Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All year puncture resistant tyre

• 13-11-2013 10:42PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭

Hi I know this has been covered many times , but I have been given a few recommendations by different bike shops and I'm looking for opinions on each.
    The first tyre is
    Gatorskin Hardshell
    Bontrager AW3 Hardcase
    Panaracer Ribmos 25c
    Any opinions which is best suited to all year/winter etc or any other suggestions?
    BTW I ride a Kellys Arc 3.0 road bike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

For maximum puncture resistance I'd recommend:

1. Schwalbe Marathon Plus (700x25 - not available in 23's)
    2. Panaracer Ribmo's (700x23, 700x25)

Bonrager Hardcase seem to become excessively embedded with glass/flint IMO- require daily inspections.

Gatorskins - done to death here but a disaster in the wet in the opinion of many of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭db76

Thanks Ribmos were at top of my list as heard the same about gatorskins in the wet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

Marathon Pluses can also slip like crazy on wet tarmac. Hard wearing rubber is not the most grippy.

db76 wrote: »
    Thanks Ribmos were at top of my list as heard the same about gatorskins in the wet.
    Putting them on can be very difficult and frustrating. Take care not to nip the tube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭db76

Cheers,main use will be commuting throuhg town, 30 - 34k spins on days off with longer spin on Sundays.

Alek wrote: »
    Marathon Pluses can also slip like crazy on wet tarmac. Hard wearing rubber is not the most grippy.
    I've never found that and I've 12,000 puncture free kms on a pair of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,495 ✭✭✭Zorba

Gatorskins are a pile of crap. Had a pair of 23mm ones on my commuter and i've never had any confidence in the wet on them and you can feel every single little bump on the road with them. Absolute torture, having said that i've only ever punctured once on two pairs of them.

Switched to 25mm GP4 Seasons today and holy crap what a difference. Feels like the bike is just gliding over the bumps, hardly feel them at all even with 110psi in them. Lots and lots more grip and i know from past experience they're just as puncture proof as the Gators if not better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭Rambling Man

Happy enough to be doing the winter miles on the hybrid and trouble free 32's. No punctures. No hassle. Thoughts and prayers go out to all lads roadside doing repairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

I've never found that and I've 12,000 puncture free kms on a pair of them.

Last year I had three unexpected slips without any warning, always when turning quite slow (fortunately) Maybe its because I had them pumped to max pressure, which is quite high for 37mm tyres (6 bar)... Either way it never happened to me with other tire, that the bike literally slid out from under me...

Alek wrote: »
    Last year I had three unexpected slips without any warning, always when turning quite slow (fortunately) Maybe its because I had them pumped to max pressure, which is quite high for 37mm tyres (6 bar)... Either way it never happened to me with other tire, that the bike literally slid out from under me...
    I use 700x25's on one of my bikes. There's probably more grip with the narrower tyre as weight is more concentrated on a smaller area.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 835 ✭✭✭countrykid

db76 wrote: »
    Hi I know this has been covered many times , but I have been given a few recommendations by different bike shops and I'm looking for opinions on each.
    The first tyre is
    Gatorskin Hardshell
    Bontrager AW3 Hardcase
    Panaracer Ribmos 25c
    Any opinions which is best suited to all year/winter etc or any other suggestions?
    BTW I ride a Kellys Arc 3.0 road bike.

As mentioned gp 4 seasons or even gp 4000's are very good puncture protect wise and still over decent performance..
    Rimbos whilst tough are a- a b***** to get on most rims!!! And b- dead as a door nail feel wise on the road...
    Specialised armadillo offer great puncture protect too and would be slightly better than gatorskins grip wise

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭StaggerLee

I have a set of ribmos, didnt find them too hard to get on the rims. Had to use levers mind.
    They are hard as fook on the road and you'll feel it, but they're tough and thats the point. Can be a little slippy on bends / manholes, but once you're aware of this you ride them accordingly.
    I use them on the turbo too, barely even heats them up. As a winter tyre cant go wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭murphyebass

Ive used gatorskins for the past year. In fairness I dont commute or cycle in the rain (if I can help it) so gatorskins have been fine but I would have to agree they do seem a bit ropey on the wet the times I have encounter wet roads after rain etc...

That said I cant imagine any tyre being that great on the wet?

Oh yeah no punctures at all...... jinxed myself now havent I. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

Gatorskins - done to death here but a disaster in the wet in the opinion of many of us.

But perfectly good in the wet in the opinion of many others of us. I've been riding gators for the last 3 years without problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Used the panaracers before, they are indestructible but a hoor to get on the rims. Gatorskins also bomb proof but wouldn't trust them in the wet - then again what tyres do you? I'm using conti Grand Prix (bog standard ones - not the 4000's) and very happy with them on my commuter - one puncture in circa 3000 km commuting

cdaly_ wrote: »
    But perfectly good in the wet in the opinion of many others of us. I've been riding gators for the last 3 years without problems.
    Yes but many of those who have no problems with them don't use any other tyres or don't have several bikes so they don't really have anything to regularly compare with. They may also be slower riders in which case any tyre will probably be ok. It also been said here that those of us with problems must be 'overcooking' it on bends but that doesn't explain how we can take the same bend at the same speed in similar conditions on different tyres without problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Radial

I use a mixture of 25's on my winter bike.

GP 4 Season on the front (I think the front is more critical in terms of grip and cornering in the wet).

Gatorskin on the rear (less critical in terms of grip, harder wearing and offering puncture protection on the wheel where punctures are 2 to 3 times more likely to occur).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭nak

Yes but many of those who have no problems with them don't use any other tyres or don't have several bikes so they don't really have anything to regularly compare with. They may also be slower riders in which case any tyre will probably be ok. It also been said here that those of us with problems must be 'overcooking' it on bends but that doesn't explain how we can take the same bend at the same speed in similar conditions on different tyres without problems.

I have several bikes, don't ride particularly slowly and had no issues with Gatorskins. That being said, I tend to run my road tyres around 90psi unless I'm racing. Have been using Vittoria Open Corsa Evo tyres on my road and track bikes for the last year or so, no punctures so far.

Use Vittoria Randonneur 32s on my cross bike for commuting, very occasional puncture, happy enough with them. Cross tyres, sometimes studded if weather is crappy.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

+1 for the Durano plus, good in wet weather, good puncture protection, and lighter than marathons. A bit more expensive is the only downside. I've had only one puncture over the year in about 5k, running 25mm version at 100psi.

nak wrote: »
    I have several bikes, don't ride particularly slowly and had no issues with Gatorskins. That being said, I tend to run my road tyres around 90psi unless I'm racing. Have been using Vittoria Open Corsa Evo tyres on my road and track bikes for the last year or so, no punctures so far.

Use Vittoria Randonneur 32s on my cross bike for commuting, very occasional puncture, happy enough with them. Cross tyres, sometimes studded if weather is crappy.

... gets popcorn.

Round 1 - Fight! :D

I'm very new to cycling but I cant even count the amount of times I've seen very emotive arguements about this issue.

Cant the non gatorskin people just get along with us gatorskin folk? :)

Like that songs says... Why cant we be friends, why cant we be friends, etc...

edit... ps.. @Nak You mentioned you run your gatorskins at 90psi. I run them at 120psi as I was told to do. Would running them at 90psi not make them less puncture resistant? I assume it would help with grip slightly by having more tyre meeting the road?
    cheers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,994 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

Just a personal observation.

I have been using Gators for 7 years but the only thing I would say is not to pay the extra for Hardshell over the normal ones. I have seen no difference either in handling or puncture protection so get the cheaper ones.

edit... ps.. @Nak You mentioned you run your gatorskins at 90psi. I run them at 120psi as I was told to do. Would running them at 90psi not make them less puncture resistant? I assume it would help with grip slightly by having more tyre meeting the road?
    cheers.

I am small, so running tyres at the pressure is not a problem for me, the reason I do it is because it is more forgiving on bumpy roads. 120psi isn't really necessary unless you're racing. Prefer wider tyres too, 25mm for road. Run my cyclocross tyres at 25psi, haven't been brave enough to go any lower.

I'm definately not racing!! I do on average I suppose 25kph maybe a bit more for hour long cycles. Sometimes go out for long cycles but stopped about a year ago due to newborn in the house.

I'm 6ft1'' and about 12stone so I dont know would that mean I shouldnt do 90psi.

If its more forgiving on bumpy roads that sounds good.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,887 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

I'm 6ft1'' and about 12stone so I dont know would that mean I shouldnt do 90psi.

Depends on the tyre width as well as your weight;

pressurechart121405B.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Had 4 Seasons on the bike and now have RiBmos - only because when I went to replace the 4 Seasons the shop didn't have any but promised me the RiBmos were just as good, at about 75% of the price.

Yes, they were a b1tch to get on the rims and they feel slightly heavier than the 4 Seasons, but 1,978 km later and no punctures and very little noticeable wear. No slips or shimmies to report in the wet, but it's not like I'm flinging the bike around

I've also noticed they rolling incredibly quietly!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭cdaly_

They may also be slower riders in which case any tyre will probably be ok. It also been said here that those of us with problems must be 'overcooking' it on bends but that doesn't explain how we can take the same bend at the same speed in similar conditions on different tyres without problems.
    I don't race but I do commuter race. I happily throw the bike around the roads without feeling the need to slow for bends etc. I'm fairly fast, 25-30kph.
    I'm not small or light and I have the bike loaded up with rack bags and far too much stuff. I run my 25mm tyres at 100psi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,406 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I was using Gatorskin Hardshells and now have one switched to Ribmos because the GS had lots of chunks taken out with glass. It became more pock-marked than the moon, though it was very puncture resistant until the end. (That was over ten months though).

The Ribmo is definitely more durable and hard wearing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Gallant_JJ

Would a fresh set of GP 4000's strike a decent balance between grip and puncture resistance? At €15 a pop they are serious value and you swap them out at more regular intervals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 652 ✭✭✭mirrormatrix

Gallant_JJ wrote: »
    Would a fresh set of GP 4000's strike a decent balance between grip and puncture resistance? At €15 a pop they are serious value and you swap them out at more regular intervals.

Where are you getting GP4000's at 15 quid each?? Over 30 per tyre on pretty much every website i've seen.

Am very anti Gatorskin. Couldn't trust them in the wet. Switched to GP4 seasons last year and the difference is remarkable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 236 ✭✭nailik

Putting them on can be very difficult and frustrating. Take care not to nip the tube.

I had a set of Ribmos on Mavic Aksiums that were so tight I eventually had to cut them off using a wire-cutter. I have no idea how the shop got them on in the first place.

I'm definately not racing!! I do on average I suppose 25kph maybe a bit more for hour long cycles. Sometimes go out for long cycles but stopped about a year ago due to newborn in the house.

If its more forgiving on bumpy roads that sounds good.

I'm no expert, just know what works for me after playing around with a pressure guage. Article here: http://velonews.competitor.com/2012/03/bikes-and-tech/technical-faq/tech-faq-more-on-fast-rolling-tires_210962 and Sheldon Brown site has more info with links to other sites. Velonews had an interview with a pro team mechanic and he said that nearly every racer he's met overinflated their tyres. The exception being Danny Pate who came from mountain biking.

nailik wrote: »
    I had a set of Ribmos on Mavic Aksiums that were so tight I eventually had to cut them off using a wire-cutter. I have no idea how the shop got them on in the first place.
    I got my first puncture on my Ribmos (also on Aksiums wheels) on my commuter bike a couple of weeks ago. I had to remove and replace the tyre on the side of an unlit road at night . It wasn't easy but I managed it! :)

(Discovered when I got home that something had sliced the sidewall of the tyre. I'm not sure how I made it home without puncturing again).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 454 ✭✭MediaMan

My Vittoria Rubinos (23mm) wore out recently and I replaced them with Ribmos (25mm) on the advice of the local shop. Was planning to use them mostly for commuting, but also for some winter spins.

The differences I noticed with the Ribmos were:
    - very quiet on the road
    - very heavy and dead in terms of feel
    - did a 60k spin on them and it nearly killed me, grannys were overtaking me. I discovered later that the pressure in the tyres had dropped to 80psi, from the 95 that I had them at. They are bettter at 95psi, but still slow compared to the Rubinos, and light years slower than the GP 4000S (which in fairness is designed for speed).
    - absolute nightmare to get on and off, but gets easier once they have been in use for a while. Someone suggested that heating them first makes it easier for first time use.

Oh, and I got a puncture, clean through the tyre, within 2 weeks of putting them on the bike so they are now going into the shed for someday use as turbo tyres. No point in putting up with all that hardship if they are not going to prevent punctures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 964 ✭✭✭detones

Found the Rubino Pro's a good balance between puncture protection and grip. Have had 23mm gators and hated them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Hutchinson hardskin intensive.
    Bombproof, but seem to roll heavy. Put them on back wheel in april, no puncture yet. And im 100kg..