Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Girls doing 4 times as much study as boys.

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

Get more girls sports going so, a different outlet for the girls competitiveness will level up the playing fields in the leaving cert

but the whole thing is that girls are doing more work than boys. don't make the girls conform to the boys' standards - vice versa would be a more difficult but ultimately better idea.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

but the whole thing is that girls are doing more work than boys. don't make the girls conform to the boys' standards - vice versa would be a more difficult but ultimately better idea.

For what? The leaving cert is for the most part a stupid waste of time anyway.

I don't know where people get off starting on the basis that the leaving cert is the most important thing in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

For what? The leaving cert is for the most part a stupid waste of time anyway.

I don't know where people get off starting on the basis that the leaving cert is the most important thing in the world.

it isn't about the leaving cert. i'm talking about principal. you make the girls do four times less work and you'll have a lazier bunch of kids going into third level education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 190 ✭✭Fox McCloud

Yes the leaving cert is a waste of time lets all skip it and go straight to college from primary school!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,777 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

...whereas boys have been falling further and further behind.
    I thought most lads liked being "behind?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,983 ✭✭✭Red Hand

I thought most lads liked being "behind?"

Kind of impossible the other way round. Unless the girl is creative.:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

biko wrote: »
    Well, it seems to be working, whatever they do. Outperforming boys on every subject.
    Having went to a mixed school, I would like to know is there any difference in the way you're taught, between mixed schools and an all boys school?

As for the LC, it's about getting as much information into the brain as possible, and being able to remember it. One year after the LC, you'll probably only be using a fifth of the info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 219 ✭✭katiemce

studying for four hours a day after being in school for 7 or 8 hours is not at all healthy, and if they're only doing slightly better is it worth the stress and health problems all that work would give?

I think you have the wrong idea. The national statistics published each year are on average. Obviously you're gonna have the knackers who don't study, etc. and thus bring the average down. Individual females don't necessarily score only slightly better than males, it's on average.

katiemce wrote: »
    I think you have the wrong idea. The national statistics published each year are on average. Obviously you're gonna have the knackers who don't study, etc. and thus bring the average down. Individual females don't necessarily score only slightly better than males, it's on average.

Yeah but the knacker lads are probably worse than the knacker girls, thus bringing the average lad scores even more than the average girl scores are brought down by the knacker girls.

My god this thread is depressing.
    Its not even a proper gender war thread, its more of an aimless whinning, we dont care if the girls are better than us cause they, like, cared man and we so did not we're cooler still!

Its either the leaving cert is only useless learning by rote and guys are more proactive so it doesnt suit them or Well we're still winning at maths and they probably dont even have high IQs the boys do and we invented everything so we still win WE STILL WIN! But ye're bullying us with feminist propaganda telling us we're not as good you should lie to us and tell us guys are still ahead in the academic world because we dont like being told that we're not best at everything so we'll resort to any stereotype going to make ourselves feel better.

I dont get it, there is a serious motivation problem with young guys and all everyone can do is slate the girls for caring. I think the problem lies with maturity levels at that age, girls do tend to mature faster at that age. Not in all respects, 17 year old girls can be as childish as hell but they do seem to grasp the concept of their future a lot better than guys of the same age. How can WE society address the problem? By making it cool for guys to study and care about their future?

Hmm I would say it's more about fellas who get annoyed at the fact that women are now out-performing them and the only way they can defend themselves is by use of sexist remarks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

Who cares anyway, it's not like the leaving cert means anything.

I'm fairly sure it did to the college that accepted me. Maybe it was unusual in requiring LC points though...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,315 ✭✭✭✭amacachi

**** that ****. I finished school a couple of years ago and did basically no studying while I was there. Why? Because I was a lazy bastard who did a fair bit of drinkin and shmokin drugs. I still did well in the LC then dropped out of college in first year because I started taking other drugs. A year later I started another course in another university based on my LC points and I should be starting second year in a month or so.
    What's my point? I ****ed up. I was to blame. I did quite well in the LC though nowhere near as well as I should have. I chose to be a lazy long-haired stoner. Then I decided to be tripping when I was in college. For that I was lucky that my punishment was just to take it handy for a year and wait til I could do something else. Sure I'm absolutely broke because of it, but it's my fault, no-one else's.

There's little doubt in my mind that education is biased towards females somewhat, but not MASSIVELY so and not in a way that requires massive changes. There comes a point when people have to take responsibility for themselves.

katiemce wrote: »
    Hmm I would say it's more about fellas who get annoyed at the fact that women are now out-performing them and the only way they can defend themselves is by use of sexist remarks :)

Crying "sexist" in a topic that is about the differences in gender to begin with is a bit below the belt (and not in a good way :p). There have been lots of insensitive remarks putting down males in this topic as well, talking about pots on heads etc.

Boys don't have to "defend themselves" from anything. We know that girls are outperforming boys in the vast majority of subjects and are just trying to come up with reasons as to why, such as that they study more etc. I have no problems with people outperforming me at the leaving cert, whether by talent or studying it doesn't make me less of a person.

We are just trying to look at the reason why girls are doing so well and just came up with the amount they study. And instead of trying to help boys to succeed more, which is what the government would be scrambling over themselves to doing and saying it was rampant sexism if it were the other way around, they are rather giving themselves a clap on the back.
    Millicent wrote: »
    I'm fairly sure it did to the college that accepted me. Maybe it was unusual in requiring LC points though...

The colleges have to accept people based on leaving cert points and nothing else, they are required by the CAO to. I was speaking in terms of personal "achievement" of getting the leaving cert results. Many college places have a low amount of points required, so there is no point in getting higher ones.

Maybe your sarcasm is unwarranted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭4davis7

4 hours of study a night!
    i think this "research" needs to be researched

Crying "sexist" in a topic that is about the differences in gender to begin with is a bit below the belt (and not in a good way :p). There have been lots of insensitive remarks putting down males in this topic as well, talking about pots on heads etc.

Boys don't have to "defend themselves" from anything. We know that girls are outperforming boys in the vast majority of subjects and are just trying to come up with reasons as to why, such as that they study more etc. I have no problems with people outperforming me at the leaving cert, whether by talent or studying it doesn't make me less of a person.

We are just trying to look at the reason why girls are doing so well and just came up with the amount they study. And instead of trying to help boys to succeed more, which is what the government would be scrambling over themselves to doing and saying it was rampant sexism if it were the other way around, they are rather giving themselves a clap on the back.

I understand your point but by glance of this thread it seems that the majority of males on this thread have used at least 1 sexist remark. You can't look at this thread and say there's no sexist comments towards females. And there haven't been nearly as many sexist remarks towards males as there have been towards females. It just annoys me that all these years later men still have this kind of attitude towards women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭sock puppet

There have been lots of insensitive remarks putting down males in this topic as well, talking about pots on heads etc.

Think it's a reference to the Simpsons episode with the stupid gene.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

The colleges have to accept people based on leaving cert points and nothing else, they are required by the CAO to. I was speaking in terms of personal "achievement" of getting the leaving cert results. Many college places have a low amount of points required, so there is no point in getting higher ones.

Maybe your sarcasm is unwarranted.

I don't see how it is unwarranted, to be perfectly honest with you. The amount of people in this thread who have said the LC means nothing in the grand scheme of things are misguided as it patently does. And if people want to achieve just the points they need, fair played to them. I can't say I'd blame them- I wasn't trying for 600 points either. I'm just suggesting that it's disingenuous to totally dismiss the Leaving Cert. Nothing more, nothing less.

Look at this indicating that the trend can also go the other way:

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/education/education-news/record-results-as-boys-outperform-girls-in-maths-1777868.html

It depends on a lot of things. The statistics can get people to draw unjustified conslusions.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

Millicent wrote: »
    I don't see how it is unwarranted, to be perfectly honest with you. The amount of people in this thread who have said the LC means nothing in the grand scheme of things is misguided as it patently does. And if people want to achieve just the points they need, fair played to them. I can't say I'd blame them- I wasn't trying for 600 points either. I'm just suggesting that it's disingenuous to totally dismiss the Leaving Cert. Nothing more, nothing less.

Criticise it all you want people for we know it has its flaws but the fact remains that the Leaving Cert remains as the fairest most equitable way of dividing up the educational resources of the nation and quite frankly in this country a system which cuts out nepotism and favoritism is a rare treasure indeed. Not all countries have this level of equity when it comes to doling out uni places

Well I hate the whole college system as well so I don't really have an opinion on how fair it is for college places, but I definitely agree it's good that it's anonymous and standardized.

Keep in mind also that boys on average have far worse writing than girls, that has been shown to have a substantial impact on their results.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭raah!

Girls are also statistically more likely to start smoking as teenagers.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,115 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Girls are also statistically more likely to have large breasts. Motion passed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,659 ✭✭✭unknown13

I was doing about 30 hours a week for my LC this year. Is a 120 hours even possible to do in a week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,575 ✭✭✭NTMK

overall statistics don’t mean sh!t to the individual. everyone is different. I know some girls who put 4 hours study a night and girls who didn’t do a tap same with lads.

when I did the leaving I couldn’t give a sh!t if the entire female population doing the lc did better than me as long as I got my course.

while girls do out perform lads if you look at female dominated college courses (teaching, languages) u will see points are higher leading to girls needing to work harder than lads(science, engineering) and the competitiveness . threes no difference in intelligence between genders. Everyone know people that are smart and everyone knows people with the intelligence of a rock

basically if a girl gets 550 and gets her course and a lad gets 200 and gets his course or vice versa who cares the both achieved what they wanted to thats what the leaving is about not whos the smarter sex

Edit: I'm sorry if this is badly worded. its 5 in the morning:o