Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dumb/Great Facebook Status {merge} [No Names] - Part II

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Neil Issagum

"12 mths of da cigs 2day."

To me, that reads like she took up smoking a year ago and is proud of it! :D

Saw a similar one before,

"So proud off myself 3 months of the smokes"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,269 ✭✭✭MrVestek

fussyonion wrote: »
    My Dad is always doing this and I've tried explaining to him how irritating that is for people on his timeline but he doesn't get it.
    He also puts up pics of his holidays which he ALREADY put up before.

He also puts those quotes and poems up.
    I wish he wasn't on FB or that the novelty would have worn off by now.

Change the settings on his account when he isn't paying attention.

Set all of his updates to "only me".

I doubt he'll even notice.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

MrVestek wrote: »

Genius! :D

pc7 wrote: »
    Genius! :D

Heh thanks. I've been called worse. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

MrVestek wrote: »

While that's a great suggestion, a lot of folk, especially those around our parents age are actually mad for "likes", in the sense they don't want to go viral but they do definitely track how popular a picture is and so on.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,263 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

razorblunt wrote: »
    While that's a great suggestion, a lot of folk, especially those around our parents age are actually mad for "likes", in the sense they don't want to go viral but they do definitely track how popular a picture is and so on.

It could end up as comedy gold for this thread, they won't know no one else can't see it and will be fighting with 'aunty mary', 'cousin billy' cause they aren't liking their photos :D

I totally didn't have an ulterior motive. :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Ha ha that's a great shout. Or they'll start vague booking about not getting acknowledged only to have their anger compounded when they don't see the usual "U Ok hun?" replies!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭robarmstrong

razorblunt wrote: »
    Ha ha that's a great shout. Or they'll start vague booking about not getting acknowledged only to have their anger compounded when they don't see the usual "U Ok hun?" replies!

The "U Ok hun?" replies are a solid symbol of our intelligence as a species, please don't mock...

I had to re-read a girls status due to her using "anal" as a substitute of "and all". Throughout the entire thing I thought it was a tad bit odd for her to keep mentioning butt sex.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

I know that not everyone will do this!!! May I ask my family and friends wherever you might be, to kindly copy and paste this status for one hour to give a moment of support to all those who have stubbed their toe, stepped on a plug in their bare feet or knelt on Lego just to show how passive aggressive you are and that you'll do anything for likes. Do it for all of us, for nobody is immune. Hope to see this on the walls of my family and friends just for moral support. I know some will because your lives are so empty!!! I did it for someone close to me just so I could rub it in their faces and you can too. You have to copy and paste this one, no Sharing!

I'm sticking this on my facebook page right now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

That_Guy wrote: »
    I'm sticking this on my facebook page right now.

Remember, copy and paste. No sharing!!! Put some x's and o's on it for the angles anal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

"Introducing baby Aurla!!!!!!! 7lbs 4oz!!!! Mom is doing well and so is Aurla. Can't wait to go home and settle this little madam into her surroundings."

Not a particularly amusing post, I grant you, but I have one word for you.

Aurla.

AURLA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

"Introducing baby Aurla!!!!!!! 7lbs 4oz!!!! Mom is doing well and so is Aurla. Can't wait to go home and settle this little madam into her surroundings."

Aurla.

AURLA.

Orla? Owrla? How the hell do you pronounce that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,821 ✭✭✭fussyonion

Orla.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,872 ✭✭✭Sittingpretty

Aurla.

AURLA.

Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,313 ✭✭✭Ankhyu

On a similar vein, here's one I shared on my Facebook before:

"Please copy and paste this as your status if you know someone, or have heard of someone who knows someone. If you don't know anyone, or even if you've heard of anyone who doesn't know anyone, then do still copy this. It's important to spread the message. Oh, and the hearts. ♥ ♥ ♥ For f*ck's sake, don't forget the hearts. ♥ ♥ ♥"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Ankhyu wrote: »
    On a similar vein, here's one I shared on my Facebook before:

"Please copy and paste this as your status if you know someone, or have heard of someone who knows someone. If you don't know anyone, or even if you've heard of anyone who doesn't know anyone, then do still copy this. It's important to spread the message. Oh, and the hearts. ♥ ♥ ♥ For f*ck's sake, don't forget the hearts. ♥ ♥ ♥"

Copied and pasted, hun, wit a lode of harts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

There's also 'Orlaith'.

Feckin weirdos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Aurla.

AURLA.

I'm a foreigner and I've had enough issues trying to pronounce/spell Irish names since I've moved here now they're starting this ****!! I swear to everything holy and unholy that if I come across this in real life, I will pimp-slap them and then track down their parents and kick them in their nuts/ovaries.

• Site Banned Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Martypants1

Ladies...the "I'm beautiful the way I am" challenge! I'm asking you to upload at least 5 pictures in which you feel you are absolutely beautiful (and you ARE beautiful)! Then nominate gorgeous girls to do the same. Build yourself up, not down!! Let's see all that beauty!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,489 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Laura, it's an anagram.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Aurla.

AURLA.
    It's probably just Orla but he got the spelling wrong.

sligojoek wrote: »
    But it would have been no fun if he had got it right ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭mud

sligojoek wrote: »

Could be the Scottish version.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

It actually is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

"in my personal opinion secondary school is a complete waste of time the whole idea and system is non beneficial nothing i ever learned in secondary school has ever came of any use to my life instead of teaching complected mathematics that 99% of us will never use again why not teach people how to live a long healthy life, prepare young people for the reality there stepping into when there leaving school . how to get a job ,how to raise kids , teach people about current ongoings rather than stuff from 100s of years ago . teach people the skills they will actually need in life what good is Macbeth to somebody who could have had a better life if he just knew how to manage him self a little bit better id say most of you probably think im loosing my mind but in my opinion instead of teaching people about history why not teach them about future"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

I thought trigonometry was a load of sh1te but now I use it every day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,784 ✭✭✭✭siblers

"in my personal opinion secondary school is a complete waste of time the whole idea and system is non beneficial nothing i ever learned in secondary school has ever came of any use to my life instead of teaching complected mathematics that 99% of us will never use again why not teach people how to live a long healthy life, prepare young people for the reality there stepping into when there leaving school . how to get a job ,how to raise kids , teach people about current ongoings rather than stuff from 100s of years ago . teach people the skills they will actually need in life what good is Macbeth to somebody who could have had a better life if he just knew how to manage him self a little bit better id say most of you probably think im loosing my mind but in my opinion instead of teaching people about history why not teach them about future"

I guess there are elements of truth in what he/she says, there are vast chunks of what we do in school that is largely pointless and there are whole areas and skillsets that are ignored that would be hugely beneficial. To say secondary school is a complete waste of time is a bit mad though :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

In my personal opinion, those things are supposed to be taught by your parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,240 ✭✭✭joeguevara

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    In my personal opinion, those things are supposed to be taught by your parents.

What if the parents are morons too?

sharpey85 wrote: »
    A lad I know changed his profile picture 7 times yesterday.

Saying that it is once or twice most days. I've had the same one for years

I assume people who change their profile pics frequently have some unhappiness in their lives and are seeking validation. One attractive friend does it constantly, my other gauche friends say "isn't she beautiful, she's always smiling". I'm the cynic wondering why the craving for attention and likes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,857 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Thank God I've never had a Facebook account. Get out and live life folks. You d be surprised how good it is

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    Thank God I've never had a Facebook account. Get out and live life folks. You d be surprised how good it is

Posted on a social media website!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,863 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Yeah_Right wrote: »
    I'm a foreigner and I've had enough issues trying to pronounce/spell Irish names since I've moved here now they're starting this ****!! I swear to everything holy and unholy that if I come across this in real life, I will pimp-slap them and then track down their parents and kick them in their nuts/ovaries.

Same here.
    First time i had to talk to an Aoife i went around asking how to pronounce that as i didnt want to come up with some pronunciation that might be turning into an insult.
    I then met a non-Irish couple who got a kid here, gave it an very Irish name and moved to the continent.

I disagree. I want to stay in now. I don't want to go out to the pub and drink the night away with friends who were really more drinking buddies with whom I had good craic rather than people with whom I shared interests and opinions. I now stay in touch with people I have met and where we share, say, a love of trail running, I can now arrange to meet them through Facebook and I see it as a medium that has enhanced my life. I don't think it inhibits getting a life at all, I think it has enhanced it.

All that said, most of the stuff on it is dross. Just as was most of the stuff I would hear in the pub.

joeguevara wrote:
    Posted on a social media website!

Of course, and I've all my personal info on here to! Forums are round long before social media sites. Put down the phone and start socialising!

I don't have facebook... but a forum is a social media site. And unlike Boards, you can restrict what and who can see any of the information you put up.

I disagree. I want to stay in now. I don't want to go out to the pub and drink the night away with friends who were really more drinking buddies with whom I had good craic rather than people with whom I shared interests and opinions. I now stay in touch with people I have met and where we share, say, a love of trail running, I can now arrange to meet them through Facebook and I see it as a medium that has enhanced my life. I don't think it inhibits getting a life at all, I think it has enhanced it.

All that said, most of the stuff on it is dross. Just as was most of the stuff I would hear in the pub.

joeguevara wrote:
    I don't have facebook... but a forum is a social media site. And unlike Boards, you can restrict what and who can see any of the information you put up.

Both have good points alright but conor you do highlight a major flaw in Irish mentality regarding socialising. There are other and possibly better ways to socialise other than the pub. Social media is actually anti social in nature. I've been informed recently that it's starting to appear in research that some that spend a lot of time on social media sites are showing signs of unhappiness or even development of mental health problems. I do see some of its benefits but can also see it's downfall. A lot of people spending too much time on it. It's not good for their development particularly young people. I do think it's riff with bullying. It must be tough on young people

I agree with the bullying thing and consider myself lucky to have been young long before mobile phone and social media.

But I think spending a lot if time at anything can be a negative thing, from golf to pub to Facebook. I don't think social media is per se anti social, but it can be, it can also be a great medium for communication, for finding people I haven't seen in years and keeping in touch, for arranging to meet up with people with shared interests and so on.

And it can also provide some dumb and great status updates...

Orla.

Telpis!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Aurla.

AURLA.
    Seriously, your posts in here crack me up. :D

smash wrote: »
    Seriously, your posts in here crack me up. :D

I do worry for fussyonion at times and the facebook circles he/she travels in!

Another one today! with lots of love hearts, ahhh that'll help all those dead from cancer in heaven on facebook have a nicer day.
    Can I ask a favour?? Just a few of you will do it and I know who you possibly are
    ��
    ��
    ��
    If you know someone who fought a battle against cancer and passed away or someone who is still struggling or know a brave survivor
    ��
    Copy and paste this to your status to show support, respect and love
    ‪#‎Cancersucks‬
    ��
    ��
    ��
    ��
    ��
    ��
    ��
    ��
    ��

Copy, do not share

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭JustShon

I'm more and more convinced that the copy and paste, don't share thing is just to make this crap even more inconvenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,489 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

"...in my opinion instead of teaching people about history why not teach them about future"

cool, start with next weeks lotto numbers then move onto future sports results

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,313 ✭✭✭Ankhyu

"If you class yourself as my friend then hit the like button and copy this on your status and when I see your name I'll know who my real friends are. (Now this Will be interesting to see ) ������"

Feck off!

Ankhyu wrote: »
    "If you class yourself as my friend then hit the like button and copy this on your status and when I see your name I'll know who my real friends are. (Now this Will be interesting to see ) ������"

Feck off!

But what do I do if I'm a real friend but the post is sh1te?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

"If you didn't check in, were you even really there"

Tagged Dublin Airport and some European city. Drives me mad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Has took me a few weeks 2 come 2 terms with this b4 I posted...I had a spot on my face for over a yr then thinking the sun wld clear it up and didn't, a gd friend advised me 2 get this checked out in which I did...one look and was told I had skin cancer...not lking 4 any sympathy comments, wld jst like 2 put out there that after years of abusing sunbeds not putting the proper suncream on has resulted in a permanent scar on my face. BE AWARE. SUNBEDS, SUN, DOES LEAVE PERMANENT DAMAGE!!

Would be easier to believe if all of the "hope ur ok Hun" comments weren't flooding in. And being liked by the person who wasn't lukn for sympathy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Pete Moss

Poster: Awh I tell ye some people would make ye wanna vomit *multiple sick emojis* hate sly snakey people *multiple snake and angry emojis, with a winky face thrown in for the craic*

Reply: Their everywere hun x

Poster: Who ye tellin *sick emoji* even people u hav trust in

Reply: Some off them r even worse x

Poster: U said it *couple more winky faces* good riddons x