Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

German Couple Beaten on St. Patricks Day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

What the hell is wrong with these people???? :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

A fast track justice system needs to be put in place. No bullshít bureaucracy.
    If these guys who commit these types of mindless assaults are caught then
    a zero tolerance attitude is needed. No more taking years to prosecute and
    spending a fortune to give people slaps on the wrist that won't act as any
    kind of deterrant.

If you disregard the rights of others then you lose your own.
    It's the only way to deal with this type of crime. No mercy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

They dont seem to have been robbed. So just a random act?
    Paddy's day seems to be a free for all for some. A few years ago they used to put in prank calls to the fire brigade on paddys day and then attack them when they arrived.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Tilly wrote: »
    What the hell is wrong with these people???? :mad:

Couple of bruises and concussion, looks like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 whataname

crazzy stuff. I saw a lot of drunk louts loitering around on Paddies day but nothing like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,088 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

There seems to be a growing problem with public disorder type offences and there are no resources to deal with them.

The judiciary is also faced with a situation where there are limited prison places. They need to move to non custodial sentencing for non-violent crimes and heavier custodial sentences for stuff like this.

It's heading towards mayhem.

I was in town on Paddy's Day, and there was most definitely an element of drunken underage scum in town. I didn't see any incidents myself, 99.9% of people were having a great time. But the sight of all these drunk kids with their bottles of random fizzy drinks (and vodka) definitely made it apparent that there would be trouble somewhere at some point.

This is the generation that has 'grown up' in the last few years, and I doubt we've seen the worst from them yet.

This kind of this goes out globably and Dublin tourism suffers (deservedly as we're doing nothing to deal with it)

Keep it up and you'll see tourist numbers falling as the reputation grows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

gramar wrote: »
    A fast track justice system needs to be put in place. No bullshít bureaucracy.
    If these guys who commit these types of mindless assaults are caught then
    a zero tolerance attitude is needed. No more taking years to prosecute and
    spending a fortune to give people slaps on the wrist that won't act as any
    kind of deterrant.

If you disregard the rights of others then you lose your own.
    It's the only way to deal with this type of crime. No mercy.

This ^^

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

When the Gardaí arrest and charge them we will get the usual "they come from a poor background, broken home, abused as a child" excuses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Waiting for the mother of one of these scumbag to contact a radio station and inform us that he little lovie has mental health issues...:mad:

The city is rapidly getting out of control..!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

More Guards. Tougher sentences. Zero tolerance

Another Gentleman was given 3 years for stabbing a 17 year old 6 times in the back today. Suspended while he appeals

Ireland is a pushover if you are looking for handouts or acting the pr1ck, courtesy of the squeezed Muppet class who accept it and look away.

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    When the Gardaí arrest and charge them we will get the usual "they come from a poor background, broken home, abused as a child" excuses

It'll just be one of the 200 offences they have by the time they maim, murder or rape someone.

D1stant wrote: »
    More Guards. Tougher sentences. Zero tolerance

Another Gentleman was given 3 years for stabbing a 17 year old 6 times in the back today. Suspended while he appeals

Ireland is a pushover if you are looking for handouts or acting the pr1ck, courtesy of the squeezed Muppet class who accept it and look away.

I heard that on the radio earlier and the message it sends is that there is little or no consequence to attempted murder and that life is cheap.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

Maybe a system like the Special Criminal court that was set up to deal with Members of the IRA etc.

Swift Justice. No mercy. Maybe a reintroduction of the death penalty.
    Irelands to soft on the scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Ireland does a have a huge problem with street violence, either coming down to gangs of sh*thead youths or else as a result of the tolerance for drunkenness that exists here. I'm not saying that it's a uniquely Irish thing, you'd see the same across the UK for example; but we're certainly worse than other gaffs in Europe for it in my opinion. I was in the Basque Country recently and the Old Town in the cities there are usually nothing but non-stop pubs packed with people. I saw hardly any doormen there and very few cops. The atmosphere was chilled out and laid back with none of the menace you sometimes get at 3am in Irish towns and cities. I didn't see so much as a row in the three nights I was out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭geckovision

The hippies won't be along to defend them in this thread. There's not enough ambiguity in that video evidence for them to carry their agenda.

Absolute scum. There's nothing too harsh for these idiots. Nothing.

Santa Cruz wrote: »

So are many other people, yet they're utterly charming, helpful and of huge benefit to society.

I don't get the judicial logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

anncoates wrote: »
    Couple of bruises and concussion, looks like.
    ಠ_ಠ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

It was probably their bad childhoods fault :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

SpaceTime wrote: »
    I heard that on the radio earlier and the message it sends is that there is little or no consequence to attempted murder and that life is cheap.

Yes except this is not a message. Its reality

Meanwhile another guy gets 6 years for importing incorrectly labeled Garlic? WTF is going on?

And where is Alan Shatter? Mexico ( for Patrick's day ... still there) no doubt busy being condescending to someone or perhaps finishing off his latest erotic novel

FTA69 wrote: »
    Ireland does a have a huge problem with street violence, either coming down to gangs of sh*thead youths or else as a result of the tolerance for drunkenness that exists here. I'm not saying that it's a uniquely Irish thing, you'd see the same across the UK for example; but we're certainly worse than other gaffs in Europe for it in my opinion. I was in the Basque Country recently and the Old Town in the cities there are usually nothing but non-stop pubs packed with people. I saw hardly any doormen there and very few cops. The atmosphere was chilled out and laid back with none of the menace you sometimes get at 3am in Irish towns and cities. I didn't see so much as a row in the three nights I was out.

The only continental places I've felt that vibe in are Brussels and Paris oddly enough.

We got assaulted at a table outside a restaurant in Paris. Weird druggie Guy kept harassing us then threw food at us.

Also a guy got onto the RER train from Charles de Gaulle into the centre of Paris off his face drunk (wine bottle in hand) then urinated against the wall of the carriage!

Loads of random nasty stuff in Brussels too.

Not unique to Dublin but, still inexcusable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Disgusting.

My husband, myself and our 18 month old daughter pretty much got 'started on' a few weeks ago, we left a playground through a football pitch and my husband kicked a lone football he sees only for us all to get threatened by a group of young teenagers across the field! Scary stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,671 ✭✭✭BraziliaNZ

Nothing will change. Residents and tourists just need to accept that you may get beaten close to or to death when trying to go about your business. How many examples do we need for us to take action? Unless a TD's son or daughter is beaten to death, nothing will ever change. It's a stale democracy is Ireland.
    In fact, the best thing you could do is go out and kick the sh*t out of some politician's son, just don't get caught. That might bring about some changes. The end justifies the means etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

We walked past the Central Bank, around an hour after the parade finished.

There were dozens of underage drinkers there and back in to Temple Bar. It's almost as if there is an attitude of "it's st Patrick's day, we can do whatever we like".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The only continental places I've felt that vibe in are Brussels and Paris oddly enough.

We got assaulted at a table outside a restaurant in Paris. Weird druggie Guy kept harassing us then threw food at us.

Also a guy got onto the RER train from Charles de Gaulle into the centre of Paris off his face drunk (wine bottle in hand) then urinated against the wall of the carriage!

I'm not saying that it doesn't exist elsewhere but I don't think it's as common in other parts of Western Europe for the simple fact that they don't get as messy drunk from such a young age. Similarly I don't think codding ourselves that there isn't a disproportionate problem in Ireland with this kind of sh*t is helping us at all.

Recently there was a thread about drinking levels in Ireland and people were mad to jump in and pontificate about how Ireland's no worse than anywhere else. You need to be mature enough to admit there is a problem before you ever hope to tackle it.

We walked past the Central Bank, around an hour after the parade finished.

There were dozens of underage drinkers there and back in to Temple Bar. It's almost as if there is an attitude of "it's st Patrick's day, we can do whatever we like".

I don't get that. When I was a teenager the gardai were constantly on our backs chasing us & confiscating our drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,180 ✭✭✭EyeSight

I'm not surprised and nothing will be done.
    Dublin(and Ireland) needs zero tolerance and a tough justice system. It won't happen but that's what it needs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

It is not in the interest of the judiciary or the guards to sort this problem out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 637 ✭✭✭Podge83

Look, as said before, these ****ers see no consequence and will continue with their behaviour.

Crime, arrest, release. Then eventually a) charge or b) let off. If a, then prosecute and a) find guilty or b) let off. If a) get suspended sentence or b) get stupidly short sentence.

In the unlikely event that it gets to b) get released after half the stupidly short time and do it all again.

Its the way it is and nobody is going to change it. it's sick. Then when anyone does try to change it they're attacked by do-gooders.

If you're inclined to be a gouger it this country you have licence to continue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

I absolutely detest Patrick's day at the best of times and this is just another reason why I do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

I don't get that. When I was a teenager the gardai were constantly on our backs chasing us & confiscating our drink.

The Gards didn't seem all that interested to be honest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Definitely. Certain areas of Paris are sketchy enough. I wouldn't go wandering too far off the beaten track there.

The Gards didn't seem all that interested to be honest.

Crazy. The YouTube guys who beat up the man from Brazil were released without charge. Yay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭WallyGUFC

Between this and the 2 lads attacking the Brazilian lad, you'd wonder how people's minds are so deficient and undeveloped that they think this behaviour is okay. Kicking somebody in the head, no matter what the situation, should lead to at least a 5 year sentence. Absolute scummy carryon. Paramilitary police on occasions like this would also help I'm sure. Leather these c**ts with batons. Might teach them the error of their ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,628 ✭✭✭Femme_Fatale

I hear far more people pre-empting "It's their terrible childhood" type defences than this actually being used as a defence.
    On the odd occasion that I do hear of it, it's more that it's a factor in explaining, not an excuse.

Were yous up to much? They used to love shaking down my mates and I despite us doing nothing other than the drinking. The roving groups who would jump people randomly in the middle of town were left to their own devices though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,267 ✭✭✭deegs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

Links234 wrote: »
    ಠ_ಠ

I can't keep up with your god-damn kids and your squiggles.

What does that one mean?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 201 ✭✭Zeebs

Crazy. The YouTube guys who beat up the man from Brazil were released without charge. Yay.

A file has been sent to the DPP. Gardai reviewed CCTV and apparently their disgusting claims that the Brazilian student had hit one of their female friends beforehand was complete ****e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Put 'em in a field and bomb the bastards.

Simples.

Saves a fortune

FTA69 wrote: »
    I'm not saying that it doesn't exist elsewhere but I don't think it's as common in other parts of Western Europe for the simple fact that they don't get as messy drunk from such a young age. Similarly I don't think codding ourselves that there isn't a disproportionate problem in Ireland with this kind of sh*t is helping us at all.

Recently there was a thread about drinking levels in Ireland and people were mad to jump in and pontificate about how Ireland's no worse than anywhere else. You need to be mature enough to admit there is a problem before you ever hope to tackle it.

Oh it is way up there at the top of the league, don't get me wrong.

My concern is that there's actually a growing problem in a few places in Europe, Ireland's leading the way on it though!

On the continent when the police do deal with, they DEAL with it.

In Ireland, they're not resourced enough at all for this kind of stuff.

Were yous up to much? They used to love shaking down my mates and I despite us doing nothing other than the drinking. The roving groups who would jump people randomly in the middle of town were left to their own devices though.

We were just girls drinking, like everybody did!! Some of the guys who would be out sometimes were probably carrying stuff...the gardai probably thought we'd be dumb enough to hide stuff for them!

"file sent to DPP"....does anything ever happen with these files that are sent to the DPP ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭kjbsrah1

It will be interesting to see what the Guards say about racist crimes - Ireland has no race crimes according to AGS. We all know differently. Annual statistics issued by AGS year after year make no mention of race crimes. They say we don't have race crime in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭Kippure

What is also needed is a uniquie group of individuals who operate outside the law and BEAT THE LIVING F@CK out of these scummers.

vicwatson wrote: »
    "file sent to DPP"....does anything ever happen with these files that are sent to the DPP ?

That's the other thing, the public prosecution services in Ireland are organised weirdly and are not resourced.

There should be a team of state-employed barristers doing prosecutions in the same way as say Canada (which has a very similar and familiar legal system).

Over there a QC works in the prosecutors' office and will be involved in a case in a similar way to a DA in the US.
    Even for a minor offence, a QC does the charging and bargaining and all that stuff and the case is likely to end up before a judge much more quickly.

There's a HUGE issue here with the costs of taking a case being ridiculously high (for both the state and the defendant) due to the way barristers are hired.

Justice has to be accessible and fairly swift for it to work at all. What we have created is some kind of a gravy train for the legal profession instead of a justice system.

deegs wrote: »

Jeepers. First neknominations getting out of control now this. What is wrong with kids of today? Teenagers should be banned.

Tilly wrote: »
    What the hell is wrong right with these people???? :mad:

FYP

It is not in the interest of the judiciary or the guards to sort this problem out

why though, I dont understand that, they have to live in this society too.

Politicians have families, garda members have family, of course its in their interests to clean society up.