Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

GPA has jobs for the boys

• 11-06-2009 9:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,026 ✭✭✭

I was listening to Today with Myles Duncan On RTE radio 1 this morning and one of his guests was GPA chairman Dessie Farrell

Farrell was invited onto the show by RTE to discuss a special place where GAA players could go to find work,it also offers potential employers (who only seem to want GAA players) a place to advertise their job vacancy

Now i don't know what your opinion might be on this,you might not have an opinion on this at all but i think it stinks!

This is an age old story in this country with people getting jobs because of who they know rather than what they know or if they play GAA or because maybe their father was the town Sargent or something like that.

It's pretty obvious to me that the GPA does not like a level playing field and RTE sees no problem with inviting people onto its airwaves announcing to a small section of Irish life that there is a network that can provide certain people with work in this private club.

So much for equal opportunities

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭joey54

I think they have the right idea but have maybe gone about it the wrong way. It would be terrible to see young Irish sporting talent leaving the country because there is no work for them. They can't be paid for the footy they play so why not try the next best thing, try and help them out with a job.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Moved from AH.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,069 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I've been saying it for years. The GAA is far too clicky, probably due to it's grass-roots bearing on communities. It's not just employment opportunities and business that it can manipulate either. The social aspect is just as bad in my experience

Typical old Irish sectarianism, and overinflated senses of tradition

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,531 ✭✭✭Taxipete29

The GAA is protecting its product. If inter-county players have no job and have to leave the country then everyone loses out. Lets say " The Gooch" or Joe Canning have no job and leave Ireland. Both Kerry and Galway are robbed of their best players. The fans miss out on watching these fantastic players. There are two less heros for youngsters to try to emulate.

GAA players provide entertainment for thousands of people for no financial reward. That is why there has been a certain amount of " looking after their own" when it comes to jobs for players. I say best of luck to them. They deserve it for the sacrifices they make for the game.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭Terrontress

The Orange Order had a similar list of unemployed Orangemen who loyalists were to give jobs to above similarly qualified non members of their Order.

I think it died out some time after the fifties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭bmaxi

When I was growing up it was seen as beneficial to wear old School or Rugby club ties to interviews. Same thing, different means of application.

Can we get a link to this show??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭IIMII

Best of luck to them, though I doubt that they'll place many. I think it's PR effort to justify them being the players association and stave off criticism rather than them being likely to succeed in finding jobs for half the Donegal team. If you want to understand this initiative, I think you shine the light of GAA internal politics on it. But then, there are plenty that aren't interested in the internal workings of the GAA and would prefer to see it in terms of the US deep south

• Registered Users Posts: 3,900 ✭✭✭Terrontress

To be honest, any employer who would restrict his people search to GAA players would need to be fairly stupid. And if he gave preference to a lesser qualified candidate due to them playing football or hurling, he could find himself up in front of a judge very easily.

I'd say this initiative could lead to inter county players being viewed with suspicion in their workplaces.

To be honest, any employer who would restrict his people search to GAA players would need to be fairly stupid. And if he gave preference to a lesser qualified candidate due to them playing football or hurling, he could find himself up in front of a judge very easily.

I'd say this initiative could lead to inter county players being viewed with suspicion in their workplaces.

Your kind of missing the point. No employer is going to hire someone who is not qualified. I also doubt that they would restrict their search.

The bit I have put in bold is just wrong. Employers are under no obligation to hire the most qualified candidate. They may not discriminate against a candidate based on nine specific criteria

Member of the Travelling Community
    Religion
    Race
    Marital Status
    Family Status

This is a non story tbh and I dont understand why people are getting upset about it. Can everyone honestly say they have never got an interview, job, promotion or something similar as a result of knowing someone, being good friends with the right person or good old fashioned nepotism???

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25,234 ✭✭✭✭Sponge Bob

Taxipete29 wrote: »
    This is a non story tbh and I dont understand why people are getting upset about it.

It is , Anglo Irish is full of Rugby playing types and nobody gave out to the IRFU for the mess they caused :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

I disagree that it is stupid to restrict yourself to GAA players.

They make great sales people as they are instantly recognisable in their locality so this seems like a good way for them to get jobs when employers can only afford to hire sales people they know will get the job done.

It makes sense to me even if I don't necessarily agree with it as it is an obvious bias in hiring policy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

The GAA is protecting its product. If inter-county players have no job and have to leave the country then everyone loses out. Lets say " The Gooch" or Joe Canning have no job and leave Ireland. Both Kerry and Galway are robbed of their best players. The fans miss out on watching these fantastic players. There are two less heros for youngsters to try to emulate.

GAA players provide entertainment for thousands of people for no financial reward. That is why there has been a certain amount of " looking after their own" when it comes to jobs for players. I say best of luck to them. They deserve it for the sacrifices they make for the game.

Just a thought, but maybe the cash rich GAA could actually pay their players rather than getting grants from the state (rightfully pulled) or asking employers to pull a stroke for them?

Its the same old Gah - the rules almost apply.

Just a thought, but maybe the cash rich GAA could actually pay their players rather than getting grants from the state (rightfully pulled) or asking employers to pull a stroke for them?

Its an amatuer sport and should always remain so. Thats the beauty of the sport. Players do it for the sport and for their club or county.

Employers pulling what strokes????

• Registered Users Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

I've been saying it for years. The GAA is far too clicky, probably due to it's grass-roots bearing on communities. It's not just employment opportunities and business that it can manipulate either. The social aspect is just as bad in my experience

Please point to the sectarianism.

And how has paying players worked for the rugby and soccer club game in Ireland? Give players contracts and you open the road to clubs losing their very best players, like we see with the AIL, and that would be an absolute disaster. It would make little financial, or practical sense.

From one point of view, its the GPA and GAA's job to protect 'its product', but when it crosses the line and people start getting jobs ahead of better suited applicants because of their connections then its impossible to defend (although its worth pointing out that having certain well known GAA players work in a particular company can be valuable to the company's image etc, even if this person isn't the best person for the job in terms of ability).

Unfortunately, this kind of nepotism, favouritism or low level corruption is prevelent in all societies to various degrees. Very simply, human beings favour particular people for reasons that are neither fair or just, because they are part of a particular organisation, because they are attractive, because they are friendly, because someone knew someone elses daddy back in the 70s etc. I might add that one may be unjustly showing favouritism without even consciously realising it. This kind of corruption is a problem that permeates all groups, organisations, and social levels and is impossible to eradicate, being an important part of how human beings operate, making choices upon instincts and emotions for the sake of speed and convenience.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I suppose they need this website now that the old reliables have hit tough times.

No more jobs in the banks (AIB, BOI) and the guards, army have probably stopped as well, not to mention cut backs in teacher posts :rolleyes:

It always amazed me how many army cadets had intercounty football careers :rolleyes:

I am not allowed discuss …

Its an amatuer sport and should always remain so. Thats the beauty of the sport. Players do it for the sport and for their club or county.

Spare us. The GAA were happy to allow professionalism via the grant system.

Players in every sport play for their club or country. You don't have a monopoly on player pride, despite what you tell yourselves.
    Employers pulling what strokes????

Hiring a Gah player at the expense of a qualified non-Gah player.
    Orizio wrote: »
    And how has paying players worked for the rugby and soccer club game in Ireland? Give players contracts and you open the road to clubs losing their very best players, like we see with the AIL, and that would be an absolute disaster. It would make little financial, or practical sense.

Well in rugby it has brought home four European Cups.

Tighten up on the rule that you can only play for your county of birth. No transfers.

This line would be all the more credible from the GAA heads if there wasn't an acceptance of professionalism via the now pulled grants system.

Players in every sport play for their club or country. You don't have a monopoly on player pride, despite what you tell yourselves.

Well in rugby it has brought home three European Cups.

Tighten up on the rule that you can only play for your county of birth. No transfers.

This line would be all the more credible from the GAA heads if there wasn't an acceptance of professionalism via the now pulled grants system.

Professionalism has benefited the international team, which is irrelevent to the GAA since we don't really have one, and has practially ruined the club game regarding attendances, popularity and so on. A strong club scene is essential to keeping young lads not good enough for provincial acadamies playing rugby, and in GAA, its the heart of the association. Any move that may damage the club scene has to be avoided.

Orizio wrote: »
    Professionalism has benefited the international team, which is irrelevent to the GAA since we don't really have one, and has practially ruined the club game regarding attendances, popularity and so on. A strong club scene is essential to keeping young lads not good enough for provincial acadamies playing rugby, and in GAA, its the heart of the association. Any move that may damage the club scene has to be avoided.

Depends what you mean by club game. Another layer of the pyramid was inserted in terms of the Provincial clubs, and they are thriving.

But the core point is that the recession is doing that damage for you.

So either:

a: Pay players their market value and keep them in Ireland

or

b: Don't, but stop whinging when your amateur players have to move to work like every other sports players do.

You can't have it both ways.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Well in rugby it has brought home three European Cups.

Well in rugby it has brought home four European Cups.

I highlighted the above bit as I fail to see what you mean by it. I am not a player or affiliated to any club. I am just an avid supporter.

I never said there was a monopoly on player pride, your assuming again.

Nowhere has it been stated that players would be hired ahead of anyone.

Amatuer boxers reciave grants and maintain amatuer status. Why cant GAA players be the same ??

I highlighted the above bit as I fail to see what you mean by it. I am not a player or affiliated to any club. I am just an avid supporter.

I never said there was a monopoly on player pride, your assuming again.

Amatuer boxers reciave grants and maintain amatuer status. Why cant GAA players be the same ??

The GAA is eeeeeeeeeeevvviiiiiiilllllllllllll!!!!!! :p

I'm not sure who is 'whinging' as such, the reality is that paying players is an absolute no-no. So the GAA has to used other ways to protect its players, which is fine just as long as it doesn't result in unfair appointments (and it doesn't have to). What it can do is appoint certain players as coaches, or pay for their own study, work training etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 264 ✭✭getcover

So an organisation that represents a group of people is going to do their best to find jobs for the people it represents. Wow, how shocking!

Its kind of implied in the campaign.

Look, at one level getcover is right, the GPA are looking out for their members as is their job. But the implication is that sponsors and Gah friendly companies should take on dead wood simply because they happen to be on an intercounty cup panel. To do so would be into illegal territory on the employers part.

You don't pay your players (legally at least) you will lose a huge amount of them in a recession. That is life. Deal with it.

Because boxing defines amateur differently. Basically they are not fighting for a purse as opposed to earning money for being a boxer, which amateurs can do.

My point is that the GAA's policy is that so long as the player does not get money direct from the GAA, they aren't professional. So if they can get a grant, money from a sponsor or club benefactor, no matter how much it is, thats still amateur. Thats clearly disengenious and same old same old from the Gah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 217 ✭✭Hookey

Pretty sure if you went professional employment law wouldn't allow that.

This is the dilemma of all amateur sports; its incredibly difficult to keep them that way. The stupid thing here is the GPA have come out and been explicit about their approach; there's a lot to be said for being circumspect about this kind of thing (it went on for years in rugby - everyone knew about it and colluded without it being newsworthy).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

You mean teammates who've played on teams with each other for decades socialise with each other too? You're kidding me? :rolleyes:

Nobody is excluded. Go to Australia or New York and join the local GAA club and you instantly have a social life. This is an incredibly useful outlet for all Irish citizens. All you have to do is waddle around the pitch and kick a few balls for an hour once a week in return. You make it sound sinister.

As Tom Humphries says, "the GAA is the most effective welfare body the country has. It's like the sporting wing of the Freemasons, the drinking arm of the Mafia".

I says this as somebody who plays for an amateur soccer team and no longer plays GAA.

Please explain how this amounts to sectarianism or an an overinflated sense of tradition. I have never heard anything so nonsensical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭youcrazyjesus!

Just a thought, but maybe the cash rich GAA

They invest this money in grass roots sport in schools and communities, they provide employment. They do the work of the State in this regard. Get some perspective please. They also return millions and millions to us every year from the tax revenue generated by their activities.
    could actually pay their players rather than getting grants from the state (rightfully pulled) or asking employers to pull a stroke for them?

The GAA don't get any grants from the State for players. It's an amateur organisation. You're confusing the GPA and the GAA. They have no relation whatsoever. The GAA aren't asking employers to pull any strokes. It's the GPA, not the "GAA". GPA. GAA.

Yet another clueless and bigotted opinion on the GAA, how tiresome.

They invest this money in grass roots sport in schools and communities, they provide employment. They do the work of the State in this regard. Get some perspective please. They also return millions and millions to us every year from the tax revenue generated by their activities.

All sports do that. In fact the professional sports employ many multiples of the people the GAA do. So what?

The difference I suppose is that other sports don't go on about it, they just get on with it.

The GAA don't get any grants from the State for players. It's an amateur organisation. You're confusing the GPA and the GAA. They have no relation whatsoever. The GAA aren't asking employers to pull any strokes. It's the GPA, not the "GAA". GPA. GAA..

Thats a fair point. But its worth noting the GAA have backed both GPA schemes. The GAA have no problem with players recieving payment yet still call themselves amateur organisation. Thats both sides of the mouth stuff, and the wink nudge culture of the GAA shines through in the "jobs for the lads" scheme.

Yet another clueless and bigotted opinion on the GAA, how tiresome.

Bigotted? How so?