Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Soccer-like crowd' coming to the rugby?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Blisterman wrote: »
    Funny enough, I'd imagine that the silence makes it more intimidating for the kicker.
    ?

+1, completely agree...must be massively unsettling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,415 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

Funny enough, I'd imagine that the silence makes it more intimidating for the kicker.

Can you imagine a high pressure situation with 80,000 people staring silently at you, to see if you miss?

Agreed. And it's even better than that. All the Irish kickers are used to the silence from their kicks week in, week out in all competitions. So it's off-putting only for opposition.

The only thing I'd say is that I agree with someone who mentioned that it's not the stadium tannoy announcers job to police the silence for kickers - it's up to the fans themselves to decide whether to uphold our tradition or not (otherwise it's not tradition, just law).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,415 ✭✭✭✭Trojan

The hush-during-the-kicks is predominantly an Irish thing from what I can see. The French, Italians, Welsh, Aussies, Kiwis and Saffas all whistle to some degree on opposition kicks.

I'm pretty certain Leicester do it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Baldie

A few of my friends (Munster) were up at the match over the weekend, and all of them came back hating Leinster fans. All of my friends said that the Leinster fans had an "in your face" attitude, shaking their fists and waving their flags in Munster fans faces. I thought sore loosers were bad, but there's nothng worse then sore winners! Take your victory with pride and don't disgrace your team! If the soccer hooligan attitude enters the rugby scene, then I will be very disappointed. Rugby is recognised as a sportsmans sport, where you shake hands at the end of the game and wish each other the best, not roaring "in your face" comments and abusing opposing fans!

One mate of mine said their was one chant going on with regards to the Toyota sponsor for Munster. It went something like, Hiace, Dinya, knackers go back to Limerick.... Disgraceful.

Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Baldie wrote: »
    A few of my friends (Munster) were up at the match over the weekend, and all of them came back hating Leinster fans. All of my friends said that the Leinster fans had an "in your face" attitude, shaking their fists and waving their flags in Munster fans faces. I thought sore loosers were bad, but there's nothng worse then sore winners! Take your victory with pride and don't disgrace your team! If the soccer hooligan attitude enters the rugby scene, then I will be very disappointed. Rugby is recognised as a sportsmans sport, where you shake hands at the end of the game and wish each other the best, not roaring "in your face" comments and abusing opposing fans!

One mate of mine said their was one chant going on with regards to the Toyota sponsor for Munster. It went something like, Hiace, Dinya, knackers go back to Limerick.... Disgraceful.

Rant over.

I heard people cheering Contepomi's season-ending injury, I heard O'Gara cheered for a cheap shot on Sexton and Leinster kickers being whistled and booed.

I don't come on here and tell teh world that all Munster fans are a disgrace though. Because they're not. It's been said here before, any large gathering of people will contain some cnuts. That applies equally to both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

A few of my friends (Munster)...
    One mate of mine said ...

Rant over.
    Rant indeed! You're whole post is here say!! I was at the match. No "knacker" chats were I was; no sore winning where I was.

Are you sure your mates aren't sore losers???
    Can you be sure your mates aren't sore losers??? Considering you weren't actually at the match; considering your whole rant is coming from their unique perspective?

I heard people cheering Contepomi's season-ending injury, I heard O'Gara cheered for a cheap shot on Sexton and Leinster kickers being whistled and booed.

I don't come on here and tell teh world that all Munster fans are a disgrace though. Because they're not. It's been said here before, any large gathering of people will contain some cnuts. That applies equally to both sides.
    Don't forget the 3 roars during the minutes silence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

Zulu wrote: »
    Don't forget the 3 roars during the minutes silence.

Let's not mention them at all. Those three people were shameful. Club allegiance doesn't matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Rant over.

Have to say I saw none of what you have described. I had pints afterwards with Munster fans and we discussed the game but no sledging. I did however hear as Contepomi started his run up to his 1st kick a very loud miss it from 3 rows back as well as gwan Munster throughout most kicks by Leinster. Was the good behaviour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭Iang87

see the majority of regular rugby fans were introduced to the game by a parent or uncle and if you said anything during a kick you got a slap into the back of the head. found that out on my first trip to thomond park when i was 6 watching Young Munster v Shannon. Never did it again.

Basically these little ****ers now go to games on their own and have maybe two pints and feel the need to get rowdy. Throw them out simple as and ban them or punish the club they got the tickets from that'd sort it out fairly sharpish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Rant over.

Truthfully Munster fans are just as bad if not worse so don't try and label it as just a Leinster thing.

truthfully that not true,

Iang87 wrote: »
    truthfully that not true,
    I know you are, but what am I? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Trojan wrote: »
    I'm pretty certain Leicester do it.

They do, as do Gloucester and Bath.

just a bit childish out of you now that was

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

toomevara wrote: »
    They do, as do Gloucester and Bath.

And Northampton and Irish to a extent and most if not all the GP clubs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Rant over.

Absolute nonsense. I saw absolutely none of that and, unlike you, I was there. In fact, I heard no reports of that whatsoever and I know scores of people that were there. Your mates are either sore losers and liars or they witnessed an isolated incident. Either that or you're talking out of your hat.

Speaking of disgraceful - go and have a look at the munsterfans.com Web forum if you want to see everything from hate-inspired rivalry to downright bigotry. Leinster fans are and always have been good winners and graceful losers. Pity we can't the same about your mates. On top of that, most Leinster fans were happy to shout for Munster in the last two HC finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

There was some seriously scummy behaviour going on at croke park on saturday, though. I even heard reports of eye gouging. shocking stuff, really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,238 ✭✭✭Gelio

Rant over.
    stfu:mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

Can you imagine a high pressure situation with 80,000 people staring silently at you, to see if you miss?

I'd rather people screaming at me than dead silence if taking a kick!
    But yeh the soccer yobs can feck off and leave rugby alone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Question re: crowds -

During the Cardiff/Leicester shootout there was an incredible amount of whistling, jeering etc when opposition players were taking their kicks. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't rugby seen as a gentleman's game which is more respectful to players than for example football? I have to say I was surprised at the noise level as I always thought there was a commonly upheld hush during such situations.

Would that have happened during the Leinster/Munster game? Can the noise at the Cardiff/Leicester game be, as the OP suggests, be attributed to this new wave of soccer fan? Or are they merely going OTT?

A lot of rugby supporters all over the world stay quiet for the kickers.In Ireland and England it is even more extreme as it just became a tradition handed down from father/mother to son and daughter.

The Welsh have always been into booing the opposition kickers a bit more as have the Scottish.The French make noise regardless of who the kicker is although in most cases it's when their own player is taking the kick.

I was at Thomond Park earlier in the year for the Munster v Clermont match and the Clermont fans all stayed quiet for the Munster kicks and then made noise chanting and banging drums or whatever when their player was taking the kicks.It helps the French kickers not to have silence.

There were people jeering on Saturday in Croker when kicks were being taken but it was only a small few people from both sides.Probably drunken teenagers mainly.

Rant over.

I suspect most of the flag wavers were just ecstatic about winning the game.We'd have been the same.

The chants are different and it's a shame to hear such stuff but we cannot always escape fools I'm afraid.

As I witnessed on Saturday there are clowns in both camps but that will always happen as it is human beings who go to matches and not robots.It would be nice to live in a world without horrible little $hites but that is not going to happen so we just get on with it.

Iang87 wrote: »
    see the majority of regular rugby fans were introduced to the game by a parent or uncle and if you said anything during a kick you got a slap into the back of the head. found that out on my first trip to thomond park when i was 6 watching Young Munster v Shannon. Never did it again.

And there was me thinking ye were all uncivilised on The Popular Side or were you at our side?

Only joking, I agree with you and remember it myself.Those were the days alright when even if your fiercest rivals(even Con) had a kick in the last minute to beat you nobody would even consider making a sound until the ball was kicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

NickNolte wrote: »
    Absolute nonsense. I saw absolutely none of that and, unlike you, I was there. In fact, I heard no reports of that whatsoever and I know scores of people that were there. Your mates are either sore losers and liars or they witnessed an isolated incident. Either that or you're talking out of your hat.

Speaking of disgraceful - go and have a look at the munsterfans.com Web forum if you want to see everything from hate-inspired rivalry to downright bigotry. Leinster fans are and always have been good winners and graceful losers. Pity we can't the same about your mates. On top of that, most Leinster fans were happy to shout for Munster in the last two HC finals.

I agree. V isolated incident if it happened at all. Where has this 'hate-inspired rivalry' come from?. I don't get it. Like many I was very happy to shout for Munster in their HC finals. I even went to the one against Leicester ('the hand of Back' one) and the win over Toulouse. I was even in San Sebastian supporting them against Biarritz.

I'm not a 'D4 Leinster fan' neither, I am a rugby fan.

It is amazing how many Munster fans appear happy to support Leicester now or anyone playing Leinster. I'm not saying all, just many.

Where has this, I might call it, bigotry come from?....

V unfortunate and sad imho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

Leslie91 wrote: »
    Where has this, I might call it, bigotry come from?....

I'd imagine it's a mixture of GAA-inspired tribalism and perhaps the percieved persecution complex that Munster fans have about the way their players were treated by the IRFU back in the 1950's. Which is a bit long to be bearing a grudge to be honest.

At any rate, it's pathetic and hypocritical to support any team that plays against Leinster one week while supporting Ireland the next week. I have heard of a few Munster 'supporters' who don't actually support Ireland at all. They're not real rugby fans though. Just complete tools.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

I've seen ****e from individuals from nearly every large group of people.

That's life for you. Some people are just dicks be it in an office, school or out at the match "supporting" their team.