Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Audi Galway on Facebook

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Buzz Meeks wrote: »
    Well it's up to everyone what they want to do. But personally I'd error on the side of caution.

Oh I do too, I know fannyadams about cars myself other than to drive from point A to point B really, so that's why I bring a qualified mechanic with me, and we swap then when she wants to buy a laptop or a new phone :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,555 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

When I saw this all over Facebook, I thought it was to win the car, not for 3 day use of it! WTF! The amount of publicity this appears to have received for what's involved and the hassle of it, is spectacular! The only car that you can buy from a dealership in Ireland that I'd bother trying to win 3 day usage of, would be a bmw i8....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,291 ✭✭✭Padkir

Johnny McKeyboard Warrior

Fantastic! :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Idbatterim wrote: »
    When I saw this all over Facebook, I thought it was to win the car, not for 3 day use of it! WTF! The amount of publicity this appears to have received for what's involved and the hassle of it, is spectacular!

I bet there's a high percentage of people that still think the car was the prize.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,117 ✭✭✭Melisandre121

This was a real competition guys.
    I AM MAY LYDON

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

I AM MAY LYDON.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Je suis May...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,135 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Devils a advocate here........probably in relation to facebook and social media in general as opposed to this topic

Who says they are guilty of fraud and deception? The circumstances surrounding picking the winner are certainly unclear but have been subjected to trial by facebook, that's all.

Some examples, someone said here's a picture of the car going around Galway, someone pointed out, that's actually an a4 and the car is an a3, to which the person posting the photo went, so what?

They've now latched onto the fact that the registration number must be fake because it's not showing up on the m50 registrations etc. cue loads of screen shots of invalid reg. loads more agreeing and outrage.

Well, actually, it takes a few days to a week or more for a car to show up on the database. How do I know? Because I got a new car recently and when I went to change my toll details it did not show up as too new. I hope it's not a fake reg, because I've spent a lot of money on the car :). Plus the reg number is in the 12,000's which going from my number I reckon was only registered Thursday or Friday. But hey, someone on Facebook said it is a fake and they got a lot of likes for it, so it must be true.

Someone else here found 2 negative reviews and posted then here coming to the conclusion that the dealership must be bad! Two? How many customers must that place have?

Someone else here said May looked shady and suspicious. It was suggested that May should give an interview to prove she was real!

Eh, if she is real, she is known to those who matter to her. She does not have to justify herself to random strangers over the Internet because she won (or didn't) some crappy competition for the use of a car over the weekend. No wonder she was hiding behind glasses. The lady looked decided uncomfortable. That's probably because if she is genuine she's not best pleased about being dragged into this rubbish.

There's probably terms and conditions attached to the use of the car. I would think either you have to transfer your insurance over to it or maybe they cover it. If I had to transfer my insurance over, no way would I want the responsibility for that car! What if you kerbed it, or damaged it in some way. If it is their insurance, the person who won was always going to be a safe bet, from an insurance point of view (maybe existing customer and local(so not clocking up loads of Km's do you not think? They are not going to hand over the keys of an expensive brand new car to someone who could just dissappear with a very expensive piece of kit.

I think it was on the wedding thread here a few weeks back that someone posted an alarmist warning about a venue and the shocking treatment she had and why no one should ever book that venue. She also posted it on Trip Advisor
    hoping to damage the hotels reputation. However, the owner came on and gave the real story and it was the original poster that was lying. The anonymous poster was not seen for dust. I find that a disgrace.

Heard a terrible story also about a local lad. Saw the usual on facebook about a pedeophile being spotted in our locality. He must be a magician as well as a pedophile because he was splitting himself in quarters and showing up all over the country at the same time according to Facebook but that's another story. Usual comments from the mob. Until someone pointed out to leave the lad alone he was a local. When I heard the story I as shocked because there is a resemblance to the person in question. There could have been all sorts of trouble for that lad as a result of bad mindedness and mob rule.

Please don't believe all you read on the Internet folks.

Love the term Johnny mc keyboard warrior! Will be borrowing it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 360 ✭✭The Dogs Bollix

anewme wrote: »
    Devils a advocate here........probably in relation to facebook and social media in general as opposed to this topic

Who says they are guilty of fraud and deception? The circumstances surrounding picking the winner are certainly unclear but have been subjected to trial by facebook, that's all.

Some examples, someone said here's a picture of the car going around Galway, someone pointed out, that's actually an a4 and the car is an a3, to which the person posting the photo went, so what?

They've now latched onto the fact that the registration number must be fake because it's not showing up on the m50 registrations etc. cue loads of screen shots of invalid reg. loads more agreeing and outrage.

Well, actually, it takes a few days to a week or more for a car to show up on the database. How do I know? Because I got a new car recently and when I went to change my toll details it did not show up as too new. I hope it's not a fake reg, because I've spent a lot of money on the car :). Plus the reg number is in the 12,000's which going from my number I reckon was only registered Thursday or Friday. But hey, someone on Facebook said it is a fake and they got a lot of likes for it, so it must be true.

Someone else here found 2 negative reviews and posted then here coming to the conclusion that the dealership must be bad! Two? How many customers must that place have?

Someone else here said May looked shady and suspicious. It was suggested that May should give an interview to prove she was real!

Eh, if she is real, she is known to those who matter to her. She does not have to justify herself to random strangers over the Internet because she won (or didn't) some crappy competition for the use of a car over the weekend. No wonder she was hiding behind glasses. The lady looked decided uncomfortable. That's probably because if she is genuine she's not best pleased about being dragged into this rubbish.

There's probably terms and conditions attached to the use of the car. I would think either you have to transfer your insurance over to it or maybe they cover it. If I had to transfer my insurance over, no way would I want the responsibility for that car! What if you kerbed it, or damaged it in some way. If it is their insurance, the person who won was always going to be a safe bet, from an insurance point of view (maybe existing customer and local(so not clocking up loads of Km's do you not think? They are not going to hand over the keys of an expensive brand new car to someone who could just dissappear with a very expensive piece of kit.

I think it was on the wedding thread here a few weeks back that someone posted an alarmist warning about a venue and the shocking treatment she had and why no one should ever book that venue. She also posted it on Trip Advisor
    hoping to damage the hotels reputation. However, the owner came on and gave the real story and it was the original poster that was lying. The anonymous poster was not seen for dust. I find that a disgrace.

Heard a terrible story also about a local lad. Saw the usual on facebook about a pedeophile being spotted in our locality. He must be a magician as well as a pedophile because he was splitting himself in quarters and showing up all over the country at the same time according to Facebook but that's another story. Usual comments from the mob. Until someone pointed out to leave the lad alone he was a local. When I heard the story I as shocked because there is a resemblance to the person in question. There could have been all sorts of trouble for that lad as a result of bad mindedness and mob rule.

Please don't believe all you read on the Internet folks.

Love the term Johnny mc keyboard warrior! Will be borrowing it!

It wasn't her that won it. It was her son, fair enough.

Would you not like something if you won a Facebook competition?

Someone noted in the comments that her son never liked it after the winning the prize on friday. The winning post has been removed. Even though the winner was asked to contact them. So he is on Facebook.

There was another post on Friday by Audi. The winner was picked at random. Some bull crap "it was won fair and square". You think the winner would also like this. This post is also up on their Facebook page since Friday. But no likes by the winner.

The winner picking up the car and not one like for his mammy. Was there ever a David Lydon. I don't think so.

And you're right. They don't have to justify to anyone. But the company was caught out rotten. It's them who has to justify there lies.

Redgirl82 wrote: »
    Still trying to dig themselves out of the hole they have created. They have actually posted as "May Lydon" with the following: "Hi guys, this is not a scam. My sister showed me this competition as I was not on Facebook and I joined only to enter the competition. Just my luck I won. I have been in contact with Audi Galway and I'm travelling to Galway tomorrow evening. Thanks for all those who sent me the congrats message. SO HAPPY "

hahaha.....keep on digging lads. I bet the person running that webpage can't wait for long weekend and hope it is all gone away by Tuesday

As posted above account was created after the winner was announced

I'm only after reading the first page this thread.

Bloody hell. She joined and entered the competition after the winner was announced. But it was her sister who showed her the competition.

Where's her son who supposedly entered her? Or was it pointed out that the competition was closed and May Lydon had joined facebook and won. And along comes her son who also entered and won.

WTF?

And she didn't look happy in her photograph beside the car.

I'm only after reading the first page this thread.

Bloody hell. She joined and entered the competition after the winner was announced. But it was her sister who showed her the competition.

Where's her son who supposedly entered her? Or was it pointed out that the competition was closed and May Lydon had joined facebook and won. And along comes her son who also entered and won.

WTF?

And she didn't look happy in her photograph beside the car.

I'd say she's fuming(if she's genuine) imagine being dragged into this.

There's a load of people taking the p and posting as May Lydon. Some are taking the p and very funny. Others are trying to stir.

The funniest is a when the mob ask questions and challenge the ones having a laugh not realising they are deliberate wind ups.

Can you be sure that this is not a fake profile.

Maybe I'm a cynic but I think people are being terribly naive in relation to Facebook in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,731 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Anyone up for a stakeout to see if May returns the car after the weekend?:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Where was David in the picture.

Perhaps.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Is there much of a delay between a reg plate being issued and it showing up on the likes of CarTell, as as of yet, the Audi's reg doesn't appear to be.

I'd say she's fuming(if she's genuine) imagine being dragged into this.

There's a load of people taking the p and posting as May Lydon. Some are taking the p and very funny. Others are trying to stir.

The funniest is a when the mob ask questions and challenge the ones having a laugh not realising they are deliberate wind ups.

Can you be sure that this is not a fake profile.

Maybe I'm a cynic but I think people are being terribly naive in relation to Facebook in general.

I initially thought some jackass set up a May Lydon as soon as people realised it was a scam.

But so did a few more taking the piss. And they are all still up there.

But the original May Lydon Facebook profile has been deleted. "It's not a scam, I really won it, I'm delighted".

Pure guilty or what and delete all traces off their **** up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 895 ✭✭✭crybaby

They were pretty cheeky with how they displayed that competition as has been already mentioned I am convinced a lot of people thought a car was up for grabs and even reading comments complaining about the winner people still appear to believe that a car was up for grabs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

I know who the next Celebrity Big Brother contestant is gonna be.

I initially thought some jackass set up a May Lydon as soon as people realised it was a scam.

But so did a few more taking the piss. And they are all still up there.

But the original May Lydon Facebook profile has been deleted. "It's not a scam, I really won it, I'm delighted".

Pure guilty or what and delete all traces off their **** up.

Some of the ones are hilarious. The one of bloke with a tasche and a blonde wig and the other one who had a photo if Gandhi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,749 ✭✭✭Flippyfloppy

Is there much of a delay between a reg plate being issued and it showing up on the likes of CarTell, as as of yet, the Audi's reg doesn't appear to be.

Supposedly the car shows up on the motor tax site correctly! I think the fake registration angle is barking up the wrong tree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭snowbabe

Thanks for posting the link I couldnt see any of the comments on their page,hilarious.

Supposedly the car shows up on the motor tax site correctly! I think the fake registration angle is barking up the wrong tree

I've already posted on this. The audi was only registered late this week so would not show up. I know as I got a new car recently and it did not show up when I went to update my toll account and the numbers would make sense too being up at 12000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Patww79 wrote: »
    I doubt the car is fake (why would it be?), but it's plain as day that everything else is a pack of lies.

It's a bit strange that a Galway Audi dealership not having a Galway registered car though?

I've already posted on this. The audi was only registered late this week so would not show up. I know as I got a new car recently and it did not show up when I went to update my toll account and the numbers would make sense too being up at 12000.

I'm not talking about tolls, I mentioned motor tax. You haven't posted on that on this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

http://i.imgur.com/vmb2ITN.png

The entire saga has snowballed from a couple of simple misunderstandings, which IMHO were Audi Galway's fault.:

1. The prize was use of the car for one weekend, and not the car itself.

2. The actual winner drawn decided to nominate somebody else to accept the prize. This person does not (or did not?) have a Facebook profile.

It all turned to sh!te after that, and will be very difficult if not impossible to put right.

File it away under marketing disasters.

I'm not talking about tolls, I mentioned motor tax. You haven't posted on that on this thread.

I'm not just talking about tolls either but the national database. When you are taxing a new car you use the last six digits of the chassis number for its initial tax. They would surely have to tax the car before they let the customer out in it.

I've posted on this thread about the national database. Registrations for tolls, parking at airport ect are all linked to that.

I don't think it's as sinister as everyone is making out. Think whoever masterminded the campaign needs to read digital marketing for dummies!

The entire saga has snowballed from a couple of simple misunderstandings, which IMHO were Audi Galway's fault.:

2. The actual winner drawn decided to nominate somebody else to accept the prize. This person does not (or did not?) have a Facebook profile.

It all turned to sh!te after that, and will be very difficult if not impossible to put right.

I agree entirely. They also made it seem worse by not announcing the winner at 3pm, there was a lot of people online waiting to hear. That set everyone off...and it was very brazen of them to announce a winner that hasn't entered.

Totally agree. I took it up initially that it was FOR THE USE of the car but reading it back now can see that it does not mention USE of the car and that win the car for the weekend Could be misinterpreted as Win it in time for the bank holiday weekend.

Someone else said they would have been better off giving away some audi branded stuff and that would have stopped any misunderstandings.

A competition like that is always going to be a nightmare to monitor as you would have to be very careful picking a winner.

They disabled their ratings system....