Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

For those about to chat...

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

And Steve Tyler's lips were always mental!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,577 ✭✭✭lord lucan

And Cobain looks happy!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭few

430112_449682908408820_443220547_n.jpg

Guthrie Govan, Marco Minnemann and Bryan Beller

THE ARISTOCRATS
    FALL 2012 EUROPEAN TOUR

10/9 – Uppsala, Sweden – Uppsala Guitar Festival
    10/11 – Ascoli Piceno, Italy – Break Live Club
    10/13 – Assemini – Cagliari (Sardinia), Italy – Quartu Sant'Elena (Cagliari)
    10/14 – Cassibile – Siracusa (Sicily), Italy – Anfiteatro Hotel Fontane Bianche
    10/15 – Jesolo (VE), Italy – Scuola di Musica JAM c/o aula magna istituto “I. Calvino”
    10/16 - Udine, Italy – Teatro Palamostre
    10/17 – Prato, Italy – Keller Platz
    10/19 – Caserta, Italy – Black Cat Club
    10/20 – Rome, Italy – Guitar Legends Festival - Centrale Montemartini
    10/21 – Molvena (VI), Italy – Revolution Studios
    10/23 – Nice, France – Forum Nice Nord
    10/24 – Legnano (MI), Italy – Land Of Live
    10/26 – Frankfurt, Germany – Frankfurt Jazz Festival (Sendesaal des hessischen Rundfunks)
    10/27 – Zagreb, Croatia – Zagreb Guitar Show (VIP Club)
    10/28 – Zoetermeer, Netherlands – De Boerderij
    10/29 – Verviers, Belgium – Spirit Of 66
    10/31 – Esch-Sur-Alzette, Luxembourg – Kulturfabrik
    11/2 – Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Canary Islands – Teatro Felo Monzón
    11/3 – Unna, Germany – Kuhlschiff
    11/5 – Reichenbach, Germany – Bergkeller
    11/6 – Poznan, Poland – Blue Note
    11/7 – Berlin, Germany – Crystal Club
    11/9 & 11/10 – Athens, Greece – Athina Live

No Dublin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Somnus

few wrote: »
    Aristocrats tour dates

God damn you. I was looking at them earleir and saw there was no Irish date, but when you posted them there I got my hopes up that I had just missed it!

Would love to see them, really doubt they'll be over at any point though

• Registered Users Posts: 285 ✭✭few

Dr.Poca wrote: »
    God damn you. I was looking at them earleir and saw there was no Irish date, but when you posted them there I got my hopes up that I had just missed it!

Would love to see them, really doubt they'll be over at any point though

Sorry!
    I can remove my post if it will make you feel better :D

few wrote: »
    Sorry!
    I can remove my post if it will make you feel better :D

Haha, no it's grand. Would love to see them though. They should do a joint tour with Steve Wilson seen as Marco and Guthrie are in his band now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭old gregg

OK, here's a question for someone. I'm finally getting through series 1 of Homeland on tv. In episode 5, there's a scene where the CIA are interrogating a suspect. At one point they have him in a room, lights out in silence and then suddenly bright lights come on and some pretty savage metal starts blasting out of speakers for a few seconds and then stops before going through the whole cycle again and again.

Here's the IMDB episode blurb: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2023998/

Does anyone know who or what the music is?

Funny things is, when I was watching it I remember thinking that the prisoner was being tortured by the music yet I felt tortured every time it stopped :p

• Registered Users Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

old gregg wrote: »
    OK, here's a question for someone. I'm finally getting through series 1 of Homeland on tv. In episode 5, there's a scene where the CIA are interrogating a suspect. At one point they have him in a room, lights out in silence and then suddenly bright lights come on and some pretty savage metal starts blasting out of speakers for a few seconds and then stops before going through the whole cycle again and again.

Here's the IMDB episode blurb: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt2023998/

Does anyone know who or what the music is?

Funny things is, when I was watching it I remember thinking that the prisoner was being tortured by the music yet I felt tortured every time it stopped :p

Grindlink - Orphan (I think)

Just dropped that into Google + Homeland and it tells me that Gridlink - Orphan is exactly the song. Many thanks mate, muchly appreciated.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,763 ✭✭✭DaveNoCheese

old gregg wrote: »
    Just dropped that into Google + Homeland and it tells me that Gridlink - Orphan is exactly the song. Many thanks mate, muchly appreciated.

Good stuff, no hassle

• Registered Users Posts: 4,677 ✭✭✭Zwillinge

Hey y'all!

In work and had quick nose on the Twitters and Facebooks - everyone in the UK rock scene was going slightly nuts about BBC Radio 1 today for rock/metal and head banging fun.

Been listening on and off today, just wanted to give anyone a heads up, as I think its leading up to gigs starting tonight with Bullet for my Valentine.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/radio1/ to stream

http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p00zy67b

May interest one or two folk.

Myself and ScienceNerd just booked tickets and flights to see Steven Wilson in March!

Cannot wait. The in studio clips he's putting out sound great, and Guthrie Govan will be on the tour as well, bonus!

Can hardly contain the excitement, and it's still months away :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

ScienceNerd and I just booked tickets and flights to see Steven Wilson in March!

Cannot wait. The in studio clips he's putting out sound great, and Guthrie Govan will be on the tour as well, bonus!

Can hardly contain the excitement, and it's still months away :D

FYP :)

Nailz wrote: »
    FYP :)

Oh you ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

I'd like to see Repulsion play in Ireland some time ;)

just getting that out there

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 80,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sephiroth_dude

anyone get the new deftones album? any good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

anyone get the new deftones album? any good?

Check out this thread. There is some chat on the new album in it.

www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056759587

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,818 ✭✭✭Lyaiera

I'll be spending the next few hours going through threads here. I was big into metal as a teenager but fell out of it for a few years (fell out of music to be honest.) I got a last.fm account there about a while back and I'm into music like I've never been before. I was mostly listening to 60s and 70s rock, with a bit of psychedelia, krautrock and stoner rock thrown in. I have a few metal albums still in my collection and listened to a few out of nostalgia, last.fm picked up on it and has been throwing some pretty good stuff up for me, now I'm back into it again. :D

The metal I've been listening to most has been Falkenbach's Magni Blandinn, nice folky black metal. I remember people being amazed that I liked Transilvanian Hunger (but not much else Darkthrone apart from the first album.) I've found over the past year or so I've been listening to a lot of chill-out and ambient, especially music with a bit of drone to it. TH just has that lo-fi drone quality to it that I figure I quite like.

I've also been listening to Blood Ceremony's Living With The Ancients, the album is ok, a bit of a grower, but there's one or two songs on it that are killer. Not as doomy as Black Sabbath but I could imagine it having been made around that time. Great late 60s early 70s sound to the keys/organ on it, bluesy crunch to the guitar, great vocals.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to going through the threads looking for stuff I'll have missed. I know my own taste in music better than ever and I'm really enjoying stuff now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,148 ✭✭✭Passenger

Anyone ever see this burd on Youtube with the huge bangers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,141 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Passenger wrote: »
    Anyone ever see this burd on Youtube with the huge bangers?

Ah, the lovely Hannah Minx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,039 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I didn't get to see The Aristocrats on tour, either. But there are compensations:

If you think it's possible for musicians to play too many notes, this is not for you.
    :cool:

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

Can anyone recommend a good metal clothing/merch/record shop in London, preferably out in Camden? There used to be 1 or 2 decent shops in Camden specialising in official t shirts and stuff but the last time I was there a few weeks ago they had either gone or caved and started selling Smiths shirts. Muchos thankos.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

It's been a few years since I was in London, but there was a good shop called Metal Militia on Oxford Street. Dunno if it's still there or not.

There was a shop in the Camden Stables market that sold official metal Tshirts, got an In Flames one there earlier this year. Dunno if that's one of the ones you're thinking of old gregg?

anyway...

So was anyone else at Steve Vai tonight :eek:

It was one of the greatest live shows I've ever been to. So much energy, humour, creativity and musical excellence. Best guitar playing I've ever seen. And the gig was 3 hours long.

Just wow. I'm actually in awe a little. I was expecting it to be good, but it was just such an extravaganza in so many ways. Loved it

Links234 wrote: »
    There was a shop in the Camden Stables market that sold official metal Tshirts, got an In Flames one there earlier this year. Dunno if that's one of the ones you're thinking of old gregg?
    thanks mate. I've been in and around the Stables market loads of times over the years but must just have missed that. Will try harder this time :) thanks again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,039 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I saw Vai in London years ago, the Sex & Religion band tour with Devin Townshend. A bit more serious, then, but I've always liked Vai because he gets that the "guitar hero" thing is inherently funny. :cool:

In its extreme forms, it's on a par with computer hacking - it requires one to spend large amounts of time locked away doing just the one thing obsessively, with the aim of getting good at it for its own sake. Distractions such as girls and substances work against that. You can see this in Metallica, for example: James was the popular guy who drank a lot, Kirk was the speccy geek who practiced a lot. :cool:

Ye Hypocrites, are these your pranks
    To murder men and gie God thanks?
    Desist for shame, proceed no further
    God won't accept your thanks for murder.

―Robert Burns

bnt wrote: »
    I saw Vai in London years ago, the Sex & Religion band tour with Devin Townshend. A bit more serious, then, but I've always liked Vai because he gets that the "guitar hero" thing is inherently funny. :cool:

You're dead right there. That was something I wasn't expecting, he has a great sense of humour. Some good laughs and jokes from him. And his style is so charismatic yet tongue in cheek too. Wonderful gig. Really, really surprised me how fun it was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,164 ✭✭✭rednik

Just read that Heart have got into the rock and roll hall of fame before Deep Purple. Shows this up again for being the fuc*ing joke it is. On the plus side Rush finally get in.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

I was on hols last month in Japan and went to see The Gazette while I was there.

If you ever get the chance to go to a rock/metal gig in Japan, jump at it.
    Without doubt, one of the most entertaining gigs I've ever been to, and not just because of the lads on stage, but the audience was only fantastic.
    All dressed up in either visual kei or cos play.
    What amazed me the most was the fact they ALL moved in sequence, as one. Head banged at the same time, in the same way. Stood still at the same time together. Hand movements together. It's like they all met somewhere and practiced together! All this while never moving from their seats.
    The security in front of the stage, (all three of them) sat on the floor at the top of the aisle as the crowd was so well behaved.

The Gazette themselves put on a great gig and you really get your moneys worth. 2.5 hours on stage with a 10min break.

Security at top of aisle:
    Gaz1.jpg

Attachment not found.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭black_frosch

Beruthiel wrote: »
    I was on hols last month in Japan and went to see The Gazette while I was there.

If you ever get the chance to go to a rock/metal gig in Japan, jump at it.
    Without doubt, one of the most entertaining gigs I've ever been to, and not just because of the lads on stage, but the audience was only fantastic.
    All dressed up in either visual kei or cos play.
    What amazed me the most was the fact they ALL moved in sequence, as one. Head banged at the same time, in the same way. Stood still at the same time together. Hand movements together. It's like they all met somewhere and practiced together! All this while never moving from their seats.
    The security in front of the stage, (all three of them) sat on the floor at the top of the aisle as the crowd was so well behaved.

The Gazette themselves put on a great gig and you really get your moneys worth. 2.5 hours on stage with a 10min break.

Security at top of aisle:
    Gaz1.jpg

Attachment not found.
    Not my type but I'm glad you're happy.

Beruthiel wrote: »

Well colour me jealous! :D

So, who was at God is an Astronaut last night? Amazing gig! My second time seeing them and I had forgotten how good they are live. Absolutely fantastic show.

The support, Meltybrains, were cool as well.

Katatonia on Friday was very good as well, they don't have much stage presence though. Something very noticeable after being to the likes of Opeth and Steve Vai lately, where there's lots of banter

• Registered Users Posts: 11,642 ✭✭✭✭wolfmoon87

tumblr_mf6nhwQzq91r2honjo1_500.jpg

via reddit

Ysdjf.jpg

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 6,817 ✭✭✭jenizzle

So, who was at God is an Astronaut last night? Amazing gig! My second time seeing them and I had forgotten how good they are live. Absolutely fantastic show.

The support, Meltybrains, were cool as well.

Katatonia on Friday was very good as well, they don't have much stage presence though. Something very noticeable after being to the likes of Opeth and Steve Vai lately, where there's lots of banter

Never realised GiaA were playing :( I fall asleep to their music quite often, I dunno if I'd even recognise a lot of their stuff due to being asleep!

I've seen Katatonia before, and I agree. Not much banter from them but they still put on a good show. Mikael is in a world of his own, and even though I wouldn't be the biggest Opeth fan, I found them really enjoyable cos he's so feckin' funny!

The other night my friend told me he had the Swedish metal tribute album to Abba. He's back home for Christmas so I won't get to listen to it until after. What could be better for New Years Eve celebrations than listening to Dancing Queen SDM style?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,557 ✭✭✭Knifey Spoony

Lyaiera wrote: »
    The other night my friend told me he had the Swedish metal tribute album to Abba. He's back home for Christmas so I won't get to listen to it until after. What could be better for New Years Eve celebrations than listening to Dancing Queen SDM style?

On the subject of metal tributes to ABBA:

There was some sort of metal tribute band to ABBA who played here in Cork a few months back. I missed them then and looks like they'll never be heard from again (since it looked like they were just some lads from a few bands around Cork who got together to do this for a laugh) but they had possibly the best name for a metal tribute to anything: "Gnawing Me, Gnawing You!":p

On the subject of metal tributes to ABBA:

There was some sort of metal tribute band to ABBA who played here in Cork a few months back. I missed them then and looks like they'll never be heard from again (since it looked like they were just some lads from a few bands around Cork who got together to do this for a laugh) but they had possibly the best name for a metal tribute to anything: "Gnawing Me, Gnawing You!":p

Watertrve

Edit: Super The Trooper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

My earplugs got a great test run at The Minutes last night. **** me, they were LOUD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭xerces

Lovin' the Young Mountain avatar Dr.Poca, This Will Destroy You are definitely one of my favourite bands of the last few years! They have three great releases in Young Mountain, This Will Destroy You and Tunnel Blanket. There is also a thread on them here.

Just thought I'd let you all know that I've totted up the votes for the R&M awards.
    There's a few ties, so in the interest of fairness I've sent a PM to Lord Lucan to see does he want to weigh in on those seen as I've all ready voted in the main thread.

If he doesn't then it will be up to me to choose a winner.

xerces wrote: »
    Lovin' the Young Mountain avatar Dr.Poca, This Will Destroy You are definitely one of my favourite bands of the last few years! They have three great releases in Young Mountain, This Will Destroy You and Tunnel Blanket. There is also a thread on them here.

Thanks. I only got into them recently, actually listening to their self titled album right now!
    But yeah, I can't stop listening to Young Mountain, what a fantastic album.
    I was trying to think of what to use as a custom avatar and thought that album cover was cool!

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

What Enslaved album is worth starting out with? I had one of them years ago and I thought it was average, but they've been popping up on my last.fm and I've quite taken to them.

Lyaiera wrote: »
    What Enslaved album is worth starting out with? I had one of them years ago and I thought it was average, but they've been popping up on my last.fm and I've quite taken to them.

Give Monumension (2001) a go and see what you think. It has a very vast and diverse sound. It's certainly not generic and it has plenty of layers to explore on multiple listens.

Convoys to Nothingness

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Figured there was nowhere else to put this, pretty cool thing that happened to me today imo...

Was on twitter earlier and decided i'd take issue with something that's bothered me before: Dream Theater not having played in Ireland in eleven years. So i tweeted James LaBrie, not expecting ever to hear back:
    @Piratecjs Any chance of DT playing in Ireland next tour? Its been 11 years now..we've missed out on some great music!

Imagine my surprise when he tweeted me back a few hours later:
    @spiralism1 Will do everything in my power to try and make this happen.

Has to be good news if you're an Irish DT fan, it's been waaay too long since they were last here!

spiralism wrote: »
    Has to be good news if you're an Irish DT fan, it's been waaay too long since they were last here!

That might be his obligatory response but it would be great to see them perform on their next tour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Passenger wrote: »
    That might be his obligatory response but it would be great to see them perform on their next tour.

I know he may just be saying it...but he could well have just not tweeted back at all and in all honesty i couldnt have hoped for a better response :D