Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

30 Day, Catch All Self-Improvement Challenge Thread

• 04-09-2015 01:48PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭

We're into the final quarter of 2015 now. There was the usual New Years Resolutions thread back in January which many of us participated in. I don't know about you guys but my "success" could not yet be described as total. Far from it actually.

I found my resolutions list crumpled up in my wallet the other day. A couple of minor items were ticked off but most were incomplete.

Things I haven't done yet:
    • Shed 20lbs of fat and generally get a little fitter
    • Teach myself Frontend Development basics (HTML5, CSS3 and Javascript)
    • Get a new job - this one I actually completed back in late January but my contract finished in July and I have been unemployed now for 5/6 weeks. Boredom is setting in and it's high time I found a new position.
    • Build up my small online business to a point of getting a couple orders per week.

The main reason for my failures is a lack of motivation and drive. I can be very disciplined for weeks, even months on end. But then it's like the fuel tank just runs out and I come to a halt.

I had been jogging and eating right. I had been learning Javascript and HTML5. I had been working on my website. But the heavy fog of Netflix, poor diet and procrastination set in around April.

So, I was wondering if anyone else would be interested in a 30 Day "Last Chance - Better Late Than Never" new years resolution thread. For general chat, updates and the like? Maybe official start on Monday 7th running until Sunday October 4th?

A lot can be accomplished in 30 days. You can lose 5-8 pounds through diet and exercise. You can teach yourself the fundamentals of a new skill, language or discipline. You can complete a DIY project. Or, you can pull yourself up out of a rut and generally get a move on.

Anyone else have any goals they're planning one making one last ditch attempt at achieving before 2016 arrives?

- Fukuyama

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,788 ✭✭✭tritium

I've a few goals that are still motoring along to schedule give or take (there's a small variance due to the effects of small person shaped creatures running and indeed crawling around my house :). )

If I can offer a tip that may be useful for goals that just seem to run out of steam- don't just focus on the big goals, set waypoints as you go. If you want to lose 10 kilos have a waypoint at 5. If you want to learn piano, have a waypoint at performing a simple tune by some date. It sounds obvious, and indeed we often subconsciously do it, but when we build it into our plan it becomes a motivator rather than a demotivator. Just my own experience....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

tritium wrote: »
    If I can offer a tip that may be useful for goals that just seem to run out of steam- don't just focus on the big goals, set waypoints as you go. If you want to lose 10 kilos have a waypoint at 5. If you want to learn piano, have a waypoint at performing a simple tune by some date. It sounds obvious, and indeed we often subconsciously do it, but when we build it into our plan it becomes a motivator rather than a demotivator. Just my own experience....

Good tip - it's something I've neglected in the past and hope to get better at. My medium term goal is to lost 5 pounds over the next month. So 1.25 pounds per week will be my short term goals.

Hopefully an update thread in a forum I visit every few days will keep my mind focused on the short/medium term goals I want to achieve. It may also help to read other peoples goals and progress reports. :)

Last summer I was big into the whole fitness thing. Jogging regularly and built myself up to doing 5k (nothing to most people, but a big achievement for me). Then, as you describe in the OP, it was like i ran out of fuel and came to a halt.

I sit here with my tub o' pringles and cup of tea and I had every intention of making a rough plan to start doing something on Monday, as I now weigh in at the most I've ever weighed in my life (close to 20st!) and I feel bad every day for it (despite my constant 'I'm gonna do something about this' routine; I never actually do).

So I'm happy to jump in with you and keep you virtual companionship (on the fitness front at least), if you like!

My vice is marmalade on warm buttery toast. Nice cup of tae to go with it. Ahhh.

Start now and in a months time you could be well on your way. Do you have a target weight in mind?

From my own previous stints of losing weight it's 80% in the diet. You can't run off ****ty eating. But I find exercise helps greatly in mindset. Particularly with myself as the eating binges typically come when I'm feeling crap. A good jog boosts mood and keeps me on the fresh fruit, veg, lean meats and small portions!

Ultimately I'd like to get to around 13.5 stone. I reckon any smaller and I'd look a bit silly (I've always been fairly big). But there'd be a solid years work in getting there, I'd say, from where I currently am (I think I'm 19.5 stone at the moment but not 100% sure).

I'm aware diet is the most important factor, but it's also the most delicious factor. :o Haha. I'm working on a little plan later today to start on Monday morning. Bit of basic cardio (walking with the hope of progressing onto 1-2km jogs by the end of the 4 weeks), but I'll make a slightly more thorough plan as I go along.

Can I ask what your plan is for the next 30 days? I presume you're not planning to get a new job or such (as per your OP)? :P

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,481 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Fukuyama wrote: »
    My vice is marmalade on warm buttery toast. Nice cup of tae to go with it. Ahhh.

That has to be one of the most minor vices I've ever heard about.

In my experience, while diet is the most important aspect, if one is regularly hitting the gym, or swimming or whatever then cutting out the treats, sugar, etc comes quite easily.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

Getting back into the gym. Wish me luck brahs.

Ultimately I'd like to get to around 13.5 stone. I reckon any smaller and I'd look a bit silly (I've always been fairly big). But there'd be a solid years work in getting there, I'd say, from where I currently am (I think I'm 19.5 stone at the moment but not 100% sure).

I'm aware diet is the most important factor, but it's also the most delicious factor. :o Haha. I'm working on a little plan later today to start on Monday morning. Bit of basic cardio (walking with the hope of progressing onto 1-2km jogs by the end of the 4 weeks), but I'll make a slightly more thorough plan as I go along.

Sounds good. Let us know how you get on with the jogging.

I've looked over my logs from this time last year. I use Google Tracks on my phone when jogging. I was running 7,8,9 km reasonably easily. I'm terrified of this first jog on Monday. I've gained weight and definitly lost fitness. I'm out of breath if I run for a bus (not joking). :o

Can I ask what your plan is for the next 30 days? I presume you're not planning to get a new job or such (as per your OP)? :P

Well, I've a few goals. And right now I'm unemployed so I have time during the day to make good progress over the next month. I want to put that time to good use as when I do get a new job I won't have as much of it. So...

THE MASTER PLAN

I've decided to only pursue the things I actually want. Not just the things I feel I SHOULD want.

WEB DEVELOPMENT - I'm a Generic Business Graduate (TM). I did the wrong course. I enjoyed it but the job prospects are all very boring to me (more on that later). But I love building wordpress sites, hacking together little scripts and I'm getting interested in Linux now. Programming and networking is the only rabbit hole I can go down that keeps me there for hours upon hours.

GOAL: I want to work my way through this online textbook. It has 21 Chapters and 4 Javascript projects spaced out in there. Each week I will complete one of those javascript projects with the knowledge I have gained along the way.

I already have some JS, HTML and CSS. However, I still reply heavily on YouTube and guides for even the most basic of tasks. I need to remove that crutch with actual studying, note taking and developing a habit of "thinking in code", instead of just following along with a YouTube tutorial.
    ____

LOSE WEIGHT Something I've put off since April. I took an office job after college and gained a gut. Coffee, croissants, cake (my place would get a cake if someone wiped their arse right!) etc.. were my downfall. That and a lack of exercise.

I feel weak too. I've lost strength and cardiovascular fitness. I'm not happy with my appearance and I'm embarrassed that I'm getting out of breath climbing a few flights of stairs. I'm 23 years of age FFS! :eek:

GOAL 8lbs/3.5kg. Spaced out over a month that's 2lbs/0.9kg per week. Will be achieved by jogging 3 or 4 times per week (which will also increase fitness) and eating only healthy foods. No treats, snacks, pizzas, beer, bourban or Ben & Jerrys for this fella. No cheat days. No "rewards".
    ____

ONLINE STORE - I won't bore you guys with too much specifics. Basically I have a little side project. It's small but it's something I think has potential. But I procrastinate and let opportunities slip by me.

GOAL Get things set up properly and have it at a point of generating a couple orders per week.
    ____

JOB As mentioned above, I'm a Business Graduate. I could fairly easily get an interview at a multinational in the IFSC through a friend or apply for graduate programmes. However, despite having an interest in entrepreneurship I have zero interest in a corporate job which seems to be the only door a generic BA in Business opens for you. I listen to my friends discuss their jobs as entry level analysts - I really don't want to find myself stuck in the movie "Office Space" when I'm 30.

I intend to teach myself Web Development, do a ICT Conversion course that starts in January and hopefully get an internship in IT within the next 12-18 months.

But, bills need to be paid. So I plan on getting myself a stop gap admin job or similar for the next year or so. Preferably something I'd have zero chance of getting sucked into long term.

I have one "maybe" lead in my old job where I finished up in July. Could be an easy win on that front. If not it's back to old-fashioned job hunting.

GOAL Hopefully secure an admin job. At the very least get a couple of interviews.
    ____

I plan on posting regular updates on here to keep myself on track and also to read up on anyone else who wants to partake.
    That has to be one of the most minor vices I've ever heard about.

Haha. Well I've never been the type to inhale food. I gained my gut slowly but gain it I did.
    Old Jakey wrote: »
    Getting back into the gym. Wish me luck brahs.

Strength or just to lose weight?

Best of luck!

Sounds good. Let us know how you get on with the jogging.

I've looked over my logs from this time last year. I use Google Tracks on my phone when jogging. I was running 7,8,9 km reasonably easily. I'm terrified of this first jog on Monday. I've gained weight and definitly lost fitness. I'm out of breath if I run for a bus (not joking). :o

Well, I've a few goals. And right now I'm unemployed so I have time during the day to make good progress over the next month. I want to put that time to good use as when I do get a new job I won't have as much of it. So...

THE MASTER PLAN

I've decided to only pursue the things I actually want. Not just the things I feel I SHOULD want.

WEB DEVELOPMENT - I'm a Generic Business Graduate (TM). I did the wrong course. I enjoyed it but the job prospects are all very boring to me (more on that later). But I love building wordpress sites, hacking together little scripts and I'm getting interested in Linux now. Programming and networking is the only rabbit hole I can go down that keeps me there for hours upon hours.

GOAL: I want to work my way through this online textbook. It has 21 Chapters and 4 Javascript projects spaced out in there. Each week I will complete one of those javascript projects with the knowledge I have gained along the way.

I already have some JS, HTML and CSS. However, I still reply heavily on YouTube and guides for even the most basic of tasks. I need to remove that crutch with actual studying, note taking and developing a habit of "thinking in code", instead of just following along with a YouTube tutorial.
    ____

LOSE WEIGHT Something I've put off since April. I took an office job after college and gained a gut. Coffee, croissants, cake (my place would get a cake if someone wiped their arse right!) etc.. were my downfall. That and a lack of exercise.

I feel weak too. I've lost strength and cardiovascular fitness. I'm not happy with my appearance and I'm embarrassed that I'm getting out of breath climbing a few flights of stairs. I'm 23 years of age FFS! :eek:

GOAL 8lbs/3.5kg. Spaced out over a month that's 2lbs/0.9kg per week. Will be achieved by jogging 3 or 4 times per week (which will also increase fitness) and eating only healthy foods. No treats, snacks, pizzas, beer, bourban or Ben & Jerrys for this fella. No cheat days. No "rewards".
    ____

ONLINE STORE - I won't bore you guys with too much specifics. Basically I have a little side project. It's small but it's something I think has potential. But I procrastinate and let opportunities slip by me.

GOAL Get things set up properly and have it at a point of generating a couple orders per week.
    ____

JOB As mentioned above, I'm a Business Graduate. I could fairly easily get an interview at a multinational in the IFSC through a friend or apply for graduate programmes. However, despite having an interest in entrepreneurship I have zero interest in a corporate job which seems to be the only door a generic BA in Business opens for you. I listen to my friends discuss their jobs as entry level analysts - I really don't want to find myself stuck in the movie "Office Space" when I'm 30.

I intend to teach myself Web Development, do a ICT Conversion course that starts in January and hopefully get an internship in IT within the next 12-18 months.

But, bills need to be paid. So I plan on getting myself a stop gap admin job or similar for the next year or so. Preferably something I'd have zero chance of getting sucked into long term.

I have one "maybe" lead in my old job where I finished up in July. Could be an easy win on that front. If not it's back to old-fashioned job hunting.

GOAL Hopefully secure an admin job. At the very least get a couple of interviews.
    ____

I plan on posting regular updates on here to keep myself on track and also to read up on anyone else who wants to partake.

Haha. Well I've never been the type to inhale food. I gained my gut slowly but gain it I did.

Strength or just to lose weight?

Best of luck!

Cheers!

Going for strength. No man has the right to be weak and scrawny!

Old Jakey wrote: »
    Cheers!

Going for strength. No man has the right to be weak and scrawny!

I've managed to land right in the middle of the Venn Diagram and be "skinny fat". Low muscle mass from being lazy and a decent little layer of flab.

I'm going to lose the flab and incorporate some basic barbell + bodyweight exercises to regain some strength. I'll have to look into a decent strength training program in a few months time for sure.

I went from being close to 14 1/2 stone in early March to being just under 13 stone now. I've also got myself to running 5k in 27 minutes, but I was pushing myself too hard doing it 5+ days a week that my body couldn't anymore, so I'm back a few weeks in my plan and trying again, but being more conservative. My plan is to take part in the 10k in Phoenix Park next year and to try and be 12 1/2 -12 stone by the end of the year.

5k in 27 minutes is a nice time. Definitely by my standards anyways. I think the best I could muster was around 37 minutes. I'm dreading looking at the stopwatch on Monday! :D

I hope you reach your goal by the end of the year. Hopefully the Christmas period doesn't scupper the weightloss mission.

It might cause issues with running outside, but I do still exercise inside, including doing HIIT running on the spot. I had a bit of a milestone yesterday when buying skinny jeans; for the past while I've been buying size 34 waist and was jeans shopping yesterday, but they didn't have that size, so I thought, sure I'll try the 32.. And it fit very comfortably. Probably sound like a right eejit, but it felt good knowing that my efforts were working.

Thats when I realised I was going in the wrong direction.

Trying on jeans in shops. Couldn't get my usual size to fit. I thought that it must be the brand or the cut. Went to a few different places; twas the gut!

Edit: (Hey that rhymes).

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,826 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

I don't need to lose weight, I'm pretty good at staying away from chocolate, crisps, sweets, etc and have been for 18 months or so. The cravings I get now are pretty diluted overall, I would say and I can generally ignore them.

I could most certainly do with a kick up the arse in the exercise department, though. The problem is I'm pretty much accountable to no one and this used not to be the case. I was accountable to myself and that's pretty much gone out the window. It's frustrating.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭fuzzydunlop85

Good thread idea , was gonna try and and quit the smokes tomorrow and this thread has given a bit of extra motivation! Also need to get back to the gym.

3 minutes to kick off.. 30 days from now we better all be looking like this fella, with this on one hand and this in the other.

Here's hoping KKV!

I spent yesterday evening planning out my week. I've blocked off times each day to focus on my goals. I've got quite a workload so the social life is going to take a hit for the next month. It'll be worth it.

Today is jogging, studying JS, getting things ready for the job hunt and the more JS reading at night. :)

Let's go!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

I had my first session with a personal trainer this morning. The dude specialises in injury rehabilitation and prevention which is why I picked him, and he seemed to know his stuff. Found myself wishing I’d done this years ago; diving into weight bearing exercises without knowing what I was doing seems pretty stupid in hindsight.

Also, had my BMI measured for the first time which was kind of interesting. The print-out the machine gave me said I have a fat percentage of 16.8%, BMI of 22.8, and a metabolic age of 25 (I’m 32). Quite how it can claim to know this stuff from just my weight and height (and maybe my heart rate...?) I don’t know…

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 102 ✭✭My Darling Clementine

Need to cut down on the sauce

Completely eliminated bread and pasta from my diet, but still putting away nearly 30 pints every weekend.

Gonna try cut it down to one night a week and maybe 6 or 7 pints

Completely eliminated bread and pasta from my diet, but still putting away nearly 30 pints every weekend.

Christ. 30 pints a weekend seems like a lot all right. That must be harsh on the aul wallet too if you're drinking in pubs. :eek:

I cut down on drink around a year ago. Initially I thought I might give it up altogether but I do enjoy a few scoops here and there. Best decision I ever made. Haven't had a hangover in nearly a year and no more wasted Sundays wondering why I did it to myself.

Best of luck. :D

DAY 3 UPDATE

May as well post a small update with progress and so on.

Monday started off with a dose of reality. I was up early and went out for a jog. Keep in mind that a year ago I could jog 7/8 km in a decent enough time.

Warmed up. Took it easy. By 2km I was knackered. Ready to quit. I pushed it as hard as I could. Around the 3km mark I had to take it down to a walk/jog/walk/jog style affair. By 4 km I was fcuking finished. Did it in about 30 mins too. No bueno.

Goes to show what a year of zero serious exercise, bad diet and office work can do to you. I'm a 23 year old male ffs. I'm pretty embarrassed by that performance. I wouldn't have thought it'd be that bad.

Anyways - at least now I have my 'starting point'. Can only get better I suppose. :(

Got a free premium ticket to the Ireland match on Monday night unexpectedly. Universe is rewarding my new found initiative.

Been studying JavaScript every day. I'm actually making notes and understanding the concepts/logic behind what I'm doing. It's slow progress because I want to really get it bet into my skull. Nevertheless I've done the first two chapters of the textbook I linked to. Onto chapter 3 this evening.

Doesn't look like anything is going to come on the job lead I had. Outlook is doubtful. Need to start getting the CV/cover letters in order. Not looking forward to the job hunt. Hears hoping it isn't a grueling one.

Eating healthy too each day. Mostly. Hoping to have lost 2lbs by the end of this week. Not going to weigh in every day or anything though. I guess we'll see come Sunday.

Hope everyone else is making progress and staying on track! :)

- Fukuyama

My own approach isn't quite as hard lined as ye guys.

I'm still eating poorly and such. My plan is to slowly ween off the sweeties (I eat an enormous, enormous amount of them). So I'm still eating bad food, but lowering the amount gradually. Plan is to be eating very few/none by the start of next week. I reckon if I just give up on them altogether i'll end up going back to them a lot quicker. It's like crack cocaine.

Did a bit of walking yesterday. Drogheda's train station has a car park, with steps up to the station itself. I reckon there are a million steps (well, 144 steps.. but it feels like a million!), so I went up and down those twice (walking pace). Gonna keep at that each night and slowly up it a bit.

I have a personal trainer booked for Tuesday and Thursday next week at 11am. Also have a friend who's overly big into fitness and does a lot of running, who I'll team up with 2-3 times a week, also for a bit of light jogging and such.

My theory is that the more I commit myself to other people's time, the more seriously I'll take it all. Weighed myself on Monday morning. 19st 8lbs. Ludicrous weight. But hopefully it'll be knocked down a fair bit over the next 4-5 weeks.

Considered switching to straight whiskey. Takes a while to get a taste for it but much better for you than pints.

My own approach isn't quite as hard lined as ye guys.

I'm still eating poorly and such. My plan is to slowly ween off the sweeties (I eat an enormous, enormous amount of them). So I'm still eating bad food, but lowering the amount gradually. Plan is to be eating very few/none by the start of next week. I reckon if I just give up on them altogether i'll end up going back to them a lot quicker. It's like crack cocaine.

Did a bit of walking yesterday. Drogheda's train station has a car park, with steps up to the station itself. I reckon there are a million steps (well, 144 steps.. but it feels like a million!), so I went up and down those twice (walking pace). Gonna keep at that each night and slowly up it a bit.

I have a personal trainer booked for Tuesday and Thursday next week at 11am. Also have a friend who's overly big into fitness and does a lot of running, who I'll team up with 2-3 times a week, also for a bit of light jogging and such.

My theory is that the more I commit myself to other people's time, the more seriously I'll take it all. Weighed myself on Monday morning. 19st 8lbs. Ludicrous weight. But hopefully it'll be knocked down a fair bit over the next 4-5 weeks.

Yeah, it's best to take it at your own pace. No point doing a quick flip if it'll a reset after a few days.

I find it can be difficult to suddenly change your diet. Your body is used to its daily fix of sugars, carbs etc... When I tried to quit coffee cold turkey I nearly murdered a few people and had awful headaches. Lost that battle.

Fair play on getting the personal trainer. Have never used one before. Let us know how much he charges etc...

Tbh I'd be interested in doing a few sessions with one in a gym for weight lifting. I'd have no idea what I'm at or what kind of program to do. And everything I read online seems to contradict what another one days. :pac:

I've read that people with high weights tend to shift the first part of the weight quite easily as their Base Metabolic Rate would be quite high. So hopefully you see a good bit of the extra weight fall off! :)

The personal trainer I'm using has his own gym space and such (does classes and the likes primarily, but offers 1-to-1 personal training aswell). He's charging €250 for 10 sessions (each session being an hour each). It includes a diet plan, too, but I probably won't stick to it (more so use it as a guideline).

My plan is to do 2 next week, 3 the week after, and repeat, so I'll have used up all 10 sessions over the course of a month. Then provisionally aim to book another 10, at 1 session per week, just to keep me ticking over.

Realistically, I should be down a stone (more, perhaps) within a fortnight. I'm 19st 8lbs at the moment, so by the time the 4th rolls around, I'd say I'll be about (give or take) 18st 4lbs or so. Still a ridiculous weight, but the 4th is just the deadline for this thread (I'll still have a week of the current block booking of Personal Training sessions left to go, so my real deadline is the 11th).

Have also arranged to go up Slieve Foy in Carlingford with a few friends on the 3rd. Wouldn't be overly difficult either way, but it gives me something to aim towards.

Cheers man!

That's actually not too bad of a price. Do gyms generally have personal trainers you can schedule time with? Or are they freelancer you have to locate on the interwebs yourself?

I've been in a gym literally twice in my entire life. :o

In 6 months time you could be a new man entirely if you keep at it!

Well the chap I'm using is fairly clued into the whole fitness world, and his gym is a one-man show at the moment (though I think he's looking at bringing in a staff member). He was partnered with another fella but they went their own ways recently.

There's an Aura Leisure Centre pretty much next door to me (I have to drive past it to get to the personal trainer I'm using).

I'm not sure if they are more along the 'generally accepted standard', but they offer a membership to you (3 months, 6 months, 12 months). A 12 month membership in Drogheda's Aura is about €450, but drops to about €350 during promo periods (mid summer mostly, and i think they drop it to about €400 for christmas/new year).

With them the 'personal training' is free, but it just consists of a weekly weigh in and a 'personalised' gym programme they do for you. It's pretty shoddy and almost everyone will get the same exact programme made out for them. I'm sure you could pay extra for actual personal training but I've not seen anyone do it. The atmosphere in Aura is a bit more relaxed and casual (which is grand).

But even though it's (on paper) much worse value-for-money (as my €250 will just about get me a month with this other guy, whereas it's about 6 months in Aura) it's effectively 10 sessions where someone will spur you on, encourage you, train with you, push you and give you a whole gym space to yourself (so if, like me, you're a bit self conscious, you know there's no audience looking at you).

... That was a longer post than I expected... :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Also, had my BMI measured for the first time which was kind of interesting. The print-out the machine gave me said I have a fat percentage of 16.8%, BMI of 22.8, and a metabolic age of 25 (I’m 32). Quite how it can claim to know this stuff from just my weight and height (and maybe my heart rate...?) I don’t know…

Did the personal trainer give you the metabolic age?

Need to seriously shake up my diet. I can exercise and do weights, but need to change that.

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Did the personal trainer give you the metabolic age?
    It came from the tanita print-out.

Cool, hadnt heard of that before and well done on being younger :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,357 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Hi KKV. I know we've been here before :(

Great idea for a thread! I managed to lose a load of weight a couple of years back, was about 18st and got down to 14st, but never managed to get all the way down to 13st like I wanted to.

I came close, but never did it. Put back on a bit of the weight too.

I've been struggling to keep it off and i've recently gotten back motivated. This thread comes at a perfect time because i'm DETERMINED to get down to 182lbs (13st) by the time I go on holiday in late November.

I know i'm a creature of habit so these are the habits i've just tried to get into:

1 A) Swapping breakfast cereals for fruit smoothies. Just started this. SO far, so good.

1 B) Swapping dinners from sh*te food to decent food. Been slowly getting there with this one.

2) Swim regularly. Joined the gym around the corner from work and have gotten to swimming in the morning before work and every other opportunity I get. I only learned to swim withint he last 18 months or so, so this is a good one.

3) Cycle to and from work.

4) Be more consistent at BJJ. I've been a white belt for a long time. Started over two years ago. But I just can't get into a rhythm and am too inconsistent. Gonna try knock that on the head.

Losing weight is straight forward for me.......... until I have to go out drinking.

Early last month I got into a great stride. Lost 3 lbs in 3 weeks. Went away for the weekend with the lads..... came back 4 lbs over. Set me right back! If I can avoid the sauce, i'm fine!

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Hi KKV. I know we've been here before :(

Hey MrStuffins. Sounds like you've actually managed to make some progress though! Fair play to you (I know you're saying you didn't quit reach your goal, but you did exceptionally well from the sounds of it!).

i'm DETERMINED to get down to 182lbs (13st) by the time I go on holiday in late November.

Can I ask what you weigh at the moment (if you don't mind). I found that once I got to the low 16s last summer, shifting the weight was becoming very tedious and much more effort was required (VS when I started, and the weight just fell off with not a lot of effort).

Hey MrStuffins. Sounds like you've actually managed to make some progress though! Fair play to you (I know you're saying you didn't quit reach your goal, but you did exceptionally well from the sounds of it!).

Can I ask what you weigh at the moment (if you don't mind). I found that once I got to the low 16s last summer, shifting the weight was becoming very tedious and much more effort was required (VS when I started, and the weight just fell off with not a lot of effort).

I was 200+ lbs earlier in the year and was trying to shift the weight the way I always had, walking. It worked to an extent but I couldn't really make a dent in it.

This coupled with frequent nights out for birthdays etc. killed it for me. (Drink is an absolute killer)

On Sept 1st I was 196lbs (14st exactly) and want to lose a stone by November.

I changed a few things. I joined the gym around the corner from my office, which has a pool, and I swam a few times during the week. Cycling to and from work in order to maximise my time in the pool. Swim for about 40 mins at a time. Also watched my calorie intake.

Dropped 3 lbs in a week, but this is a fluke. I'll be happy with just 1lb a week. I think the change to swimming helped!

Need to seriously shake up my diet. I can exercise and do weights, but need to change that.

I found taking it slowly, one meal at a time is the way to go

And snacking is bad (but delicious)

Did an afternoon jog just before the rain came. Again, got up to 2k and started to feel like I was about to die. After that I just went with a walk/jog/walk/jog routine up to 3.75km and called it a day. Did it in 32 mins which is shockingly bad.

My hope it go get to 5km in under 30 mins by the end of this challenge. Hopefully.

For tonight it's a lean dinner, a cuppa tae and JavaScript. :)

Did an afternoon jog just before the rain came. Again, got up to 2k and started to feel like I was about to die. After that I just went with a walk/jog/walk/jog routine up to 3.75km and called it a day. Did it in 32 mins which is shockingly bad.

My hope it go get to 5km in under 30 mins by the end of this challenge. Hopefully.

For tonight it's a lean dinner, a cuppa tae and JavaScript. :)

Just out of curiousity, whats the app you're using there?

Just out of curiosity, whats the app you're using there?

Google tracks. Pretty basic - it tracks you GPS coordinates to calculate speed, distance, elevation etc... Give you some stats at the end and a map showing your route.

It play well with other google apps (like fit) and is also syncs to a Google Drive spreadsheet if you want it too. And, it's free! :)

I like it because it's simple - tells me if I'm getting faster or slower, and doing longer or shorter runs.

Google tracks...
    It play well with other google apps (like fit)

Maybe I'm reading it wrong, but does that mean there's also an app called Google Fit?

I've used MapMyRun and Runtastic before but I'd like something by google to see can I integrate it into my Google Calendar (I can't function without Calendar. I use to remember everything that happens in my life!).

I'd love a Google App that'd calculate my jog, tell me I'm a disgrace, and then add it to my calendar to remind me, incase I need to check back in a few weeks time.

Anyone know if something like that exists?

Maybe I'm reading it wrong, but does that mean there's also an app called Google Fit?

I've used MapMyRun and Runtastic before but I'd like something by google to see can I integrate it into my Google Calendar (I can't function without Calendar. I use to remember everything that happens in my life!).

I'd love a Google App that'd calculate my jog, tell me I'm a disgrace, and then add it to my calendar to remind me, incase I need to check back in a few weeks time.

Anyone know if something like that exists?

I have Tracks and Fit installed on my phone. Both set up with the same google account.

When I jog, I record it in tracks. It gets synced to a spreadsheet in google drive and also is sent to Google Fit, which is a more general lifestyle fitness app.

I mostly just use tracks though.

Faster + longer distance = good.

Slower + shorter distance = bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭astonaidan

Ah my fav time of the year
    Get a bar job, by far the type of employment I enjoy
    Get fitter, fit enough now but a little more wouldnt hurt
    Stop going back to girl who has serious insecurity problems and find a girl who I actually like
    Learn to cook
    Be less arrogant, a big problem I have but working on it

So I didnt get a bar job as I started to enjoy the job I was doing and got some good connections in cbd in Toronto. Also decided that my future was in business not the restaurant industry.
    This I most certainly didnt do, probably the most unfit Ive been in years, a lot of reasons for this, but in last month Ive cut out bread and will be starting up in the gym next month when I return to Ireland
    Honestly after I wrote this, I ditched her, looking back see how much a tool, i was, home sickness definitely played a part, now with a girl I met in feb, shes a doll, just the most relaxed girl ive ever met, and like I always presumed a non irish girl would be the one id really like.
    well this is a definite work in progress, but baby steps is some progress :D
    Nope tried it, didnt enjoy it.

In next 30 days i hope to safely arrive back in the gym, get a job, ruin my sisters wedding :pac::pac: and just enjoy ireland for a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,418 ✭✭✭OldRio

I started the weight loss and running about 9 weeks ago. Lost 16lbs:D.

I used the couch to 5k app. C25K. I would highly recommend it for anyone who has not run before. It starts with alternative walking and running. Gets progressively harder as the weeks go. I'm on the final week and running the 5k.

As for the BMI chart? It does not include anything about the build of a person. If I was the 'correct' weight for my height I would look ill.

Good luck to all.

Well - one week in and still going.

Weighed myself last night and again this morning for accuracy. I've lost a little over 1lb over the past seven days. I'm happy enough with it but, as I said, I'd like to lose 2 lbs per week. Going to push a little bit more with the dieting and running.

Went for a run this morning. 4k in 30 minutes. A littler better than previous days. Slowly but surely! :P

Studyed quite a bit of Javascript over the weekend; things are getting a little difficult now but I'm enjoying the challenge. Getting into concepts like function recursion and object orientated programming. My mind is melted sometimes but I normally just take a break and come back to it. I'm making progress.

Got a definite 'No' on the job lead I had. Oh well. Time to start applying en mass now.

Was thinking of looking into getting a helpdesk support gig. That way at least I'll have something on my CV I.T. related, even if it is quite low level stuff. If anyone has any pointers on breaking into that line of work I'd love to hear them.

Hope things are going well for everyone else. :)

I had a pretty bad weekend of it. Lots of junk food as I hadn't seen my missus all week and we stayed in and did nothing. Felt a bit bad about myself this morning and was already talking myself out of hitting BJJ tonight and prolonging my "bad weekend".

However, when I came in today, first thing this morning someone said "Hey man, you've lost some weight". Last time I checked i'd only lost 3 lbs and sine it was still noticeable, that has given me the little kick I needed to keep it up. Gonna hit training tonight and swim in the morning. Even if I work hard between now and Thurs (my weigh day) and it turns out I haven't lost anything this week, i'll be happy that i've kept up the habits and i'll kick it's a*s next week :)

I had a pretty bad weekend of it. Lots of junk food as I hadn't seen my missus all week and we stayed in and did nothing. Felt a bit bad about myself this morning and was already talking myself out of hitting BJJ tonight and prolonging my "bad weekend".

However, when I came in today, first thing this morning someone said "Hey man, you've lost some weight". Last time I checked i'd only lost 3 lbs and sine it was still noticeable, that has given me the little kick I needed to keep it up. Gonna hit training tonight and swim in the morning. Even if I work hard between now and Thurs (my weigh day) and it turns out I haven't lost anything this week, i'll be happy that i've kept up the habits and i'll kick it's a*s next week :)

Weekends are fcukers. Particularly when you don't fill the time. Too easy to ramble to the kitchen, load up on junk food and return to the Netflix marathon.

I'd say for next weekend make sure you're committed to things outside the house.

Fair play on shedding the few pounds anyways.

Weekends are fcukers. Particularly when you don't fill the time. Too easy to ramble to the kitchen, load up on junk food and return to the Netflix marathon.

I'd say for next weekend make sure you're committed to things outside the house.

Fair play on shedding the few pounds anyways.

the missus is out with her buddies on Fri night and i'm heading to BAMMA in the 3 Arena on the Sat (and not drinking) so it should be a fine weekend. I'll make sure to sim/train on the Friday and keep away from the food on Sat.

it's just the weekends that kill me. I have to learn how to manage them.

the missus is out with her buddies on Fri night and i'm heading to BAMMA in the 3 Arena on the Sat (and not drinking) so it should be a fine weekend. I'll make sure to sim/train on the Friday and keep away from the food on Sat.

it's just the weekends that kill me. I have to learn how to manage them.

If it's eating junk that's the main issue: don't buy it.

I have whittled my shopping trips down to just 2 or 3 aisles in the supermarket. The majority of the places are just shelves and shelves of frozen pizzas, sugary cereals, sweets, biscuits, cakes, crisps, pre-made meals and other such unhealthy garbage.

Fruit & Veg. Butcher counter or meat aisle. Dairy section for milk, butter and organic yogurt. Shopping done in 10 minutes and no more impulse snacking.

If it's eating junk that's the main issue: don't buy it.

I have whittled my shopping trips down to just 2 or 3 aisles in the supermarket. The majority of the places are just shelves and shelves of frozen pizzas, sugary cereals, sweets, biscuits, cakes, crisps, pre-made meals and other such unhealthy garbage.

Fruit & Veg. Butcher counter or meat aisle. Dairy section for milk, butter and organic yogurt. Shopping done in 10 minutes and no more impulse snacking.

Yeah, I gotta just stop buying it altogether.

Gonna make the most of this week anyway and then do the same at the weekend!