Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dissident turfcutters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Dostoevsky wrote: »
    Could this supposed "headbanger" have been Ciarán Cuffe, whose mother was a sister of Ethel Kennedy, Robert Kennedy's wife and who inherited wealth from that connection, a wealth which was revealed in 2003 when it transpired he had shares in environmentally 'unethical' corporations?

Just because you disagree with somebody does not mean they're a "headbanger".

Read my post again bud, i said i posted the link to appease some headbanger that was posting her, and my God there are some good ones.:)

MadsL wrote: »
    Wonder what most people's pensions are invested in. Plenty of 'ethical' sh*t if you go digging.

Hardly the turfcutting industry i would say..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

In February 1998, Síle de Valera, then Minister for Arts, Heritage, Gaeltacht and the Islands, announced that she would seek to phase out turf cutting in blanket bog SACs over 5–10 years, and that a ban on turf cutting should apply immediately in respect of raised bog SACs.

However, by February 1999 - just one year later - following “a series of consultations…with representatives of the farm organisations and turf cutters”,14 the government’s position had changed fundamentally. Minister de Valera announced a self-awarded, unlawful ‘derogation’ of up to 10 years for ‘domestic cutting’ in raised bogs and a ‘derogation’ of indefinite duration for cutting in blanket bog SACs.

The results have been devastating, and cutting continues to this day, notwithstanding the expiry of the unlawful ‘derogation’.

In their 2006 Report, “Assessment of impacts of turf cutting on designated raised bogs”,15 Valverde et al. record “the reduction in the original raised bog area [in Ireland] from 311,000ha to [the] current area of around 18,000ha [a reduction of over 94%].” Ireland’s 2007 Article 17 report to the European Commission under the Habitats Directive recorded a further decrease of 36% in active raised bog extent from 1994-2005.

Source

washman3 wrote: »
    Hardly the turfcutting industry i would say..;)

No, but plenty of vested interest, investing in machines and money made from turfcutting industry. Just note who owns the machines and who is most vocal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

I live in the bog. Bord Na mona cut peat 500m from my back window. So do my neighbours. I know who does more damage. I also had a laugh at your self-righteous guff about Bnm and the environment. They're currently stuffing millions of tonnes of Dublins garbage into a bog a few miles down the road. Environment me hole. I think your arguement is pointless, misinformed and just plain whingey. I'll keep mine, you keep yours.

All your arugements are pointless.
    What does Bord na Mona have to do with preventing these peoples from cutting turf on protect land? It seems that you have issues with Bord na Mona.

Jester252 wrote: »
    What does Bord na Mona have to do with preventing these peoples from cutting turf on protect land? It seems that you have issues with Bord na Mona.

It is a convenient distractor from the issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,714 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Yes, because they've been using these enormous machines in the same bogs for generations also, right? Look at the massive machines in this RTÉ clip from today's news. Can anybody honestly say this is an ancient Irish tradition in practice?

These people are not some dispossessed post-Cromwellian spáilpíní fánacha, writing aisling poetry about a foreign king coming to save the Irish and attending cúirteanna while receiving patronage from the remnants of the Mac Diarmada Rua or the Ó Néill. No siree. They're trying to portray themselves as defenders of ancient tradition. Nothing, in reality, could be further from the truth.

These people are using very large machines to destroy these environmental areas for personal gain. They, and not the EU, are destroying the tradition which they claim to be defending. This has little to do with continuity of local turbary tradition, and everything to do with the oldest tradition of all, mé féinerism.

To be fair most families still only cut for their own use so the same amount of turf is being taken. Yes those machines are destructive but the turf could still be got with little machinery thereby surely meeting everyone's needs yet I've not heard of this being an option.
    One Man with a shade and a slean is not going to so much as kill a butterfly. A tractor and trailer of moderate size take the turf home is going to do little damage.

No, but plenty of vested interest, investing in machines and money made from turfcutting industry. Just note who owns the machines and who is most vocal.

Our Minister for Finance Michael Noonan has his money in German Government Bonds and Willie O'Dea has his in the Blood Diamond industry in Sierra Leone. what would your opinion be on this.??
    Actaully those 'monsterous' machines do well to break even every season.
    they cost about €400 a day on diesel alone before the driver and other overheads are paid. i would'nt exactly class this as a vested interest.
    One owner told me a while back that he would make more cash if he sold his machine as scrap metal, so small is the margin of profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,720 ✭✭✭Schwiiing

There is a special place in hell for the fella who came up with the idea of cutting turf.

mickdw wrote: »
    To be fair most families still only cut for their own use so the same amount of turf is being taken. Yes those machines are destructive but the turf could still be got with little machinery thereby surely meeting everyone's needs yet I've not heard of this being an option.
    One Man with a shade and a slean is not going to so much as kill a butterfly. A tractor and trailer of moderate size take the turf home is going to do little damage.

Yet.
    Hand peat cutting accounts for a staggering 64% loss and afforestation accounts for 2% of the loss of habitat in the Republic of Ireland. This leaves 10% of the raised bogs remaining which are deemed suitable for conservation.
    http://www.ipcc.ie/a-to-z-peatlands/raised-bogs/

One owner told me a while back that he would make more cash if he sold his machine as scrap metal, so small is the margin of profit.

Ask him then why he doesn't. But then perhaps you believe everything the fella in the small rural community providing a service tells you about what he is making on the money he is paid by his rural neighbours. "Ah, sure, I barely get by".

Yes i believe him. he lives in a modest house and drives a 14 year old 4x4.
    has a wife and kids and when his machine breaks down for 1,2 or 3 days he gets sweet FA. when he rings in sick nobody answersthe phone and there is no gold-plated/index linked pension paid for by somebody else that he can avail of.;)

Then why would he not sell the machine for scrap?

As for the rest, he has had 10+ years to see this coming and get into another business. Why should the State subsidise that level of stupidity? What next, subsidies for video player repairmen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,416 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Bummer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,714 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

64% of habitat wiped out by man with spade. It must be a serious tool. Next time I pick a up a spade I will have to be alot more careful. Never knew what they were capable of.
    I've been educated here tonight and have now changed my opinion. If the hand cutter is so destructive, might as well just go with the heavy machinery and save the extra work.

64% of habitat wiped out by man with spade. It must be a serious tool. Next time I pick a shape, I will have to be alt more careful. Never knew what they were capable of.
    I've been educated here tonight and have now changed my opinion. If the hand cutter is so destructive, might as well just go with the heavy machinery and save the extra work.

Yeah, funny that, given all the guff by Ming and the rest about a poor few auld lads footin' a bit o'turf.

I'd say that spade is often JCB shaped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

64% of habitat wiped out by man with spade. It must be a serious tool. Next time I pick a up a spade I will have to be alot more careful. Never knew what they were capable of.

I think he meant a lot of spades rather than just one. Though I suspect you might have known that. It's almost like you don't really care what the facts are!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,117 ✭✭✭Rasheed

Ten years to save and even residential grants available from Sustainable Energy Ireland for Irish residents. For a typical system installation, €800 of grant aid for a wood-pellet stove, €1,400 of grant aid for a stove with integral backboiler, or €2,500 for Biotech wood pellet boilers which will heat your entire house.

So in those ten years, why haven't the governments sorted out the compensation package/ offer of a legal bog? There are still many in limbo, afraid to cut on their own bog, no compensation to buy turf, oil or other fuel sources, no offer of a replacement bog and no offer of turf delivery? Just sitting there, no word from anyone and winter isn't that for off (With many days between now and winter needing heat). What would you advise then to do?

Grants are great (if you are eligible) but fitting a wood pellet stove and boiler is still expensive, even excluding installation fees which the grant wouldn't cover. That isn't even considering that your home is suitable for a wood pellet stove/ boiler, that you have place for them and a suitable area to store the wood pellets. They're not without their own share of problem and are expensive to fix. And those wood pellet stoves and boilers aren't the more attractive.

Rasheed wrote: »
    So in those ten years, why haven't the governments sorted out the compensation package/ offer of a legal bog? There are still many in limbo, afraid to cut on their own bog, no compensation to buy turf, oil or other fuel sources, no offer of a replacement bog and no offer of turf delivery? Just sitting there, no word from anyone and winter isn't that for off (With many days between now and winter needing heat). What would you advise then to do?

I think you are confusing the fact that a 10 year derogation was in force until May 2010, the then Government announced the agreed compensation was finalised in April 2011. http://www.rte.ie/news/2011/0413/299831-turf/

However there has always been a facility for landowners to be compensated:
    A landowner may seek compensation for actual losses incurred as a result of having land included in a NHA, candidate SAC or SPA. Eligible landowners should submit to the Department, details of the losses incurred as a result of the inclusion of lands in a NHA, SAC or SPA, outlining the basis for the calculations. Documentary evidence of past earnings and the activities that produced these should be included with the claim. Should the applicant be dissatisfied with a compensation that is made, the case may be referred to an independent arbitrator who will review the matter and make a final decision.
    http://www.npws.ie/farmerslandowners/schemes/otherformsofcompensation/

All this talk of limbo is frankly a nonsense.
    Fine Gael TD for Roscommon/South Leitrim, Frank Feighan, has revealed that to date €3.25m has been paid out in compensation to turfcutters
    http://www.build.ie/national_news.asp?newsid=161720
    Some 2,008 turf cutters have received annual payments of €1,500 each and 180 turf deliveries which have been made to applicants at a total cost of €3,282,232.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/over-3m-paid-out-to-turfcutters-affected-by-eu-habitat-restrictions-1.2171
    Grants are great (if you are eligible) but fitting a wood pellet stove and boiler is still expensive, even excluding installation fees which the grant wouldn't cover. That isn't even considering that your home is suitable for a wood pellet stove/ boiler, that you have place for them and a suitable area to store the wood pellets. They're not without their own share of problem and are expensive to fix. And those wood pellet stoves and boilers aren't the more attractive.

That's just one option, however you would have thought it not unreasonable that someone with 10 years notice would have sorted this out by now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,759 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

I'd say that spade is often JCB shaped.

So the 64% loss caused by hand peat cutting actually includes machine cutting?

osarusan wrote: »
    So the 64% loss caused by hand peat cutting actually includes machine cutting?

Read my link above and come back to me on what you think it means.

Here's a picture.

http://91.216.241.2/~ipccie/wp/wp-content/uploads/2012/02/raisedutilisationchart.jpg

OVER half of the country's protected bogs have been cut this year, according to protesters who took part in a stand-off with gardai over the weekend
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/protesters-say-half-of-protected-bogs-being-cut-29384926.html

So take the money and still cut the bogs. No honour in these people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,002 ✭✭✭Seedy Arling

Anecdotally i heard there was over 30 gardai in Monivea to try and stop whatever was going on out there. Regardless of whether cutting turf is right or wrong in these areas, it seemed a highly excessive, costly response from the gardai.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

Anecdotally i heard there was over 30 gardai in Monivea to try and stop whatever was going on out there. Regardless of whether cutting turf is right or wrong in these areas, it seemed a highly excessive, costly response from the gardai.

You obviosly havn't seen the amount in fines per day the country will be liable for because of continued turcutting on the protected bogs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭Neddyusa

Hello.

You have repeatedly stated that Bord na Mona does not harvest peat from raised bogs. That is completely WRONG. BNM ONLY cut raised bogs.

It would appear that you do not know the difference between raised and blanket bogs and yet try to appear informed by quoting articles from IPCC an international quango. :D

Let me guess. You do not drive a car? Use electricity? All generated by imported FOSSIL fuels which casue habitat destruction in their harvest and processing.

Bet you'd love it if your car was taken from you because the petrol you burned in it was causing destruction of habitats in the shale oil fields of Canada.

Go and work a week in the bog before you hypocritically criticise Irish people for harvesting their own fuel LOCALLY creating local employment and reducing oil imports........all the while you go about your daily life burning IMPORTED fossil fuels that you have no idea where they come from.

But ignorance is bliss in this case for you becasue it seems that using such fuel is fine just becasue its not on RTE news or covered by the EU habitats directive.

BTW go back to your first year geography teacher and find out what the diference between a raised bog and a blanket bog is before commenting further.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

It would be grand if the government had not burned millions of hectares of turf, in the past few decades.

You obviosly havn't seen the amount in fines per day the country will be liable for because of continued turcutting on the protected bogs!
    No, you're right, i havent! :D

I suppose in a way the cops were right as well, land/rights to work land is such a divisive thing in Irish farming society, things have often turned murderous. And that's a fact!

Families have been destroyed about squabbles over inheriting land etc, I don't see this situation as being much different. I also think this may be a reason why people who are not from a country back ground may not understand the big fuss.

Still, it'll be interesting to see how things pan out.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 3,073 Mod ✭✭✭✭OpenYourEyes

It would be grand if the government had not burned millions of hectares of turf, in the past few decades.

No it wouldn't. Bord na Mona has handed back bogs in protected areas and in the coming years will cease peat harvesting altogether. The "ah sure most of the bogs have been destroyed, we might as well keep going and get rid of the last of them" argument is pretty flawed - we should be thankful that something is being done before its too late.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

The EU directive does set a new precedence in Irish bulls.hitery.

Preventing people whose families have used this source of fuel for generations is just nonsense.

People use to throw their sh1t out a window into the middle of the street for generations. Yet we don't do that anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

No it wouldn't. Bord na Mona has handed back bogs in protected areas and in the coming years will cease peat harvesting altogether. The "ah sure most of the bogs have been destroyed, we might as well keep going and get rid of the last of them" argument is pretty flawed - we should be thankful that something is being done before its too late.

It is flawed only in that the government has burned and continues to burn turf and now, only that it is becoming commercially unviable to continue, are they interested in conservation.
    I believe that these bogs are privately owned? Why not take the unprotected bogs from government ownership and hand it to the cutters, in place of their private land (plus compensation for extra distance from their own bog)

No, you're right, i havent! :D

I suppose in a way the cops were right as well, land/rights to work land is such a divisive thing in Irish farming society, things have often turned murderous. And that's a fact!

Families have been destroyed about squabbles over inheriting land etc, I don't see this situation as being much different. I also think this may be a reason why people who are not from a country back ground may not understand the big fuss.

Still, it'll be interesting to see how things pan out.

Suffice it to say that it makes a lot of sense to invest money in the gardai and NPWS sorting this out now rather than to let it go on for a few more years!

But one of the reasons the Gardai were there is that NPWS Rangers have been threatened with violence and death by the illegal turfcutters, and have had their personal details etc leaked as a form of intimidation, all over this. So the Gardai are at least partly there for the protection of the Rangers.

Suffice it to say that it makes a lot of sense to invest money in the gardai and NPWS sorting this out now rather than to let it go on for a few more years!

But one of the reasons the Gardai were there is that NPWS Rangers have been threatened with violence and death by the illegal turfcutters, and have had their personal details etc leaked as a form of intimidation, all over this. So the Gardai are at least partly there for the protection of the Rangers.
    Yeah, that stands to reason and goes back to my point that it is a very emotive issue. It's a mindset that will be very hard to change straight away.

It is flawed only in that the government has burned and continues to burn turf and now, only that it is becoming commercially unviable to continue, are they interested in conservation.
    I believe that these bogs are privately owned? Why not take the unprotected bogs from government ownership and hand it to the cutters, in place of their private land (plus compensation for extra distance from their own bog)

Don't forget the majority of private bogs can still be cut - the bogs that are protected have been chosen on an independant, scientifically verified basis.

And lets not also forget that turfcutters elsewhere in Europe aren't allowed cut on SACs anymore either - but they weren't given compensation. While I support the idea of compensating the turfcutters, whats already on offer is sufficient if not generous. And one of the options for compensation is relocation to an unprotected bog so that can be cut - again emphasising that the issue is about protecting important habitats, nothing to do with anti-rural or anti-turfcutting. (not that you've said that, but others have)

Oh, and a lot of former Bord na Mona bogs are being handed over for conservation and are being restored and managed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭markpb

it is a very emotive issue. It's a mindset that will be very hard to change straight away.

So was the dominance of the Catholic Church, the smoking ban and the household charge/property tax. Things change, people move on. Sometimes it happens easily, sometimes it takes some coercion.

markpb wrote: »
    So was the dominance of the Catholic Church, the smoking ban and the household charge/property tax. Things change, people move on. Sometimes it happens easily, sometimes it takes some coercion.
    True, true. With these places the traditional ethos is very entrenched. Real dancing at the crossroads type stuff.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

It just shows how much the Government in Dublin is so detached from rural life in Ireland. The EU should be told to get stuffed and we Irish will do what we want with the land our forefathers fought and died for. This is no different to the days of British rule and it is no surprise to see that this was implemented back in 1999 by the Fianna Fail traitor government. People can do what the want on their private property and this is fundamental to the Irish way of life especially in rural Ireland where men spilled blood for 800 years to keep their land.

I own bogland but do not cut it but should I choose to cut it then by god no-one will stop me from doing so. I am currently abroad and reading sh1t like this happening back home really grinds my gears.

Stinicker wrote: »
    It just shows how much the Government in Dublin is so detached from rural life in Ireland. The EU should be told to get stuffed and we Irish will do what we want with the land our forefathers fought and died for. This is no different to the days of British rule and it is no surprise to see that this was implemented back in 1999 by the Fianna Fail traitor government. People can do what the want on their private property and this is fundamental to the Irish way of life especially in rural Ireland where men spilled blood for 800 years to keep their land.

I own bogland but do not cut it but should I choose to cut it then by god no-one will stop me from doing so. I am currently abroad and reading sh1t like this happening back home really grinds my gears.

No it doesn't, it shows how difficult it can be to get people to change their destructive habits because they have become tradition, despite it being in the best interest of the country as a whole.

People can't do what they want on their private propery - try and build a skyscraper on your land, or open a dump, or kill someone - I think you'll find that the best interests of the population take precedent over what you want to do on your land, and thats as it should be!

To suggest that our forefathers fought for this kind of thing is fairly inaccurate too - I have enough respect for them to think that if they could see the benefits of preserving the bogs that we now know, and with turfcutters on this small number of bogs being adequately compensated to give up or to relocate for turfcutting, that they'd realise fairly quickly that its a deal which works out well for pretty much everyone.

To compare this issue with the struggles of Irish people under British rule for hundreds of years shows either a misunderstanding, misinterpretation or perhaps disrespect for our national history.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭8k2q1gfcz9s5d4

Those are a different type of bog. It is raised not blanket bogs that are protected.

Bord na mona harvest blanket bog

Yes, because they've been using these enormous machines in the same bogs for generations also, right? Look at the massive machines in this RTÉ clip from today's news. Can anybody honestly say this is an ancient Irish tradition in practice?

I dont see your point about the big machines. so if everyone went back to using a slane it would be ok?

No it wouldn't. Same damage being done - a significant proportion of which is done at the drainage stage.

The 'traditional practice' argument is often used - but using big JCBs and similar machinery isn't traditional, so the argument that turfcutting should be allowed on SAC's because its a traditional practice is hugely flawed.

No it wouldn't. Same damage being done - a significant proportion of which is done at the drainage stage.

The 'traditional practice' argument is often used - but using big JCBs and similar machinery isn't traditional, so the traditional argument is hugely flawed.

all the damage is done at that stage. Its only the bogs that are still very wet that are being protected. If it has been drained, then its destroyed.

Yeah thats pretty much it - akin to draining all of the blood out of a patient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,396 ✭✭✭markpb

It just shows how much the Government in Dublin is so detached from rural life in Ireland.

This seems like the standard response in Ireland: if the government make a decision I disagree with, it must be because they're from another county/a city/the EU and therefore don't understand how hard my life is. Of the 166 TDs, 122 are not from Dublin. Of the 14 ministers, 10 are not from Dublin. The majority of those TDs come to Dublin 2-3 days a week and then go home. How anyone can claim, with a straight face, that the government is Dublin centric is beyond me.

Ironically, based on your post, if anyone is detached from rural life in Ireland, it's you.
    i own bogland but do not cut it but should I choose to cut it then by god no-one will stop me from doing so. I am currently abroad and reading sh1t like this happening back home really grinds my gears.

Ownership does not confer rights - you always have to obey the law of the land. I own a car but I'm not allowed to drive it at 120kph through villages. I own my house but I'm only allowed burn clean coal. Boo frickin hoo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 478 ✭✭joela

Just a quick point, most of the bogs are not privately owned. The norm is that the cutters have 'turbary' on the bogs. many of the protected bogs are state owned or partially state owned or commonage. Many people cutting don't even hold title for the turbary and some just cut unclaimed plots. The people who do own the bogs they cut will still own the bogs they cut and also get either compo or alternative bog or turf delivery. So all this business about private property is another bit of turf smoke.

Neddyusa wrote: »
    Hello.

You have repeatedly stated that Bord na Mona does not harvest peat from raised bogs. That is completely WRONG. BNM ONLY cut raised bogs.

Then tell me on which of the active 53 raised bog Natura 2000 sites Bord na Mona are actively cutting turf? Please, I'd love to know. A linky would be handy.
    It would appear that you do not know the difference between raised and blanket bogs and yet try to appear informed by quoting articles from IPCC an international quango. :D

And you appear to not know the difference between a bog and an protected bog. Yet you constantly conflagrate the two.
    Let me guess. You do not drive a car? Use electricity? All generated by imported FOSSIL fuels which casue habitat destruction in their harvest and processing.
    Let me guess, you are making assumptions, a significant proportion of the electricity I used to use in Ireland was wind generated. But all of this is a strawman; the purpose of bog protection is to protect the HABITAT not prevent the use of a fossil fuel. Although given climate change tearing up and burning naturally occurring carbon sinks is as close to madness as I can see.
    Bet you'd love it if your car was taken from you because the petrol you burned in it was causing destruction of habitats in the shale oil fields of Canada.
    Strawman argument.
    Go and work a week in the bog before you hypocritically criticise Irish people for harvesting their own fuel LOCALLY creating local employment and reducing oil imports........all the while you go about your daily life burning IMPORTED fossil fuels that you have no idea where they come from.
    Footin' a bit o'turf is it? Sweating in the fields etc etc (hark! is that a tin whistle) sorry, it was drowned out by the sound of the JCB and your self-righteous babble.
    But ignorance is bliss in this case for you becasue it seems that using such fuel is fine just becasue its not on RTE news or covered by the EU habitats directive.
    You are attacking the production of modern clean electricity sources? Wow, perhaps we should start harvesting whales again for lamp oil, y'know locally - creating local employment and all.
    ]BTW go back to your first year geography teacher and find out what the diference between a raised bog and a blanket bog is before commenting further.:)

I have posted and linked the difference. The vast majority of SAC sites/Natura 2000 sites under protection are active raised bog.
    Raised Bogs
    Ireland has a particular responsibility for protecting raised bog habitat as we have a significant proportion of the small surviving remnants of raised bog within Europe. 139 raised bogs have been designated for protection in 53 Raised Bog Special Areas of Conservation (SACs) under the Habitats Directive and 75 Natural Heritage Areas (NHAs) under the Wildlife (Amendment) Act, 2000. source

53 Raised Bog Special Areas of Conservation

75 Raised Bog Natural Heritage Areas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,415 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

People use to throw their sh1t out a window into the middle of the street for generations. Yet we don't do that anymore.
    what has that got to do with somebody cutting turf on their land? nothing, and throwing s//t out on to the street is a public health issue and can cause disease, cutting turf harms nobody

I'm very highly educated. I know words, i have the best words, nobody has better words then me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

what has that got to do with somebody cutting turf on their land? nothing, and throwing s//t out on to the street is a public health issue and can cause disease, cutting turf harms nobody

Apart from the tax payers that have to pay the fines

Leaving aside the protection of the natural habitat, cutting turf is a double whammy environmentally speaking. Firstly burning the turn releases high levels of CO2, a greenhouse gas, then you have removed the bog which left alone would absorb CO2 converting it to O2 mitigating the greenhouse effect.

Burning bogs is about the most environmentally damaging fossil fuel going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,704 ✭✭✭Mr.David

cutting turf harms nobody

harms nobody.....apart from everybody....

The 'bleedin corporation' take it away for free for you now..;)
    Again while somebody else pays.!!