Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Cristiano Ronaldo

124»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,251 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Yeah, I thought that. In fairness, he's done alright when he's come come on. Seemed to have a nice touch (and destroyed Burton Albion ;) ), but I can't really understand how he seems to be carrying so much expectation.

It's called hype. I remember when Quinton Fortune was going to be the next Ryan Giggs :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

Lemlin wrote:
    It's called hype. I remember when Quinton Fortune was going to be the next Ryan Giggs :D

He still might be!!!! There's always time!!!!

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

You will see more of Rossi in United's first team next season... I am actually confident that he will get United at least 5-10 Premiership goals next season...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Hasn't looked all that impressive for United in his games so far

Whatcha on about? He did well in all the matches he has come on for.

Fergie is breaking him in, and people have to remember that Rooney, Owen, Ronaldo are all special cases. The majority of players, even top class players, were still breaking through around that age.

PHB wrote:
    Whatcha on about? He did well in all the matches he has come on for.

Fergie is breaking him in, and people have to remember that Rooney, Owen, Ronaldo are all special cases. The majority of players, even top class players, were still breaking through around that age.

How exactly did he do well? I don't remember him scoring too many, apart from against Burton Albion, and he might as well be playing in the reserve league as against them. I certainly don't remember anything of note that would see me declare him as the future for United.

He has broken every reserve team record there is in terms of goal scoring for United, all of them.

USA desperatly are trying to cap him ahead of Italy, cause they rate him and know an Italian cap will come soon enough.

Parma tried to sue United after he left for them, as they rated him as their highest prospect.

Fergie thinks he is the most natural finisher to come through the ranks since Scholes, and thinks he has an incredible future, and that's good enough for me. p.s. He just signed a 2 year extension to keep him at United till 2010
    I certainly don't remember anything of note that would see me declare him as the future for United.

btw, if you are looking for that, two things stand out.

I think it was Giles who pointed it out, but the timing of his runs shows his class.

Secondly, his flick to put through Richardson in the Burton game

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LKj1nWUimBI&search=Rossi%20goal

Also

http://home.skysports.com/list.asp?hlid=368136&plid=46810&clid=1&cpid=8 - Fergie Praise
    http://home.skysports.com/list.asp?hlid=320859&plid=46810&clid=1&cpid=8 - Fergie Praise
    http://home.skysports.com/list.asp?hlid=355344&plid=46810&clid=1&cpid=8 - Rooney Praise

Also if you want to see his influence on a team, and how everything goes through him,
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6d2sACoD-vQ&search=Sylvan%20Blakes

p.s. While you're there, have a look at Blakes, quality prospect aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

PHB wrote:
    Fergie thinks he is the most natural finisher to come through the ranks since Scholes

What's his competition? Wes Brown?

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,049 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Getting back OT here for a sec. Some of the english fans are realling taking this Rooney/Ronaldo thing to heart. Ronaldo is certainly looking like the scapegoat for England been knocked out of the World Cup.

So much so that somebody felt the need to go as far as setting up this

How fcuking childish if you ask me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

I'm usually defending the English, but this sh*t is just pathetic.
    There is a very real danger that Cristiano Ronaldo will be voted the
    > fans' best young player at the World Cup despite his pouting, diving,
    pretty boy antics designed mainly to get himself a lucrative transfer to Real Madrid and thus avoid the good kicking he deserves from Wayne Rooney at Manchester United training.
    > He is currently 1st in the FIFA voting just ahead of Luis Valencia of
    Ecuador.

> Please can everyone go to
    > http://fifaworldcup.yahoo.com/06/en/w/bypa/eligible.html
    > and do the decent thing by voting for Valencia.

It doesn't matter who you
    support or if you haven't seen them play, just stop Ronaldo.
    > Takes 30 seconds...You know it makes sense!!!!

That'll be one vote for Cristiano Ronaldo from the Irish jury anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

That'll be one vote for Cristiano Ronaldo from the Irish jury anyway.
    And another one......

rofl, just saw this on their site, ****ing hilarious

http://www.ihateronaldo.com/images/ronaldodive.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭tred

He should get a 5 match ban for diving..it was hilarious a few of them were absolutely brutal. If he just concentrated on finishing hed be a class act. he played very well. yet still had to drop like a sack of spuds. Embarrasing or what. and then claim today he should have gotten a penalty..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

More diving last night but easily Portugals best player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,591 ✭✭✭patmac

Good riddance to Portugal rapidly becoming the most disliked team in the world, dive when they are winning or losing, could probably have won last night if they concentrated on the soccer, will push the Chinese for Olympic diving medals if they keep this up. Getting back to Ronaldo, Rooney didn't take his shenannagans too well the other night:

Attachment not found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

Yeah, I laughed at C.Ronaldo for roaring after Figo failed to get a header in the goal from his cross.It was so silly of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Ridiculous antics from him again. Why he wasnt booked I will never know.

The sooner he leaves United the better and good riddance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Chakar wrote:
    Yeah, I laughed at C.Ronaldo for roaring after Figo failed to get a header in the goal from his cross.It was so silly of him.

It was very silly of Figo to not head the ball into the goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,434 ✭✭✭cardshark202

As a lifetime utd fan the last thing I want to see is Ronaldo hounded out by the english media and being made a scapegoat for englands utter failure. He just makes the most out every little touch he gets. He goes down easily true but remember Henry v Puyol. If Ronaldo gets hung out to dry so should the cheating antics of Henry who 'won' the last 3 matches for france be either scoring or 'earning' a free kick/penalty. If Ronaldo gets hung out to dry so should Henry who's cheating antics were much worse than anything Ronaldo has done, especially from someone who prides himself on 'never diving or cheating'. "I was just protecting my face" lmao

Don't forget the fact that Henry cheated against Portugal too... There was just as much contact from Carvalho's foot as there was from whoever put their hand on Ronaldo's back in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

As a lifetime utd fan the last thing I want to see is Ronaldo hounded out by the english media and being made a scapegoat for englands utter failure. He just makes the most out every little touch he gets. He goes down easily true but remember Henry v Puyol. If Ronaldo gets hung out to dry so should the cheating antics of Henry who 'won' the last 3 matches for france be either scoring or 'earning' a free kick/penalty. If Ronaldo gets hung out to dry so should Henry who's cheating antics were much worse than anything Ronaldo has done, especially from someone who prides himself on 'never diving or cheating'. "I was just protecting my face" lmao

Henry's cheating antics??? nonsense.
    Henry is one of the most honest players in the game. Did you hear his post match comments in the champions league final? Saying maybe he should start diving because everyone else is doing it and getting free kicks/penalties/players carded? Plus Henry was very annoyed that Puyol didnt get carded at the champions league final for repeatedly kicking the legs off him saying defending against me with a yellow card is a different scenario.

I understand his frustration 100%, he usually stays on his feet after tackles and refs do nothing, unless you look like you've been shot by a sniper. Its about time some of these players got a taste of their own medicine and fair play to Henry for doing it. Having said that, it was definitely a penalty, he just made sure he got one. Fifa and Uefa are doing nothing about it at all and the old adage of "if you can't beat them..." comes to mind. Henry, in my opinion, is not a diver but what he's doing now is making sure he gets a free kick or penalty for bad tackles/fouls, do you blame him?

and btw, c ronaldo isn't fit to clean Henry's boots, no comparison at all.
    Don't forget the fact that Henry cheated against Portugal too... There was just as much contact from Carvalho's foot as there was from whoever put their hand on Ronaldo's back in the first half.

More nonsense, Ronaldo went down as if Evander Holyfield just game him a right hook when he was barely touched at all.
    He's a diving cheat, Henry is a honest genius....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,399 ✭✭✭✭Thanx 4 The Fish

Are you having a laugh Porn ? There is defending a player of the team you support and there blindness and I know which one that falls into. Carvallho has even come out and said that he kicked him on the way past catching his ankle and stopping him getting to the ball, so the perpetrator of the offence, the ref and the player who was fouled disagree with you, three who do not often agree, between you and those 3 I would plump for the preofessionals. Any other instance apart from that POrn but unfortunately you picking out that example makes you look quite foolish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Everybody knew Ronaldo was a diver before the world cup, I don't see the point you're trying to make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Jimboo_Jones

PORNAPSTER wrote:

heh, strangely I suspect that you really believe that, and god bless you for that.

In all fairness, Carvalho clearly fouled Henry, but Henry did go down a lot easier than required.

But to anyone who thinks Henry isn't a blatent cheat, a complete and utter cheat, tell me, why was he holding his face after the collision with Puyol?

Are you having a laugh Porn ? There is defending a player of the team you support and there blindness and I know which one that falls into. Carvallho has even come out and said that he kicked him on the way past catching his ankle and stopping him getting to the ball, so the perpetrator of the offence, the ref and the player who was fouled disagree with you, three who do not often agree, between you and those 3 I would plump for the preofessionals. Any other instance apart from that POrn but unfortunately you picking out that example makes you look quite foolish.
    I'm not defending Ronaldo, what I am saying is that Ronaldo is no more of a cheat than Henry is, yet Henry is branded the blue eyed boy and was "clever" to "win" France a penalty and Ronaldo is branded a downright cheat.

There is no difference between the two. They're either both cheaters, or both "clever". Whether you like it or not, the French player made contact with Ronaldo. The same amount as Carvalho made with Henry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,907 ✭✭✭LostinBlanch

Keyzer wrote:
    Henry's cheating antics??? nonsense.
    Henry is one of the most honest players in the game.

Not in this World Cup. He's as bad as Rivaldo was in the last one. Trying to get Puyol sent off by clutching his face while Puyol has actually put his arm across his chest to slow him down (something all defenders do and get away with) is definitely the action of one of the most honest players in the game :rolleyes:
    Keyzer wrote:
    Henry, in my opinion, is not a diver but what he's doing now is making sure he gets a free kick or penalty for bad tackles/fouls, do you blame him?

Yes, see above. You can't have it both ways, unless you want to be known as a hypocrite. EDIT Not you personally, Henry I mean.
    Keyzer wrote:
    and btw, c ronaldo isn't fit to clean Henry's boots, no comparison at all.

Different players in different positions. There is also an age difference, how good was Henry at 20? It took him quite a while to develop into the talented player he is now. Ronaldo hmmm. . . one of the most frustrating players I've ever seen. All the natural talent in the world going to waste because he either can't look up, or insists on shooting from ridiculous positions. Like Dunphy says he's got no footballing brain, and it's hard to see where he's going to get it from.

Keyzer wrote:
    Ronaldo went down as if Evander Holyfield just game him a right hook when he was barely touched at all. He's a diving cheat, Henry is a honest genius....

This seems to be something that all Portugese teams do. remember Porto in the UEFA cup final against Celtic? I'm not condoning it, actually I hate it and I have said before in another thread that players who dive should be subject to trial by video after the match and if guilty of diving or trying to get other players sent off then they should get an automatic three amatch ban. This might be harsh to some but it'd certainly stop a lot of this crap that is making football harder to watch these days. In that case both Ronaldo and Henry would have got three match bans for cheating. Seems fair to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭p.pete

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    I'm not defending Ronaldo, what I am saying is that Ronaldo is no more of a cheat than Henry is, yet Henry is branded the blue eyed boy and was "clever" to "win" France a penalty and Ronaldo is branded a downright cheat.

There is no difference between the two. They're either both cheaters, or both "clever". Whether you like it or not, the French player made contact with Ronaldo. The same amount as Carvalho made with Henry.
    Bah - same crap that got Australia knocked out - defenders go to ground / poke a leg out at their peril.

PHB wrote:
    In all fairness, Carvalho clearly fouled Henry, but Henry did go down a lot easier than required.

But to anyone who thinks Henry isn't a blatent cheat, a complete and utter cheat, tell me, why was he holding his face after the collision with Puyol?

Yawn. Are you still babbling on about that?

If Ronaldo or Van Nistelrooy did the same you would of dropped it long ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭tred

PHB wrote:

Correct...now name me 3 more instances where he did something similar... i havent enough fingers and toes to count the amount of time ronaldo dives...hes a disgrace....its the dives from mid air with no one near him i find disgusting..

Lostinblanch - Fair points but you missed my main point.

Henry, in my opinion, is not a diver but what he's doing now is making sure he gets a free kick or penalty for bad tackles/fouls, do you blame him?

Any honest footballer must be looking at these diving bastards and saying "feck this, if they get away with it and the refs dont do their jobs, then I'm doing it". Henry is not an out and out diver, what he's doing now (and this is not his fault, you can blame refs/fifa/uefa etc for letting people get away with it) is making sure he gets his penalty or free kick when he is fouled instead of staying on his feet.

I also stated he had a beef with Puyol from the cl final. Puyol kicked the legs off him and got away with it so maybe he felt Puyol deserved some justice.

Ronaldo is 20/21 nd already he should be playing with a scuba kit he dives so much, its incredible. Henry is 29, he's obviously at a stage in his life and career where he's had enough of this crap, the only thing he can do is fight fire with fire. I don't blame him one bit.

Keyzer wrote:
    Lostinblanch - Fair points but you missed my main point.

Any honest footballer must be looking at these diving bastards and saying "feck this, if they get away with it and the refs dont do their jobs, then I'm doing it". Henry is not an out and out diver, what he's doing now (and this is not his fault, you can blame refs/fifa/uefa etc for letting people get away with it) is making sure he gets his penalty or free kick when he is fouled instead of staying on his feet.

I also stated he had a beef with Puyol from the cl final. Puyol kicked the legs off him and got away with it so maybe he felt Puyol deserved some justice.

Ronaldo is 20/21 nd already he should be playing with a scuba kit he dives so much, its incredible. Henry is 29, he's obviously at a stage in his life and career where he's had enough of this crap, the only thing he can do is fight fire with fire. I don't blame him one bit.

I love the way you say its ok for Henry to dive and cheat because 'everyone else does it' but its not okay for Ronaldo to because he's only young. All I'm saying is that what Henry did v Puyol against Spain was blatant cheating imo and was much worse than anything Ronaldo has done. Puyol was using his arms to block Henry off, Henry got lightly caught in the chest, Henry goes down clutching his face in an attempt to get Puyol sent off, simple as that. A bit like Rivaldo v Turkey(I think) in the last WC.

I already explained twice as to my thoughts on why Henry did that.
    Please re read my posts...

Keyzer wrote:
    I already explained twice as to my thoughts on why Henry did that.
    Please re read my posts...

Yes but I assumed you were joking. "You cannot be serious!":)

Keyser,

I've read and reread your posts trying to find your point. But the only thing I get out of what you're saying is that it's ok for Henry to dive because you say that up until now he hasn't been a diver! Please re read my previous post about losing the high moral ground and hypocrisy to see what I think of this.

Cardshark has also pointed this out to you in a different way, but he's aying essentially the same thing as I am. I don't think you'll ever accept the fact that Henry is now a cheat who I for one can't take seriously when he talks about others diving or trying to get opposing players sent off. It's a bit like taking lectures on fair play from Pires or Viera to name two other French players who have been caught on video with outrageous dives - Pires against Protsmouth for that penalty and Viera against Hamman where he wasn't even within a yard of contact but he still went down like he was shot.

Ayway enough of that I think you have your view and you will stick to it, whatever the cold facts say.

I know it's late but I have just seen Henry Winters take on the bould Thierry's antics against Spain.

http://www.timesonline.co.uk/newspaper/0,,176-2252759,00.html
    Henry blemishes beautiful skills

Lilies that fester smell far worse than weeds, the big man from Stratford pointed out long ago, and there was certainly a nasty stench left hanging in the air last week when one of the most beautiful talents available to these World Cup finals was sullied to its roots by a particularly offensive example of cheating. Perhaps the seeking of advantage from calculated dishonesty should depress us equally whether the perpetrator is a journeyman or a genius but it was hard not to be especially saddened by Thierry Henry’s reminder of how widely accepted in football the habits of the swindler have become.

When Henry seriously blemished France’s excellent performance against Spain on Tuesday by grotesquely playacting for profit, it wasn’t merely the contrast between the cheapness of his behaviour and the richness of his gifts as a footballer that made the sight disturbing. There was also the jarring awareness that this was a man too intelligent, too finely attuned to everything happening around him to fail to realise that, though the referee could be hoodwinked, the omnipresent cameras would reveal the truth. Yet his response to an undramatic coming together with Carles Puyol, a collision that obliged Henry to endure nothing more damaging than the apparently mild contact made with his chest by Puyol’s arm, was to squirm on the ground while clutching his face as if it had taken a blow from a baseball bat.

The con was handsomely rewarded: Puyol received a totally unjustified yellow card and France were awarded the free kick from which Patrick Vieira headed in off a defender the goal that gave them a 2-1 lead with only seven of the 90 minutes remaining. Over the hour and a half, they deserved the victory that carried them through to last night’s momentous confrontation with Brazil, and it was academic that they were slightly flattered when Zinedine Zidane scored an additional goal against Spain to crown a display in which much of his past greatness reasserted itself. But the image of Henry’s match-influencing deception lingered sourly in the memory. It was further miserable proof that tolerant attitudes to cheating have penetrated deeply enough into football’s psyche to convince even players of the utmost distinction that exploiting fellow professionals to steal an edge is worth the sacrifice of their reputations for sportsmanship. Caught in television’s surveillance, they look like thieves who don’t mind the shame of exposure so long as no charges are pressed.

But that's allright Keyser because everyone else is doing it? How many wrongs make a right then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,591 ✭✭✭patmac

Ronaldo Apologises,
    Ronaldo Apologizes.jpg

The star’s Cheshire home was targeted by vandals and he fears further revenge attacks.

I think Man Utd should sue the English press for incitment to hatred. It's absolute bull**** what they can do, and it's about time they were stopped.