Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Scummy things that scummy people do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Sadderday

I don't believe so. If I get behind someone with a big trolley in a supermarket, I expect to wait. If I'm in a bank queue I've no idea how long transaction might take, so I don't mind waiting.

But in a queue for an ATM I don't expect each person to take very long, so when someone seems to be finished but then goes back for one or two more transactions, then it's very frustrating, especially considering that not all transactions are probably vital. I think it's reasonable to expect people to make their most important transaction, then if they need to use their card again for something else, they should go to the back of the queue.

Sort out your banking online for all that jazz. ATMs should be only giving you cash. Everything else online or in branch.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Sadderday wrote: »
    Sort out your banking online for all that jazz. ATMs should be only giving you cash. Everything else online or in branch.

You are going to hate the future. Every bank is rolling out more features on ATMs to reduce traffic in branches.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Or the pr*cks that put the chicken into the roll last so that it just falls out with every bite.
    And then if Mayo was the last item added before the chicken, you've got yourself some stained clothes.

Sandwich making pr*cks.

yeah, never ask for butter. You either get half a tub of dairygold or nil all on the fec'kin thing.... and just squirt my mayo or sauce on please... whats the story with the spoon these days

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    You are going to hate the future. Every bank is rolling out more features on ATMs to reduce traffic in branches.

I'll be paying by laser after all so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 716 ✭✭✭pitythefool

I worked for a big 'charity' that neglected the disabled people in their care while paying huge money to an army of executives. One of the biggest charities in the country and their still getting away with it!

I tried to go to the papers but I was set upon by their (very expensive) lawyers and sacked! Very nasty people yet most people would see them as a wonderful, caring charity.
    sue the bollicks off them

will yas FFS take the plastic sticky screen protector off your phone when you buy a new one!!!!! there is no need to keep it on to 'protect the screen'... picking at it while your in the ATM queue is going to make it curl up at the corners anyway. so annoying

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,398 ✭✭✭StinkyMunkey

Girls who smear their used sanitary towels all over a wall in a pub toilet (sorry to say ive been there to clean the mess:mad:).

Guys who sh1t in a urinal in a pub (sorry to say ive also been unfortunate enough to clean this up:mad:).

Guys who sh1t in a pint glass and leave it on the bar (i was particularly put out about this one:mad:).

People who think its fine to let their dog sh1te outside your front garden on the grass verge (ive a pain in my sack cleaning dogsh1te off my shoes, i usually spot it, but not always:mad:).

Having to try wake a girl up who is in a cubicle with her pants around her ankles, when their is no female staff on :(.

Girls who smear their used sanitary towels all over a wall in a pub toilet (sorry to say ive been there to clean the mess:mad:).

Guys who sh1t in a urinal in a pub (sorry to say ive also been unfortunate enough to clean this up:mad:).

Guys who sh1t in a pint glass and leave it on the bar (i was particularly put out about this one:mad:).

People who think its fine to let their dog sh1te outside your front garden on the grass verge (ive a pain in my sack cleaning dogsh1te off my shoes, i usually spot it, but not always:mad:).

Having to try wake a girl up who is in a cubicle with her pants around her ankles, when their is no female staff on :(.

Hope ya fecked out that pint glass!!!!

I did, i also had some stern words with the guy responsible (he should not have gone around bragging about it).

sounds like a gimp!

Scummy

People that rip up millions of beermats and leave the pile on the table are scummy

People that are out in the smoking area dryhumping are scummy too

sounds like a gimp!

Scummy

Well he wasnt laughing when he left the bar flanked by various members of staff, one of the girls i worked with at the time had to be retrained O.o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭gallag

You can now top up your phone credit at some atm's. You guys will ****ing love that, lifting money of two cards and topping up the phone.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Farming area

Elderly neighbour went to a wholesaler.
    They sell animal feed and buy barley, grain etc off farmers

The neighbour was hit by a forklift and his foot was crushed. It was an accident, these things happen.

A young man would have recovered but he was elderly and so got a wheelchair.

He can walk alright but the motorized chair is to help and so he doesn't get tired and worn out.

House got robbed

Thiefs stole the electric motor wheel chair. :(

Can you get lower then stealing a mans wheelchair?

Happened in Limerick to a young lad recently

I have seen this Lad pushing himself to school most mornings so he is obviously very proud and independent

These ##### took away his independence and i have to say id like to take away theres

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Squaredude

Noisy eaters,oh how I loathe noisy eaters!
    And nail biters.

People who dont usually drink doing the 12 pubs of Christmas

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭Wattle

People who play music out loud on the bus. Fks sake use your headphones we don't all like your choice of music :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,380 ✭✭✭geeky

To judge by this thread, many people seem to equate 'inconvenient for me individually' with 'scummy'.

Which says a lot in itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Holy **** i remember reading that in the paper like 3 -4 years ago wasnt she trapped for a half hour in there or something?
    We'll it was 2005, I think, when it happened my friend, the first year it changed from Witness to Oxegen! Unless it was another girl too. But yes, she was stuck for a good while because she couldn't open the door.

It was such a horrid thing to do to someone. She was, understandably, hysterical for days after it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 425 ✭✭gingernut125

geeky wrote: »
    To judge by this thread, many people seem to equate 'inconvenient for me individually' with 'scummy'.

Agreed. It's a really scummy thing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭ANXIOUS

Well he wasnt laughing when he left the bar flanked by various members of staff, one of the girls i worked with at the time had to be retrained O.o

Surely her parents should've trained her to **** in the jacks. Not something for her employer to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

I mean... really??

hahahaha love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,657 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

Not exactly similar to the first few posts.

I was in a sauna and this heavy guy who had been in there for a while stepped out, dripping in sweat, and leaped straight into the swimming pool. Scummy was the word that came to mind.

I've seen that a few times in a few months actually, maybe I should look at different leisure centres.

you reminded me, Was in the local gym and another guy came into the dressing room looking for one of the staff, when he found one, he pointed to a foreign chap in the pool, pulling scabs off of his body, the dirty barsteward

• Closed Accounts Posts: 390 ✭✭kat.mac

I don't believe so. If I get behind someone with a big trolley in a supermarket, I expect to wait. If I'm in a bank queue I've no idea how long transaction might take, so I don't mind waiting.

But in a queue for an ATM I don't expect each person to take very long, so when someone seems to be finished but then goes back for one or two more transactions, then it's very frustrating, especially considering that not all transactions are probably vital. I think it's reasonable to expect people to make their most important transaction, then if they need to use their card again for something else, they should go to the back of the queue.

You're either a wind-up merchant or you just need to get clean over that one! People are fully entitled to carry out whatever business they see fit at the ATM. Sure, waiting can be frustrating, but I really don't see anything reasonable in what you're saying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭kilkenny12

People that take up pages of an internet forum with posts that are irrelevant to the thread and don't even tell us a story @Sadderday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,564 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

A landlord my friend had was literally the scummiest person I have ever met. I started a thread about him before out of disgust. I was always conscious of manners growing up so maybe I'm biased. Anyway this guy was the biggest tax dodging, tenant mistreating disgusting baxtard.

Apart from the above the man took dumps with the door open and when he heard someone come in the house (he lived in my friends house even though he pretended the flat wasn't owner occupied for tax reasons) he left the toilet with his underwear around his ankles even in front of girls. Franky a disgusting man and I had to use restraint to stop myself calling him something worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

kat.mac wrote: »
    You're either a wind-up merchant or you just need to get clean over that one! People are fully entitled to carry out whatever business they see fit at the ATM. Sure, waiting can be frustrating, but I really don't see anything reasonable in what you're saying.

That's a first! I can assure you that I'm not. It's something that I find annoying and unnecessary, that's all. And worst of all, it's teasing!: making you think they're finished when they're far from it. To me, it's more akin to buying something at a checkout, then pulling some more things out of your pocket, and asking to have them rung through, then perhaps doing so again, than, for example, simply taking a full trolley to a till.
    To me,taking too long at an ATM, whether through dawdling, fumbling for one's card, or putting in one's card(s) and PIN(s) multiple times, has always been bad etiquette as a trip to the ATM is usually expected to be a quick one.

But that's me, I don't expect everyone to agree with me. I didn't think people would get so worked up about it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

????

it annoying but irrelevant, thats why the queue was invented so people can have their turn

I did, i also had some stern words with the guy responsible (he should not have gone around bragging about it).
    stern words?
    would have carried him out ironing board style using his head to open the door

geeky wrote: »

people who think mild inconveniences are the same as scummy behaviour

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭StormWarrior

My sister used to have several quite strange and I think, scummy habits. The worst was (and she was still doing this in her early 20's) if me and her were home alone together and she needed the toilet, she would take off all of her clothes and sit on the toilet with the door wide open. She would put a toilet roll under each foot, and take a notebook and pen with her. To amuse herself while sh*tting, she would write down the names of the kids she went to school with and sit on the toilet pretending to be their teacher marking their work. I would hear her calling out things like "Good work Suzie, 10 out of 10. Bad work Jade, 1 out of 10, see me." If I went upstairs and saw her sitting there nude she wouldn't try to shut the door she'd just sit there, stare me down and say, "Yes, can I help you?"

If it was just me and her in the house she'd also just walk around totally nude and if she was walking ahead of me up the stairs she'd walk really slowly and even stop for a while so I'd have to see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

My sister used to have several quite strange and I think, scummy habits. The worst was (and she was still doing this in her early 20's) if me and her were home alone together and she needed the toilet, she would take off all of her clothes and sit on the toilet with the door wide open. She would put a toilet roll under each foot, and take a notebook and pen with her. To amuse herself while sh*tting, she would write down the names of the kids she went to school with and sit on the toilet pretending to be their teacher marking their work. I would hear her calling out things like "Good work Suzie, 10 out of 10. Bad work Jade, 1 out of 10, see me." If I went upstairs and saw her sitting there nude she wouldn't try to shut the door she'd just sit there, stare me down and say, "Yes, can I help you?"

If it was just me and her in the house she'd also just walk around totally nude and if she was walking ahead of me up the stairs she'd walk really slowly and even stop for a while so I'd have to see.

WTF!! Is she good looking?? Does she sometimes just wear heels when she's walking around in the nip?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Cora Mahoney

:confused: wtf..........

Well at the time she was so morbidly obese that she ended up getting a gastric band, so no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 119 ✭✭greenheart

:D:D:D Can't stop laughing at this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 222 ✭✭The Idyl Race

People that park ... and take up two spots

There's no problem that can't be cured by a can of line marking paint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

Do you live in Wolford or Coronation Street? Most bizarre thing I've ever heard.

Ush1 wrote: »
    Do you live in Wolford or Coronation Street? Most bizarre thing I've ever heard.

Nope, we're English, we live in the westcountry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,482 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I'm not sure scummy is the right word but it sounds like your sister might have some mental issues. Does she do any other unusual things?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,760 ✭✭✭summerskin

that explains so much....

Mousewar wrote: »
    A lot of teenage boys seem to have an inordinate interest in their genitalia these days. I'm not sure when it became fashionable to stand around with your mates with your hands shoved down the front of your trackies.

I used to hate that but when you realise they they have their hand down there to catch the moment when it first starts to grow, it isn't so bad. Poor little fellas

Ush1 wrote: »
    I'm not sure scummy is the right word but it sounds like your sister might have some mental issues. Does she do any other unusual things?

She does loads of things but I can't think of them all now. One thing I can think of right away is that she almost never stops talking and everything she says is usually utter, utter nonsense. When I repeat back to her what she's said she doesn't believe me, so one day I wrote down what she was saying and read it back to her as proof. It was nonsense, a very detailed description about one of our dogs giving the other a gynaecological exam. Even though I read it back immediately after she'd said it, she genuinely didn't believe that she'd said it.

She also insists on wearing her clothes until they turn to rags. Loads of her trousers have holes around the bum area and she likes to bend over and fart at me while wearing them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,324 ✭✭✭BillyMitchel

She does loads of things but I can't think of them all now. One thing I can think of right away is that she almost never stops taling and everything she says is usually utter, utter nonsense. When I repeat back to her what she's said she doesn't believe me, so one day I wrote down what she was saying and read it back to her as proof. It was nonsense, a very detailed description about one of our dogs giving the other a gynaecological exam. Even though I read it back immediately after she'd said it, she genuinely didn't believe that she'd said it.

She also insists on wearing her clothes until they turn to rags. Loads of her trousers have holes around the bum area and she likes to bend over and fart at me while wearing them.

Do you sit down and watch one flew over the cuckoos nest together too??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,420 ✭✭✭Lollipops23

She does loads of things but I can't think of them all now. One thing I can think of right away is that she almost never stops talking and everything she says is usually utter, utter nonsense. When I repeat back to her what she's said she doesn't believe me, so one day I wrote down what she was saying and read it back to her as proof. It was nonsense, a very detailed description about one of our dogs giving the other a gynaecological exam. Even though I read it back immediately after she'd said it, she genuinely didn't believe that she'd said it.

I know it's off topic, but it sounds like your sister needs the help of a professional. What you're telling us is not the behaviour of a mentally well person. Please get her some help.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,925 ✭✭✭Agueroooo

WOW is that real or somebody just taking the pee

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,082 ✭✭✭Squ

Agueroooo wrote: »
    WOW is that real or somebody just taking the pee

If it was real I'm sure she'd have been recorded on a phone by now..
    But you never know, quare aul folk out there

What age was she at the time, if age of consent can we have some laminated photos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

I don't care it it's true or not but that is fcuking hilarious!