Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children at weddings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

LCD wrote: »
    no parents sulking off to bed at 11am

The next morning? Pretty hardcore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I reread your post and I admit I read something into it that you probably did not intend. I apologise for that.

As a general point, there is a school of thought, of the view that if you don't want other people's children, to whom you are not related, at your wedding, then you're some kind of uptight, a$$hole. I personally don't think that's fair.

It's just different views of what a wedding should be and no view is more valid than the other.

Ours was just pretty much no provisos or rules: just friends and family to be there in whatever way they want and if they bring kids, so be it (most won't anyway so the idea that a wedding is going to be flooded with 100s of kids will almost never materialize)

Like I said, I wouldn't ever bring my kids myself (except a close family wedding) as I want to enjoy myself without worrying about the kids.

One thing I'm just struck by when I read some of the accounts here (people moaning about what time guests go to bed?!) is the amount of control some people want to have over the day which again is their call but just not my thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

anncoates wrote: »
    The next morning? Pretty hardcore.

Ignoring the typo, what is it with "sulking off to bed" at 11pm? Not everyone wants to spend another 4 hours in the residents bar listening to really bad singsongs with drunks. Being invited to a wedding does not oblige the guest to a 16 hour marathon, they can leave when they want. Only a bridezilla would describe leaving at 11pm as "sulking off".

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

I'll be having kids at my wedding - mainly because it will be a small family one and they are family. But I'd imagine the parents, including me, will organise sitters shortly after the meal so that we can get stuck into the alcohol enjoy ourselves without having to run around after the children.

But if I got invited to a wedding, it would be more hassle for me to bring my child, try and keep him clean, fed, quiet and behaved than at home. You'd be worried about them getting out a door onto the street, or falling down steps or stairs, or trying to leg it behind the bar or get underfoot of waiting staff. Nope, leave them at home with a sitter and let mammy and daddy have a few scoops in peace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,834 ✭✭✭billie1b

A good friend of mine is getting married in a few weeks and sent the invitations out just after Christmas. She has heard back on the grapevine that a couple of invited guests are bitching because their children weren't included in the invite. She's quite upset about it. I've told her they're the ones who are in the wrong, most people do not assume their kids will be invited to a wedding unless it's a very close relative. And even then, very small children often aren't included.

I haven't been to a wedding in about three years, but I presume that's still the case? Or has it now become the norm to include friends' and colleagues' children on wedding invitations?

We are a big family, numerous of weddings over the last few years, all but one with kids invited.
    The weddings with the kids were brilliant, kids and adults both had a great time dancing and having fun with each other.
    The one wedding that no kids were invited was so unusually boring. The bride and groom brought their 2 kids, naturally, but told everyone else kids were not invited, the two kids that were there had a dreadful time, no one to play with, no one to dance with, got bored with the DS's after an hour, spent most the night lolling around bored. At breakfast the next morning, the bride and groom admitted it was a big mistake on their part, every wedding after that has had kids at it and couldn't of been better.
    The bride and grooms no kids wedding is still the talked about wedding at other weddings for being the worst ever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,709 ✭✭✭c68zapdsm5i1ru

billie1b wrote: »
    We are a big family, numerous of weddings over the last few years, all but one with kids invited.
    The weddings with the kids were brilliant, kids and adults both had a great time dancing and having fun with each other.
    The one wedding that no kids were invited was so unusually boring. The bride and groom brought their 2 kids, naturally, but told everyone else kids were not invited, the two kids that were there had a dreadful time, no one to play with, no one to dance with, got bored with the DS's after an hour, spent most the night lolling around bored. At breakfast the next morning, the bride and groom admitted it was a big mistake on their part, every wedding after that has had kids at it and couldn't of been better.
    The bride and grooms no kids wedding is still the talked about wedding at other weddings for being the worst ever

Seriously, the wedding was boring simply because the children weren't there? I can understand the bride and groom's children being bored. But why would the other adults be bored, unless they were determined to be because they were annoyed their children weren't included.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,370 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

It should be made clear on the wedding invitation, rather than leave it as a guessing game, leading to an awkward phone call.

If someone doesn't invite a family unit, then the expectation should also be that the parents can decide not to go without any repercussions (and not take it as a sign they don't like you, are cheap etc.).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,794 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Ignoring the typo, what is it with "sulking off to bed" at 11pm?
    Skulking? Typo?

Seriously, the wedding was boring simply because the children weren't there? I can understand the bride and groom's children being bored. But why would the other adults be bored, unless they were determined to be because they were annoyed their children weren't included.

No there was just no fun, nobody was dancing, well the odd aunt and granny, everyone just sitting in groups of 5 or 6, people even went up to their rooms at 11pm, and they were people without kids.
    People who dont have kids dont realise how much life they bring to a party and how much fun they are, a wedding is totally different to a house party, kids behave differently. When the kids were at the weddings the Mams, Dads, Aunts, Uncles and Grannys were up dancing with them, having fun with them and so on, at the all adult one the guys and few girls ended up watching football in the hotel bar and the rest of the women stayed chatting with each other and giving out about the rest watching the football.
    Everyone was pissed by the dinner and didnt eat half of it and when the dinner was over it was back to the bar, at the weddings with the kids everyone held of on heavy drinking until the kids were asleep and it was just a much better time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭MajorMax

I had 40 guests at my wedding 11 of them were aged between 3 and 16. The wedding party was myself, my wife to be, my best man, her matron of honour and 5 flower girls.

It made the wedding a special event and the memories still bring a smile to my face. we had 2 kiddie tables and they all danced the night away.

I think that not including children in a wedding is very unfair to the children and their parents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,398 ✭✭✭whatdoicare

I had no kids bar the one flower girl at my own wedding yet one fecking far off cousin of the husbands send us back an rsvp with two extra names on it. We hadn't a clue who Owen and Niall were and they were uncontactable as the couple had fecked off on holiday. Turns out they invited their own kids - one of which was only a month old at the time - to our wedding without asking us. We didn't even know they had had kids!!

Cue one very awkward phone call to the cousins parents (as we couldn't contact them) to explain no kids allowed. Very, very flippin awkward.

Gets worse though - They brought them along anyway! Yup, that's right. They didn't bring their cherubs to the mass part, not because they weren't going to but because we supplied a bus from hotel to venue and my dad caught them boarding and told them to step off.

They did bring them to the dinner without our knowledge though - we didn't know until we got the bill for two extra dinners - not the kids dinners either, two full adult dinners!!:mad: They also didn't give us a wedding present- even the 100 euros to cover the kids dinners would have been cool. Nope, nothing in the envelope. Cheeky bastards.

Must explain - we didn't invite kids coz we are both from huge families and there would have been hundreds of kids that had to be invited if we invited one. So we decided to invite none.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I had no kids bar the one flower girl at my own wedding yet one fecking far off cousin of the husbands send us back an rsvp with two extra names on it. We hadn't a clue who Owen and Niall were and they were uncontactable as the couple had fecked off on holiday. Turns out they invited their own kids - one of which was only a month old at the time - to our wedding without asking us. We didn't even know they had had kids!!

Cue one very awkward phone call to the cousins parents (as we couldn't contact them) to explain no kids allowed. Very, very flippin awkward.

Gets worse though - They brought them along anyway! Yup, that's right. They didn't bring their cherubs to the mass part, not because they weren't going to but because we supplied a bus from hotel to venue and my dad caught them boarding and told them to step off.

They did bring them to the dinner without our knowledge though - we didn't know until we got the bill for two extra dinners - not the kids dinners either, two full adult dinners!!:mad: They also didn't give us a wedding present- even the 100 euros to cover the kids dinners would have been cool. Nope, nothing in the envelope. Cheeky bastards.

Must explain - we didn't invite kids coz we are both from huge families and there would have been hundreds of kids that had to be invited if we invited one. So we decided to invite none.

I think you care a lot more than your username suggests ;)

Wowee...you're like the first ever person to mention my username in the form of some sort of insulting comeback, how original of you....sarcasm:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,171 ✭✭✭Ms2011

I'm getting married in 8 weeks & I'd say 1/3 of those going are between 14mths &16yrs.
    I had a great time putting together their party bags etc. & I've a candy cart coming after dinner for them.
    Any family party we throw always has a gang of kids in the background so I suppose we're just used to talking / stepping over kids at a family occasion & tbh I don't think I'd like it any other way!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,678 ✭✭✭I Heart Internet

How did the one month old eat a dinner? In fact, having a a <3 month old at a wedding is fine. The baby will need feeding anyway so is likely to need to be with Mom, and they don't make much of a fuss. It's the toddlers and giddy 7 year olds that are a hassle. Babes-in-arms are fine.

i would agree that inviting cousin's kids is a nonsense....but forcing them off the bus once they've turned up...that's harsh (though they're asshats for bringing them).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Boombastic wrote: »
    It's amazing and quite funny how pretencious people get about weddings

Oh my god, a child at a wedding - they should be seen an not heard

There is nothing pretentious about preferring the company of adults, especially if you are the one picking up the bill.
    Candie wrote: »
    Yes. If you don't like spending time with kids, avoid going where you know kids will be.

People can be as attentive to their kids as possible and even the best behaved kids will have bad days, wet nappies, be overwhelmed at the crowds, or any combination of the above. Expecting the best behaviour from small children in your presence shows a basic lack of understanding of how kids operate.

You just made the case for me thinking of other guests and avoiding having kids at the evening event. Not everyone likes kids at an event.
    One of the most pretentious posts i've ever read :pac:

Pretentious, moi?

Perhaps, if we had no contact with classical music prior to the wedding, but my wife is classically trained, her maid of honour formally worked for a major symphony orchestra, there were two members of the NSO in attendance and many of our friends are huge opera fans.

Perhaps it would be seen as pretentious to someone with no understanding of why we hired them.

How did the one month old eat a dinner? In fact, having a a <3 month old at a wedding is fine. The baby will need feeding anyway so is likely to need to be with Mom, and they don't make much of a fuss. It's the toddlers and giddy 7 year olds that are a hassle. Babes-in-arms are fine.

i would agree that inviting cousin's kids is a nonsense....but forcing them off the bus once they've turned up...that's harsh (though they're asshats for bringing them).

I'd love to know too - child would have been maybe 4 months by the wedding and other child maybe 2 years old - their father obviously ordered a dinner for both his kids so himself and his wife could make pigs of themselves and charge us for the pleasure. Maybe to punish us aswell, who knows.

Well, I think my dad did the right thing. There was no toilet facility or sound box like churches do for the kids - it was in an old castle which was tiny. If the kids started working out they had nowhere to take them. They'd have to sit there with their roaring children. Also, it wouldn't be fair to the rest of our families who did comply with the rule and got babysitters to see one family there with babies roaring and running about. Why would she even want to bring her kids- surely that particular part would be boring for a baby/toddler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,216 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

lazygal wrote: »
    You don't have to bring kids to a wedding because you're breastfeeding or don't have a babysitter. I've not gone to weddings for both reasons, or else me or my husband goes alone.No one has to bring them, they want to bring them. You can always decline.

You don't have to do anything or go anywhere come to that.
    Maybe you don't want to decline because it is one of the few times bar funerals that you get to catch up with some relatives ?
    Maybe your other half wants to go because it is one of her oldest dearest friends and she will have to bring baby for breastfeeding, hence you might as well go as well as a couple.
    Maybe it is an extended family event ?

Bringing your kids doesn't have to be obtrusive or intrusive if the parents are willing to do a bit of work and forego some parts of the ceremony/dinner.
    I have missed the entire church ceremony at one wedding and ended up having interesting conversation with someone outside while I looked after child asleep in the car.
    MadsL wrote: »
    There is nothing pretentious about preferring the company of adults, especially if you are the one picking up the bill.

You just made the case for me thinking of other guests and avoiding having kids at the evening event. Not everyone likes kids at an event.

Pretentious, moi?

I think the horseriding, shooting, golf reminded me too much of a company team building/bonding/ar** licking the boss away event.

And what was wrong with paintball ?
    And you claim you aren't pretentious. :pac:
    Perhaps, if we had no contact with classical music prior to the wedding, but my wife is classically trained, her maid of honour formally worked for a major symphony orchestra, there were two members of the NSO in attendance and many of our friends are huge opera fans.

Did you never think that some people might not be opera fans ?
    Perhaps it would be seen as pretentious to someone with no understanding of why we hired them.

Were they that desperate for a gig ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,216 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

mauzo! wrote: »
    I had a 2 week old baby at my sisters wedding, and I was a bridesmaid. He was good as gold though. Didn't cry once and slept for most of the day. I went to bed early with him, as I was wrecked too. My sister was annoyed with me over that, I told her she could replace me as bridesmaid if she wanted, but she chose not to.

Now she'll have an 18m old at my wedding! We'll have my fiancès 4 nieces and nephews, my 4 nieces and nephews and my 4 year old there on the day. So 9 kids under the age of 7. I can't wait to see them all having fun and dancing. They are all well behaved kids and the parents won't let them in peoples way or let them scream the place down.

Ill see about hiring a babysitter for after the dinner to keep them amused with a DVD or something.

Let me tell you, your wedding is doomed, doomed I tell ya.
    Just ask some of the posters around here.

It will end up being a cross between a gremlins movie and the after affects of a level 5 hurricane.
    The poor guests with no kids will be damaged for life.
    Your wedding might go down in the annals as one of the worse affairs ever.
    How could you live with that shame.
    You wedding will be the subject of long ranting threads on boards for years to come.

Rent a warehouse or better still a prison of some sort.
    Maybe there is an old ex Garda station nearby with still functioning cells that might be of use for the day.

Just to warn some folk .... Please turn on sarcasm detector.

I am not allowed discuss …

jmayo wrote: »
    I think the horseriding, shooting, golf reminded me too much of a company team building/bonding/ar** licking the boss away event.

And what was wrong with paintball ?
    And you claim you aren't pretentious. :pac:

I wasn't aware that the topic of the thread was a debrief of my wedding. Paintball wasn't an option as driving 200 miles to avail of it might have made us late for the ceremony. The options available locally were the options, oddly enough country pursuits are what is available in the country.
    Did you never think that some people might not be opera fans ?
    That's why there was a trad band booked for later...

Were they that desperate for a gig ?

I have no idea what you are on about now...

jmayo wrote: »
    Just to warn some folk .... Please turn on sarcasm detector.

You may also wish to turn down your sarcasm ray gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭ronjo

You may also wish to turn down your sarcasm ray gun.

You told him he couldnt bring his kids to the wedding didnt you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Wowee...you're like the first ever person to mention my username in the form of some sort of insulting comeback, how original of you....sarcasm:rolleyes:

My my, aren't you cranky? Maybe you could change your username if you're so precious about people commenting on it.

Was the winky smiley not enough to tell you it was in jest?

ronjo wrote: »
    You told him he couldnt bring his kids to the wedding didnt you?

Had he been invited, there would have been a childminder to take care of his kids during the ceremony and evening events.

His kids would have been welcome at all other stages of the weekend.

Not sure what his problem is to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,858 ✭✭✭homemadecider

billie1b wrote: »

A room full of adults with music and booze and you were all bored? Simply because there weren't kids there to entertain you? That sounds like a group of very very boring people who don't know how to enjoy themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

I don't like going to weddings now, I'm single and a student and it's expensive for me, also I'm not able for long drinking sessions. I was brought to a lot of weddings as a child though and I really enjoyed them as they were one of the few occasions where all the cousins would be together. I've no idea if we were annoying or not, I know we did dance a lot and slid down bannisters and stuff. These days if there are kids at weddings they don't bother me at all, I don't have to look after them and it's nice to see kids having fun.

A room full of adults with music and booze and you were all bored? Simply because there weren't kids there to entertain you? That sounds like a group of very very boring people who don't know how to enjoy themselves.

Ha ha, couldn't be further from the truth, the kids just make it the much more special

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭thegreatgonzo

Music from some wedding bands would make you wish you were in a coma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭chrissb8

I remember as a kid going to some weddings. I hated them. People getting drunk. Nothing to do at all. Kids would rather be at home playing a vid game, toys hanging out with their friends or watching a film. It's an adult event and no kid has any idea what's going on par they want to be out of their fancy clothes and out of the snorefest that is weddings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,458 ✭✭✭CathyMoran

Have been to a few close family/friends weddings - in all cases children were invited. There were none at mine over 7 years ago, partially as none of the guests had children and partially as I was just getting over chemo at the time so was supposed to keep contact with children to a minimum (though I did spend time with my cousin's children). I have had to turn down invites to evening wedding receptions as I can not eat out in the evening for medical reasons.