Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

worst farm jobs

• 04-04-2015 8:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭

Mine has to be cleaning calf shed . Not the sucks as they are cleaned regurarly but the shed when they are runners and can go from field to shed while getting stronger. Smell on ya for days after. Rubbing old spice onto your hands doesn't even mask it!! Cleaning out the straw shed from the big cattle is a breeze compared to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

cleaning out sheds and fixing machinery are the worst jobs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Miname

Skulling cattle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭promises

Picking Stones!!! Hate it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭gerico

Getting dozey calves to suckle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭High bike

Trying to make bales while watching the weather for the next shower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

Nothing worse than bottle feeding a calf that's slow to suck. Every single vertebra on fire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,842 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Cutting bulls sacks.
    Was done here years ago and it's just a brutal carry on.

Seeing the dog running off with the bulls knackers :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

_Brian wrote: »
    Cutting bulls sacks.
    Was done here years ago and it's just a brutal carry on.

Seeing the dog running off with the bulls knackers :(

There's an image :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Paudee wrote: »
    Nothing worse than bottle feeding a calf that's slow to suck. Every single vertebra on fire.
    Get a stomach tube give the calf 3 feeds leave the calf hungry for a day he'll suck the following day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,427 ✭✭✭Grueller

Covering the silage pit or even worse, uncovering the silage pit. All that stagnant water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 488 ✭✭Paudee

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Get a stomach tube give the calf 3 feeds leave the calf hungry for a day he'll suck the following day.

For some reason it's always 2nd or 3rd day after being tubed that you'll get one that just refuses despite having sucked. They'll generally come back next morning when hungry but you'd always feel bad walking away too quick.

Although to be honest I just hate bottle feeding calves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Was actually thinking of starting this thread last Wednesday. I was rolling a 5 acre field and nearly died of boredom. Terrible slow monotonous job. Hate castrating bulls too.

Edit: Daggin sheep has to be up there.

Was actually thinking of starting this thread last Wednesday. I was rolling a 5 acre field and nearly died of boredom. Terrible slow monotonous job. Hate castrating bulls too.

Edit: Daggin sheep has to be up there.

That's where the 30 ft roller comes in ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

Pairing sheeps feet
    anybody with a long back will know that it really burns after a while ha
    also that smeel that can only be foot rot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Machinery work. Used to love it when I was younger but spent a few years working for a contractor and now I hate having to sit into the tractor even for a minute. Much prefer working with stock.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

fanadman1 wrote: »
    Pairing sheeps feet
    anybody with a long back will know that it really burns after a while ha
    also that smeel that can only be foot rot

The advice now is if they're not lame leave them alone no matter how bad they look, (routine foot pairing is a no no) but if they're lame give them a long acting antibiotic....the foot sorts itself when the infection is cured

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Reggie. wrote: »
    That's where the 30 ft roller comes in ;)

Just don't forget howwide it is and catch an esb pole at 4 in the morning :o
    Anything to d with wet mouldy rotted grain, and cleaning stores in general

Blackgrass wrote: »

Or powerwashing a combine :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Was sent down to clean out a tunnel containing the conveyor underneath 3 3k tonne bins with a wheelbarrow and shovel as a young fella in a summer job once, the maintenance lads wouldn't go down there otherwise that was a fun week had to spray to thing then as well all for 4 pound an hour. Hadn't been done for a few years before that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 789 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Pulling a rotten lamb. The most evil smell in the world

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Pulling ragwort, picking stones covering silage pit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 594 ✭✭✭fanadman1

rangler1 wrote: »
    The advice now is if they're not lame leave them alone no matter how bad they look, (routine foot pairing is a no no) but if they're lame give them a long acting antibiotic....the foot sorts itself when the infection is cured

I know but i tried the antibiotic on its own but i think myself that u still need to pair mabey its only a notion to me but it works for me ha problem is when it is 200 store lambs on marginal/wet land it still works out at alot

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

covering the silage pit is a job I actually don't mind. I get a few friends to help roll out the plastic but once that's done I politely ask them to fook off as I am very picky to have it 100%. have virtually no waste that way. if they were helping me putting on the tyres I would be conscious that they wouldn't be half doing it.

Reggie. wrote: »
    Or powerwashing a combine :(

We'd only ever wash outside covers pre harvest, have a road compressor which is bee's knees for cleaning down combine/stores. Spend a day blowing all dust/grain/chaff off on a windy day.

Milked out wrote: »
    Was sent down to clean out a tunnel containing the conveyor underneath 3 3k tonne bins with a wheelbarrow and shovel as a young fella in a summer job once, the maintenance lads wouldn't go down there otherwise that was a fun week had to spray to thing then as well all for 4 pound an hour. Hadn't been done for a few years before that

On your own in a confined area with mouldy grain!!!
    Should have beaten who ever was in charge with that shovel!, even worse than slurry gases!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Cattlepen wrote: »

One of the few things that actually made me vomit before

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,721 ✭✭✭flutered

rangler1 wrote: »

when we had the sheep it was a case of pulling a thorn like object from between the toes, the smell was like rotten eggs, that was all that was needed, they were fine after that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭the_blue_oval

Grueller wrote: »
    Covering the silage pit or even worse, uncovering the silage pit. All that stagnant water.

dont mind covering, but uncovering i hate... rather be picking stones

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭larrymiller

Counting all the money I make......

Takes hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

Getting up for milking on Sunday morning after the night before with only 2 hours sleep and the kids hopping mad around the house, topped off with a sore head!!!.............like now

Machinery work. Used to love it when I was younger but spent a few years working for a contractor and now I hate having to sit into the tractor even for a minute. Much prefer working with stock.
    It's the type of job that looks great when you see someone else doing it but not as great when you are in the driving seat. I don't mind tractor work though, I spent a bit of time in a quarry driving a loader now that's one boring job a day seemed like a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,453 ✭✭✭Zr105

Cutting rope, wire, twine, half bale of silage, net wrap, silage wrap, etc off the bottom of the agitator for the third time....

Zr105 wrote: »
    Cutting rope, wire, twine, half bale of silage, net wrap, silage wrap, etc off the bottom of the agitator for the third time....
    You must be a contractor, some fellas would throw anything in the slurry pit especially when they know they won't be agitating it themselves.

Contractors around here charge full cost of machine per hour to remove stuff from eg. beaters on muckspreader loss of earning time and all that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Contractors around here charge full cost of machine per hour to remove stuff from eg. beaters on muckspreader loss of earning time and all that.

And rightly so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

Worst day I had years ago was when one of my neighbours made trams of hay for the last time.. He decided to bale the hay of the trams near the shed. Muggins here got the job of stacking them in the on a day about 30 degrees heat. heat near the galvanise was unbelievable. Fecking bales were twice the weight of normal bales.

Nearly died of the heat and the weight. Never again. Got £20 for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Counting all the money I make......

Takes hours

Them 1c coins are the very divil alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

My pet hate is moving cattle, loading them 2 or 3 at a time into trailer and making several journeys. I look back with longing to the days we could drive them all on the road with me on a bike stopping any open gaps on the way. The older cows knew the way and once put on way they kept going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Cattlepen wrote: »
    +1000,
    especially when it comes away in pieces
    KatyMac wrote: »
    Them 1c coins are the very divil alright

:D:D beat me to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭joejobrien

Proper order too

Had that this year with hay in the tank. must have blocked every 10 mins in me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 CowMeister

Taking cleanings from a cow that has held onto it for about 2 weeks. My God the smell would knock you out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,828 ✭✭✭yellow50HX

Spending hours bringing a calf only for it to be still born and then have the cow die too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Definately another vote here on the pulling a rotten lamb. I lost my dinner before in this process..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

CowMeister wrote: »
    Taking cleanings from a cow that has held onto it for about 2 weeks. My God the smell would knock you out.

Injecting a cow a few days ago after she held one afterbirth from twins, managed to smack me across the face with her manky tail.
    Sore eyes after it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,578 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Every spring as a teenager, having to dung out the deep litter poultry house belonging to my mother.
    As mentioned before, taking a putrid lamb limb by limb and having to rummage around to make sure you got every bit whilst your nose stuck up the ewes ass and trying not to vomit at the same time.
    I always got that job cause I have small hands :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Rodding the line to the septic tank, then watching as an avalanche of sanitary pads, wads of toilet roll and sh1t spews out the manhole......

And nobody did it of course. They just got down there themselves!!

Hmmmmmm....chocolatey easter eggs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 453 ✭✭gazahayes

Muckit wrote: »
    Rodding the line to the septic tank, then watching as an avalanche of sanitary pads, wads of toilet roll and sh1t spews out the manhole......

Yeah terrible job alright can't eat sweetcorn because of that job!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

I get a few of those jobs every month . There must really be a tampon/wet wipe fairy that throws them down the toilet because nobody living in any house ever seems to have thrown them in :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,578 ✭✭✭✭Base price

gazahayes wrote: »
    Yeah terrible job alright can't eat sweetcorn because of that job!
    Bullocks wrote: »
    I get a few of those jobs every month . There must really be a tampon/wet wipe fairy that throws them down the toilet because nobody living in any house ever seems to have thrown them in :D
    Jeez lads ye ain't seen nothing yet.