Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Competitive swimming training

Options
  • 03-12-2011 1:53am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6

Hey everyone. I'm trying to get healthy and I've recently quit smoking. I started training for marathon running (first goal is 5K) in 9 - 12 weeks. Slowly building up stamina over time.
    To continue getting healthy and help improve my lungs I want to get back into swimming, freestyle swimming. I haven't done this in years so obviously it's going to take a lot of training. I was wondering if anyone here has maybe done the same and if they'd have any tips for me. Like a good starting point? Reasonable goals? Is there even anywhere in Dublin where they do freestyle classes?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 9,002 ✭✭✭mad m

Well done on quitting smoking, great that you have a goal to go towards...Have you ever swam before, with a club or just the going up n down a few times?

Down to bare facts, your not going to get results quick from swimming, it will take a lot of effort and continual practice but you have to start somewhere.

How many lengths can you do without stopping?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 KJIAF

mad m wrote: »
    Well done on quitting smoking, great that you have a goal to go towards...Have you ever swam before, with a club or just the going up n down a few times?

Down to bare facts, your not going to get results quick from swimming, it will take a lot of effort and continual practice but you have to start somewhere.

How many lengths can you do without stopping?