Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Summer Meet Portlaoise 23/24 Aug

• 01-08-2014 02:30PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭

How about we get a summer meet going?

23rd/24th of August could work. Just depends on how people feel about those dates. I generally prefers Sundays to be honest. Let's get the list started and we can see what people feel about the dates.

1. Alanstrainor - 325ci (silver bullet)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,908 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

Due to being on the squash committee I can't make the 24th. We are having a huge open day along with the golf club and I have to be at that :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Ah, MM, you are disappoint :( could you not visit us for a short bit even?

2. dgt - a black car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,606 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

2. dgt - a black car
    3. toastedpickles - something sweedish

dgt wrote: »
    Ah, MM, you are disappoint :( could you not visit us for a short bit even?

This is on from 11 to 6. I'll see if I can scoot off but I doubt it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭Cleveland Hot Pocket

2. dgt - a black car
    4. Cleveland Hot Pocket - Another Black car (hopefully)

Can only make the 24th though. Work summer party is on the night of the 22nd so I wouldnt be driving the 23rd morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,354 ✭✭✭Sobanek

Will be in Poland until the 27th, so have fun guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,652 ✭✭✭Chimaera

Maybe but it'd have to be the Sunday for me. At a wedding the night of the 22nd so Saturday is out :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Will see how im fixed closer to the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Has to be the saturday for me, attending something up the country that night and won't be in any fit state returning Sunday :)

2. dgt - a black car
    5. YbFocus - S14a 530d (I need a change :()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭toyotaavensis

Best of luck lads. I will be on pilgrimage that day. i.e. I'll be at Cork and Tipp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I'm a maybe, won't put my name down just yet. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Work sending me to Frankfurt on the Sunday so Im out for both days. Following weekend would suit me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭kilianmanning

2. dgt - a black car
    5. kilianmanning - something french :D

Best of luck lads. I will be on pilgrimage that day. i.e. I'll be at Cork and Tipp.

Where's that on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Depends on work, I'll know soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

2. dgt - a black car
    5. kilianmanning - something french
    6. Chris_Heilong - something with sideskirts

Ok i won't go so if ye don't want me there :(

Where's that on?

Croke park
    First match is half one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I'll be at doolin beer festival. Have the meet in Doolin?

5. kilianmanning - something french :D

Yes!:cool:

Croke park
    First match is half one

Thank Christ!! I couldn't handle another one in semple stadium :pac:

Is the plan the same as every other year? or is there a 2nd location planned? Surely there must be somewhere with a nice view in Port Laois?

The slieve blooms, lovely roads up there :)

This seems to be going down well...:pac:

Wont be as bad as the two person meet a while back :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

Managed to get that weekend off so i should be good to go

2. dgt - a black car
    5. kilianmanning - something french
    6. Chris_Heilong - something with sideskirts
    7. Spike Witwicky - ...and another black car

And me!! Everyone deleted me :(
    YbFocus wrote: »
    Has to be the saturday for me, attending something up the country that night and won't be in any fit state returning Sunday :)

2. dgt - a black car
    5. YbFocus - S14a 530d (I need a change :()

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭Spike Witwicky

Sorry dude. Blame kilianmanning for that

2. dgt - a black car
    5. YbFocus - S14a 530d (I need a change )
    6. kilianmanning - something french
    7. Chris_Heilong - something with sideskirts
    8. Spike Witwicky - ...and another black car

Bump for anybody that has missed this thread.

*Cough Cough*

change the date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭maudgone

If your in Croke Park on the 24th, you wont be watching Tipp v Cork. The first football semi-final is on that day. Tipp play Cork on the 17th.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Fred Swanson

maudgone wrote: »
    If your in Croke Park on the 24th, you wont be watching Tipp v Cork. The first football semi-final is on that day. Tipp play Cork on the 17th.
    your right but the other half is making me go to London the following weekend.

So has it been decided, is it the 23rd or the 24th?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I'm out, working both days.

So has it been decided, is it the 23rd or the 24th?

Due to the overwhelming level of interest, it's both :P

2. dgt - a black car
    5. YbFocus - S14a 530d (I need a change )
    6. kilianmanning - something french
    7. Chris_Heilong - something with sideskirts
    8. Spike Witwicky - ...and another black car
    9. Fred Swanson - Resurrected Freelander 2.0D
    10. Snotaul - If I can, another Swedish yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Apologies for letting this thread slide...I was away on holiers, but given the interest, I reckon we're going to have to let this one slide and come up with an alternate plan!

booooo :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

booooo :(

Yup. But having been to a lot of these meets if there isn't a lot of interest there's a big chance that people simply wont go, and no one will attend.

Looks like some of the regulars have put their names down and normally do attend...

Actually isnt there another forum meet there that day, the datsun owners club?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,792 ✭✭✭Ded_Zebra

I need to know if it's the 23rd or the 24th before I can commit. I can do the 23rd :)

I think we need to look at the reasons for a lack of interest in these dates, I heard the Dublin meet was a great success, is it as simple as the dates(or GAA matches) or if it was move 2 weeks forward would the interest level be higher or the same? I would say you would need about 15 to say they would go for about 10 to show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Yup. But having been to a lot of these meets if there isn't a lot of interest there's a big chance that people simply wont go, and no one will attend.

This has happened.... :o

Whatever the alternative, I don't mind, I'm easy sleazy due to lack of anything. Another weekday meet? Or leave it to a weekend towards the end of September perhaps....?

We would have crossed with this which is on at the same time so maybe good to reschedule anyway.

The awkward moment when you've over taken nearly half of them cars in the video :o :pac:

Sunday's weather is supposed to be widespread heavy rain.

So this is obviously not taking place lol.
    When's the new date? If there is one?

So this is obviously not taking place lol.
    When's the new date? If there is one?

Havent you heard, its on Sunday the 7th...:pac: