Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taking pets to bed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,617 ✭✭✭Cat Melodeon

If my husband is away, I usually end up sharing the bed with the toddler and at least one of the dogs (not the setter, her farts are frequent and toxic). The cat isn't allowed into the house at all though, she uses the shower as a toilet. The dogs would never crap in the house, they have manners. They know human's are the bosses too, never had any aggression issues with them at all. Good dogs, one and all. Bad cat though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,833 ✭✭✭phill106

Dog (cocker spaniel) usually sleeps at the end of the bed. Sometimes tries to come up to top of the bed, but I won't allow it. Always seems to love curling up between my feet (possible smell knocks out dog....)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭marty1985

hondasam wrote: »
    Not a pure bred gs, what is she mixed with? get a Frisbee good exercise for her trying to catch it. slap her when she growls, she will catch on pretty fast.
    `

I actually have no idea what she is mixed with. I took her in when she was a tiny wee thing. When she was a nipper I thought she was half Shepherd - half crocodile, but now she doesn't bite my furniture anymore. Most people can't guess what type of mix she is, but she's a goodlooking dog, I would upload a pic if I knew how.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

you have a shepard dog and you live in a studio apartment? how that working out for ye??
    Its not uncommon is Spain to see large dogs come out of compact high rise apartment blocks. As long as they are given plenty of exercise and care I couldn't see a problem.

It is the idiot in suburban Dublin that keeps his mut locked up in the back yard barking all day is what I can't stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

strobe wrote: »
    lol I am never sure if people are being serious or not when they say things like this.

How insecure and lacking in self confidence do you have to be exactly that you worry about a kitten or Yorkshire Terrier displacing you in the hierarchy of your household? Jesus...
    You almost fell for it, not quite. Kudos:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

marty1985 wrote: »
    `

I actually have no idea what she is mixed with. I took her in when she was a tiny wee thing. When she was a nipper I thought she was half Shepherd - half crocodile, but now she doesn't bite my furniture anymore. Most people can't guess what type of mix she is, but she's a goodlooking dog, I would upload a pic if I knew how.
    Do, could be interesting to see what people think.

Just click 'manage attachments' below the textbox, then click browse, find the photo on your own computer, and upload.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭cocokay

when i lived at home i used to come back after a nt out sh!tfaced & bring our terrier up to bed with me, hes only little & is always clean so it was really cute having him to cuddle, i'd say the alcohol fumes knocked him out lol.
    then after i bought my own house we got a spaniel mix from dogs trust, it was the most exciting thing about buying a gaf ha as i'd houseshared for 5 yrs so freedom to do what i liked etc wasn't an issue, i just always wanted loads of dogs. shes way bigger than we expected to get and splits her time between a doggy bed in our room & the sofa in the living room. shes a little messer loves jumping in muck n puddles etc so would never have her in the bed but its so cute when i get up in the mornings & her tail is wagging madly u'd think she hadn't seen me in a month. she wakes us if she needs to wee or poo in the night & doesn't shed. ah i love dogs they really make a home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭blaze1

I let my doberman share the bed with me once.....

he had a great sleep, i slept on the floor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭cocokay

`

you can get your dogs dna tested!! not sure how much or even if its reliable but sounds fun. if i had the spare cash i'd do it cause our spaniel
    definitely has something else in her makeup, her ears aren't as long as pure breeds & her
    fur when it grows out is like a big curly fro instead of silky n straight. shes fab :)

A mate of mine has seven cats, four sleep outside while three sleep on the beds during the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭crossmolinalad

Have a lab
    He stays in the living room untill 6 o clock in the morning
    Then he comes to the bedroom walking around the bed to find the best place to lay down
    Will be there for an hour then starts waking me up to go outside
    Every day the same except if its bad outside then he will lay down longer on the bed
    Hes not smelling at all because were going almost every day to the beach with him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭Slunk

Last time I went out with a girl who had a cat, this happened loads:

Attachment not found.

Never got any sleep in that house....

Exact same. Girlfriend has a cat and sleeps in the room. Sometimes on the bed, sometimes on the floor. He usually wakes me up halfway through the night by scratching the side of the bed. I do be pretty annoyed at been awoken but i still can't put him out of the room the next night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 717 ✭✭✭Noodleworm

When im at home one of the dogs will sleep in my room.
    Otherwise sleeps in my mams room. it usually sleeps on a chair unless it gets cold during the night, then it will get on the bed.

I don't think you have to worry about the hierarchy thing with dogs, unless the dog is not letting anyone else get on the bed, or refusing to get off when you try and make it, then its knows its place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭Kojak

Nothing wrong with it at all.

I always lets my pet jellyfish Kate up onto the bed for a snooze. Golly she snores though.

What happens if she stings you - would you be able to piss on yourself to stop the stinging?

Note: Piss contains ammonia which neturalises a jellyfish's sting.

I wonder has anyone ever taken a snake into bed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19 FlowersByRay

Should be carefull incase of some one with allergys.

later10 wrote: »
    Do, could be interesting to see what people think.

Just click 'manage attachments' below the textbox, then click browse, find the photo on your own computer, and upload.

OK, here goes! She's a bit bigger now but you get the picture. I hope!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,113 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

I love having an animal sleep in the bed with me! And when she's away I like cats and dogs too, especially if they put their head on the pillow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

I wonder has anyone ever taken a snake into bed?

A trouser snake?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭anto2

Jaysus, I wouldn't even bring a pet into the house.

Me the same .I have a 5 month old pup and he stays outside .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 389 ✭✭LisaLee

Gorgeous dog!:)

I have a male Rottweiler, if he was to start sharing the bed with my boyfriend and I we'd have no room! He has two beds downstairs which he can chop and change between depending on his mood.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

she is cute, she does not look like a gs. she looks big there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 521 ✭✭✭alexa5x5

Aaawww beautiful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭Icarus152

Shenshen wrote: »
    Why would you care either way, since you're dead anyway? Why would you prefer to feed the worms rather than a cat?

Eh,cats are evil.

hondasam wrote: »
    she is cute, she does not look like a gs. she looks big there.

Yeah I'm not sure what exactly she's a mix of, but most vets just say Shepherd Mix.

I'd love to get the DNA testing done, sounds like fun, and would help figure out her temperament maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,456 ✭✭✭westies4ever

beautiful pup!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭purplepanda

Most people from country stock wouldn't let the cats & dogs into the house apart from maybe the kitchen, well none of my relatives ever did & that's 6 different counties :D

Although one of my Aunt's used to let the kittens born of the farmcats for miilk & leftover dinners, when the husband was out. I don't think the farmcats ever got catfood either :eek:

This must be a town / city thing I reckon, you seriously can't let a cat or dog in your bedroom especially if they go outside during the day:eek:

You're all becoming softies, creatures in your beds!!! :rolleyes: Who's in charge here? :D

I think it depends on the dog though. A lot of the locals where I am have toy breeds like little poodles and such, and probably spend a fortune on grooming. Why leave a dog like that outside?

Other breeds might not shed much hair at all, and can be quite clean, and obviously trained not to go to the toilet inside. You can give a dog a shower, buy indoor dog food that doesn't stink, you can even buy perfume for a dog.

I might have considered keeping my dog outside, but there is no "outside", I have a small apartment, that's it. But it's worked out fine. Also, when she's outside, it's for walks with me. It's not like she's outside rolling around in fields all day and we just hook up before bedtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Cunning Stunt

Our dog has slept in our bedroom ever since we got him as a pup. He has his own little doggy bed in the corner. He is never allowed on our bed.
    I think it's lovely to have him sleeping in the same room, especially if I am home alone, as I am a real scaredy cat and it's nice to have him there.

He can snore like a motherf*cker though, which is a bit of a drawback..:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

Icarus152 wrote: »
    Eh,cats are evil.

Nowhere near as evil as dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,495 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

What's the protocol? Do you have to buy them flowers, dinner, drinks before making your move?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51 ✭✭airman101

i have a 3 yr old kid thats insists on getting into my bed in the middle of the night, does he count as a pet tho?? all he does is eat, sleep, poop, wee and break stuff... not unlike many cats and dogs!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,526 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Yeah my cats pushed the door in and sleep at the bottom of the bed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,897 ✭✭✭MagicSean

strobe wrote: »
    lol I am never sure if people are being serious or not when they say things like this.

How insecure and lacking in self confidence do you have to be exactly that you worry about a kitten or Yorkshire Terrier displacing you in the hierarchy of your household? Jesus...

Nothing to do with lacking self-confidence. To be honest, if you don't understand the pack mentality of a dog you shouldn't own one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Laisurg

My jack russel will scratch the door like mad all night if i don't let him in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Every. Bloody. Night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,153 ✭✭✭orchidsrpretty

At night we have two humans, a boxer who sleeps in the middle under the covers with her head on the pillow; two cats, one sleeps across my neck, the other beside the spaniel and a cocker spaniel who sleeps at the bottom of the bed. Happy family:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,279 ✭✭✭PaulKK

They need to realise heirarchy, we are the masters.

Not according to your username!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭ciarak7511

Not in a durty way!....but like having the cat sleep on your bed. Nothing wrong with it right?....for years my black cat used to climb on the roof and meoow at my bedroom window, so i'd leave her in to have a kip.

My aunts daughter has this German shepard that ALWAYS follows her to bed and guards the room, he's weirdly hyper protective over her, do you bring your pets to bed?

no, whenever I let the cat do this she just wakes me up really early to be fed. very annoying.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w0ffwDYo00Q