Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bouncer punches woman who tried to punch him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Keyzer wrote: »
    Bullsh1t...

She swung at him, drunk or not makes no difference.

Maybe she'll think twice about it next time...
    It makes all the difference. This is what doorstaff are paid to do. If they can't take an attempted slap off a girl then they're in the wrong profession.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

MysticMonk wrote: »
    Just checked...couldn't see anything racist that he said or did.

What has he done that's racist and against which race?

Where did you check? Just out of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,331 ✭✭✭Keyzer

armaghlad wrote: »
    It makes all the difference. This is what doorstaff are paid to do. If they can't take an attempted slap off a girl then they're in the wrong profession.

Instinct kicks in for some people, natural reaction to defend and retaliate. If a bloke of the same build had done the same, would that have been acceptable?

You can just ring fence 50% of the population and make up different rules or acceptability levels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Wouldnt fancy working for you, wind up with a nail scissors stuck in your face because everyone knows a wee girl can't hurt anyone

I know a few young wans who could spark a fella with a dig too :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,849 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

The woman is clearly inebriated and striking her was needless as she posed no threat and therefore there is nothing to defend himself from. Gender DOES matter, yes women can be vicious but most of them at best have the physical attributes of a teenage boy. It doesn't take much to restrain a woman, I've seen it time and time again if they lose the plot like this girl has then they can easily be over-powered, restrained and escorted from the premises without resorting to striking them. Having worked with doorstaff, many have the attitude that if there is no cctv it gives them free reign to act the scumbag; and before you accuse me of having a chip on my shoulder the head of our security at present is an absolute gentleman (former champion boxer) who is professional, calm and disciplined when things kick off. He would equally be appalled if one of his men acted like the bouncer in the video

Nah, I don't agree with what you have said above. Are you suggesting just because women are normally physically smaller that they should be treated differently to men? By that logic, do we treat physically weak men differently than we treat men built like brick sh1thouses? I believe in treating everybody the same.

You say he had nothing to defend himself from. Have a look at the video. She tried to punch him. That was what he was defending himself from. Had he brushed her off, she would probably have tried to hit him again, maybe more successfully this time. I feel his reaction was proportional. She wouldn't have enjoyed the slap in the face but it didn't appear to do her too much harm.

I think there are a few lessons to be learned here.

1. If you throw a punch, be prepared for one (or more) coming in reply.

2. If you throw a punch at somebody who is physically stronger than you, be prepared for a much harder punch coming back at you.

3. If you don't want to be punched in return, don't start throwing punches at people in the first place.

4. If you are a woman, you don't have free reign to throw punches at men.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

That's the weakest punch I've ever seen. That should easily have been a knockout!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭monty_python

Sabre0001 wrote: »
    She did well to stay on her feet - leaning into the punch, already off balance, high heels and looks like the ground might be wet. Another few rounds and she'd take him!

And half drunk to supposedly

Everybody has a right to not be assaulted in work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Keyzer wrote: »
    Instinct kicks in for some people, natural reaction to defend and retaliate. If a bloke of the same build had done the same, would that have been acceptable?

You can just ring fence 50% of the population and make up different rules or acceptability levels.

I don't know do you actually understand the point of security staff, of either gender, being expected to behave like professional security staff. The behaviour of this particular scumbag, isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭uch

the fact that she is a woman albeit a very unrefined non feminine one should make no difference.

Fine big Arsé on her all the same

21/25

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Nah, I don't agree with what you have said above. Are you suggesting just because women are normally physically smaller that they should be treated differently to men? By that logic, do we treat physically weak men differently than we treat men built like brick sh1thouses? I believe in treating everybody the same.

You say he had nothing to defend himself from. Have a look at the video. She tried to punch him. That was what he was defending himself from. Had he brushed her off, she would probably have tried to hit him again, maybe more successfully this time. I feel his reaction was proportional. She wouldn't have enjoyed the slap in the face but it didn't appear to do her too much harm.

I think there are a few lessons to be learned here.

1. If you throw a punch, be prepared for one (or more) coming in reply.

2. If you throw a punch at somebody who is physically stronger than you, be prepared for a much harder punch coming back at you.

3. If you don't want to be punched in return, don't start throwing punches at people in the first place.

4. If you are a woman, you don't have free reign to throw punches at men.
    Lesson for doorman:

Use minimum force required. The guys that do our doors are all ex paramilitary. They'd have laughed at this girl and phoned her a taxi/police

Lesson for doorman:

Use minimum force required. The guys that do our doors are all ex paramilitary. They'd have laughed at this girl and phoned her a taxi/police

What kind of paramilitary, ex IRA or ex UDA/UVF?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 903 ✭✭✭MysticMonk

Lesson for doorman:

Like Arkan's Tigers or the Red Hand Commando?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭noaddedsugar

I would have thought that bouncers would be trained in restraining techniques so punching people wouldn't be necessary. I don't think he acted in a professional manner in this case, the punch was completely unnecessary regardless of the sex of the person who swung at him. I don't think he used reasonable force so yeah I think he should be investigated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,524 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Less of the hysterics please, that's not even close to what happened and I think you know that really tbh.

Who's getting hysterical? Do you always try and infer that just because someone disagrees with your point of view, they're getting hysterical? It's a valid point - too many of his type think they can get away with behaviour they wouldn't normally contemplate if they actually had the brains to realise that in their position, they can't.

You seem to laboring under the impression that the woman did nothing wrong, that she was a innocent victim which could not be further than the truth.

Well you made that up, not me. I'm not going to suggest you can't make assertions about me because you don't know me though. I'm not so easily given in to such immature provocation.

Grey Wolves perhaps or maybe ETA!

I would have thought that bouncers would be trained in restraining techniques so punching people wouldn't be necessary. I don't think he acted in a professional manner in this case, the punch was completely unnecessary regardless of the sex of the person who swung at him. I don't think he used reasonable force so yeah I think he should be investigated.

What is reasonable force though? It's very subjective. If the bouncer may have believed that he used reasonable force. If you look at the video, the girl seems pretty ok after the smack. There are many who would consider that to be reasonable force.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

I was in a club years ago and came out of the jacks to see a girl being held down by the hair and kicked by another girl (yes it was a classy place)

Nobody doing anything. I went to stop the scrubber kicking the girl in the head.
    Bouncer having been alerted arrives, grabs me around the neck and drags me out of the place on my heels. The tool !

5 mins later as they found out that I was trying to save the girls teeth, it's all apologies and here's some free tickets etc. Eh, no thanks.

Just thought I'd share that.

Re the OP.
    Bouncer was right and the chav has a nice hoop.

Where did you check? Just out of interest.

I used a popular search engine called Google.

I expected to find him to be calling for the extermination of Black People or Destroying Jewish graveyards or something like that but no,nothing.

So which source did *you* use to find his racism,hatred and bigotry?
    Just out of interest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,529 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

To be fair she took that punch like a champ.

Should the bouncer be criminally liable for something? No way.

Should his employer be reprimanding him? Probably.

A bouncers job is to keep the peace, If they can subdue someone without throwing a punch then they should. In this case he successfully dodged the punch and could have subdued her easily or just continued to avoid her punches.

Last resort is to punch regardless of whether the person is male or female.

People's Front of Judea

They make the most terrifying bouncers of all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,190 ✭✭✭✭seamus

I would have thought that bouncers would be trained in restraining techniques so punching people wouldn't be necessary.
    The amount of people in this thread who seem to believe there's some simple ninja techniques where you can easily stop and restrain anyone mid-punch and failure to do so is incompetence.

It's like the "he should have shot him in the leg" brigade that comes out. Just absolute armchair nonsense which makes a million different assumptions about the scenario.

What's funnier is comments like, "I would have thought..". So clearly you know you wouldn't have been able to restrain her, but you're assuming a bouncer could, based on nothing.
    seachto7 wrote: »
    Would be good to get whole story. I saw a woman being carted out of a pub by two bouncers once, and they were restraining her. It took two. She had a stanley knife.
    There's a popular perception that ickle women can't do much damage and you're never justified hitting them, that a man can always restrain a woman.

You see this woman?:
    http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/body-in-river-killers-weep-as-they-get-life-for-murder-29429510.html

It took four six-foot-something male Gardai to restrain her when she was arrested. 4. I'm pretty sure 2 Gardai could restrain me, what hope would I have against her?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

She deserved it. This is what 21st century feminism delivers. Women deluding themselves thinking they can fight men or square up to men.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 316 ✭✭noaddedsugar

What is reasonable force though? It's very subjective. If the bouncer may have believed that he used reasonable force. If you look at the video, the girl seems pretty ok after the smack. There are many who would consider that to be reasonable force.

Well, to me anyway, in this case it would mean that the only way he could prevent himself being hurt was to smack her face. Personally I feel that in this case a trained professional should have been able to handle it without violence.

To me it looks like she peed him off by swinging at him(fair enough I'd be peeved too) and he lost control of himself. Not acceptable from someone whose job is to keep the peace.

My brother is a mental health nurse, he has been swung at numerous times by people while at work, he manages to restrain them without smacking them in the gob, I don't see why this guy couldn't do the same. Would people be as cool with my brother smacking his patients as people seem to be with this? If not why not, after all no one should be punched at work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,162 ✭✭✭thegreengoblin

MysticMonk wrote: »
    I used a popular search engine called Google.

I expected to find him to be calling for the extermination of Black People or Destroying Jewish graveyards or something like that but no,nothing.

So which source did *you* use to find his racism,hatred and bigotry?
    Just out of interest.

https://twitter.com/TheLiberal_x

Plenty of reading in that to keep you going for a while. It's mostly about the scams he runs as 'competitions' but plenty of evidence to show he's a racist too, such as here https://twitter.com/TheLiberal_x/status/852819282765389825

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I think he reacted appropriately.

She swung. He instinctively pushed her away. Happened to catch her in the face.

He didnt follow up or move.

She's lucky he didnt actually punch her or she'd be in hospital and he would have been fully entitled to claim self defence.

Fair play to him and I hope she is charged with Assault to boot.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

https://twitter.com/TheLiberal_x

Plenty of reading in that to keep you going for a while.

This isn't a thread about the site that published the article so can we stay away from that. There is another thread in After Hours already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭gctest50

My brother is a mental health nurse.......

he manages to restrain them without ......

Like Aras Attracta like ?

Ihxxa7Y.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83