Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Aintree Day 2, April 4th (Money Day)

• 03-04-2014 05:32PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭

Winners on a postcard please :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Two bets one lay depending on price and a very well handicapped horse in Giorgio Querqus 25/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

I want to give the Don another chance tomorrow but I couldn't pick my nose at the moment.

I think Wishful thinking is in good form and won't be as outpaced tomorrow.

Attaglance and Harding to get things right this time. Still on a winning mark.

Won't have a penny on though, have given up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Worst Melling Chase line-up I've ever seen. P!ss poor contest tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Bangor Billy

At the preview night Warren Greatrex was very bullish about his horse in the bumper. Said whatever beat it would win. Hannah's Princess - 10-1.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Worst Melling Chase line-up I've ever seen. P!ss poor contest tomorrow.

Probably one of the worst Grade 1's I've ever seen tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Three bets.

2.30 Wonderful Charm 4/1 - still believe he has the talent to be top class over right trip and that's tomorrow hopefully. He ran in the Jewson like some of his other races before festival suggested he would, doing all his best work at the finish. 3m round Aintree should be perfect and if he doesn't win tomorrow there'll be no more excuses. Strongly believe tomorrows trip will bring out the best in him though.

3.05 Module 5/1 - never been any great fan of the horse but he's got the form in the book against much better horses than he faces tomorrow an is as consistent as they come. Got to go close in a shocking race (God knows why the Pipes didn't send Dynaste here)

Singles & each way double

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,786 ✭✭✭Motivator

Seeyouatmidnight.

They think this fella will win the Gold Cup. Could end up being much better than any of the public think, the owners have turned down massive money for it apparently & they think this horse will be a world beater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭madmoose

Wasnt that stonebrook beaten by faugheen by miles in that punchestown bumper and close josses hill same race? At 7/1 it seems appealing tomorrow.

They are really looking to get into Don Cossack, would he have been pricewised?

Based on the runs of Ballycasey and Carlingford Lough he looks beaten, as much as I'd love to think otherwise.

Yeah he is pricewised. Ive had a small bet on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Double Ross Topham Chase ew 9/1. Has been running consistently well all season and the form of his last run in the JLT was further franked with Uxizandre going in today. I know this is a handicap so the weights should even things out but his form is very good and he's been fairly progressive this season. A worthy favourite imo. Not sure what to make of that O'Neill horse down the bottom of the weights Lost Legend - could be a total handicap blot.

Cheltenian cost me a few bob at the festival (cough cough), cruising out in front, clipped one early on but travelling well before he just came to a complete stop at the business end, finding absolutely zip. So I'm going to give him a swerve tomorrow - if he wins, I'll be crying over a pale ale tomorrow night. Going to side with Zabana ew 6/1 who won very impressively last time out at leopardstown. The first two pulled well clear of the third that day and he travelled really well through the race. The 2nd (Emire of Dirt) , 3rd (Bothar Le Ceile) and 4th (Mister Hotelier reopposes today) home that day have popped in since so the form is working out really well. That was his first run this season and has been rested since. I'm hoping there is plenty more to come from this fella. Again a worthy joint favourite but the price is more than fair.

Backing them both each way and in an each way double

madmoose wrote: »
    Yeah he is pricewised. Ive had a small bet on him.

Anywhere I could see the write up? The morning I suppose? Intrigued!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Letyourselfgo

Working all day tomorrow so put a few bets on,hopefully come home to a bulging account.

3:05
    Module 6.0
    French Opera 32.0

3:40
    Double Ross 11.0
    Lost Legend 18.13
    Giorgio Quercus 24.0

4:15
    Killala Quay 8.0 NAP (backed it at Cheltenham and was finishing the race off well so extra distance in it's favour.)

4:50
    Zabana 8.0
    Yesyoucan 170.0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 713 ✭✭✭newuser89

With the meling being such a bad race I'm going to put a nice bet on pepite rose as she gets 7 pounds and loves quick ground,jumped huge and extravagant last time at Newbury.ran a good race in this a couple of years ago was behind the likes of al ferof and cristal bonus and I forget who won it ha.
    Only 5 lengths behind al ferof that day
    Paddy power offer helps to
    Money back on the 2nd and 3rd in race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

2.00 Don't think anything will beat Josses Hill. Leaving that one alone. Would expect Amore Alato to go well here at a price.
    2.30 Backed Holywell NRNB for the RSA, too short in the Baylis&Harding. To tricky to call for me but Many Clouds is interesting
    3.05 I can see why Module is favourite, I'd probably take him even at that price. He's best on this sort of track but ground makes his price.
    3.40 Got my antepost on Dunowen Point a week back at 25s and happy. 8lbs lower than last year and prominant tactics should be reinstated.
    4.15 Will look closer at this tomorrow
    4.50 Cheltenian and Alaivan are my two. Both I think will be better over the two and a half miles.
    5.15 Backed The Govaness for teh Cheltenham race so happy to take her here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,032 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Have these for tomorrow thanks to Stan James.

2:00 Amore Alato (14/1) - Horse has beat Sgt Reckless twice but yet is double the price, surely a bit of value here.
    3:40 Ma Filleule (14/1) - Have tipped it up here a few times and it has shown some nice improvement.
    4:50 Clondaw Kaempfer (16/1) - Going to give this horse one last chance, I think it may well prefer a track like Aintree.
    5:20 Hannahs Princess (10/1) - Bangor Billy's tip.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

I know his 3 wins Wincanton (flat track) wins were (a) lon ger distances (b) out of the handicaps, and (c) lower grades, but does anyone give Standing Ovation a shot tomorrow, even each way?

Raging he is favourite, bad luck.

Is he good enough to try and led the full way. He was too keen in his last two races, and one should ignore the conditional race in Cheltenham.

He jumps well enough, though fences at Aintree might be a different matter. I know some rivals bet him well recently and they had top weight, but good ground would be very welcomed and I assumed flat track like Kempton n Wincanton would have prepped him for Aintree.

Or is he just a stayed with little speed. Can he make all?

Apparently only 1 horse in 13 years has won at over 10th st 9

Keeping a bit of powder dry for Dundalk tonight. There's a few well handicapped runners out there tonight that may just fall under the radar with all this Grand National talk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Keeping a bit of powder dry for Dundalk tonight. There's a few well handicapped runners out there tonight that may just fall under the radar with all this Grand National talk.

Backed Asian Wing in the last at 16s

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭carpothepunk

Think josses hill is awful short, and art of payroll interesting, greatrex wouldn't hear Hannah's princess beaten, and think seeyouatmidnight will improve for the better ground. There was juice in the 5/1 for sure.

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Snap. That's down to a very nice mark now, has course and distance form, the booking of Pat Smullen is indicative of its chance. Horse won't be 16/1 at the off, that's for sure.

6:15 - While only a 2yo, Packing Go Go looks quite overpriced at 6/1. Horse cost 160k, has some proven breeding over the AW. With Ger Lyons training it, I think it will have ever chance to break its maiden first time out.

6:45 - It has been close between Catwilldo and Strategic Heights any time they've raced before. This time out though, Catwilldo runs with over a stone in hand. While you have to fear Robbie Downey with the form he is in, Sean Corby has also been quite decent. Think Catwilldo can take advantage of the extra weight competitors will be carrying.

7:15 - Oor Jock has had a recent change of ownership and the trainer knows how to handicap his horses. Oor Jock has show flashes of form at mucher higher marks and I suspect his day to win is close at hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Module is underrated. I'm waiting for it to hit 6/1 and I'll put a decent bet on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

my route to riches *ahem*

AINTREE 14:00 NOVICES HURDLE (GRADE 2) (4YO+) 2m 110y
    Baltimore Rock @ 10.00 (GP)

AINTREE 14:30 NOVICES CHASE (GRADE 1) (5YO+) 3m 1f
    Holywell @ 4.00 (GP)

AINTREE 15:05 MELLING CHASE (GRADE 1) (5YO+)2m 4f
    Module @ 6.50 (GP)

AINTREE 15:40 CRABBIES TOPHAM CHASE (GRADE 3) (5YO+) 2m 5f 110y
    Tahiti Pearl @ 23.00 (GP)

AINTREE 16:15 NOVICES HURDLE (GRADE 1) (4YO+) 3m 110y
    Tagrita @ 11.00 (GP)

AINTREE 16:50 HANDICAP HURDLE (GRADE 3) (4YO+) 2m 4f
    Stonebrook @ 7.00 (GP)

AINTREE 17:25 MARES FLAT RACE (LISTED) (4YO-6YO) 2m 1f
    Hannahs Princess @ 6.50 (GP)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Backed Josses Hill last night.

Will also back Module and Stonebrook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

I will be taking on Jossie's Hill with Art of Payroll won with a tonne in hand last day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,370 ✭✭✭rossom

A few I like the look of today

3.40 Aintree Tatenen 25/1 love this lad to bits and he ran an absolute blinder in the Byrne Group Plate at Cheltenham when 3rd behind the well handicapped pair of Ballynagour & Colour Squadron. I think the handicapper has been kind to leave him unchanged off a mark of 140 and, clearly in great heart, I think he's in line to run another stormer today. One could point to failing to complete over these National Fences in two attempts but he was brought down on one of those occasions and I think you can always forgive one unseat over them. Additionally, over the mammoth Grand National trip, Tatenen was always held up to have any chance of staying the trip but over a much more suitable extended 2m5f I can Andy Thornton being a lot more positive on him which I think will help him a lot.

4.15 Aintree Seeyouatmidnight 5/1 if this 6 year old hailed from a top yard I think he'd be about a 2/1 shot and I think the 5/1 about Sandy Thompson's son of Midnight Legend is a tremendous price. Unbeaten in all three starts over hurdles, Seeyouatmidnight has been very impressive on each occasion and I thought it was a tremendous performance when beating more experienced opposition in the Rendlesham and he unquestionably the one they all have to beat. And I don't think he will be.

4.50 Aintree Zabana 7/1 & Party Rock 33/1 After winning his last start, trainer Andrew Lynch said that Zabana was only a shell of a horse last year (won twice) and that he was a much stronger horse this year. He certainly looked it when winning impressively off a mark of 119 on his reappearance at Leopardstown. Travelling powerfully throughout the contest, I thought Zabana was value for more than the 2L margin of victory and that race has worked out extremely well. The runner up Empire of Dirt (gave Zabana 7lb) has since gone on to score in a Grade 2, the 3rd home Bothar Clei and 4th home Mister Hotelier (who reopposes here on 2lb better terms) have also won since and I think the 13lb higher mark he must contend with looks fair. With better ground sure to suit, I think this unexposed animal has a great chance of landing this in a race that I think will suit him ideally.

The other I like is Jennie Candlish's Party Rock who has been woeful on his last 4 starts but has resultantly dropped 10lb for those runs to a mark of 135 which makes him look well handicapped. 7lb above the mark he was a very convincing winner over C+D last May, he was narrowly beaten off a 5lb higher mark in December again over C+D just 5 starts ago and if rediscovering that form I think he can run a fine race at a big price.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭Whosthis

5.15 Leicester Bling King (28/1 Bet Victor) First run of the season and the ground being softer than ideal go against Bling King but he's on a workable mark and capable of winning a races of this sort. The booking of De Sousa is eye catching and the price is too big to ignore.

6.25 Wolverhampton Bapak Bangsawan (10/1 Betbright) Won over CD in February LTO, stepped up in class but only carries 1lb more than last time and should be competitive.

Both EW.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭chipsdave

Sgt Reckless passed a hell of a lot of horses in Chelt near the finish and it will be interesting to see how He goes , on the Vatour formline , Josses Hill 13-8 and The Sgt at 11-2 seems too big a discrepancy imo.

King of the Picts e/w in the first at 25/1

I think we could get a nice dividend on the placepot today and I'm keen to get a few favourites out of the frame.

9 2
    6 4
    5 1
    4 29 22
    12 banker leg
    17 6

Haven't had a go since being done a head for over 4 grand at the first curragh meeting. Love a go at the big pots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 711 ✭✭✭battser

I think we could get a nice dividend on the placepot today and I'm keen to get a few favourites out of the frame.

9 2
    6 4
    5 1
    4 29 22
    12 banker leg
    17 6

Haven't had a go since being done a head for over 4 grand at the first curragh meeting. Love a go at the big pots
    How much do you do on that carpo?

battser wrote: »
    How much do you do on that carpo?

Depends on the pot really. Did a euro line stake today as it's tricky. One or two of the first few favourites beat and a place in the big handicap and we would be in business

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,062 ✭✭✭walrusgumble

UrbanSea wrote: »

Ye all still betting on Dundalk. I thought it was agreed last Friday that putting bets on that race card is like Russian Rouelette. LOL

Best of Luck, will have a gawk later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭hoopyhoopy

I like Holywell in second, that won for me at Cheltenham so might go for that

I Like sticking with previous winners I got before, it shows the horses you trust them and creats a circle of bond I feel - and that can only help the horses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Gringo180

6/4 Josses Hill. What are the bookies smoking?

Carberry cruising.

I'm going to stop any in running commentary because I've put the mockers on everything I've commented on. Josses hill did it well. Art of payroll perhaps unlucky in running.

Get the **** in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Did two lines of a place pot accidentally wrote down 6 instead of 8 for one of them still in it :pac:

King of the Picts jumped very well
    Should have done the forecast

That was a very good performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

Confirms what a monster Vautour is.

He'll be an arkle horse yet. Did Barry give him the whip? Think he just waved it at him. Lovely performance anyway. Watching that overhead angle, art of payroll definitely unlucky in running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭PaddyCar

can someone please post the 1,2,3

Great performance but vautour is on another level which is scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 165 ✭✭paulpd

PaddyCar wrote: »
    can someone please post the 1,2,3

1st6 Josses Hill(B J Geraghty, 6/4 fav)
    2nd9 Sgt Reckless(A P McCoy, 9/2 2nd-fav)
    3rd7 King of The Picts(P Townend, 25/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭Pinesky

70/40 grand bet Josses hill reported on C4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 703 ✭✭✭PaddyCar

Thanks paulpd

Many Clouds/Wonderful Charm 1-2 please.

Some performance. Won't get close in the pp. at least the lay on o faoileans boy landed