Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What planet is Noonan living on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 casandra

How UNEQUAL is society when politicians are given soft interviews and air time to ( spout ) express their views at will when the CITIZENS of the state have no immediate FORUM OF REPLY. Would it be possible for every radio/tv station to have a revolving panel - recognised by the government - of ordinary people to comment and agree or disagree with these comments -- GIVE THE POPULACE A VOICE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Oh it's a ''lifestyle'' choice, people aren't moving because of a lack of jobs, they're moving because overall it's shít here, much much better. :rolleyes:

that's why we went and left good jobs in IRL to do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭View

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    Yes we do. We want to go live in an ethical country where greed and lack of ethics and lack of common sense aren't rewarded.

Even the best countries don't meet those criteria and many countries would - hard and all as it is to believe - consider us towards the top (of the better half) of the league table.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,872 ✭✭✭View

Noonan's comments come close to echoing the remarks of the late Brian Lenihan Senior in the '80s - "We can't all live on a small island" - which were made also while discussing emigration.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭thebman

Sand wrote: »
    Noonan gets his speaking points from the DoF civil servants. They told him to say emigration was motivated by a youthful desire, not by the failures of the DoFs policies. Much as they told Mary Coughlan the same thing. The common thread between Noonans and Coughlans equally derranged comments in that they were being advised on what to say by the civil service.

I guess it is just easier to blame Noonan than realise the above is probably more accurate.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

RichardAnd wrote: »
    Perhaps but that doesn't change the fact that Noonan has made an outrageously inaccurate statement.

Many older people in this country seem to think that all the young get up to is socialising and looking for a good time. Noonan's remark demonstrates this wonderfully.

In fairness from what I see here with my own eyes ALOT of Irish people are here just on the piss. Now not all are like this but the vast majority of Irish people leave Ireland on Temp visas. These are not premanent and visa's run out in 12/24 months. Eventually these people will have to return home.

Some of course will get permanent status the majority will not. It was a foot in mouth moment for Noonan no doubt but the faux outrage is pointless. There was some good news yesterday regarding the meeting with the troika, yet this item dominated the headlines.

God, we love to be misserable dont we.

If someone gave Ireland a cheque for 100 billion euro we would probably complain that we have to go to the bank to lodge it and wait a few days for it to clear!

Im actually dreading going back for a visit in April, think all the negativity which im gladly not subjected to here on a daily basis will overwhelm me.

*Note to self, must listen to Joe Duffy to climatise*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭shanered

Absolutely deisgracefully out of touch statement.
    Its this mindset that makes people give up on this country and leave, this arrogence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,401 ✭✭✭batistuta9

I think there's some truth in what he's saying a lot of people who are heading off are going to travel/have a better lifestyle than they would in ireland.

not everyone who's left has done so because they don't see a future for themselves here, obviously some are but i think some of the people have gone as they see this as the best time to do it - people have left jobs to go to australia - something people wouldn't have done a few years ago but will do it now because they see everyone else going. That maybe a minority of people but it's happening

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,684 ✭✭✭JustinDee

Quoted out of context. Look at the entire reply or watch his explanation on yesterday's 6 o'clock news.

As usual, anonymous outrage-addicts go in with guns blazing and heads down.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 13,018 ✭✭✭✭jank

batistuta9 wrote: »
    I think there's some truth in what he's saying a lot of people who are heading off are going to travel/have a better lifestyle than they would in ireland.

not everyone who's left has done so because they don't see a future for themselves here, obviously some are but i think some of the people have gone as they see this as the best time to do it - people have left jobs to go to australia - something people wouldn't have done a few years ago but will do it now because they see everyone else going. That maybe a minority of people but it's happening

I left a permanent role in 2008 to go to NZ before all the $hit hit the fan. Some people genuinely do want to see the world even though there may be jobs at home. I work in IT and from what I hear at home getting a job wouldnt be too much of an issue. A lot of it is a personal choice. There are lots of germans, swedes, chinese, brazilians and a **** load of french people here too from what I see. Not all those economies are in the tank! The world is a lot more mobile, high skilled labour is constantly in flux. So yes, what Nonan said about "young" people is kinda right only that irish people like to be outraged.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Its quite an over reaction.

The fact is, in the boom years, approx 16000 under 25s emigrated.
    Now its around 35,000.

Yes its a big increase, however its far from the "huddled masses yearning to breath free" picture many responses are trying to paint.

From my own anecdotal perspective, I know 2 couples & several singles who have emigrated in the last 2 years. 2/3rds had very good jobs, and moved to similar good jobs because they wanted to see the world.

My wife and I, both employed, no kids are strongly considering Canada for 2 years in 2013.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

It's a sensitive issue for a lot of people alright, but there's also a lot of truth in what Noonan says. I don't see the reason for people to get so wound up by his comments tbh.

Irish people seem to be getting more sensitive by the day, you can't say anything these days without people jumping up and down. "F*cking government" etc.. People are losing all sense of self-responsibility and jumping on the government-hating bandwagon at every opportunity. Yes, maybe the government could be creating more jobs, but maybe some people need to stop blaming everyone else for their woes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Rubbish, pure and utter rubbish. I assume that you are just taking the role of opposing for oppositions sake on this thread as what you are saying is factually incorrect. The 80's was a decade of MASSIVE unemployment and of massive emigration.

Through the 90's the economy improved and through that decade and the early to mid 2000's we had irish people immigrating back to this country because of the employment opportunities.

Now that massive unemployment is back we have massive emigration. It dosen't take a genius to figure out the link between the two but Noonan seems to be more concerned with spoofing bulls--t.

You need to read the post I quoted and the context in which i posted my response

You have completly misunderstood what i have said

but don't let that get in the way of a good rant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭CamperMan

Noonan looks like one of these people that escaped the nuthouse!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 992 ✭✭✭LostinKildare

JustinDee wrote: »
    Quoted out of context. Look at the entire reply or watch his explanation on yesterday's 6 o'clock news.

Do you have a link to the entire reply?

I thought his furious backpedaling on the news was very unconvincing (what was the wittering about people going abroad to get married?!)

And all news sources that I've seen have reported it in the same way.

So if you have anything to back up his contention that he was quoted out of context (besides his lame say-so), please throw it up here.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I keep hearing this out of context excuse - but not one person has produced a recording of their supposed version they heard that proves it!

The proof is in the pudding, please produce it or get out of Dodge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Noonan gets his speaking points from the DoF civil servants. They told him to say emigration was motivated by a youthful desire, not by the failures of the DoFs policies. Much as they told Mary Coughlan the same thing. The common thread between Noonans and Coughlans equally derranged comments in that they were being advised on what to say by the civil service.

Ok, so its the DoF's fault now? :rolleyes:

Firstly, I dont believe a word of it, secondly even if they told him to say he he should have the cop on to realise that its a desperately insensitive thing to say, or does the Minister have no control over his thought process, if not he should resign and put the DoF mandarins in charge.

Interesting how during the last government it was all the fault of the government TD's and Ministers, now the new crowd are in its the fault of the civil servants.

FWIW I emigrated just over 20 years ago as I wanted to see something different, although the prospects here were grim enough. The difference between people emigrating now and 6 or 7 years ago is that for some its a choice but for tens of thousands its the last available option, they have no choice but to emigrate, and this is what Noonan seems to be oblivious to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭gmurphy70

I am living in a rural part of Ireland,Not alone are their lots of young guys emigrating looking for work But 6 families i know of. That means Kids are moved out of schools ,away from their outer family,away from their friends uprooted to a new culture. They are also starting from scratch,intergrating into new schools,making friends etc.

Noonan should go to these grandparents and tell them that its a lifestyle change. CNUT.

I had to laugh at the above.

Noonan is a veteran politician who has done probably hundreds if not thousands of chats and interviews.
    In all those decades I'm sure the any of the dumbest political heads out there, has also learned how to string a sentence together without the use of thick crayons and someone to hold their hand.

The man might have been told something but he has (I hope) a brain in his head still and knows exactly what he is saying when he opens his own gob.

A gob by the way, he still has the legal right to open or keep shut!
    No one is FORCING him to say what he does and he, I am sure, is capable of choosing his own words.
    He also by the way - has the option to take what others give him in information or not.
    And if HE takes it and repeats it, then he is either (a) standing by that given to him and/or (b) willing to at least take the same position and further speak it, for believing then the same thing!

The man is not a child.
    Placing blame on the DOF is a petty excuse!

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

gmurphy70 wrote: »
    I am living in a rural part of Ireland,Not alone are their lots of young guys emigrating looking for work But 6 families i know of. That means Kids are moved out of schools ,away from their outer family,away from their friends uprooted to a new culture. They are also starting from scratch,intergrating into new schools,making friends etc.

Noonan should go to these grandparents and tell them that its a lifestyle change. CNUT.

So what do you suggest is done? Creation of a whole pile of unsustainable jobs in construction in rural areas? Manufacturing job? How long will those jobs last? How should the big bad government address the problem of a lack of jobs in rural Ireland?

The unfortunate reality is that most of the jobs that are available are in population centres, and not in rural Ireland. I'm not happy about seeing families that have to move for work having to pull kids out of schools etc., but let's be realistic about it - people need work and need to go where work is. The government cannot be expected to keep suitable work in every single location for every single person.

The personal abuse Noonan is getting with people calling him a "CNUT" etc. is pretty disgusting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,912 ✭✭✭HellFireClub

Tipp Man wrote: »
    I wonder are the people who have emigrated as up in arms about this as the people who are still in Ireland??

Seems to me he is right - the lads n lasses who have gone to Australia for instance are nearly all having a ball and doing well for themselves. Given the option, in my circle of friends and acquintances anyway, very few of them have any inclination of coming back to Ireland to live. Same goes for a few lads i know in Canada

Couldn't agree more really, if my circumstances were such that I could leave this country I would, only I'm tied here with a business I started up, that I had to start up, to get myself off the dole.

If I was in a position to leave here, the career would only be the half of it. Ireland is an extremely depressing place to live at the moment, the anger, the lies out of the political system that is meant to be running the place, the endless spin and shallowness that is there, the abject lack of hope, the despair, but all the time, the politicans are actively in the process of blagging a whole economic recovery, it's this messing with your head that would have me wanting to leave Ireland.

There is no plan for job creation, how on earth could there possibly be a plan for job creation when banks are closed for business, but at the same time are lying and spinning about how they are dealing with small businesses, but the truth that cannot be hidden, comes out to show its face every month in more business closures and thousands more jobs lost.

If we have a problem, we would be best served by facing up to it and seeing for what it is and then trying to plan a way to fix it. There is a refusal to do that in this country, and endless bickering and whinging is what has stepped in to fill the huge vacuum.

The truth as I see it, is that there isn't the politcal intelligence in this country to first of all recognise the cause of simple problems, and then try to deal with the problem by way of taking actions against the problem.

If you have more people losing jobs every month, then this feeds into consumer sentiment and expenditure, less is spent and more jobs are lost, it's like a runaway train.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Aside from the personal abuse, what would you like the Minister to do?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭phil1nj

PauloMN wrote: »
    The personal abuse Noonan is getting with people calling him a "CNUT" etc. is pretty disgusting.

Oh I don't know, give it another 12 months and people will be calling him much worse than this (my money would be right after the next budget).

The fact is that Noonan and others of his ilk (that Shatter bollox for one) are completely out of touch with what is actually going on in this country and to the perception of ordinary folks trying to make a living. Noonan's statement is just another reflection of this.

On a side note, last week Leo V. was on the last word and stated that even though the cost of the NCT had increased from 50 to 55Euro, in his opinion this wasn't a 10% increase, it was more like a 2-3% increase as the cost hadn't gone up in 3 years:confused:. This to me along with Noonan's back pedalling is another reflection of how politicians minds' work. If they say something then, despite evidence to the contrary, they are correct end of.

These guys would want to stop pissing down peoples backs and telling them it's raining if they want people to stop calling them CNUTs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,806 ✭✭✭D1stant

PauloMN wrote: »
    So what do you suggest is done? Creation of a whole pile of unsustainable jobs in construction in rural areas? Manufacturing job? How long will those jobs last? How should the big bad government address the problem of a lack of jobs in rural Ireland?

The unfortunate reality is that most of the jobs that are available are in population centres, and not in rural Ireland. I'm not happy about seeing families that have to move for work having to pull kids out of schools etc., but let's be realistic about it - people need work and need to go where work is. The government cannot be expected to keep suitable work in every single location for every single person.

Thats not the issue. Everyone knows that famillies have to emigrate against their wishes and that towns are being destroyed by this. Its the dishonesty of the comments by Noonan that is disgusting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,236 ✭✭✭Dannyboy83

Biggins wrote: »
    Noonan is a veteran politician who has done probably hundreds if not thousands of chats and interviews.
    In all those decades I'm sure the any of the dumbest political heads out there, has also learned how to string a sentence together without the use of thick crayons and someone to hold their hand.

The man might have been told something but he has (I hope) a brain in his head still and knows exactly what he is saying when he opens his own gob.

Cowen was portrayed as some kind of genius for years.
    He waffled his way through years of interviews.
    In the end, it turned out he was just a fcuking halfwit.
    The man literally must have been on the piss for several years during his tenure as MoF, yet he managed to pull the wool over all our eyes - He was well able to waffle.

But when he became taoiseach, it became painfully apparent the man was an imbecile who had spent his career being told what to do. And yet this man managed to become leader of his country.
    Calamity Coughlan was quite transparently a halfwit and she was no.2!

Occam's razor says that Coughlan and Noonan being advised on what to say by the civil service is the simplest and most plausible explanation.

I wouldn't rule out Sand's theory at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭irishh_bob

so they have relocated to another part of the country and this involved moving thier kids to a different schools , hardly ethnic cleansing

Dannyboy83 wrote: »
    ...I wouldn't rule out Sand's theory at all.

I wouldn't rule it out either.
    Its just a pity the man can't think for himself all these years?
    If he hasn't learned to gather information from various sources and then formulate an opinion by now for himself - christ - is he in the wrong job or what!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,485 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Really ?? Are you trying to deflect from the man's arrogance or can he not read at all ? It reminds me of a wee lad in school "please sir, he told me to say it".

Here you go, this post will explain it:
    sand wrote:
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=75919776&postcount=18
    I dont think its possible to explore an alternative in Irish politics. Essentially - given the "whip" rules, the Dail is a side show. A national political movement is voted into power, based on local personality contests (so already, a disconnect between voters and reality). That national political movement then votes to elect a government - usually the terms under which the government are elected bear little resemblance to the terms under which the voters were asked to vote.

Even then, practically the entire Dail is then emasculated - once the government is appointed the Dail has fufilled its purpose, apart from giving various people the opportunity to talk to an empty chamber.

Power is then held in the cabinet, which makes decisions and merely asks the Dail for a rubber stamp to maintain the pretence of democratic accountability. Of course, the cabinet are essentially noobs - people who are usually teacher or publicans or lawyers who havent the slightest ****ing clue of how a country is run or have any idea of how their country was previously run. They are essentially, completely and totally inexperienced in everything except winning local popularity contests. As well as teaching, running a pub or being a lawyer. All information is horded so that the Dail is completely uninformed - therefore, a politician can have a 20 year career and not have any more idea of whats going on than what they read in a paper.

So in reality, power sits with the permament government - the civil servants. These are the people who are always in power, who are always advising inexperienced and out of their depth ministers, who are always in a position to present "the facts", who brief the politicians with their speaking points and what to say ( which more than anything else betrays the reality - if ministers were driving, theyd know their own minds well enough to present their idea...) and who never face any accountability at all. The worst fate to befall a civil servant is to be promoted to Europe.

People often wonder why politicians say X in opposition and Y in government. Its because the government never, ever changes. Y is always the position. All that changes are the puppets presenting the position of the civil service. If a minister dares to go against the civil service, then he will be briefed against and left to the wolves. Ever wonder why McCreevy is the most hated and reviled Minister of recent times in the media? He was also the Minister renowned for ignoring his civil servants and going against their "advice". Thats why.

A painfully accurate post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,485 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Here you go, this post will explain it:

A painfully accurate post.

I know what you are saying but do you not think that there was little/nothing to be gained by making the ridiculous statement in the first place. Not for Noonan and not for the C.S. It was a stupid uncaring thing to say from either source. AND Noonan has previous history in the McCole case.
    It just does not compute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 181 ✭✭gmurphy70

For 1 is to admit that emigration is a huge problem and not a lifestyle change!!
    Remarks like this just shows how distant he is from the real world and working class Ireland.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Planet Earth.

He was simply suggesting that some of us choose to see a little more of that planet and broaden our horizons when we have the chance.

Nothing wrong with that in my book.

He also acknowledged that there are many who are forced to seek employment abroad, but those ranters and ravers calling him deluded choose to ignore the full context of what he said.

I think Pierce Doherty should seek medical attention before his hysterical hissy fits give him a heart attack, and as for Willie O'Dea seeking an apology from Minister Noonan - Well thats just comical.

I know what you are saying but do you not think that there was little/nothing to be gained by making the ridiculous statement in the first place.
    Not for Noonan and not for the C.S.
    It was a stupid uncaring thing to say from either source.
    AND Noonan has previous history in the McCole case.
    It just does not compute.

I think it shows either:
    A) complete obliviousness to what is actually happening on the ground
    or
    B) This government have already been fully captivated by the Civil Service.

People were backpacking when I finished University - sure - but people go backpacking in SE Asia.......not Slough FFS!
    Why did 200,000 Irish males under 28 suddenly decide to go 'backpacking' since 2009? Something in the water? LOL!

The thing that concerns me tho is that my friends who are leaving are mostly skilled. It's the people with no skills who are staying behind instead of emigrating.

Traditionally, the unskilled left and got jobs where they could, because life on social welfare here was no alternative. Now we have a perverse scenario where it's better to be on social welfare than on minimum wage, and it's quite possibly better to be on social welfare than to go abroad and work for minimum wage.

And the crazy distortion in the Irish Labour market is driving well educated, qualified professionals in the private sector to start new lives elsewhere, not because of the lifestyle choice abroad, but because of the lack of a future at home.

The country is losing the people it needs, and keeping the people it need to lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,080 ✭✭✭hallelujajordan

I wouldn't rule it out either.
    Its just a pity the man can't think for himself all these years?
    If he hasn't learned to gather information from various sources and then formulate an opinion by now for himself - christ - is he in the wrong job or what!

Take a look at last nights Six-one news on RTE Player; 25:00 . . Noonan shares his opinion. He also claims that during his press conference he went on to say that there were over 100,000 people in the building industry who had been forced to emigrate to Australia and that our focus should be on improving education standards and skill levels in Ireland so that our people don't have to emigrate. .

I was also listening to Shane Coleman on The Right Hook last night who had heard the entire press conference and agreed that Noonan had been quoted out of context. .

Feels to me like the media have provided an unbalanced and sensationalist account of what actually took place and opportunistic opposition TD's have tried to take advantage !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 457 ✭✭onedmc

How many posters here have actually listened to what he said before commenting

Take a look at last nights Six-one news on RTE Player; 25:00 . . Noonan shares his opinion. He also claims that during his press conference he went on to say that there were over 100,000 people in the building industry who had been forced to emigrate to Australia and that our focus should be on improving education standards and skill levels in Ireland so that our people don't have to emigrate. .

I was also listening to Shane Coleman on The Right Hook last night who had heard the entire press conference and agreed that Noonan had been quoted out of context. .

Feels to me like the media have provided an unbalanced and sensationalist account of what actually took place and opportunistic opposition TD's have tried to take advantage !

I'm willing to give you the credit of the doubt, we disagree often but you've always (I think anyway) been honest from the heart.

I still feel myself though that what he stated or they say he stated was crassly put to say the least.
    A man of his experience and skills should know and do better!

I'm willing to give you the credit of the doubt, we disagree often but you've always (I think anyway) been honest from the heart.

I still feel myself though that what he stated or they say he stated was crassly put to say the least.
    A man of his experience and skills should know and do better
    !

Agree . . Coleman also said that his comments were in response to a question from the BBC. . and that Noonan might have felt a need to educate the British journalist on the fact that Irish people have been emigrating for years, regardless of the economic climate . .

I wouldn't normally jump to Noonan's defence but in this case I would prefer to see the full press conference before jumping on the attack . . unfortunately, none of the media outlets seem to have published anything other than the sensationalist bits.

onedmc wrote: »
    How many posters here have actually listened to what he said before commenting

Just look at the OP provided by Biggins, then explain how it's out of context.
    It's laughable.

The Irish political class cannot deal with the internet, it's a thorn in their side.
    In the 90s, they would have got away with this, now they can't and they don't know how to cope, HAHAHA! :D

p.s.
    The housing market has not collapsed, it's just that the builders all have bad backs and they're all on sick leave!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭swimming in a sea

Calamity Coughlan was quite transparently a halfwit and she was no.2!

I always thought it funny Irish people laughing at america at the thought of them electing Sarah Palin, when we had our own hockey mom from our Alaska(Donegal) fu*king things up.

At lest the yanks were not as stupid as irish and didn't elect her, although she could hardly have been worse than Mary Coughlan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 505 ✭✭✭alejandro1977

cronin_j wrote: »
    I wrote him an email

Well I moved abroad by choice. Therefore you're wrong.

Seriously, get a grip, he didn't say that everyone who emigrated did so voluntarily. If that's the level of attention to detail you typically display no wonder you had to emigrate.

This thread is a joke, if people put the same effort into creating their own jobs as they do into keyboard warrior-ing there'd be no unemployment in the country.

I keep hearing this out of context excuse - but not one person has produced a recording of their supposed version they heard that proves it!

The proof is in the pudding, please produce it or get out of Dodge!

I heard it on Newstalk. It was out of context. He also mentioned his 5 adult children and mentioned 3 of them had moved abroad for lifestyle reasons.

As you're the one making a song and dance about it the onus is on you to show the transcript.

Just look at the OP provided by Biggins, then explain how it's out of context.
    It's laughable.

The Irish political class cannot deal with the internet, it's a thorn in their side.
    In the 90s, they would have got away with this, now they can't and they don't know how to cope, HAHAHA! :D

p.s.
    The housing market has not collapsed, it's just that the builders all have bad backs and they're all on sick leave!!

The OP was a quote from a fairly one-sided piece of reporting in The Journal . . . It's fair enough to look beyond a story like this and consider the context. . . Noonan does claim on Six-one news (RTE Player, 25 mins in) that he went on to talk about the people who had no choice but to emigrate, which is supported by Shane Colemans comments on the Right Hook.

Not sure what this has to do with the internet :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,630 ✭✭✭steelcityblues

Pompous Gilmore defending Noonan's comments - what a surprise.

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/gilmore-noonan-emigration-comments-misinterpreted-536723.html

The OP was a quote from a fairly one-sided piece of reporting in The Journal . . . It's fair enough to look beyond a story like this and consider the context. . . Noonan does claim on Six-one news (RTE Player, 25 mins in) that he went on to talk about the people who had no choice but to emigrate, which is supported by Shane Colemans comments on the Right Hook.

I have zero interest in what Shane Coleman said.
    I'm only interested in what Michael Noonan said.

Can you please confirm that the statements Noonan made in the OP provided by Biggins are false?
    If you can confirm that, that I withdraw my objection.

If you cannot confirm it, then I honestly have no idea why you keep bringing Coleman into the case....what does he have to do with this???:confused::confused:

Could somebody please explain to me - how can this be taken out of context

“It’s not being driven by unemployment at home, it’s being driven by a desire to see another part of the world and live there.”

There is nothing to take out of context there. It is a very definite statement

Do people mean to say he was misquoted?

Could somebody please explain to me - how can this be taken out of context

“It’s not being driven by unemployment at home, it’s being driven by a desire to see another part of the world and live there.”

There is nothing to take out of context there. It is a very definite statement

Do people mean to say he was misquoted?

He was referring to a subset of the emigration.
    here: knock yourself out. @ 25.00 minutes

http://www.rte.ie/news/player.html?sixonenews#programme=Six%20One%20News

He was referring to a subset of the emigration.
    here: knock yourself out. @ 25.00 minutes

http://www.rte.ie/news/player.html?sixonenews#programme=Six%20One%20News

He says on the news clip, he is being MISQUOTED.
    He specifically says "I said for 'some' people" at 25:00.
    Then he says, for the vast majority of people, it is forced emigration.

That is not the quote provided in the OP.
    In the OP, it is definite and explicit
    "It’s not being driven by unemployment at home, it’s being driven by a desire to see another part of the world and live there.”

http://www.thejournal.ie/noonan-on-emigration-comments-i-am-being-quoted-out-of-context-332657-Jan2012/

Referring to his earlier press conference, Noonan said: “I am being quoted out of context.

There is a fundamental difference between MISQUOTED and QUOTED OUT OF CONTEXT.

"It’s not being driven by unemployment at home, it’s being driven by a desire to see another part of the world and live there.”

"For some people, It’s not being driven by unemployment at home, it’s being driven by a desire to see another part of the world and live there.”

Can you see the difference there ?? Technically neither is a misquote but one certainly means something different than the other . .

In our rush to judgement we should be careful to consider all the facts . .

http://media.newstalk.ie/listenback/49/

Click on Breakfast (Friday);
    Part 4;

You're welcome.

for the full whack:

http://www.rte.ie/news/av/2012/0119/media-3172720.html#

Go to 31:43.

Obviously the OP has too short an attention span to get that far and needs his politics digested and regurgitated by the journal.ie

http://media.newstalk.ie/listenback/49/

Click on Breakfast (Friday);
    Part 4;

You're welcome.

Thanks for the link.

Here is what Noonan actually said
    "A lot of the people who go to Australia, it's not being driven by unemployment at home, it's being driven by a desire to go to another part of the world and live there"

Let's see;
    i) Unemployment rate running at 50% for men under 26, 30 percent for women under 26.
    ii) 2nd highest unemployment rate in the European Union.
    iii) highest emigration rate in the european union

I will give him this; 4 years ago, he was right.
    In Ireland 2012, he may aswell be telling us a lot of the Africans just like the skinny look.