you again"

Haven't seen him since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I'd use one of the other entrances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

It's just... I can't even... people actually just park in a private driveway as if it's a public space?!! :eek:
    It's mind-boggling!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

What if it's a private estate though?

Our estate is around since the nineties and for some reason or another the council never took it over.

So we can't call the council and wouldn't the Gardaí said it's a civil issue as it's not a public road?

AH answer: employ a skanger to stand around with a screwdriver

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭Frosty McSnowballs

Ah some people have a dick for a head and think they can park anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Cork selfbuild

I would call 2 friends around and block the car in so there is only 1" space from bumper to bumper on each end and refuse to move either car... nothing beats a taste of their own medicine.

Thankfully doesn't happen any more where I live now but used to when I was renting in different areas. Some people are complete inconsiderate pr*cks.

Other one would be if its a repeat offender, buy a clamp in Halfords and put up a €100 release fee, or paint a yellow box on the road in front of your drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

If it's in neutral, jack up the back wheels amd push it where ever you like. Round the corner out of view of where they left it so they **** themselves when they come back and it's gone preferably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

It's just... I can't even... people actually just park in a private driveway as if it's a public space?!! :eek:
    It's mind-boggling!

We've had people come in and park on the lawn.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

newkie wrote: »

As long as Jeremy, my chauffeur, isn't inconvenienced I wouldn't get too upset. If necessary we can access through the tradesmen's entrance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭kevin65

I know of someone who use to have this problem. He used to let the air out of the tyres of the offending vehicle. The offending owner got the message.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,221 ✭✭✭NuckingFacker

The kids nip out and play with the offending vehicle. There's some right little fcukers around here, sure they're liable to do anything. Bless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Some completely thuggish posts in hear altogether. Let not forget those householder who think the space outside the house is for their exclusive use. Not talking about blocking driveway. I am driving a number of years. I have been contacted by the guards on one occasion because a house holder had called them. They told me they had come out and could see not issue with my parking. They said she was known for it They said they were offering a friendly suggestion to move, acknowledging the parking was fine. They said she was suspected of vandalising at least a dozen car in the six months she had lived there. No other area on the street had an issue with cars being vandalised except outside her house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,390 ✭✭✭IM0

think thats bad? try being in bed with the wife and your son comes in on a saturday morning too. and so to keep things adulty and going over the kids head though you say to your son "Ok time to go out and play now mommy and daddy need to 'rest' some more :) " you then say to the wife, "can I pUt my BMW in the garage?" while winking, and your soon says "sorry dad Im already round the back door and blocking your entrance :p " the cheeky little ****er :mad: and not just that but hes ev en advanced to back door shennagins already, no wonder my wife had a smile like a cat who got the cream ffffuuuuuuuuuuuuu :mad: :mad: to top it off he then started blowing raspberries, no wait maybe that was the wife actually now that I think about it more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭Mully_2011

IM0 wrote: »
    think thats bad? try being in bed with the wife and your son comes in on a saturday morning too. and so to keep things adulty and going over the kids head though you say to your son "Ok time to go out and play now mommy and daddy need to 'rest' some more :) " you then say to the wife, "can I pUt my BMW in the garage?" while winking, and your soon says "sorry dad Im already round the back door and blocking your entrance :p " the cheeky little ****er :mad: and not just that but hes ev en advanced to back door shennagins already, no wonder my wife had a smile like a cat who got the cream ffffuuuuuuuuuuuuu :mad: :mad: to top it off he then started blowing raspberries, no wait maybe that was the wife actually now that I think about it more

wut???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,973 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

^^Can we get that in english please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭Gmol

Wtf? Even by AH standards this is some bizarre tangent, were you waiting all your life for this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭Kev.OC

Someone blocked the driveway of my uncles family home in Limerick years ago on more than one occasion and despite being told off kept doing it. So one day my uncle went down to the local builders yard and borrowed the forklift. The guy came back to find his car on a two/three foot wall. That solved the issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭iguana

My neighbours either park across my driveway* or, on a few occasions, across my front gate in a way that I can't get in or out of the garden with my son's pram. I don't understand it as they have a driveway that will fit 3 cars but they never use it. They also park across the footpath in a way that blocks it for anyone with a buggy, crutches, assistance dog or wheelchair or for anyone who is heavily pregnant or quite overweight. I understand that it takes a bit longer to go in and out of a driveway but the road and footpath are too narrow for cars to park along without causing an obstruction. We live on a very busy road so it can be very dangerous to have to go out on the road to get around a car, especially if your mobility is at all impaired. It drives me insane as they are actually nice enough guys and are always really apologetic when I have to ask them to move one of their cars but 2 days later they are causing another obstruction.

*They know we don't have a car but we do sometimes have visitors who are left unable to use the driveway and don't want to park on the busy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,815 ✭✭✭✭galwayrush

I remember a traveller parking a caravan at the entrance of a warehouse in Oranmore, refused to move it unless the owners paid him 5 K. Forklift with extended arms soon sorted it, caravan was lifted and set down in the inner grass area of the nearest roundabout.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

Some completely thuggish posts in hear altogether. Let not forget those householder who think the space outside the house is for their exclusive use. Not talking about blocking driveway. I am driving a number of years. I have been contacted by the guards on one occasion because a house holder had called them. They told me they had come out and could see not issue with my parking. They said she was known for it They said they were offering a friendly suggestion to move, acknowledging the parking was fine. They said she was suspected of vandalising at least a dozen car in the six months she had lived there. No other area on the street had an issue with cars being vandalised except outside her house.

I think you are looking for the "What would you do if a car did NOT block your driveway, but just parked on the road outside your house?" thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

A couple of years ago a friend of mine was working a Summer job and had a parking space just outside of the house she was staying in but a neighbour kept using it meaning her housemate couldn't. They asked him several times not to park there and put up a no parking sign but he was persistent.

Myself and her boyfriend were up one day when the car was there so we used a knife to remove all the logos, names, engine size etc. off the car. When he came back several hours later to it we went out to him, asked him not to park there anymore, and returned the numbers and letters we'd pulled off the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Diemos

Seachmall wrote: »
    A couple of years ago a friend of mine was working a Summer job and had a parking space just outside of the house she was staying in but a neighbour kept using it meaning her housemate couldn't. They asked him several times not to park there and put up a no parking sign but he was persistent.

Myself and her boyfriend were up one day when the car was there so we used a knife to remove all the logos, names, engine size etc. off the car. When he came back several hours later to it we went out to him, asked him not to park there anymore, and returned the numbers and letters we'd pulled off the car.

I think you are looking for General General's "What would you do if a car did NOT block your driveway, but just parked on the road outside your house?" thread.

You're lucky you weren't charged with criminal damage.

Diemos wrote: »
    I think you are looking for General General's "What would you do if a car did NOT block your driveway, but just parked on the road outside your house?" thread.

You're lucky you weren't charged with criminal damage.

He was parking in the driveway.

And he was a prick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭debabyjesus

I don't believe you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Red Nissan

Used to happen to me too.

I've a jeep and in one incident I towed the car into my driveway and pushed it out into the road blocking the street.

In another I used a trolley jack and a couple of us pulled the car out into the street, blocking the street.

galwayrush wrote: »
    I remember a traveller parking a caravan at the entrance of a warehouse in Oranmore, refused to move it unless the owners paid him 5 K. Forklift with extended arms soon sorted it, caravan was lifted and set down in the inner grass area of the nearest roundabout.:cool:
    My father used to have a small factory unit and had to do this once.

I don't believe you

I'm crushed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭General General

I'm crushed.

Careful, Seachmall.. don't cross de baby jesus!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

Red Nissan wrote: »
    Used to happen to me too.

I've a jeep and in one incident I towed the car into my driveway and pushed it out into the road blocking the street.

In another I used a trolley jack and a couple of us pulled the car out into the street, blocking the street.
    o your solution to being inconvenienced by a car was to use it to inconvenience many other absolute strangers?
    No problem here at all.

o your solution to being inconvenienced by a car was to use it to inconvenience many other absolute strangers?
    No problem here at all.
    I think it's more of a case that the parker will find they have a large number of angry people to deal with rather than just one.

They won't want to repeat that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭Knight who says Meh

I think it's more of a case that the parker will find they have a large number of angry people to deal with rather than just one.

They won't want to repeat that!
    But if they find out it was you then they are correct in thinking that you are as big a **** as the person who blocked your drive.