Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guess the Village/Town/City Thread 3 (read post 1)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,262 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Sorry, it's my first time using the full site so apologies it's a link.

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 711 ✭✭✭Three More Big Sleeps

Sorry, it's my first time using the full site so apologies it's a link.

No worries, Purps...

512468.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Thought it was a bridge over the Blackwater for a minute.

Truckermal wrote: »
    Thought it was a bridge over the Blackwater for a minute.

It's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Oops!

It's Ardmayle Co. Tipperary

That was quick, well done.
    River Suir bridge.

Somebody stick up one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭Triboro

I did? *squints* :) Do tell, Triboro...

The statue of Paidi in the car park:-

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,153 ✭✭✭jimbobaloobob

Hope the link works

We are getting more rural by the post!

Sorry hope it’s not too rural was more just to see could I post a link.

Welcome Jim.
    Looks like a right miserable spot wherever it is.
    We need Niley.

Welcome Jim.
    Looks like a right miserable spot wherever it is.
    We need Niley.

I won’t torture ye with it. So if Niley doesn’t get it I’ll give ye a hint

Niley always gets it :D

• Registered Users Posts: 584 ✭✭✭niley

I'd say a very substantial clue will be required. I had a look for holy wells/shrines in the western seaboard counties, but nothing's popping out.

My clue will prob give it away.

You’re on the right track niley

Clue
    Gap would be a place closely linked with it.

It's Barna, Co Galway.
    I just googled war memorials in the west and it came up. I knew by the look of it was a commemorative site.
    The clue doesn't mean anything to me.

Yay, I beat Niley :)

Here

It's Barna, Co Galway.
    I just googled war memorials in the west and it came up.
    The clue doesn't mean anything to me.

Yay, I beat Niley :)

MI6 recruitment will be giving you a call :D

niley wrote: »
    MI6 recruitment will be giving you a call :D

Where I live there are quite a few war memorial headstones from the War of Independence so I figured it was war related.

Happy Monday peeps.

Fair play. Yea it’s Fr Griffin monument in Bearna
    bearna being the Irish for Gap visible from the bay it looking in to shore.
    Well done.

There's a big round yoke to the right, out of shot.

Are you not going to claim victory?

But then I'd have to post one myself...maybe I'd have the time for that in a few days, but for now the nice feeling of closing dozens of tabs of images of church ruins will keep me content.

You're tough :)

Sure, isn't it Ardmore Church in the county of the blaa? That gable wall has some very distinctive stonework that I remembered from the last time we were searching for derelict churches.

Oh, and a "big round yoke" :)

https://maps.app.goo.gl/H2NVnLYtEwhUnRRN6

Purps, go on again if you've the time :)

Spot on.

I thought I was being sneaky omitting the tower :)

No, one of you two go ahead when you get time.
    Fair is fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,234 ✭✭✭Be right back

Thought I knew that place alright. Oh well.

Fair is fair.

:) Okay, an easy one for a Monday...

512577.jpg