Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming Chit Chat III

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭biddy2013

hugo29 wrote: »
    Yea peace and quiet for a while, he might even have got to use the tv remote;)
    i think he was faced with the choice of him having to milk or else get me out so i was let go fairly quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,972 ✭✭✭dzer2

simx wrote: »
    Very true, how easy things can happen is scary, you mustn't live too far from me dzer2 if it's the same man we are thinking about, I'd be 5 mins away from where that happened, freak accident fierce nice man

About 4 miles from there I knew him fairly well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

dzer2 wrote: »
    About 4 miles from there I knew him fairly well.

You'll have me wondering who you could be now ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,584 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

simx wrote: »
    You'll have me wondering who you could be now ha
    so it begins :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Conor556 wrote: »
    Mine is a G6 corolla, its straight from the manifold no middle box and goes into the back box, she wont be around for long

Good job as she won't pass an nct :) l always perferred a good induction kit and leaving the exhaust alone.... a bit of a purr when you pushed the go pedal, but without the roaring

Reggie. wrote: »
    so it begins :D

Probably won't think about it after tonight either ha, more pressing issues to be thinking about :D

Muckit wrote: »
    Good job as she won't pass an nct :) l always perferred a good induction kit and leaving the exhaust alone.... a bit of a purr when you pushed the go pedal, but without the roaring
    k&n filter muckit :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 998 ✭✭✭Damo810

Bought a lovely pony today. Just need to run in and pick up my new glasses too. :D

148232_690048794380560_123454955_n.jpg

Damo810 wrote: »
    Bought a lovely pony today. Just need to run in and pick up my new glasses too. :D

next photo has you on the slats :D

Thats not me, thank god, if I tried that with one of ours I wouldn't be typing on here :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

30N 67 a metre + vat

Yea I paid 68 plus vat for 35n before Xmas,

Thats not me, thank god, if I tried that with one of ours I wouldn't be typing on here :rolleyes:
    id break the poor animals back :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

id break the poor animals back :o

Reggie that's not a great sign of our country's soldiers. U must be in the office these days

sea12 wrote: »
    Reggie that's not a great sign of our country's soldiers. U must be in the office these days
    its all the muscle :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,267 ✭✭✭hugo29

It's bob, notice the boating shoes, who else wears boating shoes in the shed, I know he said he was havin tough luck with the women but he gone overboard now

only thing that would put manners on him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭delaval

You were lucky a bloke down here went looking for a calf and got up on a single row of bales tripped and fell between them was found a day later Dead.

I had you in Mh for some reason, your a lot closer to me than I thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jimmy G M

reilig wrote: »
    Anyone got a recent price for readymix concrete per m3?

€78 m3 based on 25 m3. 35 newton. Ballinasloe area.

You were lucky a bloke down here went looking for a calf and got up on a single row of bales tripped and fell between them was found a day later Dead.
    he was hanging upside down if i remember

biddy2013 wrote: »
    i was pushing down a round bale of straw from straw shed today and i fell down between 2 bales:( was stuck , luckilly i had coverage and oh brought around loader to move bales to get me out. Lucky i wasnt hurt:cool:

About 15 yrs ago I was at a BBQ on a friends farm. All going well till another mate came to us to say some one had fallen down between round bales. A few if us ran and pushed out the bales and there she was not a stitch on her, she was mortified. I still bump into her occasionally and I'd say she thinks if it every time we meet, I certainly do!!

delaval wrote: »
    About 15 yrs ago I was at a BBQ on a friends farm. All going well till another mate came to us to say some one had fallen down between round bales. A few if us ran and pushed out the bales and there she was not a stitch on her, she was mortified. I still bump into her occasionally and I'd say she thinks if it every time we meet, I certainly do!!
    rolling in the hay :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Was someone else there feeding the pony?

I had you in Mh for some reason, your a lot closer to me than I thought

Yeah north kk.

he was hanging upside down if i remember

Yeah upside down alright terrible death:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

I take it she didn't marry that lad :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Was telling the parents about that loader bucket that fell on your mans wife and they were talking me about a family they know in Wicklow.
    Father put bucket on digger, went into house for half hour came back out jumped up in digger and put the two daughters in the bucket for the trio and headed up the field. Bucket came off and crushed the two girls. He had never pulled across the latch on bucket.
    Terrible accident all together. You man's life was ruined I'd say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Was telling the parents about that loader bucket that fell on your mans wife and they were talking me about a family they know in Wicklow.
    Father put bucket on digger, went into house for half hour came back out jumped up in digger and put the two daughters in the bucket for the trio and headed up the field. Bucket came off and crushed the two girls. He had never pulled across the latch on bucket.

Jesus that's awful altogether.... Around here a man had his 4 yr old son up on the mudguard of his Massey 135... Son fell off and he was rolled over and killed.... Very sad... Man still hasnt recovered

Ah lads stop :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Delaval, you said you would never tell:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

That was Wexford, not Wicklow. Just the right side of the border. Know the family well and his farmyard is the safest annd tidiest you could find. Terrible business altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

thats kids for you delaval

Somehow I'd say you were prone to a bit of that at one time bobby

She was from your neck of the woods

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Muckit wrote: »

Have cat there ready to put on,, wouldnt be long till you would get sick of listening to it,

Conor556 wrote: »
    Have cat there ready to put on,, wouldnt be long till you would get sick of listening to it,

Wouldn't take long at all, better off with an auld yoke as noisey as a 135 ha

Isn't is funny, every story on here happened to a friend, brother in law or neighbour. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭exercise is the antidote

My dad told me a story of a farmer that had either the loader to high/ or the load to high going under one of them old train bridges, he hit the bridge causing damage to track, the next train came and people where killed.
    He said the farmer never forgave himself for what had happened. And was never the same after it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

That was Wexford, not Wicklow. Just the right side of the border. Know the family well and his farmyard is the safest annd tidiest you could find. Terrible business altogether.

They're relations of my mother through marriage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Anyone else having trouble thanking posts here on the phone?
    The Thank button doesn't seem to work anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭flat out !!

Anyone else having trouble thanking posts here on the phone?
    The Thank button doesn't seem to work anymore.

Nope. !

yup was just thinking this morning, i was lucky i had my phone, had coverage and that oh was at home. Also i hadnt told anyone what i was doing so they would have been a long time looking for me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

My dad told me a story of a farmer that had either the loader to high/ or the load to high going under one of them old train bridges, he hit the bridge causing damage to track, the next train came and people where killed.
    He said the farmer never forgave himself for what had happened. And was never the same after it

Sounds like I live in real cowboy country now but that happened at Clough in North Wexford in the late sixties or early seventies. I don't know if we are talking about the same accident but it derailed the train and killed I don't know how many. The man was moving either a dozer or a track digger and caught the bridge. He knew the train was going to be coming as he was a local and used to the terain running times. He went up the track to try stop the train but was unable. The poor man is dead now and he did never get over it. I only knew him 20 years later and he never really got over it.

was coming back from outfarm with my da in the jeep, there was a funeral on at the church-crossroads- there was a lorry couldnt get through the way the cars where parked. This meant we couldnt get by, he wouldn't reverse the lorry back-ignorant £$%^&- he sent word in to the church to get a few cars moved. I walked home in the rain and left my dad there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

was coming back from outfarm with my da in the jeep, there was a funeral on at the church-crossroads- there was a lorry couldnt get through the way the cars where parked. This meant we couldnt get by, he wouldn't reverse the lorry back-ignorant £$%^&- he sent word in to the church to get a few cars moved. I walked home in the rain and left my dad there

All 500m of it. :-)

td5man wrote: »
    All 500m of it. :-)

you seem to know the terrain, were you the one in the straw with biddy then:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,081 ✭✭✭td5man

you seem to know the terrain, were you the one in the straw with biddy then:D

Now now a gentleman never tells. ;-)

mate drives an artic lowloader and was in some back arse place in Tipperary collecting a machine. Got directions to where he was to go and he was directed up a small windy road that he said was just wide enough for the truck. As he rounded a corner he met a funeral procession coming against him. :D:D, he said he backed up a bit to where there was a bit of a bank and drove the truck and trailer as far in of the road as possible. he said the hearse scraped by along with all the cars, with everyone staring him out of it. He had to be towed back down of the bank when funeral eventually pasted. I could stop laughing when he rang me with the story

half the crack is in telling the lads

mate drives an artic lowloader and was in some back arse place in Tipperary collecting a machine. Got directions to where he was to go and he was directed up a small windy road that he said was just wide enough for the truck. As he rounded a corner he met a funeral procession coming against him. :D:D, he said he backed up a bit to where there was a bit of a bank and drove the truck and trailer as far in of the road as possible. he said the hearse scraped by along with all the cars, with everyone staring him out of it. He had to be towed back down of the bank when funeral eventually pasted. I could stop laughing when he rang me with the story
    oh has had a few close escape with very narrow lanes and small yards, he said if he had a euro for everytime he heard "sure the milkman gets in no bother" never a mention of hump back bridges etc, now he looks on google maps before he sets out saves alot of hassle

ah but you said gentleman, thats you out:D