Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Racism is alive and well in Ireland

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,487 ✭✭✭aDeener

BrookieD wrote: »
    i think you will find i did not say that, i stated that Racism is alive and well in Ireland. Not everybody but it is there.

it's alive and well in every country :rolleyes: hardly news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

Stop the whole "it's british people in ireland that get abuse". It works BOTH ways. Was in Derry at feile two weeks ago and a grown man with a child started shouting at a bunch of the players (12-14 year old girls) calling them all sorts such as "motherf**kers" and "get back to Ireland ye *****".
    We were also warned by locals to avoid walking along the street opposite our hotels because the residents were seriously against the Irish (british flags all over the house and gardens) and told us to mind ourselves. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,263 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

merengueca wrote: »
    I've seen this one from both sides : born in Ireland, moved to Manchester aged 6, got English accent, moved back to Ireland for 2 years when I was 21 and now back in England (I keep Stena Line in business!!!:rolleyes:)

Anyway - best come back I ever saw was my sister working in a pub in the midalnds during the last world cup, the owner bought all the staff Ireland tops to wear on match days, so start of the match she's behind the bar and this t055er starts giving her grief that as an English, blow in Bi**h what right did she have to wear that top or sing the national anthem... she waited till the anthem was over and firmly pointed out that there were plenty on that team, wearing the same shirt as her and speaking with the same dirty english accent as her. Also the dirty english blow in was working with our cousin in our uncles pub with my Dad sat beside him... he didn't stay too long after that!

Having a bit of debate with a lad at work on Monday about Orangeman parades (limited ones happen over here) and he was disgusted that the police were closing a road so the IRA could walk through!!!:rolleyes:

People in the same boat can't win. In England I'm an Irish bastard with an English accent, and in Ireland I'm an English bastard with an English accent.

What it proves is that there are a lot of ignorant bastards on both sides of the Irish Sea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

Everyone knows Racism goes on but what can you do about it: nothing and besides those calling you that were probably un-educated idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭Mrmoe

I have sympathy for you OP but the person who said that to you was simply an idiot. People like that would say something nasty to you regardless of whether you had an English accent or not, they would just simply pick something else to focus on. Irish people definitely slag off the English at times but it would almost be the same way the the rest of the country would slag off Dubs, Kerry/Cork etc and vice versa. If anything I think we identify greatly with the English. We watch a lot of the same television programmes, suport many Premiership football teams and a lot of people have English relatives or family living there. We are not all like the person you encountered but there is a small idiotic minority.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,620 ✭✭✭sligopark

Chuileog wrote: »
    There are idiots in every country.
    I'm Irish living in the UK. Today at work two new guys were discussing the recent situation in Northern Ireland.
    I quote
    "Best thing to do would be shoot all those Irish bas***d's"
    "Aye, should send the paras back over there"
    This was right in front of me in the crew room and they both knew I was Irish...
    A few others murmured agreement. :(
    fryup wrote: »
    don't believe that for a second:cool:

Sure... :rolleyes:

Heard the very same in regard to Northern Taigs a wee while ago in Sligo ...
    TheZohan wrote: »
    I was called a terrorist by an English guy when I worked in London, shìt happens.

Had trouble like this often - a protestant m8 of mine (a unionist by belief with the Queen's photo were my Mum and Dad had their Sacred Heart picture) headed home after taking his second hiding for being a paddy barstward

OP why would someone come to your door to abuse you? Never had this anywhere I lived?

Perhaps you are an english cnut crossing the line?

Kasabian wrote: »
    As for the lesson for your son , " take **** from someone on your own doorstep son and then run to the internet and cry racism".

Grow a pair

indeed ..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

sligopark wrote: »

OP why would someone come to your door to abuse you? Never had this anywhere I lived?

Perhaps you are an english cnut crossing the line?

ya, OP maybe you're just an asshole and you don't realise it:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

OP, that's not racism, this is racism.
    A pile of wooden boxes had been set up at the base of a tree – Washington was thrown onto the pile and immediately castrated with coal oil. The chain had then been secured around a tree limb, and Washington, still secured within was hoisted above the flame. He made numerous attempts to climb the now hot chain and the crowd cut off his fingers to prevent any further chance of escape.

What you had was an ignorant scumbag shout some obscenities, it's unacceptable but shit happens, it could be worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Thanks for the heads up OP, I had no idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 176 ✭✭LarrytheLantern

One of my first experiences of England was shopping/browsing in Petticoat Lane street market in 1983.
    One of the stall-holders on hearing my accent asked aggressively if I was one of those guys who had just escaped from the Maze.

I laughed, offered him my wrists and said in my best cockney accent, "fair cop guvnor".

He wasn't amused.:P

I was!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Ive noticed that its getting harder for anyone with an english accent.

Im Irish, but my folks moved over to the UK when I was 3. Obviously I developed an English accent but I moved back home when I was 16.

Even now that im 32 I still have a English accent and yet I have started to be told to feck off back to England etc, I cant find work and have been spoken down too at interviews. One person even asked me how could I be Irish with a English accent!

And what really gets me is that most Irish people have family living in the UK or have buggered off over there looking for work themselves!

15 odd years here and you havent developed a decent oirish accent? You farking thick paddy you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

The problem is that we can no longer be rascist against different races. To small-minded w&nkers, the english are still a fair target.

I don't subscribe to that belief myself. I'm just rascist against Kerrymen.

I think that's OK though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭philstar

Ive noticed that its getting harder for anyone with an english accent.

getting harder??:rolleyes:

not at all, you should have been here back in the hunger strike days when anti-brit feelings were at fever pitch

Only recently my partner & I entered a Parisian restaurant.

On hearing my accent the waiter smiled one of those overly patronising smiles, showed us to our seats, and enquired "English?"

to which I immediately replied "No. Irish"

his attitude changed instantly, and he smiled broadly & said, "Ah! much better".

His name was Vincent, he visits Galway every 2nd/3rd year & we had a lovely meal.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭harsea8

On hearing my accent the waiter smiled one of those overly patronising smiles, showed us to our seats, and enquired "English?"

his attitude changed instantly, and he smiled broadly & said, "Ah! much better".

His name was Vincent, he visits Galway every 2nd/3rd year & we had a lovely meal.:)

As has been said previously, there are f*cking idiots in every country, even France apparently

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭jackiebaron

:mad:
    Wow to say i am pi**ed is a massive understatement. I moved here from the UK 15 years ago, Drove a taxi in Dublin and have worked for the last 10 years in various big companies, never have i been spoken to with such venom and hate as happened ten mins ago outside my front door.

Some "person" decided to call me all the English wan***s, c**ts, bas***ds, and more besides. I should "f**k off back to the UK, as you took 6 counties and your not getting anymore"

what the hell is going on........

on the plus side it was a fantastic advert for my son on how not to treat others.........

rant over:mad::mad::mad::mad:

You don't look like Mick McCarthy by any chance do you and Roy Keane knocked on your door to ask for directions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭cc-offe

We still haven't forgiven yas for the way eastenders portrayed us a few years back...that's the real issue, nothing to do with 6 counties at all :):)

Vincent holds a 1st class Honours degree from The Sorbonne.
    He has a PhD in Chemical Engineering from TCD.

harsea8 wrote: »
    As has been said previously, there are f*cking idiots in every country, even France apparently

classic :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 269 ✭✭CL32

:mad:
    I should "f**k off back to the UK, as you took 6 counties and your not getting anymore"

That was you single handed? You must be some man for one man.

Seriously though, if thats the worst you got in fifteen years, hopefully it will be another fifteen before you experience anything like that again. The clown was speaking for himself and himself only.

To put it in perspective, my mate got the absolute **** kicked out of him in Cork about ten years ago because 'yer frem Dublin like'.

I'm presuming that, like my mate, you did absolutely nothing to provoke a nut job that hits the redline too easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,790 ✭✭✭up for anything

philstar wrote: »
    getting harder??:rolleyes:

not at all, you should have been here back in the hunger strike days when anti-brit feelings were at fever pitch

At that time I was working in Germany with some English girls amongst others. She got engaged to an English soldier and invited a bunch of us Irish to her engagement party at an army base. Bobby Sands was about 50 days into his hunger strike and we were all a bit nervous going there but had a great night and not one wrong word from either side. We were all just people.

My then boyfriend came with us and wouldn't take off his heavy jumper all night even though he was dying with the heat and sweating like a pig, because he hadn't known about the party before coming to meet me and was wearing a teeshirt with a Tiocfaidh ár lá slogan and tricolour flag that a guy had left behind in his flat. The squaddies all thought he was a bit peculiar. :D

Nothing worse than foreigners who buy into that rubbish. Having lived abroad for much of my life, I've had so many people make anti-English comments, assuming I'd agree with them. I informed them that like many Irish people, I was born in the UK, held a British passport as well as an Irish one, and that one side of the family was English, so I didn't really appreciated bigoted remarks like that. I always found it hilarious that people in airports were friendly to me when I presented my Irish passport and frosty to me when I showed the British one, I'm the same bloody person! At least hearing those kind of comments confirms to me that the person is a complete f**king moron, just in case I hadn't already realised.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭cc-offe

The same thing happened to me in Paris, we were seated and the waiter said "english people yes?" and we said "no we're Irish" and he said "oh sorry sorry, very sorry"

Cue the strange looks from the english family at the next table!

would they have realised perhpas the difference in Brits and Irish passport presenters...?

i don't think Vincent "was buying into that rubbish".
    i just think he didn't like English people.

don't beat yourself up over it!;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,803 ✭✭✭El Siglo

People are fucking stupid, regardless of where they say they're from.

i don't think Vincent "was buying into that rubbish".
    i just think he didn't like English people.

don't beat yourself up over it!;)

So he's bigoted and thick. Because anyone who dislikes a nation of 60 million from all sorts of backgrounds is pretty bloody thick. I'm sure he'd have taken offense if you'd said all French people are d*ckheads.

As I said, I've had plenty of people think I'm great until they realise I'm English. So it's not a personal thing, or anything I'm doing, it's purely the fact I happened to be born in Manchester. Right.

[quote=[Deleted User];66928100]As I said, I've had plenty of people think I'm great until they realise I'm English. So it's not a personal thing, or anything I'm doing, it's purely the fact I happened to be born in Manchester. Right.[/QUOTE]

Manchester - there it is ;):D
    Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭BrookieD

Just to reply to a few things:
    I used to be a taxi driver, Not any longer, this has nothing to do with driving a taxi, I was just throwing that in there as i used to meet loads of different folks when working nights and never had a single issue.

In any case i worte the post in anger (my mistake) as i was so shocked at someone displying this attitude in 2010. But such is life i had a good sleep and today is a different day. His problem not mine.....