Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Christmas Day

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,141 ✭✭✭imported_guy

simon365 wrote: »
    Those "volunteers" that act as stewards are paid handsomely for their so called volunteer work!
    shocked.jpg

shock/horror

i actully was speculating as well, no one would miss all the "craic" willingly for free.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 simon365

Exactly, I just think the way some of these "volunteers" are acting like they took time out for the benefit of the locals is hypocrisy as I know they are well-paid.

I also think the college should have chosen their charity better. Yes, the Belarussian Orphanage Project is a good cause, but the €5,000 raised should have been donated to a local charity considering the current economic situation. Personally I think WLR's Lyons Christmas Hamper Appeal would have been a wiser choice.

Exactly, I just think the way some of these "volunteers" are acting like they took time out for the benefit of the locals is hypocrisy as I know they are well-paid.

I also think the college should have chosen their charity better. Yes, the Belarussian Orphanage Project is a good cause, but the €5,000 raised should have been donated to a local charity considering the current economic situation. Personally I think WLR's Lyons Christmas Hamper Appeal would have been a wiser choice.
    yeah, specially seeing the recent flooding in and around cork, and the west, wasnt really a smart choice, but i think it was selected before all this happened, so they probably werent able to say "no we're not giving you the money anymore orphanage, we found a better use for it"

I doubt it, they wouldn't have called up the charity and told them they were going to make a donation. I know none of the SU Officers are Waterford locals but common sense should have prevailed and the money raised really should have stayed in the region. Regardless of whether it's a significant amount or not it would have been a nice gesture and may have been looked upon fondly by the locals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 58 ✭✭FrankieMul

Ya its true the money should have stayed locally it usually does like Rag week! And usually class reps nominate the charities anyone Reps here know anything?

FrankieMul wrote: »
    Ya its true the money should have stayed locally it usually does like Rag week! And usually class reps nominate the charities anyone Reps here know anything?
    there are a few class reps who post here, some have even posted in this thread ;), however im not one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭alpha2zulu

Those "volunteers" that act as stewards are paid handsomely for their so called volunteer work!

If this turns out to be true, it certainly calls into question the integrity of the WITSU. Like were these jobs advertised anywhere or just internally....jobs for the boys???

Coming up to rag week I'm sure there are plenty of people who would be very grateful of a few hours work in the evenings.:rolleyes: Like if they can advertise xmas day on their facebook surely they could have advertised these "jobs" on there also.

I mean people are calling on here for students to take a more active part in union matters, but if its the case that if your not in the "click" your more or less blocked out from many of their activities it just makes a total joke of the whole thing.

Perhaps its time for a separate thread regarding the WITSU because if you look back over threads here from the last few months there are a litany of areas where questions have been asked as to what exactly WITSU get up to in the name of the student population and whos interest they are actually serving.

alpha2zulu wrote: »
    If this turns out to be true, it certainly calls into question the integrity of the WITSU. Like were these jobs advertised anywhere or just internally....jobs for the boys???
    well ive heard this roumer that there is this girl in my friend's class who was the class rep and she started going out with some guy in the class and he automatically became the 2nd class rep, no election etc etc.

alpha2zulu wrote: »

Coming up to rag week I'm sure there are plenty of people who would be very grateful of a few hours work in the evenings.:rolleyes: Like if they can advertise xmas day on their facebook surely they could have advertised these "jobs" on there also.

I mean people are calling on here for students to take a more active part in union matters, but if its the case that if your not in the "click" your more or less blocked out from many of their activities it just makes a total joke of the whole thing.

Perhaps its time for a separate thread regarding the WITSU because if you look back over threads here from the last few months there are a litany of areas where questions have been asked as to what exactly WITSU get up to in the name of the student population and whos interest they are actually serving.

Yeah its true the stewards are paid. I do agree that the SU seems to have people in place for a lot of these "jobs" they have. They seem to want more people to get involved but as mentioned, "if its the case that if your not in the "click" your more or less blocked out from many of their activities it just makes a total joke of the whole thing."

Hey was just on the phone to Colm there in the Union we go back like used to work together! He kinda pissed off over the posts heard about them off one of the lads! He said if anyone has any quereies to ring him or call in! Ya can get his number off the website! At least then ya would have an oppurtunity to have your questions answered and have some of the inaccuracies put right!

Thanks but we don't want to ring anyone we are perfectly entitled to discuss this matter here isn't that what the forum is for?

this x10000000000000000

usually there are rants/discussions going on about cowen etc, they should ring him too :rolleyes:

Ya put instead of putting ur problems up here would ya not prefer to have them talked about and sloved by someone who actually can???

Does that not make more sense or do some people just prefer to hide behind their screen name???

Ya put instead of putting ur problems up here would ya not prefer to have them talked about and sloved by someone who actually can???

Does that not make more sense or do some people just prefer to hide behind their screen name???
    we dont have any problems LOL, we are just discussing what went on, on xmas day, and how should have been handled by the WITSU because clearly it wasnt dealt with the right way, so just contribute something useful, and dont derail the thread

hear ye hear ye!!

Why would we not hide behind a screen name? Would you like me to post my real name, address and telephone no.? Come on let's get real. This is a public forum, and we're not putting our problems up we're having a discussion. It's the SU's problem not mine, my name wasn't tarnished after the events of "Xmas Day".

Thats the point im making how far ye are off the mark WITSU have nothing to do with XMAS day they play no part in planning the dome! They do take advantage that the DOME dont charge and put a bucket collection on the door for a chairty! Ye are convinced that they forced students into the dome and damage property when in fact the took an initiave and tried to control the problems but on and evn off campus until 3 that morning! They tried at least contain a problem they did not create! And so what if they pay those people who helped them whats wrong with that! Who is going to stand outside for the day dealing with drunk people for nothing!?? U?

this is an open FORUM, if WITSU want to contribute something, they are more than welcome to post here and counter our arguments, i already told you they advertised the events etc on face book, advertisment is part of organising an event.

Ok firstly, we both know they have everything to do with the planning of Xmas Day, and they promote every other event that goes on in the dome, class parties, county colour nights etc, and as former ents officer dont even try deny that. Secondly, The WITSU facebook is covered in Xmas day talk, and so are that of some of the sabbatical officers. Finally, please read the comments before answering, I said these are not volunteers so why are they claiming to be? I'm not saying they should not be paid, but they should not claim they are doing it as volunteers when they are not.

After just logging inot facebook and checking the WITSU page I have noticed all Xmas Day related things have been deleted, and WITSU is attending the WLR Lyons Club Xmas Hamper Appeal. Hmmmm, are you in control of the WITSU page Frank? I thought it was the welfare officer?

Like what planning do they have for xmas day with who? seriously answer that one?

for F's sake, learn about running a business/organising and event (and im not in a business course and i understand this)

if you want to organise an event, lets say a party, you need different things, invitation letters (if its closed), advertisment (if its open), catering/drinks etc, (dome.), its a collaboration of different things what makes an "event", they plan out how they are going to advertise etc, like in this case they advertised on the face book, word of mouth, and yes posters + leaflets which had the student union stamp on them.

After just logging inot facebook and checking the WITSU page I have noticed all Xmas Day related things have been deleted, and WITSU is attending the WLR Lyons Club Xmas Hamper Appeal. Hmmmm, are you in control of the WITSU page Frank? I thought it was the welfare officer?

Yes and im also involved in the ufo cover ups the blair witch project and the reason why it rains so much but shhhhhh dont tell anyone! Do ya ever think they were taken down because its over and its mnday the start of a new business week?? And they are invited to that every year and part as the waterford city society!

this just proves WITSU is a SHADY organisation, and is guilty and needs to start taking responsibility.

they were taken down because its over and its mnday the start of a new business week??

i never delete my status on facebook i just post a new one over the old one LOL and dont know of anyone who does this unless they regret posting a particular status update

In conjunction with the dome! They organise the whole day. We all know how it works, the SU is involved in most things that happen in the Dome Bar. They work together in providing entertainment for the students. Also, as previously mentioned, did you look at the WITSU facebook coming up to Xmas Day?

While we're on the subject of the Dome Bar, any prospective students that may be thinking of coming to WIT, on registration day when the people sitting at the Dome Bar table tell you that you must pay €2 to join the "Dome Sports and Social Club", it's a lie. You do not need to pay anything to use the dome, bar obviously what ever products or services you use while there. It's a cheeky little trick they do every year at registration and most freshers ultimately fall for it.

Sorry for getting off topic there.

this just proves WITSU is a SHADY organisation, and is guilty and needs to start taking responsibility.
    Yes and im also involved in the ufo cover ups the blair witch project and the reason why it rains so much but shhhhhh dont tell anyone! Do ya ever think they were taken down because its over and its mnday the start of a new business week?? And they are invited to that every year and part as the waterford city society!

Seriously, who deletes their status every week? So they're invited to that every year but didn't think "hmmmm, perhaps we should give this €5,000 to The Lyons Club".
    i never delete my status on facebook i just post a new one over the old one LOL and dont know of anyone who does this unless they regret posting a particular status update

Thats a very good point, only time I delete something from my status is if I regret writing it, has happened in the past after a few too many beers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 wit.student

First of all the door charge was €2, not €3 which has been previously mentioned. This €2 was an optional donation which went to the Belarussian Orphanage project who from my understanding, approached the union and asked for their help. The Lyons Club hamper appeal has been the chosen charity for the past 3 years and i'm sure if they approach the organisation they will have no problem helping them out.

With regard to the DJ being a member of the union, if you read the constitution you will see that ALL WIT students are members of the Students Union, and that particular DJ was hired by the Dome Bar for the day.

"The WITSU President and co are no angels" I don't think anyone has that impression or I certainly don't feel that they would like to give off that impression. Remember that they were students aswell and they have a right to enjoy college life as much as everyone else.

I know for a fact that certain members of the union worked 18 hours last Weds, in which they were abused by both local residents and students. These union members are not being paid over time and have no reason to be out HELPING with the situation, bu they are doing it for the good of the WIT name. Ask the Gardai and any chairperson of local residents associations about the outstanding work WITSU have done over the past two years.

If you have a problem with the WITSU FB page, delete yourself from it and don't criticize everything that the union does. They do not endorse the Dome bar or any other bar for that matter, they simply work in conjunction to make sure that any student event runs smoothly.

Also Sparkling sea- if people are not interested in the SU or anything they say then why the hell are you wasting your time talking about.

U mean how they made the student body aware of a band in a pub that was playing in one venue! I suppose to forced everyone to drink so early and invite their friends from home down! And i suppose it was cathy who broke the statue to make the news and she was the one who provoked the 31 students into getting arrested with at least 28 of these of campus!And she also arranged for the dome to be closed early and ensured that bad bobs would open on a weds at 10:30 something it never does!

AND FINALLY THE UNION CREATED THIS TRADITION THAT GOES BACK OVER !% YEARS THAT ON THE FINAL WEDS OF FIRST TERM ALL STUDENTS WILL GET UP EARLY SKIP CLASSES AND GO DRINKING PLEASE!
    No blame rests on the college or the union

! And if u want to blame someone other than the students who caused the problems it is with campus services who are a 3rd party to the college for organising and paying for the music in the bar and arranging the security and wit card only system!!!!!!!

Those swine for trying to make money during a depression of students who want liquor! Oh the shame!!! please!

If you have a problem with the WITSU FB page, delete yourself from it and don't criticize everything that the union does. They do not endorse the Dome bar or any other bar for that matter, they simply work in conjunction to make sure that any student event runs smoothly.

Also Sparkling sea- if people are not interested in the SU or anything they say then why the hell are you wasting your time talking about.
    i can criticize who ever i want, i can be on which ever FB page i like.

and you cant take away from the fact that you advertised the dome on yoru face book page, its reality you cant twist this fact around, no ammount of back pedaling will get you out of it, your digging your self into a deeper hole by deleting the status, this is the interwebs sir you dont know what kind of evil people your dealing with :P

i have no interest in what cowen talks about, because usually its some BS, but i still talk about him.:rolleyes: and lol my friend's comments about this thread on the facebook page got deleted too ahahaha