Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Northern Irish at the Irish Embassy in London?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,239 ✭✭✭✭KeithAFC

maxxie wrote: »
    you are missing the point!
    She never meant in the physical sense because the place was in tatters but what she said was true in many ways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

KeithAFC wrote: »
    She never meant in the physical sense because the place was in tatters but what she said was true in many ways.

What ways?

What ways?
    The majority in Northern Ireland are Unionists/British. With an ulster scots background.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭donaghs

Nolanger wrote: »
    Here's what confuses me! Prince Charles visits the Irish embassy in London and meet the big names from this land. Yet some of the people there were from Northern Ireland. Some of these Northern Irish must have British passports as they are Unionist politicians. So why were they invited and why did they attend?

Didn't reply to your own post? No opinions on this yourself?

I hope you're not just trying to work-up the usual suspects into a frenzy? ;)

about well covered topics (northern ireland, "what does it mean to be irish", "what do you think of the royal family", etc)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Is Google aistriúchán do cara.;) Cuidíonn sé leis an litriú, cé uaireanta na haistriúcháin a thagann amach beagán mícheart agus gur gá iad a bheith chuir timpeall thart leis. Cuidíonn sé dom an cúpla focal a fhoghlaim freisin.

Is Focal.ie freisin an-chabhrach

Google translate is your freind;) It helps with the spelling, though sometimes the translations come out abit wrong and need to be fiddled around with. It helps me learn the vocab too.

Focal.ie is also very helpful.

Is breá loim focal.ie. Tá abair.ie go han mhaith freisin.

Thuigim tá sé mar pointe. Is saoránach le UK Paisley agus an cruinniú seo idir Prince charles agus na saoránach na h'Eireann.

Ach, tá sasta agam go bhuill Paisley sasta a bheidh isteach le ambasáid na h'Eireann.

(gabh mo leithsceil ar mo gaelge ufasach)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Thuigim tá sé mar pointe. Is saoránach le UK Paisley agus an cruinniú seo idir Prince charles agus na saoránach na h'Eireann.

Ach, tá sasta agam go bhuill Paisley sasta a bheidh isteach le ambasáid na h'Eireann.

Understood most of that surprisingly but what does ''Is saoránach le UK Paisley agus an cruinniú seo idir Prince charles agus na saoránach na h'Eireann'' mean?

Put it into google translate but its giving me something ridiculous.

Rebelheart wrote: »
    In fairness, Keith, you did supportively bring up her hilarious analogy with Finchley. When she visited Finchley did she "depart in a military helicopter while wearing a pair of bullet-proof vests, surrounded by heavily armed soldiers in a fortified watchtower." In fact, did she do this in any place over in Britain? Odd, then, that she's doing it in a place she claimed was "as British as Finchley". There's something missing, like reality. Thatcher was always good at playing the Orange Card (up until that bit of treachery in 1985, of course).

What was she thinking saying it in south Armagh? I mean it might have been more convincing from the waterfront in Portstewart!

It is also bizarre unionists were so opposed to the anglo-Irish agreement. All it gave the republic was an consultative role. No actual powers.

So Paisley reacts by saying this

''Where do the terrorists operate from? From the Irish Republic! Where do the terrorists return to for sanctuary? To the Irish Republic! And yet Mrs. Thatcher tells us that that Republic must have some say in our Province. We say never, never, never, never!''

The treaty was supposed to help improve border security and prevent the IRA getting sanctuary you f*cking buffoon!

It is also bizarre unionists were so opposed to the anglo-Irish agreement. All it gave the republic was an consultative role. No actual powers.

So Paisley reacts by saying this

''Where do the terrorists operate from? From the Irish Republic! Where do the terrorists return to for sanctuary? To the Irish Republic! And yet Mrs. Thatcher tells us that that Republic must have some say in our Province. We say never, never, never, never!''

The treaty was supposed to help improve border security and prevent the IRA getting sanctuary you f*cking buffoon!
    Was different times back then. Paranoia x100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,336 ✭✭✭Mr.Micro

Because we weren't, and aren't. And it's not a matter of "getting hung up on such things" when one group of people is trying to misrepresent my identity as something other than Irish. I'm sure the British would not take too kindly to being represented as something other than British. The idea that we, the Irish, should accept that if the British invent a state covering Ireland and then claim the Irish to be "British" is preposterous, British nationalistic rubbish. And that's what you're contending when you claim the Irish still living under British rule in Ireland are consequently "British".

to be pedantic, and according to this source.....

As part of the United Kingdom, people from Northern Ireland are British citizens. They are also entitled to Irish citizenship by birth which is covered in the 1998 Belfast Agreement between the British and Irish governments, which, provides that: it is the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they may so choose, and accordingly [the two governments] confirm that their right to hold both British and Irish citizenship is accepted by both Governments and would not be affected by any future change in the status of Northern Ireland.

So in my view then one living in NI one can be both, so KEITH AFC is British,

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_Ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

geespot wrote: »
    the british would love to give the six counties of northern ireland back for many reasons 1. its an embarasment (dont forget they voted for ian paisley) they are backward and retarded 2. its a big unending money pit and 3. they have already promised the ira they would give it back if they would give up there armed struggle as unbeaten champions
    so northern ireland is propped up by british tax payers money,and the republic is also propped up by EU tax payers money,sounds to me that the kettle is calling the pot black,do not think you know what the rest of the UK thinks,put your own house in order first,

Mr.Micro wrote: »

As part of the United Kingdom, people from Northern Ireland are British citizens. They are also entitled to Irish citizenship by birth which is covered in the 1998 Belfast Agreement between the British and Irish governments, which, provides that: it is the birthright of all the people of Northern Ireland to identify themselves and be accepted as Irish or British, or both, as they may so choose, and accordingly [the two governments] confirm that their right to hold both British and Irish citizenship is accepted by both Governments and would not be affected by any future change in the status of Northern Ireland.

Most people know this. Over a thousand people or more died because they wanted that right to remain. I thought everyone knew this.

Understood most of that surprisingly but what does ''Is saoránach le UK Paisley agus an cruinniú seo idir Prince charles agus na saoránach na h'Eireann'' mean?

Put it into google translate but its giving me something ridiculous.

jaysus. maybe i got it incredibly wrong. I meant to say Paisley is a UK citizen and this meeting was between the prince and citizens of Ireland (although i should have clarified republic of ireland.

I have no problem with paisley there. its a huge sign of progress and something i wouldn't have expected to see even 15 years ago.

that being said i did think it was unusual

Most people know this. Over a thousand people or more died because they wanted that right to remain. I thought everyone knew this.

With respect Keith many who posted on here do not appear to know it or ignore the fact. So for clarity's sake its worth mentioning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Jaap

the british would love to give the six counties of northern ireland back for many reasons 1. its an embarasment (dont forget they voted for ian paisley) they are backward and retarded 2. its a big unending money pit and 3. they have already promised the ira they would give it back if they would give up there armed struggle as unbeaten champions

I'm very proud of Northern Ireland...but it is an embarrassment that the majority of catholics / nationalists vote for Sinn Fein....a party with nothing to bring to the table except division...and with that a history of supporting killing, bombing, terrorising protestants and catholics in Ireland and the UK! Many of their high ranking members actually did a bit more than supporting! :)
    Good to see everyone mixing in the Irish Embassy...Irish and British! Pity Sinn Fein weren't there...oh I forgot Royalty was present!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,677 ✭✭✭deise go deo

Tá mo Gaeilge nios measa,;) Tá do Geailge ceart, ach tá Google Aisteach ó ám go h-ám.
    Sin ní gá duit a fháil i dtrioblóid, caithfidh tú a chur ar fáil aistriúchán nuair a scríobh i nGaeilge.:(
    My Irish is Worse.;) Your sentance was correct, Google can just be weird sometimes.
    Just so you dont get in trouble, You have to provide a translation when posting in Irish.:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,934 ✭✭✭OhNoYouDidn't

But to be pedantic, there is no such thing as a British Citizen. There are Subjects of the United Kingdom alright.

Tá mo Gaeilge nios measa,;) Tá do Geailge ceart, ach tá Google Aisteach ó ám go h-ám.
    Sin ní gá duit a fháil i dtrioblóid, caithfidh tú a chur ar fáil aistriúchán nuair a scríobh i nGaeilge.:(
    My Irish is Worse.;) Your sentance was correct, Google can just be weird sometimes.
    Just so you dont get in trouble, You have to provide a translation when posting in Irish.:(

Seasach! :mad:

**** :mad:

But to be pedantic, there is no such thing as a British Citizen. There are Subjects of the United Kingdom alright.

Is that your opinion or do you have a specific reference that you can quote? Then I suppose NI residents are British subjects ( or Irish as they see fit or both), just leave out the citizen bit, pedantic or what.

Legally there is no such entity as Britain, and there are no citizens or subjects therof. It is an island.

There is a country called the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, which has subjects.

People in Ireland can identify themselves as British if they want, their call, but they are geographically and politically innacurate.

Or put another way, find me a picture of a British passport....

yes i am a british citizen,

getz wrote: »
    yes i am a british citizen,

Says that on your passport, does it?

85px-Ukpassport-cover.jpg

Says that on your passport, does it?

85px-Ukpassport-cover.jpg
    being a british citizen has nothing to do with my passport,my passport says a british subject,that means a subject to the crown,all you nead to do is google ,british citizen/ in fact my old merchant navy ID card says i am a british citizen,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

If someone wants to be British, then que cera cera. It's no skin off anyone's back. The north has a special position where the people decide on an individual basis who they consider themselves to be. Seánie O'Hara might consider himself Irish, but Johnny Smith might consider himself British. It's really irrelevant in the broad scheme of things.

being a british citizen has nothing to do with my passport,my passport says a british subject,that means a subject to the crown,all you nead to do is google ,british citizen/ in fact my old merchant navy ID card says i am a british citizen,

There are a lot of contradictions in that post. Citizen? Subject? And it having nothing to do with your passport.

Look, I have no interest in lecturing you on your identity, but if we are to be pedantic, you are incorrect. Its like people who say the Irish flag is green, white and gold. They are wrong, but so what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,914 ✭✭✭danbohan

Jaap wrote: »
    I'm very proud of Northern Ireland...but it is an embarrassment that the majority of catholics / nationalists vote for Sinn Fein....a party with nothing to bring to the table except division...and with that a history of supporting killing, bombing, terrorising protestants and catholics in Ireland and the UK! Many of their high ranking members actually did a bit more than supporting! :)
    Good to see everyone mixing in the Irish Embassy...Irish and British! Pity Sinn Fein weren't there...oh I forgot Royalty was present!

what really is an embarressment is that people like you, ignore /forget/deny the reason that the majority vote sinn fein or why the prov IRA came into existance in the first place

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,556 ✭✭✭Nolanger

donaghs wrote: »
    Didn't reply to your own post? No opinions on this yourself?
    Well here goes!

All I was asking was:
    Charles and Camilla get invited to the Irish Embassy in London to meet several high profile Irish people.

That embassy is part of the Irish government in Dublin for people in the Republic and also for those in Northern Ireland who consider themselves to be Irish.

So why were Paisley and Robinson there?:
    • As special guests of the Irish embassy in London?
    • They consider themselves to be Irish and British?
    • They have recently switched to Irish passports?
    • To aid the visit of Charles' mother to Ireland soon?
    • None of the above?

danbohan wrote: »
    what really is an embarressment is that people like you, ignore /forget/deny the reason that the majority vote sinn fein or why the prov IRA came into existance in the first place
    To get the Brits out and to remove the Northern state. They done that well. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭Wolfe Tone

To get the Brits out and to remove the Northern state. They done that well. :pac:
    Your ignorance, which I can only assume is purposeful in order to get a rise out of people, is really quite tiring.

MUSSOLINI wrote: »
    Your ignorance, which I can only assume is purposeful in order to get a rise out of people, is really quite tiring.
    In jest of course but it is true. We now have a society of better equality and yet we still have nutters trying to bring down the state which was one of the major goals of the PIRA.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 949 ✭✭✭maxxie

Not entirely keith, they also came into existence to protect nationalists from colluding ruc, army and loyalist paramilitaries intimidation and attacks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭geespot

the main aim of the ira in the 20th century was to have ireland united under irish rule they had few members and not a lot of hope of acheiving then the ulster scots (people who murdered the natives and left them to starve while stealing there lands) gave them the upper hand by attacking them in a further bid at cleansing the land of the catholic irish scum . with help from there friends in the so called security forces they embarked on a wee bit of genocide. this shocked the world funding came flying in for ira guns came flying in and the ira became the best and most feared army in the world so much so that the britsh while talking tough on the telly where going on there hands and knees to gerry adams begging them to stop. people in ni can call themselves british but they have 10 to 20 years to get used to being irish or of course they can fcuk back to scotland if they like

Don't see that happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,725 ✭✭✭charlemont

Great reading this thread !!! in fairness though, big swinging mickey its only a poxy meeting at an embassy and it ends up with everyone arguing :D.. Chill out, theres nothing we can do about history, its done and dusted..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭junder

Most feared army? According to the international law of armed conflict the ira in it's various guises is not even an army or even legitimate. Of course your right they did beat the British army, who surrendered, disarmed and now there is a united Ireland, oh wait.
    I will never going to call myself Irish or accept being Irish and neither am I fcuking of to Scotland since I am not Scottish. Of course sinn fein dud put forward the idea of resettlement grants for us prods to move to the main land back in the 80's but even they dropped that idea since what they were promoting in their manifesto of the time was ethnic cleansing.

Sure ye were fierce brave, getting the English to fight ye're battles and build peace walls...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,250 ✭✭✭✭Iwasfrozen

People in the Six Counties also have a right to call themselves Chinese....I'm sure there's a point there somewhere.:rolleyes:
    Are you really that stupid or are you just trying to be obtuse? People born in Northern Ireland have a right to be British. I don't know why you have such a huge chip on your shoulder but you'd better get over it fast. No-one likes a bigot.

charlemont wrote: »
    Sure ye were fierce brave, getting the English to fight ye're battles and build peace walls...
    There wasn't any battles. Just a few working class people causing trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

Iwasfrozen wrote: »
    Are you really that stupid or are you just trying to be obtuse? People born in Northern Ireland have a right to be British. I don't know why you have such a huge chip on your shoulder but you'd better get over it fast. No-one likes a bigot.

Perhaps you should read Junders post 2 posts above yours. Why label the Unionists Irish when they don't want to?

And it ain't bigotry, if you venture up north you'd know a sizeable chunk of the Unionist community do not identify with being Irish despite them having heritage here!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 959 ✭✭✭changes

The unionists could be there as subjects of the crown who share an island with the irish. They were there in support of prince charles and not to be visited by prince charles (as any irish person there was).

gurramok wrote: »
    Perhaps you should read Junders post 2 posts above yours. Why label the Unionists Irish when they don't want to?

And it ain't bigotry, if you venture up north you'd know a sizeable chunk of the Unionist community do not identify with being Irish despite them having heritage here!
    I'm not trying to label anyone Irish or British. Unlike certain posters here I acknowledge and respect the right of those born in Northern Ireland to both Irish or British citizenship, or both!

And yes, hating British people is bigotry.

does it really matter to your life if someone calls themselves british.

*group hug*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

I'm not trying to label anyone Irish or British. Unlike certain posters here I acknowledge and respect the right of those born in Northern Ireland to both Irish or British citizenship, or both!

And yes, hating British people is bigotry.

So, you recognise that Mr/Miss O'Brien from Bellaghy, Derry is as Irish as us, yes ? :)

And yeh, Mr/Miss Trimble can reject Irishness and proclaim Britishness as they see fit?

I don't hate British people, i'm listening to their excellent rock music now :)
    does it really matter to your life if someone calls themselves british.

*group hug*

No, it does not. They are decent folk like ours, its their establishment that uses jingoism to further political aims that is the problem.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭Rebelheart

Tut. Tut. The number of times you've accused various posters of having chips on their shoulders/hating people/being stupid can only lead to one conclusion, and that is that you're projecting your own evidently lower standards and qualities on to others.

Are you still angry about messing up your Leaving Cert last summer because you decided to cop-out and get an OCD about posting on Boards.ie? Sorry, but it's not our fault. Duh. (although you're undoubtedly blaming Irish!)

And anyway, your initial claim was that 'People living in Northern Ireland have the right to call themselves British. Whether or not you like that is inconsequential.' From the above you don't seem to like the fact that people living in the Six Counties also have the right to call themselves Chinese, Vietnamese or whatever else they want to. There's really no sense in losing your temper and calling people "stupid" simply because you failed to articulate your point intelligently in the first place. Duh (again).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,995 ✭✭✭✭blorg

That is incorrect. British citizen and British subject are two different things. British citizens are not British subjects.

charlemont wrote: »
    Just because its David Ervine does not mean he is correct in his general assement. A lot of Unionists aren't Irish. They are more Scottish than Irish.

born in ireland you are irish,you do not have to be a irish citizen to be a irishman,

No your not. People born in Northern Ireland, does not make them Irish.

citizens of the republic have no right to tell other people who are born in ireland that they are not irish,