Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

iarnrod eireann rant never again.

• 30-11-2014 06:13PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭

Just got a 166 euro fine for not having a ticket. I had bought my ticket online as i always do. My wallet was stolen/lost last night. I had to borrow ten euro to get to the train station. I explained the situation in Heuston and they let me on. When I boarded the train Mallow a ticket inspector came on. I went up to him privately between carriages to explain my situation. I had my reservation number. He went away and checked my details. I was on the correct train, i even had a seat reserved. He then told me that he was going to fine me. I'm just so annoyed I always use the train when going to dublin. I feel after this Im never using their service again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Ring them up Monday. That's ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,817 ✭✭✭pebbles21

Appeal the fine in writing with all your details etc.,you will be grand ..relax you came across a jobsworth

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭braddun

print out your online ticket

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

The guy sounds like a spanner. I hope you appeal it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,246 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

Nari85 wrote: »
    Just got a 166 euro fine for not having a ticket. I had bought my ticket online as i always do. My wallet was stolen/lost last night. I had to borrow ten euro to get to the train station. I explained the situation in Heuston and they let me on. When I boarded the train Mallow a ticket inspector came on. I went up to him privately between carriages to explain my situation. I had my reservation number. He went away and checked my details. I was on the correct train, i even had a seat reserved. He then told me that he was going to fine me. I'm just so annoyed I always use the train when going to dublin. I feel after this Im never using their service again.

If you pay this without a less a phone call ,you will be a muppet ,
    Surely you have enough evidence on your side to at least appeal/fight the case.
    Don't take this lying down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭fxotoole

Irish Rail have become obsessed with "Revenue Protection" in recent years and are fining people left , right, and centre.

Not sure why your wallet being lost/stolen is relevant? Did you have a printout of the reservation in your wallet or something?

Anyway, appeal the fine, providing details of your ticket reservation, and any other relevant details. When writing your appeal, use the wording "I had no intention of defrauding the company", and you should be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

I'd like to think the 166 will go towards solving the multitude of signal faults but I somehow doubt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I really wish they'd open things up to private railway companies in this country, a bit of competition would go a long way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭donvito99

Unless you got some sort of official note from the bloke at Heuston I see no reason why the inspector should have believed you. Probably hears similar excuses a dozen times a day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,478 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Links234 wrote: »
    I really wish they'd open things up to private railway companies in this country, a bit of competition would go a long way.

i wish, unions wouldnt have it, place would be shut down.... how dare someone try to bring in cheaper and more reliable options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

No ticket, no travel. Simple rules. Rules state you have to in possession of the correct ticket for the correct rain when you travel, no if's but's, my dog ate it etc.

Exact rules apply with Transdev who run the Luas, private company with the same rules......the shock and cheek of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

He went away and checked my details. I was on the correct train, i even had a seat reserved.

So how did he justify issuing the fine?

Presumably he explained his reasoning to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,676 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Crinklewood

Inspector may have thought you printed off your ticket and sold it to someone else.

Bingo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭stehyl15

I dont see why IE spend money removing grafiti off trains dont why they dont just leave there saving money the trains can still move cant they

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭galwayjohn89

No ticket, no travel. Simple rules. Rules state you have to in possession of the correct ticket for the correct rain when you travel, no if's but's, my dog ate it etc.

Exact rules apply with Transdev who run the Luas, private company with the same rules......the shock and cheek of them.

I've been checked on the Luas when I didn't have a ticket, leap system was down and didn't have cash. No fine, just an apology.

On the dart ticket machine in Dalkey was broken, got fined in pearse. Finally got it thrown out.

In my experience the difference between Luas and DART is vast

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Heisenberg1

And how much do you think fares will be then ??

Cheaper than they are now.

Vuzuggu wrote: »
    I've been checked on the Luas when I didn't have a ticket, leap system was down and didn't have cash. No fine, just an apology.

On the dart ticket machine in Dalkey was broken, got fined in pearse. Finally got it thrown out.

But you had a leap card right what's point ?

Vuzuggu wrote: »

Just got lucky with the inspectors on the Luas as they shy away from conflict alot of time. Same rules apply though.

Even if you do get fined when Leap goes down you get it appealed. I have many times on both. Leap goes down alot and then you have vandals wrecking the validators.

fxotoole wrote: »
    Cheaper than they are now.

That's nonsense fares would not be cheaper with another operator they would be much more expensive look at the UK for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 697 ✭✭✭biomed32

No ticket, no travel. I understand your frustration but was there any opportunity to print out your receipt again through your email so at least you would have something in hand. If you knew you didnt have the ticket in the morning and didn't reprint the ticket from the email its pure laziness.

We all have our gripes with public transport, believe me when I say go ahead with the appeal, you may or may not get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭jhud

Someone I know lost ticket and was going to be fined but they told them where and when they bought ticket a and they cancelled fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭jhud

Someone I know lost ticket and was going to be fined but they told them where and when they bought ticket a and they cancelled fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,294 ✭✭✭YellowFeather

Kinda the opposite happened to me a few years back. I was on the train from Dublin to Sligo, which I took almost every Friday, and I foolishly fell asleep with my bag beside me.

Woke up to the ticket inspector coming through the carriage and went to my bag for my wallet - and it was gone. Was a bit of a disaster 'cause I had a fair bit of cash in it too for booking a holiday the following day.

The inspector couldn't have been nicer, and reported everything to the guards while I cancelled my cards.

Wallet eventually turned up in Longford. Minus the cash of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,147 ✭✭✭PizzamanIRL

I like to annoy ticket inspectors sometimes if I get a bad vibe from them. I'll pretend I can't find my ticket and then they're about to tell me about how he's going to fine me, I say Oh wait here it is!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

No ticket, no travel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

I like to annoy ticket inspectors sometimes if I get a bad vibe from them. I'll pretend I can't find my ticket and then they're about to tell me about how he's going to fine me, I say Oh wait here it is!...

I do this with my allergic friend's epipen, it's hilarious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Molester Stallone II

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    No ticket, no travel.

No woman, no cry

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ClovenHoof

Just do not ask questions about the 'Family' who run the train station in Cork who went on strike a few years back after one of the younger members of family were fired for 'accounting irregularities' with cash fares. He got his job back.

"Larkin" and all that...

No woman, no cry fry

FYP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 164 ✭✭mountsky

Sounds harsh, nasty if nothing else,defo appeal it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Clandestine

Funny that, I had an issue with my ticket last week and they were nothing but helpful. You just had an issue with one worker there, if you've not had an issue before I wouldn't write them off as a whole now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,180 ✭✭✭hfallada

OP appeal the fine. There is a time and a place for a fine. But when you have a ticket purchased to your name and its on a system, its hard to prove that you didnt buy a ticket(although you did have it in person). Someone on this said you could have sold it onto someone. But Irish rail should require you to show ID that its your ticket. Its what you do in Germany, when you buy certain tickets. Dublin Bus inspectors are sound. If you travel over your ticket. I have seen them just make people pay the difference.

OP have you report your robbery to the gardai. So you can include a letter from the gardai with your pulse number and the robbery stated on the letter. Something to prove to Irish rail, you were robbed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭Littlekittylou

You paid your fare. Appeal.

Train service in this country is a joke anyway.

I use it to go to mullingar a lot. I remember getting the train there one evening in the winter and none of the carriages had lights and it was FREEZING. I spent the whole journey in the dark for an hour and a half. And the station in Greenbridge is basically a huge shed.

braddun wrote: »
    print out your online ticket

This!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 954 ✭✭✭Highflyer13

Ticket machine was broken at my station before and there was nobody in the kiosk. So I got to Pearse and marched straight up to the window with the money in my hand and the gimp that was there issued me a penalty without even checking.

Also when I used topped up my leap card online I had sometimes to wait a few days for it to come through to the pick up point. Never top up online again. I have heard of people having to wait longer than two days.

They would have their systems better linked if they used fu*king AN POST!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,887 ✭✭✭JuliusCaesar

Yes it really worked in the UK :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭Nari85

Thanks for all the replies. With regards printing out the ticket again I tried that in Heuston station, the guy behind the counter refused. I asked for anything just to say I had a ticket but no luck. When I booked my online ticket they never sent out an email I had to ring them to get my reservation number.
    I would have bought a new ticket but as i said i had no wallet. The train inspector said ring the rpu and they would quash it. I rang them and they said thats BS. I must have it in writing. The thing Im most annoyed is that the inspector checked my reservations details and he said ya you had a ticket but said I could have sold it. Again I would have paid for a new ticket if i had money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,101 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

That's nonsense fares would not be cheaper with another operator they would be much more expensive look at the UK for example.

Not to mention that the UK has a much higher population than us and a higher population density. I don't think there would be much of a market to sustain competing train companies here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,059 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

if rail travel was privatized here the price would definitely go up, as it will be private after all and have to make a profit ?

services would be vastly cut on most routes around the country, some routes closed altogether. free travel taken from the pensioners and unemployed. do you think the government will continue this practice if a private company is billing them ever week for this. At the moment it is only asses on seats, and they might even buy some of the overpriced food or drink on the train.

even the likes of the late trains after some concert or matches would be stopped if there was not enough to be made out of it.

there is a good safety record on the rail here, due to it being well maintained etc. Just some of the things that I would imagine being changed if it was privatized.

As for the OP, send an email detailing you situation and provide the documentation , and I'm sure that the fine would be cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,975 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

People always weep and wail about being fined on trains, try travelling by an airline without id or ticket/printed email and just a sob story as back up and see how far you get. You wouldn't get to see the inside of the duty free.
    Think letting you get on was their major faux pas, not the fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Not to mention that the UK has a much higher population than us and a higher population density. I don't think there would be much of a market to sustain competing train companies here.

Ireland doesn't have to population levels, densities or indeed distances to justify an inter-urban rail service on financial, speed, social or environmental grounds.

Our current rail system is used as a glorified OAP transport mechanism.

IE should be abolished and the savings used to develop the rail lines into greenways and add additional capacity to the inter-urban bus fleet.

Unfortunately, no Government has the balls to stand up to the IE Unions or the tree-hugging environmental lobby.

Thanks for all the replies. With regards printing out the ticket again I tried that in Heuston station, the guy behind the counter refused. I asked for anything just to say I had a ticket but no luck. When I booked my online ticket they never sent out an email I had to ring them to get my reservation number.
    I would have bought a new ticket but as i said i had no wallet. The train inspector said ring the rpu and they would quash it. I rang them and they said thats BS. I must have it in writing. The thing Im most annoyed is that the inspector checked my reservations details and he said ya you had a ticket but said I could have sold it. Again I would have paid for a new ticket if i had money.

Can't you print the reservation off from Irish Rail's website after the fact (I genuinely don't know - never done it)?

if not, do you have the reservation number? Maybe you could include that in your appeal, and ask the appeals officer to look it up on their system?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Ireland doesn't have to population levels, densities or indeed distances to justify an inter-urban rail service on financial, speed, social or environmental grounds.

Our current rail system is used as a glorified OAP transport mechanism.

IE should be abolished and the savings used to develop the rail lines into greenways and add additional capacity to the inter-urban bus fleet.

Unfortunately, no Government has the balls to stand up to the IE Unions or the tree-hugging environmental lobby.

It serves purpose for a lot of daily commuters. I doubt many people from Longford to Dublin will take to a greenway very well.

It shouldn't be abolished just because it's being mismanaged.
    Can't you print the reservation off from Irish Rail's website after the fact (I genuinely don't know - never done it)?

if not, do you have the reservation number? Maybe you could include that in your appeal, and ask the appeals officer to look it up on their system?

Tickets can be re-printed from the ticket vending machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,464 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

the rule is if you don't have a ticket on you you get fined. do apeal it though and tell your story. make sure next time you have a valid ticket on your person. no point in not using a service just because you were technically in the wrong

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

Irish Rail have become obsessed with "Revenue Protection" in recent years

well if done right thats no bad thing in fairness. they're are places where people are getting on for free and not paying a cent. however revenue people are only on some trains which is a problem

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

apart from the plan to run tourist type trains, or maybe some freight, what private companies. where are they going to run enough services to compete considering the infrastructure is constrained as it is . where are they going to get the rolling stock. all good calling for private companies but when one may not be upon whats involved, they're is no point

twinytwo wrote: »
    i wish, unions wouldnt have it

and they would be right. private companies want to make a proffit, meaning higher fares and subsidies.
    place would be shut down....

by the government if privatization was to happen. thats if we make the same mistake as the UK which knowing ireland we probably would.
    how dare someone try to bring in cheaper and more reliable options.

privatization does not equal cheeper and more reliable options. i'm no fan of irish rail but i believe with good management and proper funding and money management it can be turned around. look at BR toards the end. while it had its problems, it was a very efficient and financially cost effective company which required less subsidy then the privatized railway. the grass is not always greener