Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

people's opinions

• 13-05-2014 12:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭

What is it with some people not liking when other people have opinions?
    Yet it is OK for them have a opinion.

Over the weekend I put something up about a young lad not getting a chance to play in the match he was involved in.
    THis isn't the first time they won't play the child and he goes to all the trainings etc. I was there to watch the younger cousin play.

I seen an older cousin awhile ago and he was told what I put up as he isn't on Facebook. He said I should just remove it as to the keep trouble down down.
    He said a few people weren't happy with it.

I had to step away myself from the club myself with not been happy with a few things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Your opinion threatens me. I dislike it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

u ok hun? xxx

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Opinions are like assholes. Most of them are clattered in shít.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,116 ✭✭✭✭cena

whiskeyman wrote: »
    u ok hun? xxx

If I go by your username I guess your as dude as am I.

Don't call me hun please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,782 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

opinion - 3.14159 = onion
    therefore
    people's opinions = people's onions and pi

OP, you are entitled to your onions and pi, but sometimes you should keep your onions and pi to yourself

opinion - 3.14159 = onion
    therefore
    people's opinions = people's onions and pi

OP, you are entitled to your onions and pi, but sometimes you should keep your onions and pi to yourself

I understand I should of kept it to myself but I was so annoyed they could put on the lad. He was the only sub that didn't get a game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

cena wrote: »
    I understand I should of kept it to myself but I was so annoyed they could put on the lad. He was the only sub that didn't get a game

He must be useless hun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭Snake

If I go by your username I guess your as dude as am I.

Don't call me hun please.

Well that was a terrible idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,574 ✭✭✭pajor

And..

Opinions are like assholes. Everybody has one.

I am pie wrote: »
    He must be useless hun.

He isn't the best. But every child I meant to playing in the game. They are rules made out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    Well that was a terrible idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

You are not entitled to your opinion, OP!

(Article not directly applicable to your specific story, but I thought it was a good one about the subject nonetheless!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,263 ✭✭✭Gongoozler

Can't help but notice your posts, OP, are terribly inane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,280 ✭✭✭Davarus Walrus

The internet isn't really designed for politely respecting and considering the opinions of others, especially in fast-moving discussion sites like here and thejournal. It's all very emotive, on the moment and lacking in any great critical insight. If anything, it only seeks to harden opinions and perspectives.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

But every child I meant to playing in the game. They are rules made out

This could take hours to decipher.

.. Ugh

He said every child is supposed to play at least once in a match... Fairness rule of something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,400 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

But now you don't like their opinions OP...but they are right right you should keep the trouble down down.

GrayFox208 wrote: »
    .. Ugh

He said every child is supposed to play at least once in a match... Fairness rule of something

You have hit the nail on the head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I was there to watch the younger cousin

That could get ya in to trouble, hun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

It's a disgrace....other people simply shouldn't be allowed have opinions

love

Vlad

MagicIRL wrote: »
    That could get ya in to trouble, hun.

His parents where there too. And don't be twisting things around.

Feck off with your hun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,337 ✭✭✭Wishiwasa Littlebitaller

Did you work at a diarrhea treatment facility?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭ratmouse

Feck off with your hun.[/

The hun reference is face book mocking you do realise?!

ratmouse wrote: »

Feck off with your hun.[/

The hun reference is face book mocking you do realise?!

I don't get it

"u ok hun? xx". A very common question following any post/opinion posted in Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 334 ✭✭Mahogany Gaspipe

Will someone please think of the child!

In fairness it isn't nice for the young lad not to get a game, your heart is in the right place OP fair play to ya.

Hand on heart OP, is the 'young lad' any good? Or is he, simply put, rubbish? Or is he of the age where it doesn't really matter?

Perhaps you should think about this, and if you think he should be playing, have a word with the coach. Or a parent who has access to the coach. There might be a decent reason, and your answer will be found.

Hun.

Will someone please think of the child!

In fairness it isn't nice for the young lad not to get a game, your heart is in the right place OP fair play to ya.

The club is crying out to get more players to join. The club is very low on young members.
    Last year one young lad was told he was sh#t right from the coaches mouth.

The club is crying out to get more players to join. The club is very low on young members.
    Last year one young lad was told he was sh#t right from the coaches mouth.

As in, sh*t from the coach's mouth?

"u ok hun? xx". A very common question following any post/opinion posted in Facebook

You're welcome on the hun mystery explained by the way OP!!

Hand on heart OP, is the 'young lad' any good? Or is he, simply put, rubbish? Or is he of the age where it doesn't really matter?

Perhaps you should think about this, and if you think he should be playing, have a word with the coach. Or a parent who has access to the coach. There might be a decent reason, and your answer will be found.

Hun.

The young lad is only 10 or 11. I was part of this team for the last six years training and going to matches till I had to step away.
    He isn't the sports physical kind. But tries his best. But that isn't the point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,880 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Everyone is entitled to my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Was it just this match or is he usually left on the sideline...very unfair if he goes to the training sessions..unwritten rule is that the kids that train always get to play (unless theyre useless and the scores are tight:))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,975 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

The young lad is only 10 or 11. I was part of this team for the last six years training and going to matches till I had to step away.
    He isn't the sports physical kind. But tries his best. But that isn't the point.

Ah that kid used to be me. I was rubbish compared to others at that age and was frequently on the bench as a result but I always got a run on near the end at the least.

While your heart is in the right place, I believe it could also hinder teh child. I never wanted my parents sticking there noses in, I wanted to earn it myself and work harder to make the coach pick me. Didnt always work. Its just one of those things I think.

What does the child think of the situation?

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Ah that kid used to be me. I was rubbish compared to others at that age and was frequently on the bench as a result but I always got a run on near the end at the least.

While your heart is in the right place, I believe it could also hinder teh child. I never wanted my parents sticking there noses in, I wanted to earn it myself and work harder to make the coach pick me. Didnt always work. Its just one of those things I think.

What does the child think of the situation?
    He gets very upset over it. Some of the lads would pick on him. I have had to stand beside them at times to stop them from picking on him. I know the manager has seen it but never done anything about it. I'm not there now to help him or chat to him. One of his friends is my cousin on the team and he well stand up for him which is good as the lads won't pick on him as he is very a strong lad

Does he have any friends besides his cousin on the team? What sports does his other pals play? What does the child want to do next? Does he want to continue there even though its hard on him?

I dont think there is anything you can do now that wont make the situation worse. Unfortunatly he may not be cut out for football.

What is the point then?

I think his point is that everyone should get a run out at that age, even if it is the last 10 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Had the same problem myself with my oldest child , eventually at the age of 14 he decided he had enough , he left his team as did his two younger brothers.

The funny thing is I was a member of the club myself and sold tickets , mentored teams , helped in an annual underage tournament , packed bags even served behind the bar on busy nights so you can imagine my pleasure when his fat cnut of a manager turned up at my door asking if I could sell tickets for the annual Christmas draw.

beakerjoe wrote: »
    I think his point is that everyone should get a run out at that age, even if it is the last 10 mins

But wasn't it originally to do with "people's opinions"? How he had an issue with someone telling him he shouldn't have expressed himself that way?

I agree with the others, best to stay out of it. Or speak to the kid and ask him, is this really what you want to do? If he's that keen on football then maybe he needs to spend a few hours a day in his back garden practicing, and show in training that he has improved. Coaches generally don't want to lose matches, so he needs to have a good reason to put him on.

As for opinions and what not, a lot of the time people who have "a word in your ear" have some kind of agenda, and you'd be better served recognising this the difference between a genuine opinion and "spin".

And maybe don't post these kinds of things to Facebook - FB is an amazing social media tool, but it is also populated by f*ckwits who jump on anything you may post or write, just to disagree with it - either unfriend them or use Facebook for good, not evil.

Sure I was the same.. Never once got to play.. Maybe he should try something different?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 680 ✭✭✭MS.ing

Yet it is OK for them have a opinion.

Over the weekend I put something up about my young lad not getting a chance to play in the match he was involved in.
    THis isn't the first time they won't play my child and he goes to all the trainings etc. I was there to watch my younger son play.

I seen an older cousin awhile ago and he was told what I put up as he isn't on Facebook. He said I should just remove it as to the keep trouble down down.

I had to step away myself from the club myself with not been happy with a few things.

hmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 94 ✭✭zuhuraswa

Well opinions are like belly buttons!

zuhuraswa wrote: »
    Well opinions are like belly buttons!

Wrinkly and once attached to an umbilical cord?

MS.ing wrote: »
    hmmmm

Hmmmmm, what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 440 ✭✭Pawn

Well, you can't please everyone.

Pawn wrote: »
    Well, you can't please everyone.

That is for sure