Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism is alive and well in Ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,524 ✭✭✭owenc

merengueca wrote: »
    I've seen this one from both sides : born in Ireland, moved to Manchester aged 6, got English accent, moved back to Ireland for 2 years when I was 21 and now back in England (I keep Stena Line in business!!!:rolleyes:)

Anyway - best come back I ever saw was my sister working in a pub in the midalnds during the last world cup, the owner bought all the staff Ireland tops to wear on match days, so start of the match she's behind the bar and this t055er starts giving her grief that as an English, blow in Bi**h what right did she have to wear that top or sing the national anthem... she waited till the anthem was over and firmly pointed out that there were plenty on that team, wearing the same shirt as her and speaking with the same dirty english accent as her. Also the dirty english blow in was working with our cousin in our uncles pub with my Dad sat beside him... he didn't stay too long after that!

Having a bit of debate with a lad at work on Monday about Orangeman parades (limited ones happen over here) and he was disgusted that the police were closing a road so the IRA could walk through!!!:rolleyes:

The ira don't walk through any roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,229 ✭✭✭✭walshb

harsea8 wrote: »
    As has been said previously, there are f*cking idiots in every country, even France apparently

No, I think the French dude deserves a pass on this one. Look, of you heard people speaking French, would you definitley know that they weren't actually French, but, say Dutch or German or Poles who happened to be speaking French? The dude heard the English language, and then asked a question.Surely you don't expect him to know particular accents...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,549 ✭✭✭Noffles

Being Welsh I've also had the same sort of ****.... ill educated **** heads calling me a Welsh Twat.... what the **** has my nationality got to do with it???

Sue Rocks wrote: »
    My brother in law is English and has had similar things said to him in the past unfortunately its just ignorant people. He probably went around the corner, saw someone wearing a GAA jersey from outside of Dublin and called them a Bogger c**t and to feck off back to the bog etc etc. Its a horrible fact of life but there are people like that in every country in the world just stupid ignorant people.
    Id be more upset that he used those words in front of your son I hate that :mad:

Oh isn't that such a crime a catholic getting along with english people!?!:rolleyes: There are english catholics you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭bigbadbear

That situation shouldn't have bothered you. I know I would be laughing on the inside anyway. The day that the opinion of a gobshíte like yer man matters will be a strange day indeed!

"Shure us Irish don't hate the English. We just like to see them lose in things like football and.............war and so on."

bigbadbear wrote: »
    That situation shouldn't have bothered you. I know I would be laughing on the inside anyway. The day that the opinion of a gobshíte like yer man matters will be a strange day indeed!

"Shure us Irish don't hate the English. We just like to see them lose in things like football and.............war and so on."

Don't you mean british, there are other people in the uk you know, oh and you were in the war with us!:P The first one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 593 ✭✭✭Scráib

In any case i worte the post in anger (my mistake) as i was so shocked at someone displying this attitude in 2010. But such is life i had a good sleep and today is a different day. His problem not mine.....

It's not really a mistake to vent a bit! And AH is a good place to vent! You'll always get the minority of eejits. Luckily today that's what they are - the minority.

I'd describe myself as a Proud Irishman, members of my family fought in the war of Independence and I'm very proud of the fact. But do I hate the English? No. The way I see it my Grandfather didn't fight for freedom so that I could grow up to be filled with hatred for the English so that I'll hurl abuse at them simply for being English, that's just perpetuating a cycle that needs to be broken.

There's also another far deeper point. How could I dislike the English while simultaneously liking Kelly Brook, Kimberly Walsh, most of the Saturdays... oh dearie me the Saturdays... anyway there's a very long list of hotties there demanding an end to this type of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 489 ✭✭Trashbat

walshb wrote: »
    No, I think the French dude deserves a pass on this one. Look, of you heard people speaking French, would you definitley know that they weren't actually French, but, say Dutch or German or Poles who happened to be speaking French? The dude heard the English language, and then asked a question.Surely you don't expect him to know particular accents...

I think (or at least hope) that your missing the point here somewhat. I think that poster was calling him an idiot because he was negatively behaved toward what he thought were english people, and brightened up once he heard they were Irish. Which would make him a complete tw*t. Totaly unascceptable bahaviour.

Imagine working in a restaraunt and getting all snotty with some one "you swedish?" "no norweigan" "oh! great, thats ok then, because I hate all swedes". Totally unacceptable.

owenc wrote: »
    oh and you were in the war with us!:P The first one.

*can of worms opens*

That could lead to a very long debate ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭fakeaccent

Don't let it get to you OP, it's the same everywhere. I used to work in a British call centre and I used to get called 'Paddy' or 'Fenian B**ch' on a weekly basis (no exaggeration).

Once I was standing at the bus stop on the Quays and a guy on a bike shouted 'NI**ER' at a group of black people standing behind me, for absolutely no reason. I was horrified.

It's quite scary how many ignorant muppets there out there in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 872 ✭✭✭Sofa King Great

fakeaccent wrote: »
    Don't let it get to you OP, it's the same everywhere. I used to work in a British call centre and I used to get called 'Paddy' or 'Fenian B**ch' on a weekly basis (no exaggeration).
    Is that why you developed a fake accent?

Trashbat wrote: »
    *can of worms opens*

That could lead to a very long debate ;)

EAt popcorn instead.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

TheZohan wrote: »
    I was called a terrorist by an English guy when I worked in London, shìt happens.
    Me too. Was also asked in Liverpool if I was over to plant a bomb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭KINGVictor

I would not worry too much about it OP, I used to think the same as you until I heard a guy from Waterford saying all Cork people should be shot because they didnt really want to be part of Ireland......and he meant it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I´ve come across anti-Englishness in every country I´ve been to (I´ve been to a fair few) including the one I live in now (Spain). I´m Irish but same old story and I hear it a few times a week...."Oh your IRISH? Ah that´s okay then!". Totally unjustified and completely retarded thinking. Numpties like these are in every country. I always do my bit to defend the English as I lived there for 3 years and was treated very well.

The only real anti-Irish abuse I ever got was from the Scottish, actually.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭LarrytheLantern

I've been to quite a few countries, and from my experience English people are by far the most racist I've met.

England is the only place I know that has a derogatory slang term for practically every race on the planet!

Ask your average English bloke what he thinks of Africans, Pakistanis, Americans, Italians, whoever and your guaranteed a tirade of ill-conceived, ignorant, and racist abuse.

Now that said I have some very good English friends and there are some lovely English people, but they do appear to be a minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,812 ✭✭✭Precious flower

Check the stormfront irish forum.. Now that's racism.

Looking at that site made me sick, it's such a twisted, disturbing way to view the world, how can people possibly be convinced into thinking like that!:mad: They're given a bias, uneducated account of events and they soak it up like a sponge, it just sickens me!

OP, sorry to hear about your trouble, it was probably just some waster who had nothing better to do then vent his anger on some poor unsuspecting person, but I hope you don't generalize every single Irish person as racist or nationalist, we cannot be held responsible for what an individual in our country does, I mean there's racism in most countries, however that does not condone that man's behave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Brooke why did the chap land at your door?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭harsea8

I've been to quite a few countries, and from my experience English people are by far the most racist I've met.

England is the only place I know that has a derogatory slang term for practically every race on the planet!

Ask your average English bloke what he thinks of Africans, Pakistanis, Americans, Italians, whoever and your guaranteed a tirade of ill-conceived, ignorant, and racist abuse.

Now that said I have some very good English friends and there are some lovely English people, but they do appear to be a minority.

**** me, you've met all 40-odd million of them and gauged all their opinions of Africans, Pakistanis, etc...you must have a lot of spare time!! Seems to me you have a little bit of prejudice their yourself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,100 ✭✭✭tommyhaas

Id agree with you that racism is more prevelant in the UK then in Ireland, however the opinions your describing above would be typical of the views of many BNP voters. If what your saying was true, the BNP would have a majority in the House of Commons.

I work with quiet alot of British people, and although most would have some degree of racial prejudice, very few would be as extreme as you suggest

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4 Gerryfloyd.com

Why did a stranger call to your door, are you not telling us everything, confess my son. Ihope you are not kin to a bloke I work with, born in England, here 20 years, winges and bitches every day about how great England, but when we say **** off back then he talks about his job.

tommyhaas wrote: »
    Id agree with you that racism is more prevelant in the UK then in Ireland, however the opinions your describing above would be typical of the views of many BNP voters. If what your saying was true, the BNP would have a majority in the House of Commons.

I work with quiet a lot of British people, and although most would have some degree of racial prejudice, very few would be as extreme as you suggest

No I wouldn't say their opinions are all as virulent as say the BNP, but English people do seem to have a desperate urge to pidgeon-hole the rest of the world. It's possibly a hangover from their colonial days, when they considered themselves master, and everyone else to be their subjects.

Some people might even consider it quaint, but i consider it to be deeply racist.

(Oh! btw i have plenty of English friends, and cousins, i visit London & Liverpool about 6 times annually, admire & enjoy British culture, literature & architecture. i own an English bulldog, and have a small bust of Churchill on my desk).:P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭Killer Pigeon

Last time I checked, most English and Irish people are white, so how is this a matter of race. How is calling you a scum-ball English cunt racist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,778 ✭✭✭Pauleta

You've obviously never been to eastern Europe. There are groups in Russia that behead immigrants

in many countries there is a tiny idiotic minority of violent thugs eg USA, UK, Russia, Sth. Africa, Israel, Zimbabwe.

i am referring to your average guy in the street, not to fully paid up members of the local Nazi party.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Tail Wagger

BrookieD wrote: »
    :mad:
    Wow to say i am pi**ed is a massive understatement. I moved here from the UK 15 years ago, Drove a taxi in Dublin and have worked for the last 10 years in various big companies, never have i been spoken to with such venom and hate as happened ten mins ago outside my front door.

Some "person" decided to call me all the English wan***s, c**ts, bas***ds, and more besides. I should "f**k off back to the UK, as you took 6 counties and your not getting anymore"

what the hell is going on........

on the plus side it was a fantastic advert for my son on how not to treat others.........

rant over:mad::mad::mad::mad:

Welcome to Ireland mate it's the sign of the times, and you thought you left it all behind you in the UK!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

There are assholes in every country OP. Come to Ireland you might run into some freak that will say all that "go back to England you Brit ****. You stole my country" sh1t. This is a wild stab in the dark but there are probably Irish people in England that have had some asshole shout "go back to Ireland you paddy ****." An Indian in England? Same deal. A German in Australia? Same thing. A Mexican in America? Same story. An American in Columbia. Same game.

Assholes are everywhere. No one nation, creed or race is specific to them and no nation, creed or race are without them. Assholes gonna be assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,273 ✭✭✭flas

Don't you mean british, there are other people in the uk you know, oh and you were in the war with us!:P The first one.

not really by choice...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

That's a remnant of empire. Don't forget that English history is filled with example of how they travelled the world, trying to enlighten, educate and improve the lives of the ignorant savages they met in various countries, only to have it thrown back in their face by the ingrates. I've a friend from the north of England and we have discussed the history of Ireland from the English perspective. It was referred to in school as "The Irish Problem."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I feel that OPs choice of the word racism to describe his situation is diluting the meaning of the word Racism to mean "anyone else" or generally non-national.
    Even if OP was black/brown/whatnot "go home brit" wouldn't really be racism, offensive yes, but racism, no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 caroj

My sister applied for a job based in Belfast a few months back through a recruitment agency who contacted her as she had all the right qualifications, experience etc.

The guy she was dealing with, can't rem if he was in Dublin or Belfast, but anyway he asked her did she know anyone in the North, which she didn't. He tried to put her off going for an interview as he said there were two communities in the North, one is Catholic and one is Protestent etc etc, these were his words & if I remember correctly, the advert actually stated this.

I would have though that would not be allowed. He said she'd be better off sticking to Dublin She got a job in Dublin in the end anyway. I was very surprised as I thought that at least in the larger urban areas people were more tolerant and not as fanatical as some of the more diehards in certain areas, which she'd hardly be venturing into. Not sure why they needed to "warn" people from the Republic applying..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 somethingwitty1

BrookieD wrote: »
    :mad:
    Wow to say i am pi**ed is a massive understatement. I moved here from the UK 15 years ago, Drove a taxi in Dublin and have worked for the last 10 years in various big companies, never have i been spoken to with such venom and hate as happened ten mins ago outside my front door.

Some "person" decided to call me all the English wan***s, c**ts, bas***ds, and more besides. I should "f**k off back to the UK, as you took 6 counties and your not getting anymore"

what the hell is going on........

on the plus side it was a fantastic advert for my son on how not to treat others.........

rant over:mad::mad::mad::mad:
    Let me get this straight, you have lived here for 15 years, and after 15 years in Ireland you get riped on once and you have the ****ing balls to put up a thread saying racism is alive and well in Ireland. Let me say it once more, it takes you 15 years for someone to say that to you and you pretty much call Ireland a racism country. Mabey you should of waited a bit more that 10 muin to cool down before you title a thread racism is alive and well in Ireland you racist ****.

This is probably because you are not fluent in the language and slang terms of other nations, to be fair. We recognise racism in the UK and Ireland because we are culturally aware of it more.

in many countries there is a tiny idiotic minority of violent thugs eg USA, UK, Russia, Sth. Africa, Israel, Zimbabwe.

These two statements seem to be in contrast with each other.

To be honest, some part of england have racist undertones, but I currently live in London and find it to be one of the most open and racially integrated places on the planet. Far more so than all my time living in Ireland. People tend to be more colour blind here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Was also asked in Liverpool if I was over to plant a bomb.

Bit of a difference between a racist comment and a wind up and might have being asked to see what reaction you gave .
    For instance if somebody comes across as miserable dour individual then they most likely will have the piss taken outta them regardless of were they are from which should not be confused with racist tones . The wind up stretchs across all boundries be it place of origin , race, religion , politics , history or whatever football team you support
    Trashbat wrote: »
    This is probably because you are not fluent in the language and slang terms of other nations, to be fair. We recognise racism in the UK and Ireland because we are culturally aware of it more.
    Good point
    To be honest, some part of england have racist undertones, but I currently live in London and find it to be one of the most open and racially integrated places on the planet. Far more so than all my time living in Ireland. People tend to be more colour blind here
    Some smaller provincial towns ( one in particular from my expierence ) you'll find racisim not far from the surface but that's not to say everybody living there is a racist ,just more of a small town mindset .Like you I have found London to be one of the most racially intergrated places to be anywere .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,041 ✭✭✭who the fug

Latchy wrote: »
    Bit of a difference between a racist comment and a wind up and might have being asked to see what reaction you gave .
    For instance if somebody comes across as miserable dour individual then they most likely will have the piss taken outta them regardless of were they are from which should not be confused with racist tones . The wind up stretchs across all boundries be it place of origin , race, religion , politics , history or whatever football team you support

Exactormento, when ever I get that one thrown at me, I just tell them, soon as the cease fire is over every O Neils is gone

Cheers everybody up

Exactormento, when ever I get that one thrown at me, I just tell them, soon as the cease fire is over every O Neils is gone

Cheers everybody up

I just reply Customs took it off me

Que - he is / isn't joking look ??

Edit- I am joking about this post and post 139

I just reply Customs took it off me

Que - he is / isn't joking look ??

Some Paddy you are, can't get a bomb past customs :rolleyes:

Some Paddy you are, can't get past customs :rolleyes:

AH might have being worse ,they could have took my Galtee black pudding , brown bread , bacon ,sausages and Tayto off me but they didn't bless

Good thinking, give up bomb so they don't spot the Taytos:D

Jesus can you imagine if that was an active unit.

Well lads I have good news and bad news, they got the bomb

f*** that did you get Taytos

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Arubaa

Hello everybody

• Closed Accounts Posts: 532 ✭✭✭King Felix

*awaits with bated breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 Arubaa

Hello everyone
    You are all talking about racism you’re complaining on the English and probably you were complaining the Americans but you know what I am living in your country and I have a responsible job ,I bought the house I am raising 2 good manners children along with my husband. I don’t get into any troubles I don’t abuse your social system and I never did. I am also spending every single penny in your country ,I even bay ovesea holidays in your country to keep the economy As good as possible. I am also paying taxes ,mortgage ,car loan ,I work as a financial controller and my husband is working too....anyway I feel like piece of s***y.Could anybody tell me why? What’s wrong with you? or what’s wrong with me ? Ive tryied to socialise with my neighbours but this is not easy as only pyjama yummy mummies are on the street and they just have different thinking. Maybe I bought the house in bad area? Or maybe it’s just because I am a foreign?
    cheers

Aruba

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭I_AmThe_Walrus

Am I the only Irish person that doesn't dislike the English? :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭donfers

Arubaa wrote: »
    Hello everyone
    You are all talking about racism you’re complaining on the English and probably you were complaining the Americans but you know what I am living in your country and I have a responsible job ,I bought the house I am raising 2 good manners children along with my husband. I don’t get into any troubles I don’t abuse your social system and I never did. I am also spending every single penny in your country ,I even bay ovesea holidays in your country to keep the economy As good as possible. I am also paying taxes ,mortgage ,car loan ,I work as a financial controller and my husband is working too....anyway I feel like piece of s***y.Could anybody tell me why? What’s wrong with you? or what’s wrong with me ? Ive tryied to socialise with my neighbours but this is not easy as only pyjama yummy mummies are on the street and they just have different thinking. Maybe I bought the house in bad area? Or maybe it’s just because I am a foreign?
    cheers

Aruba

Hello Aruba
    Don't worry about the pyjama yummy mummies, they make everyone feel like a piece of s***y regardless of colour. Smile, throw parties, sing rebel songs and make cakes for your neighbours and you too shall be one of us.

cheers

Donfers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Arubaa wrote: »
    Hello everybody

Bon bini!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,763 ✭✭✭Sheeps

saw a guy get arrested for calling a taxi man a nigger after him trying to dodge the fair and the taxi driver tried to make a citizens arrest. racism is funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 613 ✭✭✭Misanthrope

Check the stormfront irish forum.. Now that's racism.

I'm afraid to go in there in case of guilt by association.But I've got to admit I get a bang out of the level of retardation on such sites.I've not been to Stormfront but I'll bet that illiteracy is at epidemic levels in there.I used to go to the Chelsea headhunters website for a laugh.What a shower of baboons.

To the OP,I'm sorry to hear you received that barrage of abuse.If you are an ordinary decent person you do not deserve that.It is most likely the result of frustrated nationalism pinging around off the inside of a vacuous skull.

While I assume that you did nothing to bring this on I have to point out that some English people make insulting or condescending remarks to Irish people without even realising that they are doing it.I often have to remind my close English friends that they are being this way.

As an example,I have endured the old 33 1/3 bull many many times.Considering that I can pronounce 'th' this is somewhat misdirected and irritating.
    When it comes from some uneducated London chav in the form of "go on mayte,say fuhheee free anna furhhd", I can't help but feel insulted, and instead of just accepting that I am staring simple ignorance in the face, I will come over the top at them and really let them have it.
    Usually all that is required is a request to compare A level results, which is quickly relegated to a comparison of O levels.It's usually though not always an embarrassing result.

Often what seems innocuous to an Englishman can be downright hurtful to an Irishman.This is a by-product of colonialism.We need to become thicker skinned about it perhaps,but to some of us that would be to endorse ignorance when it should be uprooted and crushed.

I suspect what you encountered today was a simple mind using a simplified concept to vent their personal frustrations on you.The best thing you can do is be passive and prove to your aggressor that he has misjudged you.

You didn't mention the royal family did you?That is the red button. Expression of even the slightest deference to that regime can precipitate a tornado of abuse from some of us.

English people do seem to have a desperate urge to pidgeon-hole the rest of the world. It's possibly a hangover from their colonial days, when they considered themselves master, and everyone else to be their subjects.
    .:P

I think you might be right about the colonial hangover.Americans have an even greater urge to pigeon-hole the rest of the world.And they are the new colonists.

If you don't have flame red hair,poor diction,a propensity for life threatening sunburn,an alcohol problem and your own shovel, you're not really Irish.
    Because I don't fit the above criteria,Americans assume I am Bulgarian or from somewhere in Eastern Europe.Most of them couldn't point out Bulgaria on a map.
    What annoys me far more than the pigeon-holing is how some Irish people play up to it.Fellas who worship Guinness and have immeasurable pride in how that and other slop has been used to keep us down for centuries.

"If twasn't for de drink d'Irish would rule the world", goes the adage of the simpleton.

My reply is that if it wasn't for alcohol the Irish might have ruled Ireland.

We had to keep up appearances while we plotted against you.Also do you think that every Irishman in a British uniform was loyal to the King or the Crown.Some were 'patting you on the back to find a soft spot for the knife.

In WW2 we were poised to let the Nazis have a crack at you from Ireland.We were very much on the fence.But,in the end we swung ourselves off the fence and on to the winning side.A good business decision.If the Nazis had won we'd have aligned with them.......... and that would have been the good business decision.Ireland will always side with Britain if thats where the profit lies.But if your enemies provide better terms we'd be mad to join you.

Don't take this personally.This is just war and war is just business running in top gear.Just as Whig policy of the late 1840s was laissez faire politics to promote and deregulate business,our decisions too are economically based, rather than mere acts of spite.In fact most of the Irish fighting in WWI did so for personal finance reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

If you don't have flame red hair,poor diction,a propensity for life threatening sunburn,an alcohol problem and your own shovel, you're not really Irish.
    Because I don't fit the above criteria,Americans assume I am Bulgarian or from somewhere in Eastern Europe.Most of them couldn't point out Bulgaria on a map.

The truth is the people of these islands are identical. There's some cultural differences because of geography but thats it. Genetically we're all from the same northern european pool.