Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

WPP1 / WPP2

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭clarelad

AARRRGH wrote: »
    Fair enough, but be aware the people who are willing to work for experience will be in a much stronger position than you in 12 months time.

When I graduated (1999, computer science), a couple of people in my class worked for free for a couple of months to get development experience. They all earn savage money now, and I doubt any of them regret "lowering themselves" for those few months.

Life isn't easy; sometimes you have to take a bit of short term pain for long term gain. You have to remember as well that as a graduate you are near useless to an employer.

Exactly,plus theres the possibility of a full time job after it:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

...... no one should be made feel the have to take on one of these because it's the only thing they can get. Most people that say you should be snapping up the chance to take something like this are people that haven't a clue what it's like to be in this situation.....

I disagree, I think they are people that been there, done that, got the t-shirt. Working for free, to get experience is as old as the hills. Working for nothing, or pittance is how most people start out. Often without any dole too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭miec