Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

'Soccer-like crowd' coming to the rugby?

• 05-05-2009 07:45PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭

First things first I know many great Munster fans, many of whom are friends of mine for life. However, what I witnessed saturday in the Nally Terrace scared me. I fear we may have seen the start of a 'soccer hooligan' type element coming to the rugby match.

I have never in my life seen such venom coming from those wearing the Munster red. We had a group of maybe 12-15 youngsters at the back of the Nally chanting 'Leinster ******s' trying to rise a smaller group of similar aged Leinster youngsters in front of them. One, as it turned out, brave Leinster fan turned round to tell them to shut up. He was set upon, cue fight. Many of us were in shock. Stabbings were being mentioned.

Luckily it was over in seconds. The physical part that is. Some stewards arrived for a while which calmed things. As soon as they were gone the baiting started again with a few of them goading their mates to go at it again. Clearly a few felt that the stewards might be watching a bit closer now and they waited until after the game under the terrace where the punch up continued.

The venom spitting from the mouths of these supposed supporters was something to behold.

I hope and trust if this element is making its way into rugby that the powers that be and the clubs/provinces get a hold of it and make sure these cretins do not get tickets and are removed from the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

I certainly hope not. I must say though, the behaviour I saw in Hill 16 was great. Silence during the kicks (bar one or two eejits shouting out stuff, but they were quickly shussed by the rest of the crowd.) I had some munster fans shake my hand and congratulate me as a leinster supporter, when leaving. Didn't see any trouble whatsoever.
    The last thing rugby needs is to become like soccer to the point, where fans have to be segregated, and standing is banned. One of the things I like most about Rugby is the fact you can passionatly shout and sing for your team, during the match but still have a laugh with the oppositions fans afterwards.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

hope this stays as a quality of fans discussion and not munster v leinster again as id like to point out that i also noticed this element in the crowd but comming from the blue contingent in the hill. The Leinster fans behind me and a big group of Munster fans inc a lot of woman were very vocal in there support (fair play to em) but always in a neagtive manner i.e "cmon Leinster beat these inbred cnuts" etc and were looking to start a fight two in particular had to be escourted out of the area by security.

in general Rugby has great support imo in both Munster and Leinster aswell as elsewhere but that game was always going to bring bandwagon fans and among them are often found the bigots just there to cause trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭waraf

It is definitely creeping in alright but you have to expect a certain minority of scum given the massive increase in popularity of the sport in the last 5 years. I was reading on the munster fans website about this and one of their posters was saying that there's a bit of a scumbag element in Thomond. Can't say I've ever witnessed it in Donnybrook or the RDS but maybe that's because many outsiders consider that Leinster are exclusively supported by toffs so the scumbags stay away. Either that or they're just in a different part of the ground to where usually am. Anyway, I agree with you on getting them banned though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,601 ✭✭✭Marshy

Isolated incidents like this are inevitable I think. In general, both sets of fans were very well behaved though.

Its great that rival fans can go to matches like this and be able to have banter without resorting to hooliganism etc.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

even at the RDS where you say maybe more toffs are expected it is starting to happen. One of my best mates goes to every Leinster match when hes not working outside the country, he is a proper Leinster rugby fan but the people who go with him are not they always bring nagons and cans with em and try and have fun ribbing apposing fans but id say just cause agro as they arent very tactfull.

tbh despite the one incident during the match i really enjoyed how beforehand and after myself and a group of Munster fans i was at the match with had a great time with Leinster fans as did i later that night in D2 :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭Stev_o

When you pack 82,000 people into any stadium you'll bound to get one or two scummers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭subfreq

I have to say that me and a mate have been going to a lot of rugby in the last 10 years and we thought the same thing about Premiership type fans but they were wearing both blue and red.

As the supporter base widens so quickly for the sport you are bound to end up with people who aren't in tune with the culture of the game and just turn up get pissed and make a fool of themselves.

I really take my hat off though to the way the seats were allocated with pockets of blue and red spread around the ground. I thought that was a really nice touch. Where else in the world could you get 82 000 rival fans in such a highly charged game sitting side by side? Here's hoping that never goes away.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

I would say it would be almost a unique occassion in the history of mankind to bring 82,000 people together (consider for a moment just how many people that is) without a few belligerent idiots among them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭garbanzo

I was in the Lwr Hogan, Hill end and didn't notice. I take your word for it though. I think this says more about Irish society than anything else rugby-related.

Nothing but respect and good wishes from any Munster folk I met there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,255 ✭✭✭anonymous_joe

In any large gathering there'll be the odd asshole.

Not unique to Munster, Leinster or anyone else.

I've heard stories from people in other parts of the ground and saw and heard some relatively unpleasant things in the stadium on Saturday, but t'was not limited to one or the other side.

Something about racist chanting on munsterfans.com seemed a bit mad as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭yogidc26

danthefan wrote: »
    I would say it would be almost a unique occassion in the history of mankind to bring 82,000 people together (consider for a moment just how many people that is) without a few belligerent idiots among them.

82,202 I think it was were all world record holders im looking forward to getting my guinness world record medal in the post hope it comes soon :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭sm.org

Leslie91 wrote: »
    First things first I know many great Munster fans, many of whom are friends of mine for life. However, what I witnessed saturday in the Nally Terrace scared me. I fear we may have seen the start of a 'soccer hooligan' type element coming to the rugby match.

I have never in my life seen such venom coming from those wearing the Munster red. We had a group of maybe 12-15 youngsters at the back of the Nally chanting 'Leinster ******s' trying to rise a smaller group of similar aged Leinster youngsters in front of them. One, as it turned out, brave Leinster fan turned round to tell them to shut up. He was set upon, cue fight. Many of us were in shock. Stabbings were being mentioned.

Luckily it was over in seconds. The physical part that is. Some stewards arrived for a while which calmed things. As soon as they were gone the baiting started again with a few of them goading their mates to go at it again. Clearly a few felt that the stewards might be watching a bit closer now and they waited until after the game under the terrace where the punch up continued.

The venom spitting from the mouths of these supposed supporters was something to behold.

I hope and trust if this element is making its way into rugby that the powers that be and the clubs/provinces get a hold of it and make sure these cretins do not get tickets and are removed from the sport.

BREAKING NEWS BREAKING NEWS : Riots at Munster/Leinster match. Gang style brawling , STABBINGS , spills out onto streets after , foul language :eek:

Do you work for Sky news by any chance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Soccer like crowd? You mean a very large crowd?
    Don't worry. It won't last much longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Put a large crowd of Irish people anywhere with drink involved in the mix and this will happen. As for it being kids well that's certainly nothing new, My school Pres Bray and St Pauls were banned from the Senior cup after a ehm riot broke out in Sydney Parade station in which a train driver was hit in the head with a rock, that was in the 80's nothing so serious as the papers made out but kids well young lads spend alot of time fighting so I wouldn't read much into it. Also while doing touchline steward at a Greystones match 15 years ago I was threatened with being stabbed and repeatedly told to **** off for asking a supporter of a certain Limerick club to get their child to stand behind the hoarding in case a player got tackled into touch and landed on him. Rugby attracts scumbags same as GAA, Hurling and Soccer do it would be stupid to think otherwise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭DonkeyPokerTour

82,208 fans at the match, 82,200 absolutely silent during the minutes silence and the kicks.

If you individually vetted people before selling them the tickets you'd still get some problems.

I was in the canal end lower, a bit of an "incident" when d'arcy scored the try when a leinster fan accidentally hit munster fan with their flag but an apology and nothing further happened. I was sitting between two of my friends, both of them leinster fans, me a munster fan, 3 leinster fans behind us and 3 munster fans in front of us. Not a bother during the whole game, all of them falling silent while I updated them with ref radio when incidents happened.

Great view of the first try, not as good of the 2nd but the big screens are really great for replay's!

Great Game, Great Atmosphere, nothing you can really do about a few "scum bags" who want to ruin it other than try and ignore them.

Regards
    Ian

• Closed Accounts Posts: 123 ✭✭conorlechance

by 'soccer like' do you mean from an irish context where people sit in pubs on a sunday watching their british team in action or soccer like in terms of actual proper fans who go to matches?

barstoolers don't know how to support so when they hop on a bandwagon they behave like the way they see on danny dyers latest documentary as its all they know. bless them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,584 ✭✭✭PCPhoto

Stev_o wrote: »
    When you pack 82,000 people into any stadium you'll bound to get one or two scummers.

as for the OP with his/her "Soccer like crowd" remark ....

Please !!! ..... its not the different type of crowd ...its the actual people (modern generation of fans/people are a lot more vulgar and manners are lost on them, its not the rugby/soccer element coming in ...its society breaking down)

the scum are inheriting the earth !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Thankfully imo this problem has not spread to Thomond Park. Crowd always respectful to kickers and opposition.

When Contepomi missed all his kicks at TP, we "cheered" the life out of him but he has always been a special case. :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭Fishtits

Was in a chipper on Dorset St many hours after the match, an altercation erupted due to punter (pissed) not paying for his order, then challenging the owner to a fist fight... I hope this is not an indication of things to come...

Maybe one of the downsides to rugby's increased popularity?

PS a journeyman flanker with a disgusting reputation & an ex AIB league senior Prop managed to quench the said prick's appetite for aggro with mere words...

Tis true, the quill is mightier than the sword.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,198 ✭✭✭✭Crash

There were a few things that bugged me saturday - only mildly mind, the large majority of both sets of supporters were utterly respectful - but each province only really has only a certain number of very much old school supporters, and the bandwagon then divides into two lots - those who have gotten very much into the game and the (not sure if its the right word) ethos of supporting a team, and those who haven't. Unfortunately Munster can get some bad press from the second lot, because, well, the faster you grow, and the more popular you are, the more of those you're going to get.

I was annoyed to see the silence for kicks fading (have a vague memory of shouting at some folks to shut the **** up, and I apologise if anyone was annoyed :P), and annoyed to hear the shouts and jeers when Contepomi missed (don't mind cheering really, mind "yeh chokin **** yeh!") and a few eejits when he was taken off, but we all know that these are a minority, and it's as much that we need to try and make them realise what the games about as they need to cop on.

By the way, no intention to aim this at Munster fans, its simply you spot this more in your opposition fans than your own. My sister and her Munster fella apparently had a damn sight worse to listen to from both Leinster and Munster fans (mostly young apparently) in the Nally on Saturday, which I think i'd have cracked up listening to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Gambler

Thankfully imo this problem has not spread to Thomond Park. Crowd always respectful to kickers and opposition.

When Contepomi missed all his kicks at TP, we "cheered" the life out of him but he has always been a special case. :D:D
    [edit]Just to make it clear I'm a 100% munster supporter myself![/edit]

I dunno if I agree with this 100%. I've been to most of the recent matches in TP and to be honest I've noticed an increased level of "banter" from some munster supporters. I actually brought my brother to his first game in thomond for the magners league game against leinster recently and there was a group of adult munster supporters who were screaming abuse at the leinster players right in our ears.

Friendly banter I am all for but this was filthy language and aside from my brother there were 5 other young kids all beside us. Give it another 5 years of that kinda exposure and these kids are gonna think it's fine to hurl abuse at opposition players and sure what's the harm in chucking something at one of the players, that'll get a laugh.. It's a slippery slope and I do worry that it's not quite as harmless as it used to be. What's worse, I worry that it's just going to get worse if we excuse it when we do see it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 350 ✭✭Palmy

Thats what i loved about Rugby, at the end of a game at least you could have a laugh with the opposition and say the better team won on the day we will get ya next time.This B.S is becoming like the old football thing, eg they can't stand a team like Man U and Rooney and the next week they are cheering him on when he has the England jersey on it's B.S.I hope rugby isn't going down this same route.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭Shan75

In any large gathering there'll be the odd asshole.

Not unique to Munster, Leinster or anyone else.

I've heard stories from people in other parts of the ground and saw and heard some relatively unpleasant things in the stadium on Saturday, but t'was not limited to one or the other side.

Something about racist chanting on munsterfans.com seemed a bit mad as well.

Yeah I witnessed that racist chanting from a group of little filthbags in the Nally.They were shouting out abusive things about the Leinster players through the game as well until they left with 15 minutes to go.They were also giving some young Leinster fans in front of them dog's abuse and trying to intimidate other Leinster fans.Maybe this was the group the OP is on about although I didn't see any actual fighting although they all went mad at one point jumping up and down and fist pumping so perhaps something did happen.

Anyway they are a shower of horrible wasters and I think it's a shame that things are going like this.It was always great going to rugby matches as none of this type of thing happened and I can only hope these types remain a tiny minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

subfreq wrote: »
    . Where else in the world could you get 82 000 rival fans in such a highly charged game sitting side by side?

Soccer is the only major sport that segregates the fans afaik.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Now Lads, i support each of the codes equally, GAA, Rugby and Soccer. And I find your posts offensive with your we are better than thou pompous attitude.

lets not let the next generation be pompous twits. Lets take Munsters lead in embracing all walks of life into rugby

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 NinjaSkrtel

Before you look down your nose at the "soccer-like" "thugs",why don't you take a look at the sizable number of morons who were shouting during the minutes silence at croke park and compare it to the thousands of FOOTBALL fans who are actually capable of respecting the deceased .e.g-the minutes silence for Hillsborough impeccibly observed in every stadium a few weeks ago.

Im sick of this elitist attitude amongst SOME rugby fans.Big deal-some kids supporting rival rugby teams had a bit of aggro-why bring football fans into it?:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Sydney Steelers

Soccer is a game played and supported by the absolute scum of the earth, the complete dregs of society.

Rugby is a sport for civilised and respectable upper-middle class individuals. If the day comes where even 10% of people in attendance at rugby games are soccer scum who should have stayed in their working class slums, then I will never attend another game, and go take up polo or some other sport which has not been tarnished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,238 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Soccer is a game played and supported by the absolute scum of the earth, the complete dregs of society.

Rugby is a sport for civilised and respectable upper-middle class individuals. If the day comes where even 10% of people in attendance at rugby games are soccer scum who should have stayed in their working class slums, then I will never attend another game, and go take up polo or some other sport which has not been tarnished.
    You are wrong, Rugby is a professional sport now and the best players play and anybody who likes the sport can go and support a team and every club wants as many supporters as possible as they have to survive.

I'm sure if you want to live in a fantasy world you can get black and white recordings of the times when Rugby was as you are describing it.

Also that was a notion in this coutry and never abroad. It was played by people in all walks of life in other coutries.

I don't want to see it go like Soccer either. I find chanting horrible to listen to, rather listen to a group singing. I find the laughing at a miss by a player pathetic. Booing a former player is another regular occurrence at soccer matches. Crowd violence is another thing thats been more common in Soccer than other sports, I don't see that ever becoming too common in Rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Get.Over.Yourself.

I am deeply offended by your remarks. It is very prejudiced against soccer fans and is just plain wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,473 ✭✭✭Size=everything

My mother got some chips hurled at her by a group of Munster fans after celebrating Brian O'Driscoll's intercept. I laughed upon hearing this but still!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭danthefan

Upper-middle class!? You must be joking. Just stop going to matches so.

In fact I've a feeling this is a windup. Nevermind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13 Sydney Steelers

Get.Over.Yourself.

I am deeply offended by your remarks. It is very prejudiced against soccer fans and is just plain wrong.

Don't be so precious. I am merely stating FACTS!

I'm sure it's not beyond the realms of possibility that there could be a tiny minority of soccer fans who are not violent, abusive, classless, law-breaking, tax evading scum, but I am yet to have come across them.

I certainly don't want to see my beloved sport of rugger opening it's doors to all soccer fans just on the off-chance that one or two of them may actually be alright people. If we do that, then it will signal the death knell for Irish rugger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

Don't be so precious. I am merely stating FACTS!

I'm sure it's not beyond the realms of possibility that there could be a tiny minority of soccer fans who are not violent, abusive, classless, law-breaking, tax evading scum, but I am yet to have come across them.

I certainly don't want to see my beloved sport of rugger opening it's doors to all soccer fans just on the off-chance that one or two of them may actually be alright people. If we do that, then it will signal the death knell for Irish rugger.

I LOLed.:rolleyes:

See you never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

In fairness he's got a point. As a football fan, I just can't help myself and have already found myself putting together a Leinster firm. We're going by the moniker of the 'Leinster Dandies' and will be looking to set up rucks (and not the on-pitch kind) with rival rugby firms. Keep an eye of Bebo and The Herald for updates on out wacky hooligan exploits!

Propah nawty!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

To be honest with you, I find the whole notion that "the thugs have taken over" to be laughable. Granted rugby is growing in popularity and with that you'll have some idiots attending matches but that's always been the case. The greatest amount of abuse I see in the rugby community is on Web forums like boards.ie, munsterfans.com and planet-rugby.com (the latter is full of racist scumbags... even many that do know about rugby).

The bottom line is that most of these morons are only abusive when they're sitting in front of their monitors, surfing the Web and eating a bag of Doritos. I'm confident that there are enough traditional rugby supporters at matches who are hardy enough lads that if even half the stories of victimhood and thuggery are true, someone would have turned around and given the perpetrators an almighty puck in the face.

Most old school supporters tend not to be violent thugs but if any violent thugs started acting up, you can be sure they'd be shut up fairly quickly with a good dose of their own medicine. That's the beauty about rugby, real supporters have a healthy respect for the game and the opposition... and they also tend to be considerably larger than the idiots who've never played and who just want to cause shít.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭NickNolte

In fairness he's got a point. As a football fan, I just can't help myself and have already found myself putting together a Leinster firm. We're going by the moniker of the 'Leinster Dandies' and will be looking to set up rucks (and not the on-pitch kind) with rival rugby firms. Keep an eye of Bebo and The Herald for updates on out wacky hooligan exploits!

Propah nawty!

Can we get Danny Dier to do a series on us? If so, I'll join.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Serenity Now!

yogidc26 wrote: »
    82,202 I think it was were all world record holders im looking forward to getting my guinness world record medal in the post hope it comes soon :D
    82,208 actually ;)
    A record for rugby union.

The closest thing to soccer the sport has is stupid f**kwits with no reflink jumping up from their seat shouting 'REEEFFFFF!'.
    Apart from that, the drunken wallies about the place are to be expected when the game they're in town for doesn't kick off until 5.30pm.

If the game ever gets like soccer crowd-wise, it will have been no-one's fault but the supporters adhering to this stupid, ill-informed tribalist mindset.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Shan75 wrote: »
    Yeah I witnessed that racist chanting from a group of little filthbags in the Nally.They were shouting out abusive things about the Leinster players through the game as well until they left with 15 minutes to go.They were also giving some young Leinster fans in front of them dog's abuse and trying to intimidate other Leinster fans.Maybe this was the group the OP is on about although I didn't see any actual fighting although they all went mad at one point jumping up and down and fist pumping so perhaps something did happen.

Anyway they are a shower of horrible wasters and I think it's a shame that things are going like this.It was always great going to rugby matches as none of this type of thing happened and I can only hope these types remain a tiny minority.

I did not hear the 'racist' chanting. The stuff I heard was of a homophobic nature. The gang of youngsters I refer to were at the very back of the Nally about 15 metres from the divider with the Hill just to the left of the camera as u look from the pitch. There was a fight involving maybe 12 of them, as far as I could make out 3 Leinster youngsters were involved.

I agree they are a shower of wasters, point is the clubs/IRFU have to make sure this crowd do NOT get tickets. When I think of the people who wanted to go to this who could not it galls me. I mean no offence to the soccer crowd but we all know, by the time they got around to banning certain individuals from grounds it was too late.

I'm hoping it is not too late for rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,772 ✭✭✭toomevara

Just a natural consequence of rugby going super-nova in Ireland over the last 4 years. You've now got lots of people coming to games who've never played rugby and have had very limited exposure to the culture of the game. They'll never have seen their local club play, many won't even know where their local club is and are interested in rugby only through the national and provincial game. Just a side effect of its popularity, and tbh as someone who can remember attending interpro games in Thomond 15 years ago when there were about 3-4,000 people max in the place (and that was a good day)...well its all good.

Rugby is now the marquee sport in Ireland. It's the one every business wants to be associated with and every advertiser wants a piece of. remarkable, when you consider the times that are in it. The IRFU is, along with undertakers, about the only recession proof organisation in Ireland..fair play to them and long may it continue...remarkable from a sport which is allegedly in the ha'penny place after Gaelic, hurling and soccer..They'll be writing theses on it yet.

The more the merrier, and this legacy won't be pissed away like say that ruined by the FAI post Charlton, because the provincial structure and national team have such strong local roots..

And tbh, a little bit of soccer style enthusiasm and chanting wouldn't go awry. A rugby league game is a half way house between a soccer atmosphere and a Kick 'n' Clap crowd and its got alot to recommend it....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,483 ✭✭✭✭daveirl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

toomevara wrote: »
    Just a natural consequence of rugby going super-nova in Ireland over the last 4 years. You've now got lots of people coming to games who've never played rugby and have had very limited exposure to the culture of the game. They'll never have seen their local club play, many won't even know where their local club is and are interested in rugby only through the national and provincial game. Just a side effect of its popularity, and tbh as someone who can remember attending interpro games in Thomond 15 years ago when there were about 3-4,000 people max in the place (and that was a good day)...well its all good.

Rugby is now the marquee sport in Ireland. It's the one every business wants to be associated with and every advertiser wants a piece of. remarkable, when you consider the times that are in it. The IRFU is, along with undertakers, about the only recession proof organisation in Ireland..fair play to them and long may it continue...remarkable from a sport which is allegedly in the ha'penny place after Gaelic, hurling and soccer..They'll be writing theses on it yet.

The more the merrier, and this legacy won't be pissed away like say that ruined by the FAI post Charlton, because the provincial structure and national team have such strong local roots..

And tbh, a little bit of soccer style enthusiasm and chanting wouldn't go awry. A rugby league game is a half way house between a soccer atmosphere and a Kick 'n' Clap crowd and its got alot to recommend it....

+1 its inevitable really

however, there definitely was a certain hint of nastiness in the air at Croker that i had not really encountered before. I think the overdrive hype from the media over the last few weeks did not help.

In our area of the Cusack stand most people reacted and acted as you would expect, happy gloating leinster fans and subdued, frustrated munster fans....but...there was one idiot (pissed as a fart) in blue who spent more time looking around at munster fans gesturing and making comments than watching the match

the 5.30 also allowed for a lot of drinking time which never helps.

I do agree though that it was a once off occassion of that type

Riskymove wrote: »

In our area of the Cusack stand most people reacted and acted as you would expect, happy gloating leinster fans and subdued, frustrated munster fans....but...there was one idiot (pissed as a fart) in blue who spent more time looking around at munster fans gesturing and making comments than watching the match

Alway going to be a few muppets worse for wear, but you'd have to say, given the ridiculous levels of hype drummed up, overall it was, by all accounts a great occasion taken in the right spirit by most of thee 80+ thousand there

We shouldn't forget what a rarity rugby is in the world of professional team sports. We don't need any segregation,or similar nonsense and a bit of tongue-in-cheek banter is all part of the occasion. Long may it continue...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,977 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Question re: crowds -

During the Cardiff/Leicester shootout there was an incredible amount of whistling, jeering etc when opposition players were taking their kicks. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't rugby seen as a gentleman's game which is more respectful to players than for example football? I have to say I was surprised at the noise level as I always thought there was a commonly upheld hush during such situations.

Would that have happened during the Leinster/Munster game? Can the noise at the Cardiff/Leicester game be, as the OP suggests, be attributed to this new wave of soccer fan? Or are they merely going OTT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

Well 82,000 people, and only 3 people roared out during the minutes silence.

A bit sad that all 3 chants were for the same team.

That's all I'm saying.

Soccer is the only major sport that segregates the fans afaik.
    Only major sport that's globablly popular too.
    Shan75 wrote: »

Thing so. They were mentioned on Munster Fans as singing something about Munchins or something. Sounded lovely anyway.
    eagle eye wrote: »

I don't want to see it go like Soccer either. I find chanting horrible to listen to, rather listen to a group singing. I find the laughing at a miss by a player pathetic. Booing a former player is another regular occurrence at soccer matches. Crowd violence is another thing thats been more common in Soccer than other sports, I don't see that ever becoming too common in Rugby.
    The passion of football fans is at a level beyond rugby. Noticed on the Leicester Tigers forum they're moaning that the football team is now the 47th in ENgland and are still more popular than the Tigers.

Watch Italian teams, hell some ENglish teams, their fans are unreal. I've had the chance to see teams playing in South America and the fans there are just on another level to us. They're not all bad.

Football (none of this soccer shíte) is not a bad sport, nor are it's fans thugs and morons. No need to badmouth football.

I've written morkeshing essays on the rise of rugby, not a thesis but still. ;)

And I'm not even sure who my local club are, I live within a mile of about 4 AIL Clubs. Maybe even 5 or 6...

And my school traditionally follows another. Though I'd be honest and admit I don't give a fúck.

Rugby in this country has benefited more from other sports doing badly than anything else. People in this country have ludicrous expectations, in 2002 even without Roy Keane, we ended up being knocked out by Spain on penalties. We were rated amongst the top dozen or so nations in the world. And people expect that to be sustainable! We've a dying domestic league, a tiny pool of players and people genuinely think we should be competing amongst the world's top 20 or so teams!

Into that breach step the rugby teams, namely Ireland and then Munster who do something that Ireland's not used to - they win things. Took Ireland a long time to get the 6 Nations, but we were all delighted with the first triple crown.

For a long time rugby's been the only show in town, and until the national football team pulls itself together rugby will remain on top.

And as an aside, does anyone know the average weekly attendance for Eircom League football in Ireland? Be interested in knowing how it compares to Magners League attendances.

I've written morkeshing essays on the rise of rugby, not a thesis but still. ;)

Lol, theres your dart,PHD on the rise and rise of Irish rugby(against all the odds)..bet you'd get funded too!

Xavi6 wrote: »
    Question re: crowds -

During the Cardiff/Leicester shootout there was an incredible amount of whistling, jeering etc when opposition players were taking their kicks. Please correct me if I'm wrong, but isn't rugby seen as a gentleman's game which is more respectful to players than for example football? I have to say I was surprised at the noise level as I always thought there was a commonly upheld hush during such situations.

Would that have happened during the Leinster/Munster game? Can the noise at the Cardiff/Leicester game be, as the OP suggests, be attributed to this new wave of soccer fan? Or are they merely going OTT?

The hush-during-the-kicks is predominantly an Irish thing from what I can see. The French, Italians, Welsh, Aussies, Kiwis and Saffas all whistle to some degree on opposition kicks.

It just different rugby cultures isn't it? Which is cool. French supporters just cannot understand why you wouldn't harass the kicker, from their,entirely rational, perspective it's their job...happens in rugby league, too just part of the culture of the game...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,481 ✭✭✭Blisterman

Funny enough, I'd imagine that the silence makes it more intimidating for the kicker.

Can you imagine a high pressure situation with 80,000 people staring silently at you, to see if you miss?

Lol, theres your dart,PHD on the rise and rise of Irish rugby(against all the odds)..bet you'd get funded too!
    Tempting. ;)

We've gotten a lot of praise from the others for it though. They all regret its loss from the game.