Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Would you have a body transplant?

• 31-03-2014 03:12PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭

Let's assume for a second that we're living in 2214 and somehow scientists have managed to master the art of a body transplant.

So, say you're 70 years old on the precipice of death when a wrinkly old surgeon creeps in and offers you one last hope. The surgeon explains that he's able to take your brain, and with it your experiences and memories, and implant it into someone else's body - this would mean you think exactly the same as you already do but you've simply got a new shell that allows you to survive for longer.

The question is - would you rather die than take the new shell?

I'd take the new shell even with the knowledge it would be weird to walk around in a new shell - I mean, you'd even have to change your Facebook pictures.

Would you take the new shell if you were on the verge of death? 36 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 36 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

I would take one now, never mind when I am 70 !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,094 ✭✭✭wretcheddomain

eamonnq wrote: »
    I would take one now, never mind when I am 70 !!

Even if it were a black shell?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭Alf. A. Male

Well that escalted quickly.

WTF? What kind of oddball left turn is that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

and implant it into someone else's body

This raises a lot of ethical concerns, who's body? How can they possibly consent? Is this a cloned body? If so, why not clone yourself and implant your consciousness into that body? Even without those ethical issues, we still don't know a lot, so what are the chances of something going wrong? What if the new body rejected the old brain? What happens then?

I think it's a reasonable question - I think a lot of people would like to know the characteristics of the new shell i.e. obese? black? short? etc. These factors could influence their decision.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Yeah, racist!

I'd upgrade to a new model with a bigger dong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

I mean, you'd even have to change your Facebook pictures.

This would be the biggest problem to overcome for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Like a kinder surprise?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,590 ✭✭✭jane82

Why is it a wrinkly old surgeon? If this surgery is so great why hasnt the.man probably most qualified to decide got it done himself. Something fishy going on here. Id be off on me spacebike before you could say highlander.

Links234 wrote: »
    This raises a lot of ethical concerns, who's body? How can they possibly consent? Is this a cloned body? If so, why not clone yourself and implant your consciousness into that body? Even without those ethical issues, we still don't know a lot, so what are the chances of something going wrong? What if the new body rejected the old brain? What happens then?

True - it raises more than ethical concerns - it also raises what people constitute to be 'them' and, for many, this includes their body, which they somehow see as their property.

As for the ethical concerns, these would be real human bodies that were left to the scientific community and maintained in such a way to allow me to use it as part of my opening remarks.

The hypothetical scenario assumes all else is equal with regard to rejection etc.

I think it's a reasonable question - I think a lot of people would like to know the characteristics of the new shell i.e. obese? black? short? etc. These factors could influence their decision.

Well why not ssk a question like that then - "Would the physical characteristics of the new body have an influence on your decision?"? Or why not present a few examples?
    Or perhaps leave people to answer what could be an interesting question without influence, rather than picking one trait and presenting it as though it would be an obvious drawback for people who migght otherwise consider the proposition.

Well why not ssk a question like that then - "Would the physical characteristics of the new body have an influence on your decision?"? Or why not present a few examples?
    Or perhaps leave people to answer what could be an interesting question without influence, rather than picking one trait and presenting it as though it would be an obvious drawback for people who migght otherwise consider the proposition.

Are you black yourself Alf? You seem to be taking great offence at something so normal.

What's wrong with referencing black people as a trait, have you something against black people? See how I could turn something so banal your way too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,012 ✭✭✭Plazaman

......So, say you're 70 years old on the precipice of death when a wrinkly old surgeon creeps in and offers you one last hope....

You mean this guy?

I'd like to keep my face, it's kinda alright like. I'll take the body of a blonde, sallow skinned, 22 year old figure skater with a decent set of boobs though. Thanks. Can I pay with credit card?

these would be real human bodies that were left to the scientific community

What? They were 'left' to the scientific community? Left by whom? Who did these bodies belong to? Something here sounds very fishy, the more we hear about your proposal the more it doesn't add up. This is some clandestine crap right here, and who's to say you when you remove a person's brain you don't just chuck it and keep the body for your own nefarious purposes? 'Cos none of this can be legal, so you're already operating in the shadows and whoever comes to use your services will be doing so very secretively... No, I don't believe this at all. You're up to something!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

2214!? I'm hoping they have this up and running before I die. Clone your body without a brain (somehow, I'm not a scientist), transplant your brain into the clone, off you pop 60 years younger. Hello ladies.

I'd like to keep my face, it's kinda alright like. I'll take the body of a blonde, sallow skinned, 22 year old figure skater with a decent set of boobs though. Thanks. Can I pay with credit card?

Premium shells available too don't forget. :pac:

What? They were 'left' to the scientific community? Left by whom? Who did these bodies belong to? Something here sounds very fishy, the more we hear about your proposal the more it doesn't add up. This is some clandestine crap right here, and who's to say you when you remove a person's brain you don't just chuck it and keep the body for your own nefarious purposes? 'Cos none of this can be legal, so you're already operating in the shadows and whoever comes to use your services will be doing so very secretively... No, I don't believe this at all. You're up to something!

You're going to ruin my chances of having a super hot body you know :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

Could you get a different gender?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,720 ✭✭✭Sir Arthur Daley

Could you get a different gender?

That option is currently available.

You're going to ruin my chances of having a super hot body you know :(

And here's another thing, what if he transplants your brain into a new body, but it's not what you expect? Oh no, it's a body you wouldn't have dreamt up in your wildest nightmares, all tentacles and lobster claws and one of those dangly lightbulby anglerfish apendages? Is the risk worth it?

Are you black yourself Alf? You seem to be taking great offence at something so normal.

What's wrong with referencing black people as a trait, have you something against black people? See how I could turn something so banal your way too.

No, I'm not black. I'm straw coloured, like the man you're building for an argument there.

Nothing wrong with referncing black skin as a trait, but plenty wrong with posing the question as a negative "Even if it was black", i.e. you see it as a negative and were asking the poster would you be willing to take the transplant even if it was black. At this stage, stop digging the hole, say something like "Sorry, stupid post, didn't mean it that way". Or stick to the stupidity of it, your call.

And here's another thing, what if he transplants your brain into a new body, but it's not what you expect? Oh no, it's a body you wouldn't have dreamt up in your wildest nightmares, all tentacles and lobster claws and one of those dangly lightbulby anglerfish apendages? Is the risk worth it?

Ok I've changed my mind. I've had boobs all my life. I want lobster claws this time around.

You want lobster claws in place of your boobs? You know that's gonna make cuddling difficult, but I can't fault your imagination!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,641 ✭✭✭✭Elmo

What if you and your sister were in a car accident, your body was completely destroyed and your sister was brain damaged, but as your are relatives her body is a perfect replacement. :eek:

If your a girl replace sister with brother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,484 ✭✭✭username123

What if the new body had lots of existing medical conditions? I wouldnt be bothered moving into the new shell if there was lots of pain in the new shell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭poundapunnet

God no, life's long enough. But if ye like I'll donate my body so there's no question of funny business.

25 years old
    Right hand drive
    One female owner
    Never drove it to mass on Sundays
    Runs on nicotine and caffeine and beer if you're offering
    Left ankle clicks a bit sometimes when it's cold but it's basically grand, don't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭pundy

i wouldnt be arsed. we're supposed to expire.

pundy wrote: »
    i wouldnt be arsed. we're supposed to expire.

Meh, our expiry is a design flaw. Nature came up with these shells through trial and error, we'll eventually improve upon it with some hard work and elbow grease.

nah. havent you ever watched american horror story?
    it would be absolute torture to be everlasting.

what a show btw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭Adamantium

whiskeyman wrote: »
    Like a kinder surprise?

I laughed way more than I should at this one. Well done. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,091 ✭✭✭Antar Bolaeisk

What do you mean risk?! That'd be awesome, assuming that we're talking about clones here rather than the body of some fourth world (we'll have a fourth, maybe even fifth world, by then) irradiated and mutated adolescent (how old does the body have to be before transplantation is allowed) sold to allow the rest of the family to move from the poverty ravaged underworld into the comparative luxury of the third world where there's three square meals a day of food-like supplements (all the vitamins and minerals the body needs in one mostly edible grey goop). Of course, fourth world body would always be available on the lower end of the market for those unable to afford the latest and greatest in cloning.

With cloning I would imagine there'd be the ability to experiment a bit, lungs grown to better cope with smoking, eyes in the back of one's head, the ability to leap buildings in a single stride, different gender, different skin colour (brown, green, red). The whole thing would be a furries' wet dream. What'd be the fun in getting the same old body back again.

Or do we just raise our kids with the end goal of stealing their bodies when they/we reach a certain age in order to retain the world population equilibrium.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭rozeboosje

"Body transplant"?

What would you be "transplanting"?

rozeboosje wrote: »
    "Body transplant"?

What would you be "transplanting"?

I suppose your spinal cord and brain would be given a new body.

Like Robocop but not a robot, pretty disappointing when you think about it!

pundy wrote: »
    nah. havent you ever watched american horror story?
    it would be absolute torture to be everlasting.

what a show btw

I think it would be great. Sure what would you want to be dead for? Life is where all the action is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 857 ✭✭✭rozeboosje

Dunno. Why not just go full Cyborg? Maybe by then they'll have made some serious progress in that area?

It gets interesting when they start replacing brain modules with electronics that produce the exact same input and output. The ship of Theseus springs to mind :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,036 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I'll take whoops' boobs if she's getting rid of them.
    Waste not, want not and all that...

I think it would be great. Sure what would you want to be dead for? Life is where all the action is.

haha true i suppose, but it's not about wanting to be dead, it's more that we have to die in order for "the whole lot of it to work".

hahah i know that's pretty useless, but it's the closest i can get!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,778 ✭✭✭sebastianlieken

why not zoidberg?

woop woop woop

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

Not to mention. ..whose body would you be transplanting. ..surely if the body was still working it would be attached yo its original owner. ..who would have transplanted to another body when it started failing

You would have body doubles. The government would organise a database of people who look like you and if should a body become available on your death bed then you could take it. This would mean they could reconstruct your face so that you don't surprised yourself when you look in the mirror.

I think our government would be very good at this, Department of Body Association and Transplants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,802 ✭✭✭cml387

I'll take Kim Kardashian's body,but use it for good instead of evil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Maybe I already have one of them...................

Yes, even if it were a black shell !!