Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What Irishism Does Your Head In?

• 04-07-2015 08:50AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

OK, in the 21st century with political correctness and all it would seem wrong to have a pop at the Brits and the Americans without having a laugh at ourselves, so...

You can pick things from other counties or your own...

From my own county... referring to both girls and boys as lads. Lads are boys.

Those witty bards who when you say "well" to them reply "well water"... oh my sides are splitting.

The inability in this county to pronounce a t which comes anywhere other than the start of a word. Can I have a glass of wa-er, where is the toileh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,256 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Can I get tree pints please and tirty Carrols?

House=Houze
    Us=Uz

Ya know, Like

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Scoops.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

Confusing "been" and "being" and "taught" with "thought".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

'would of, could of' and the likes. I mean one thing saying it as its hard to tell the difference when speaking fast, but in writing? Seriously?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,232 ✭✭✭blackcard

I should of instead of I should have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

three - tree
    loike/like (or any variant thereof)
    BOI - argh, enough with "boi", boi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,847 ✭✭✭s8n

U ok Hun ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,174 ✭✭✭RhubarbCrumble

I'm with Boskowski and blackcard. The whole would/of thing really makes my blood boil.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

"It has to be done cos it has to be done".
    The valley of squinting windows.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭Your Superior

"Happy out" annoys the crap out of me. It makes no sense!

And as for the idiots that say "troath" and "modren" and "heighth" the less said the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,465 ✭✭✭CruelCoin

"'it'll do"

Usually uttered by the 5 gormless fat ****es leaning on their shovels watching one guy **** some tarmac at a pothole and calling it "good work".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭Deranged96

"Gurl! Fab photo sexy woman so jealousy hun xxx"

"No Katie stop! Ur the princess I look like a dog :( xxx"

Deranged96 wrote: »

Awwww..Babez!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

The whole "Ah shure" thing.

"This is wrong"
    "Ah sure"

"This is broken"
    "Ah sure"

"This is the wrong order"
    "Ah sure"

Sure, sometimes I do be fierce hungry for a hang sangich

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jaymcg91

"Ah here"

"Shure look it"

*House burns down*
    "Ah shure it'll be grand"

Three immediate bugbears that come to mind :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Moghead

On the beer.

It'll be grand.

Crips.

Pacific instead of specific.

putting an s after you everytime you use the word.

Overuse of literally.

jaymcg91 wrote: »
    "Sure look it"

That one annoys me too.

Moghead wrote: »
    That one annoys me too.

argh ah sure, look it. You'll have that.

"Highly"

Why the hell is this used so much?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

Grammar nazi's are in every county. Pretentious w**kbags that have to abide by what the old English gentry pushed on our country hundreds of years ago and want to correct others on how they talk or write to make themselves feel relevant.
    Its buying into the old prejudice that still exists since they invaded and raped our beautiful country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,950 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

Is it yourself?

No, it's my fooking doppelganger you ludraman :rolleyes:

idnkph wrote: »
    Grammar nazi's are in every county. Pretentious w**kbags that have to abide by what the old English gentry pushed on our country hundreds of years ago and want to correct others on how they talk or write to make themselves feel relevant.
    Its buying into the old prejudice that still exists since they invaded and raped our beautiful country.

It'll be grand, we're not pacifically talking about yous.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

"look-it"

The rhyming slang used by some people in Dublin. Brown Bread, Cream Cracker.

Don't like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,999 ✭✭✭WesternZulu

'Well lad?'
    Jesus, I hate that phrase!!
    It only seems to have crept in over the last few years.

'Hon {generic sports team}'
    A phrase that didn't exist 5 years ago and now everyone uses it.

'Well lad?'
    Jesus, I hate that phrase!!
    It only seems to have crept in over the last few years.

'Hon {generic sports team}'
    A phrase that didn't exist 5 years ago and now everyone uses it.

Hon is really annoying alright.

Hon team!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,880 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

People from north of Dublin saying they're going "up" to Dublin.
    They're going "down" to Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 275 ✭✭Rabo Karabekian

Boskowski wrote: »
    'would of, could of' and the likes. I mean one thing saying it as its hard to tell the difference when speaking fast, but in writing? Seriously?

That's not unique to Ireland, though. It used to annoy me, but there are plenty of (non-Irish) writers (Cormac McCarthy & Margaret Atwood) that use it to convey the natural way in speech of contracting 'would' and 'have' (instead of using would've, for example).

Lots of things in this thread that are not unique to Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭Gavlor

I/We can't survive on the dole, I might even have to cancel sky sports....

Go get a f&cking job then you parasite on society

Edit, that's probably one we share with Britain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

idnkph wrote: »

Fháil amach an leaba ar an taobh mícheart?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

What! You're on the dole!!?? You MUST only buy from Aldi or Lidl. Or I'll report you to the welfare inspector. That's the way things are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭Nib

"Anyhow"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,785 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye bye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,785 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

And when somebody starts saying something with 'listen,...'

I am listening you d!ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,374 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

osarusan wrote: »
    And when somebody starts saying something with 'listen,...'

I am listening you d!ck.

At least it has the advantage of being shorter than "C'mere till I tell ya"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 669 ✭✭✭idnkph

Very Bored wrote: »
    Fháil amach an leaba ar an taobh mícheart?

I sleep in a hammock

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,226 ✭✭✭boobar

Childer...

Just annoys me when I hear that phrase...

Waher...that's like nails on a blackboard to me

Says I to him, says him to me....ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Deranged96 wrote: »

CruelCoin wrote: »
    "Highly"

Why the hell is this used so much?
    It's a standard word I guess?

Not sure how any of the above is unique to Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Adults who refer to each other as 'lads'. It's sooo juvenile, the same fcukwits probably still refer to each other by nickname.:rolleyes:

"C'mere till i tell ye, they does be tellin' me dat he be goin' down de pub ta say da lads right"

What? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Adults who refer to each other as 'lads'. It's sooo juvenile, the same fcukwits probably still refer to each other by nickname.:rolleyes:

Yes. Goose, Tyre-weld, Godzilla and Useless will be drinking porter below in Jacksie's this evening. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,738 ✭✭✭mawk

Sure rent is only dead money!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jaymcg91

Drives me mad too. Men in their 30s and 40s still thinking they're young "lads" :eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

COYBIG ...

:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Fine beur!
    How's that man?!

And when people can't pronounce committee properly & say
    ,T (Say what you see)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,076 ✭✭✭✭LordSutch

Bring instead of take!

Very rarely will you hear 'take' being used here in a sentence.

I'm bringing the kids to school.
    I'm bringing the car to the garage.
    I'll bring the dog to the vet . . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

Boskowski wrote: »

That's not an Irish-ism. You find this all over England as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Vomit

You know, it seems AH goes around in a circle. There must have been a million threads like this. One such thread was stolen almost word for word by Republic of Telly, to make up material for their 'You know you're Irish when...' skit.