Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best profession to suit part time farming

• 13-10-2014 06:09PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭

What do you think is the perfect balance or fit for part time farming. Work in IT industry myself and wouldn't consider it too well matched as it can be inflexible. Very few jobs that aren't full time, based outside Dublin or don't involve travel. I would imagine accountancy is well suited as it can be done part time easily enough and be based anywhere after initial training. Trades excluded as they suit very well :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,756 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

What do you think is the perfect balance or fit for part time farming. Work in IT industry myself and wouldn't consider it too well matched as it can be inflexible. Very few jobs that aren't full time, based outside Dublin or don't involve travel. I would imagine accountancy is well suited as it can be done part time easily enough and be based anywhere after initial training. Trades excluded as they suit very well :-)
    Primary school teacher I would imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

i'm thinking publican

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Auctioneering.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Dealer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭derferjam

Telle sales centre... priest.... postman... politician... ;-p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,584 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

A pimp?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,706 ✭✭✭visatorro

Song writer, poet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

millionaire!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭derferjam

Chimney sweep....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭tanko

Airline owner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭roofer1988

Porn star,male gigglo,beer merchant, fly by night road haulier,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Professional Gambler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

relief milker/council worker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

Growing a certain strain of "grass"..... ;)

rushvalley wrote: »
    Growing a certain strain of "grass"..... ;)

Costs too much on electricity :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Accountancy or Agri Consultant/planner. Can do both from home if you wish but maybe you'd be better off having something in no way related to agriculture so as not to have all your eggs in the one basket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Capercaille

AO or Department Vet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭C0N0R

AO or Department Vet.

What exactly is an AO? What do they do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭on the river

Stripper!!! @ meat factories

Cutting meat of course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭C0N0R

Stripper!!! @ meat factories

Cutting meat of course

Ha is that it or are there other openings available?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Capercaille

C0N0R wrote: »
    What exactly is an AO? What do they do?

Agricultural Officer in DVO's and meat factories. They do feck all.

It hottin up the price for farmers.

Imagine a stripper meeting you at arrival to factory.
    It might just rally support :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,252 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

Cavanjack wrote: »
    Primary school teacher I would imagine.

I'd say secondary school teacher... The extra months holidays...! A crucial factor in how much work would be done over summer.....!!

Agricultural Officer in DVO's and meat factories. They do feck all.

Too much leisure activities ;-)

Who's asking!:-)

The army :D a life less ordinary lads :P

Reggie. wrote: »
    The army :D a life less ordinary lads :P

Patriotism and keeping fit for farming perfect combination

Training in the day job plus training while chasing the cattle.....perfect :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Night Security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭crock!

Grow weed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,105 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Sound engineer. How many musicians do you know that get up before 11?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,844 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Depends on the farming enterprise.
    Surely for any dairy or suckler part time lads they need to be close to home unless you have a parent that can watch for cows calving and do a few chores. And in many rural areas that's limiting enough.
    Anything you can work from home is ideal. Mechanic or car valet spring to mind. If you've the broadband then any online related business would be ideal.

Drystock enterprises allow a bit more latitude as regards working away from home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i know 3 female secondary school teachers who are only daughters and farm beteen 60 and 120 acres part time. no bother to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭kingstown

Any of them good looking???:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Yes post primary or college lecturer are most likly the best. June-August off, christmas and easter holidays. TBH teaching is about the best proofession you could be in in Ireland at present

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Most college lecturers I know do not have a min to spare, they might be on the likes of 60-80k salary but trust me they earn every penny. Their teaching hours are low but almost all of them have their own research and postgrad students to deal with.

Dont mean to be rude here Timmaay but are you serious in saying ''they might be on the likes of 60-80k salary but trust me they earn every penny''.

Are you taking the pis..!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

kingstown wrote: »
    Dont mean to be rude here Timmaay but are you serious in saying ''they might be on the likes of 60-80k salary but trust me they earn every penny''.

Are you taking the pis..!:D

Absolutely! Most have spend the guts of 10yrs as students, PhDs are not easy (I know all about attempting one!), the only time I use to be able to meet one of my college lecturers who was supervising my PhD was about 7pm, the rest of the day he was ran off his feet at meetings etc, always in for about 7am and usually not home until 8pm. For the level of education a lecturer has received, many would get a much better salary (yep even higher than 80k!) in the private sector, and for less hours!

Hmmm on that note, why the hell didn't I stick out the PhD, instead of becoming a farmer!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭smcgiff

Being a Gentleman, apparently :pac:

Re accountancy profession, yes but only after you've trained and able to set up your own business. Up until that point very much a poor match, imho.

I know we're off topic a bit here, but my experience with lecturers is slightly different... I have had dealings with several as my lads are currently in 3 level.

Last month when asking for a reciept for 2013/14 fees, i was told that there wasn't any need as it wasnt allowable. Lecturer said there was no tax relief on student registration fee and therefore you couldn’t claim it..!

Explained to the man that student registration fees ceased to exist after 2010, it is now known as Student Contribution Fee from 2011 onwards and is allowable – albeit first €2500 not allowable so not of much use it you have one student in collage.
    My point was if they weren’t 100% sure on the facts why say so and maybe deter some genuine family who have more than 1 student from claiming..

Worth 80k me hol..

As said above accounting suits but only if you establish your own practice and if it is successful. While you are training it wouldn't suit at all.

I can't think of any other jobs off the top of my head - it almost sounds too good to be true.

What about self employment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

What about being a Mod. on Boards. Particularly the Farm and Forestry Forum. They seem to be a very civil group.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Absolutely! Most have spend the guts of 10yrs as students, PhDs are not easy (I know all about attempting one!), the only time I use to be able to meet one of my college lecturers who was supervising my PhD was about 7pm, the rest of the day he was ran off his feet at meetings etc, always in for about 7am and usually not home until 8pm. For the level of education a lecturer has received, many would get a much better salary (yep even higher than 80k!) in the private sector, and for less hours!

Hmmm on that note, why the hell didn't I stick out the PhD, instead of becoming a farmer!!!!

My sister is doing a PhD at the moment, half way through it and will be 31 by the time it's all done and dusted. Been in college since she finished school basically. You'd nearly want to be getting that sort of money to make up for the lost years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

My sister is doing a PhD at the moment, half way through it and will be 31 by the time it's all done and dusted. Been in college since she finished school basically. You'd nearly want to be getting that sort of money to make up for the lost years!

Remember 10+ years ago was working away for a few weeks and went into digs/B&B. Owner worked hard and husband was up every morning and off with his van and trailer(builder). They had a son that was 28 and was 10 years at college and they had pictures of him graduating at this and that. They were funding him all the way through

Lads I was working with was of the opinion that the lad was a professional student. As long as Mam and Dad kept paying he kept going to college. He was still there two years later when I stayed there again. I swore then none of mine will be professional students. F@@k that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

Ai, scanning or hoof paring the

Remember 10+ years ago was working away for a few weeks and went into digs/B&B. Owner worked hard and husband was up every morning and off with his van and trailer(builder). They had a son that was 28 and was 10 years at college and they had pictures of him graduating at this and that. They were funding him all the way through

Lads I was working with was of the opinion that the lad was a professional student. As long as Mam and Dad kept paying he kept going to college. He was still there two years later when I stayed there again. I swore then none of mine will be professional students. F@@k that.

Well in fairness she has put herself through the most of it along with getting scholarships and the PhD she is doing is funded however I see where your coming from and agree with you to a large degree Pudsey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

A lecturer in the Garda "college" in Thurles.
    They're on the same dollar as Uni lecturers. FFS.
    Correct me if I'm wrong but has there been a moratorium on recruiting young Cops with the last few years??
    FFS...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Timmaay wrote: »
    Most college lecturers I know do not have a min to spare, they might be on the likes of 60-80k salary but trust me they earn every penny. Their teaching hours are low but almost all of them have their own research and postgrad students to deal with.

Timmaay,

Maybe if you're referring Universities as opposed to IoTs (Institute of Technology). I'd say only about 20% of IoT lecturers have PhDs, at a stretch. A good 50% would have masters and the rest have just degrees. The vast majority do little or no research. The irony is that you get the same pay as an IoT lecturer as the University guys but do very little outside of your timetabled 18 hours. Not saying they're all useless but it's an unbelievable handy number after you get through the first 2 years.

As for PhDs, you don't deserve anything after doing a PhD, depends if the research you did is relevant to some industry or not. On the downside you're hitting the workplace at nearly 30 without every working. Much better, but harder, to do a PhD in an area that you work in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Self employed here and have a workshop near the farm. It can work a treat at times when I need to get over for a few hours or I need one of the lads give a hand herding however it can be a distraction from the day job at times. Also when your self employed there's often times when jobs run over and the hours work in the evening becomes your last priority. Ideally I reckon a house husband would work well, only I made the mistake of marrying for love and not money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Dickie10

teaching probarby is the thing, i know a lot of them that farm part time, i think they were always going to be farmers and picked their profession to suit. now i know their is prob two hrs work 4 nights a week to be ready for classses and correcting stuff but dont forget they prob have at least 2 free hrs a day as well, no research to do , weekends off. mid term oct , mid term feb, 2 weeks easter, 2 weeeks xmas. theres a lot of lambing/calving /tractor work can be done in that time. if u are a self employed tradesman , your gone at 6.30/7 and not home til 6 in evening and prob a lot more tired