Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Judge bans 3 men from driving for 40 years!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 236 ✭✭Red_Dwarf

Why the All had previous convictions for no insurance, They dont give a fcuk

They deserve it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭Festy

Class Judge :cool:

Other Judges please take note

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

Fair play. Serial offenders get whats coming to them shocker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

i love the message it sends. but i do think 40 years is excessive. 10 would be a better deterrent IMO.

the 40 will probably be reduced on appeal to 1 year

good on him though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,465 ✭✭✭Sir Humphrey Appleby

Fair play to the Judge.
    No doubt at all that the driving bans will be significantly reduced on appeal.:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

i love the message it sends. but i do think 40 years is excessive. 10 would be a better deterrent IMO.

Aye, the previous - presumably shorter - convictions really did the trick alright.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

About time. Much tougher sentences for first offences also please your honour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Waste of time just giving repeat offenders another ban. All they do is go and drive despite the ban, like this lovely lady in Limerick.

She was even under 24 hour a day garda protection and she had no worries about driving despite being banned.

http://www.limerickpost.ie/2013/10/22/gangsters-ex-partner-gets-12-year-driving-ban/

If people want to ignore bans and the like, just put them somewhere where they cannot break the ban, like in prison.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Over excessive, although I doubt too much if it will matter.

They'll be back on the roads despite their bans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,736 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

In fairness, whatever about the other two - who won't give a **** about being disqualified no doubt - it reads to me as if the publican had no previous offences, at least none mentioned in the article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,347 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

It doesn't matter to these gobsh*tes. Do you really think that they are going to stop getting into their cars and driving? They didn't have licenses/insurance in the first place anyway.

Unless their cars are confiscated and turned into cubes when they are caught next

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 175 ✭✭sonny jim bob jones

Judge Coughlan noted that Grant now had five for no insurance.

Not really seeing the ban as a deterrent, since he is a serial offender. Would he not have received suspended sentences before?

I wouldn't be surprised if this lad drove home from court.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

If only all judges could be this harsh, people might actually think twice about committing crime. Too often, justice is not served. Whether it be Irish law or over payed 'judges', it needs to change.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 717 ✭✭✭rubberdiddies

anncoates wrote: »
    Aye, the previous - presumably shorter - convictions really did the trick alright.

i guess my point is that the serial offenders will just look at 40 years and go "fook that" and just drive anyway.

also, i would imagine an appeals judge would be more inclined to reduce a 40 year ban than a 10 year ban.

the serial offenders should have been locked up and not been given suspended sentences to really send a message

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Surely if they are caught again it will be actual prison time and not suspended.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 175 ✭✭sonny jim bob jones

lertsnim wrote: »
    Surely if they are caught again it will be actual prison time and not suspended.

Indeed, if they are caught.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,971 ✭✭✭Holsten

Yakult wrote: »
    If only all judges could be this harsh, people might actually think twice about committing crime. Too often, justice is not served. Whether it be Irish law or over payed 'judges', it needs to change.

Nope, not at all. Near 100% wrong.

People never think twice, especially about the consequences as they never believe they'll be caught.

I don't get it
    They all had previous and your man was already disqualified when caught
    What's this "oh well now you're REALLY disqualified"? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

It seems to me, that the publican got a bit of a raw deal here. The article doesn't say anything about previous incidents for him.

The other two younger men, I'd say, couldn't giving a flying fudge whether it's 4 years, 40 years or 400 years - they'll be driving again within the week I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,210 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Kess73 wrote: »
    Waste of time just giving repeat offenders another ban. All they do is go and drive despite the ban, like this lovely lady in Limerick.

She was even under 24 hour a day garda protection and she had no worries about driving despite being banned.

http://www.limerickpost.ie/2013/10/22/gangsters-ex-partner-gets-12-year-driving-ban/

If people want to ignore bans and the like, just put them somewhere where they cannot break the ban, like in prison.

i think thats the point here. Its to send a strong message to these offenders that next time they come before him its prison time. Later lads!!

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

Hang on, did the publican have any previous offences? If it was his first time being convicted, 40 years sounds a bit harsh.

The other two is fair but I think they should spend a bit longer incarcerated to really get the message across. 22 previous convictions on the 24 year old is shocking.