Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Louth Vs Meath Aftermath - ***READ MOD WARNING IN OP***

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

dan719 wrote: »
    Louth have to be kicked out of the Championship. The GAA has to be seen to protect referees, who after all do it for "love of the game" and not financial reward. Louth should be ashamed of themselves, the whole county, this kind of behaviour is a joke, and some senior Louth figures should have shown cool heads and calmed things down. That said, I have a lot of respect for the manager who protected the ref at the end.

Come on dan, some perspective here. The whole county should be ashamed:confused: Would you like to explain that to my 90 year old Louth granny and 2 year old Louth nephew?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭Phonehead

Dermo wrote: »
    If the team is not responsible for the fans then who is?
    sending a death threat and physically assaulting a referee are 2 completely different things though.

Fortunately we live in a society where people are responsible for their own actions - this is an Amateur sport, who is going to finance the tracking of every single person from a county so that we can hold the County Board responsible.

Death Threat not serious you think??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,839 ✭✭✭doncarlos

Do you know his name? Shameful stuff really, expulsion from the Championship is a must for Louth.
    Hopefully the Gaa get their act together and ban Louth from competing in any more games this year before someone gets seriously hurt..

Nope don't know his name but I'm sure he'll be easily identified from the video footage and images. Hopefully the Meath player asks for assault charges to be filed against him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭Wile E. Coyote

paulocon wrote: »
    the county should be dissolved and shared between Armagh, Monaghan and Dublin with perhaps a 4 mile square zone in the middle of the county given to Meath...

Bloody Dubs always looking for a bit of the action. And them not even neighbours :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,235 ✭✭✭✭flahavaj

Absolutely 100% against there being a replay. it sets a dangeropus precedent. Its easy to look at tghis with the heart and think about the fact that louth have ben denied after 50 years in the wilderness etc etc, but at the end of the day that should be irrelevant in coming to such a decision.

Granting replays based upon poor officiating is a hugely dangerous road upon which to embark. Where do you draw the line? Contentious, match changing referring errors are highlighted literally every weekend on the Sunday Game. I accept that this was a partiocularly bl;atant decision but at the end of the day, ion principle a replay cannot happen.

I really hope Meath don't feel like they're gonna be backed into a corner over this either. Louth people will just have to get over it I'm afraid and the sooner their players, who have had an amazing season, should get their heads down and concentrate on the qualifiers in a few weeks. In fact they should prtactice thier shooting as well - at the end of the day iof they had taken their chances this wouldn't even be a talking point.

I'd also have no problem with Louth being kicked out of the championship based on their fans' actions. Obviously a different sport and all that but weren't English clubs kicked out of Europe for years basd on the fact that a minority of thugs amongst their support couldn't behave themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

What stop at a year? Surely Louth should be banned from ever playing Gaelic football again. In fact, given the actions of those 20 or so fans, the county should be dissolved and shared between Armagh, Monaghan and Dublin with perhaps a 4 mile square zone in the middle of the county given to Meath...

This is a safety issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

mal1 wrote: »
    Come on dan, some perspective here. The whole county should be ashamed:confused: Would you like to explain that to my 90 year old Louth granny and 2 year old Louth nephew?

LOL @ any Louth fans looking for "perspective". Your fellow fans behaved like animals, why should ye be allowed continue in the Championship? There is precedent for teams being held responsible for the behaviour of fans in almost every sport all over the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 804 ✭✭✭yerayeah

That isn't Colm Judge, it's a 'supporter' wearing a number 13 jersey and whoever he is, he needs to be given a life ban for that type pf behaviour..

One of the first Louth fans to get to ref to reach teh ref was wearing a 13 jersey but he was trying to protect the ref!! Surely they're not the same person!:P

On the subject of Colm Judge, after the game a Meath player came over to him to shake his hand but Judge just pushed him away, which is pretty disappointing to see imo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Royal Seahawk

yerayeah wrote: »
    One of the first Louth fans to get to ref to reach teh ref was wearing a 13 jersey but he was trying to protect the ref!! Surely they're not the same person!:P

On the subject of Colm Judge, after the game a Meath player came over to him to shake his hand but Judge just pushed him away, which is pretty disappointing to see imo...

Doesn't surprise me in the slightest, symbolic of Louth yesterday really.

LOL @ any Louth fans looking for "perspective". Your fellow fans behaved like animals, why should ye be allowed continue in the Championship? There is precedent for teams being held responsible for the behaviour of fans in almost every sport all over the world.

But any bandwagon jumper can throw on a Louth jersey for the big day out in Dublin without even being members of their local club. Louth GAA aren't solely responsible for the distribution of tickets to their supporters so I don't think they can necessarily be held responsible for the actions of a few muppets imo...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 jgarry28

A precedent has to be set. This type of violence cannot be ignored. Whats the point of slapping the county board with a fine? I am sure if there were some lads in the stand who feel like going out and punching a ref they might think twice if they realise that they are going to get their club or county kicked out of whatever competition they are in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭dan719

yerayeah wrote: »
    But any bandwagon jumper can throw on a Louth jersey for the big day out in Dublin without even being members of their local club. Louth GAA aren't solely responsible for the distribution of tickets to their supporters so I don't think they can necessarily be held responsible for the actions of a few muppets imo...

Using soccer as an example, anyone can buy a ticket of the touts outside the stadium, but the club will still be punished if they act the muppet at the game. It is the responsibility of every county board to ensure that all supporters, bandwagoners or not, have a bit of cop on. It'll be interesting to see how many real Louth fans approve, or try to justify these "hard men" actions if the GAA kicks them out of the championship.

Dan unfortunately in most club and county grounds every weekend you will find a % of fans are behaving like animals. I guarantee we will all be hearing about the Dubs behaviour on the Hill (Drugs, Drink and Rows) in the aftermath of the Armagh game! The GAA is a unique sport with how the County scene operates and you can't impose the same fan responsibilty as you do on GAA Clubs or other sporting clubs. The Louth fans who reacted the way they did is not an issue for Louth but and statement of Irish Society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

it's already over and done with, a replay is only going to make it worse for everyone in the long run as it sets a dangerous precedent.

there were bad decisions in both directions, but if ALL of those had been undone the end result would have been the same. at the end of the day, both teams had all the time in the world to pull ahead of the other, but neither one actually did which seems to indicate that overall they were well matched and there were 100 ways that it could have gone in either direction.

what should be happening now is that the GAA should be figuring out ways to stop it happening in the future and ensure that all matches are played as fairly as possible and that the standard of refereeing in matches is much higher than it was yesterday.

I'd also like to see the local clubs and their TRUE supporters band together and make a concerted effort to identify those responsible for the atrocious behavior yesterday and have assault charges brought against them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭kormak

Meath won!
    LOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Dots1982

God, some of ye need to get off your pedestals about Louth supporters, I'm sure most of them are unhappy about the conduct of a tiny minority of their fellow fans they have no need to feel "ashamed" unless the guys barracking the ref were in their family or was Godfather to their kids :rolleyes:.

The county boards responsibility is to the county team and the those in clubs in the county, Not to every fan that turns up to their games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

vibe666 wrote: »
    I'd also like to see the local clubs and their TRUE supporters band together and make a concerted effort to identify those responsible for the atrocious behavior yesterday... and have assault charges brought against them.

^ this.

(charges are a matter for the authorites but I don't disagree in principle).

Reloc8 wrote: »
    ^ this.

(charges are a matter for the authorities but I don't disagree in principle).
    sorry, should have clarified, I didn't mean for the clubs to bring charges, just to get together to identify those responsible, so charges could be brought.

i think it's the right thing for Louth and for the sport in general. no matter how bad any decisions may have been, there should be zero tolerance for that sort of behavior.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭mrboswell

Attachment not found.What's the name of No.13 punching sub Mark Ward in the face?

Please be very careful - if you want to accuse the Louth no. 13 without actually seeing his face you could be in a lot of trouble.
    You might also note that the guy who punched the Meath player was wearing a watch on his left hand and didn't have the white tape on both his wrists as seen on TV.

Try to be factual as opposed to inflammatory and possibly very incorrect.

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Reloc8 wrote: »
    ^ this.

(charges are a matter for the authorites but I don't disagree in principle).
    They have to be identified first before they can be charged.

DeV.

Using soccer as an example, anyone can buy a ticket of the touts outside the stadium, but the club will still be punished if they act the muppet at the game. It is the responsibility of every county board to ensure that all supporters, bandwagoners or not, have a bit of cop on. It'll be interesting to see how many real Louth fans approve, or try to justify these "hard men" actions if the GAA kicks them out of the championship.

I see what you're saying but no doubt there was Louth fans in CP yesterday who had never been at a Louth game before, why should Louth GAA be punished for the actions of people who may not have any association with Louth GAA. I disagree that it is the County board's responsibility to ensure the behaviour of all Louth fans, anyone could buy a ticket from ticketmaster outside the stadium yesterday, Louth GAA have no input into this, so I don't think they neccessarily can be blamed.

And soccer is slightly different imo from the game yesterday as it was at a neutral venue. Neutral venues are a lot rarer in soccer and the home team would presumably be responsible for selling tickets to the home fans and the away team would be responsible for selling tickets to the away fans, presumably giving preference to the season ticket holders who they rightly should be responsible for. Now, that's just the way I imagine things are run, I may well be wrong!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 JosephSheridan

Just wanted to say thanks to my good friend Shane Horgan for the try scoring tips! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭mal1

Sorry, did I say that we should stay in the championship? I just asked you to explain why my 90 year old granny should be ashamed because of what happened in Croke park.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulocon

Just wanted to say thanks to my good friend Shane Horgan for the try scoring tips! :D

Superb.. I forsee a 20 week long sold out stint in Whelans followed by a 10 minute slot on the David Letterman show for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭derealbadger

jgarry28 wrote: »
    A precedent has to be set. This type of violence cannot be ignored. Whats the point of slapping the county board with a fine? I am sure if there were some lads in the stand who feel like going out and punching a ref they might think twice if they realise that they are going to get their club or county kicked out of whatever competition they are in.

yep good point im of to Elverys to buy 5 XXL kerry jerseys and 5 XXL killkenny jerseys me and the lads will sort out this years championship Galway for Macarthy pity you cant buy Paul Galvin masks as well :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭censuspro

I'm just glad Dublin supporters weren't involved, we'd never hear the end of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭bagus

The attack on the ref was a disgrace. The GAA championship matches are a family event. Louth should now be thrown out of the championship. It's rough, but that type of behavior has to be punished appropriately.

The GAA were playing for a draw again. (No more rugby money & no more soccer money). They wanted to gift Meath a point and it backfired into a dodgey goal.

They played for a draw in Cork V Kerry.
    They played for a draw in Cork V Waterford.

They will continue to play for draws until fans vote with their feet.

I'd love to see the stats on drawn games with big gates versus drawn games
    with small gates. It would be some embarrassment I'd imagine.

Yes and plenty of intercounty footballers would consider their future if the actions of about 5 drunken fans can influence whether they get thrown out of the championship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭Reloc8

vibe666 wrote: »
    sorry, should have clarified, I didn't mean for the clubs to bring charges, just to get together to identify those responsible, so charges could be brought.

i think it's the right thing for Louth and for the sport in general. no matter how bad any decisions may have been, there should be zero tolerance for that sort of behavior.

Sorry wasn't clear myself - I 100% agree with you that Louth people should work to identify these people. It is absolutely the best response made that I have read to the issue.
    DeVore wrote: »
    They have to be identified first before they can be charged.

DeV.

Yep - I only meant to put a small caveat on my otherwise complete agreement with vibe666 about the bringing of charges.

Dots1982 wrote: »
    Yes and plenty of intercounty footballers would consider their future if the actions of about 5 drunken fans can influence whether they get thrown out of the championship.

So who should be punished for the actions of the Louth supporters? Regardless of if it was 5 or 500 the County Board are the one's who will end up punished because by punishing them you punish the so-called fans who carried out the actions yesterday. Should we just allow this to happen in every game and let hooligans run wild week in, week out with no punishments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,349 ✭✭✭✭starlit

In my opinion I think that Meath should offer the replay to Louth or at least give Louth their deserved Leinster Title! It would be the right thing to do by both the ref and GAA officals. The goal in itself was illegal? :eek: Sheridan said it was legal though but I have my doubts on that while he was actually on the line not before or after it when the ball went into the net. To me it looked like he threw it in no?:( I'm surprised the ref didn't allow a penalty which would have been the proper thing to do really. I think meath have just got away with and not owning up to what they did! they didn't play as well as louth did. Louth played well and they were fair. Wheres the justice in that?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

Phonehead wrote: »
    Fortunately we live in a society where people are responsible for their own actions - this is an Amateur sport, who is going to finance the tracking of every single person from a county so that we can hold the County Board responsible.

Death Threat not serious you think??

I didn't say death threats weren't serious but there is a big difference with a nameless coward sending a death threat to someone actually assaulting a referee.

In sport the teams are always responsible for their own fans, sadly we see it a bit too much at club level.

Am I the only one who couldn't care less if assault charges are brought against the people who harrassed the ref. Personally I prefer if the courts got on with trying gang members, career criminals and people who committed GBH etc but hey that's just me. They can ban them from GAA grounds I suppose although its completely unenforceable so a complete waste of time

In my opinion I think that Meath should offer the replay to Louth or at least give Louth their deserved Leinster Title! It would be the right thing to do by both the ref and GAA officals. The goal in itself was illegal? :eek: Sheridan said it was legal though but I have my doubts on that while he was actually on the line not before or after it when the ball went into the net. To me it looked like he threw it in no?:( I'm surprised the ref didn't allow a penalty which would have been the proper thing to do really. I think meath have just got away with and not owning up to what they did! they didn't play as well as louth did. Louth played well and they were fair. Wheres the justice in that?:confused:
    I just watched the last bit again (thanks sky+!) and altho he did throw it in, he also tried to kick it after it had left his hands, which would seem to indicate he wasn't sure exactly where he was in relation to the goal, which given the circumstances of being tumble dried with half a dozen other players would be a fair assessment.

that said, only he knows for sure so I guess we'll see once the dust settles, but he did bounce off several other players before he stopped moving and appears to have only turned to throw the ball into the goal, which ironically was what put him over the line.

it definitely wasn't a legitimate goal, but i honestly don't think there was any malice on his part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 annecy

Louth played out of their skins and Meath didn't, Louth had opportunities to put Meath away early on and didn't capitalise. You play the whistle and there are always decisions that go for or against a team. I think the timing of this one exacerbates Louths disappointment. Well done Meath. No replay please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭paulocon

So who should be punished for the actions of the Louth supporters? Regardless of if it was 5 or 500 the County Board are the one's who will end up punished because by punishing them you punish the so-called fans who carried out the actions yesterday. Should we just allow this to happen in every game and let hooligans run wild week in, week out with no punishments?

Ehmm.. I have a suggestion here.. maybe those supporters themselves should be punished? Surely it can't be that hard to identify the supporters who went after the ref and punish them accordingly.

Am I the only one who couldn't care less if assault charges are brought against the people who harrassed the ref. Personally I prefer if the courts got on with trying gang members, career criminals and people who committed GBH etc but hey that's just me. They can ban them from GAA grounds I suppose although its completely unenforceable so a complete waste of time

That post is so stupid it's not even funny. You want to see people in court for GBH but don't want to see hooligan supporters in court for assault?

you might feel differently if it had been you or someone you cared about who'd gotten assaulted. physical violence like this has no place in sports.

my niece was at that game, it's a family sport and parents shouldn't have to worry about the safety of their children (or anyone else) because of loutish behavior, never mind the match officials.

Eh can you tell me some other times when fan hooliganism at intercounty level was an issue. Normally its some mad eejit at a club game attacking a ref who then gets dealt with by being banned from attending or playing games. Week in week out hooliganism ala english soccer does not exist.

Ehmm.. I have a suggestion here.. maybe those supporters themselves should be punished? Surely it can't be that hard to identify the supporters who went after the ref and punish them accordingly.
    i know what you mean. if only there had been cameras there so they could have gotten pictures of those involved.

.....oh, wait. :D

Dermo wrote: »
    I didn't say death threats weren't serious but there is a big difference with a nameless coward sending a death threat to someone actually assaulting a referee.

In sport the teams are always responsible for their own fans, sadly we see it a bit too much at club level.

Frankly I know if it's me I would rather get a few slaps than have someone call up claiming to be from the PIRA (or one of those) and threating my life and my childrens -

OK all for your idea then for making counties responsible for the actions of their fans - where do we draw this line of responsiblity now Dermo, in a pub before the match- guy in County jersey starts a row - who is responsible Individual or County? a supporter going to a game drink and drives and causes an accident? Players assualt each other on the pitch (I remember some mass brawl Meath and Mayo were involved in, I also think Kildare and Laois had a mass brawl recently or how about that Tyrone Dublin game) Should we ban the counties if such things happen again

That post is so stupid it's not even funny. You want to see people in court for GBH but don't want to see hooligan supporters in court for assault?

Nobody will be up in court for assault for the referee incident. I'm sure they're are other charges that could be brought up though. Barging and pushing is not assault. If it was we'd have thousands up in court every weekend for bumping into someone in a nightclub.
    However the punch on the Meath player was a definite assault and hopefully charges are brought

[/B]

Eh can you tell me some other times when fan hooliganism at intercounty level was an issue. Normally its some mad eejit at a club game attacking a ref who then gets dealt with by being banned from attending or playing games. Week in week out hooliganism ala english soccer does not exist.

So because it's not a regular occurance at inter-county level we should ignore it and hope it doesn't happen again? What if it does happen again at the next Louth match and the one after that (I'm only saying Louth because it was their support yesterday)? Should we ignore it and leave it to the guards to punish the offenders?

If tickets are sold outside the ground how can the county board be responsible for who buys them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,514 ✭✭✭Dermo

Phonehead wrote: »
    Frankly I know if it's me I would rather get a few slaps than have someone call up claiming to be from the PIRA (or one of those) and threating my life and my childrens -

OK all for your idea then for making counties responsible for the actions of their fans - where do we draw this line of responsiblity now Dermo, in a pub before the match- guy in County jersey starts a row - who is responsible Individual or County? a supporter going to a game drink and drives and causes an accident? Players assualt each other on the pitch (I remember some mass brawl Meath and Mayo were involved in, I also think Kildare and Laois had a mass brawl recently or how about that Tyrone Dublin game) Should we ban the counties if such things happen again

It's not my idea for counties to be responsible. It's the way things have always been. I don't actually agree with it but it's the current standard and under that standard any act committed by a fan inside of the stadium grounds is that team's responsibility. As I said earlier, it mightn't be perfect or right but it's what we have got at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

As much as Louth will feel aggrieved, they have only themselves to blame as they should have been far enough ahead that Sheridan's goal wouldn't have mattered. So many bad wides, and at least 3 crucial frees missed from very scoreable positions.

I thought overall it was a cracking game though, and a pity it had to end the way it did. Louth would be best to dust themselves off and prepare for the qualifiers. Meath are not going to offer a replay and that's the end of it I would think. As a Louth poster mentioned earlier, the Leinster Championship is wide open at the moment and no reason why Louth couldn't come back and win it next year, and no reason why they should fear anyone in the qualifiers now either.

doncarlos wrote: »
    If tickets are sold outside the ground how can the county board be responsible for who buys them.

If tickets are sold outside the ground of a soccer stadium why are the clubs punished for the fans actions?

I'm making a distinction between people who are violent and a danger to society and lads who feel they have being wronged by a referee and see red. Do you really thinks the guards will be bothered tracking down those guys who assaulted the ref, do you think that they should make it a priorty. Maybe I don't listen to Joe Duffy enough to give a crap about it.

By all means protect refs better and give life bans to fools harassing refs.

I'll come clean and say I wasn't at the game so perhaps I missed a lot but I just feel people are going over the top with the outrage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 eiffeman

Im a meath man and in my opinion there should definitly be a replay this just doesnt sit right but i think that people should realise that there were several dubious decisions made in favour of Louth including a louth player gouging seamus kenny's face aswell as this more than one of Louths scores coming from dubious calls(Harrington never once touched the ball on the ground ).I think that the whole thing was a joke and meath will have something to prove in a replay

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

I'm making a distinction between people who are violent and a danger to society and lads who feel they have being wronged by a referee and see red. Do you really thinks the guards will be bothered tracking down those guys who assaulted the ref, do you think that they should make it a priorty. Maybe I don't listen to Joe Duffy enough to give a crap about it.

By all means protect refs better and give life bans to fools harassing refs.

I'll come clean and say I wasn't at the game so perhaps I missed a lot but I just feel people are going over the top with the outrage.
    So... what if they are in a nightclub and feel "wronged" by some girl who tells them to get lost and "see red".

These people need to be punished for assault in order to protect society and to teach them we dont accept it. Not now. Not ever.

DeV.