Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who is the most f*cked up person you know that behaves 'normally'/unsuspecting?

• 09-07-2017 04:00PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭

Junkies, drug addicts, homeless, or people with mental illnesses excluded seeing as a large amount of them cannot function normally even if superficially.

Was watching Crime & Investigation/YouTube documentaries and a lot of these serial killers, terrorists, mass murders are known to pretty much everyone in their circle as absolute assholes but otherwise, they function normally until they start killing people.

Doesn't even have to be someone who's committed murder as that's not as common in Ireland but someone who expresses the ideation of murder, terrorism, harming others, outlandish conspiracy theories, racism, sexism, etc.. To a high degree not just bigotry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

It's unlikely you'll know anyone that's posted!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

If they're behaving normally, how are you meant to know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,743 ✭✭✭Wanderer2010

My cousins boss. He puts on the charm for all the clients, smiles and winks as nice as you like but under the mask he is a horrible bully who talks down to his staff, screams at them over the phone and basically demands they work all hours of the day. She has been reduced to tears on 3 occasions. I felt like going in there and ripping this c*unt apart, he wouldn't know how to cope with a man who stands up to him. Bullying in the workplace is such a crime that you actually should be able to report bullying bosses to the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 299 ✭✭Vowel Movement

Cringe-So-Hard-14.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

The wife...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭corner of hells

jeanjolie wrote: »
    Junkies, drug addicts, homeless, or people with mental illnesses excluded seeing as a large amount of them cannot function normally even if superficially.

Was watching Crime & Investigation/YouTube documentaries and a lot of these serial killers, terrorists, mass murders are known to pretty much everyone in their circle as absolute assholes but otherwise, they function normally until they start killing people.

Doesn't even have to be someone who's committed murder as that's not as common in Ireland but someone who expresses the ideation of murder, terrorism, harming others, outlandish conspiracy theories, racism, sexism, etc.. To a high degree not just bigotry.

Your first paragraph is truely magnificent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

whiskeyman wrote: »
    The wife...

I agree with this wholeheartedly..........

.......your missus is mental

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Balmed Out

My cousins boss. He puts on the charm for all the clients, smiles and winks as nice as you like but under the mask he is a horrible bully who talks down to his staff, screams at them over the phone and basically demands they work all hours of the day.
    Very common personality especially in hospitality, pubs, hotels etc.
    Kind of a presidential candidate, all nice words and smiles to customers then round a corner and screaming abuse at staff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭GritBiscuit

Balmed Out wrote: »
    Very common personality especially in hospitality, pubs, hotels etc.

Know a few like that with their families too...all perfect parent and spouse on FB and the like but behind the scenes you see the bruises, hear about the abuse, see the damage wrought on all those close to them as the years roll on...ugh... One of them in particular is the perfect candidate for this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

Know a few like that with their families too...all perfect parent and spouse on FB and the like but behind the scenes you see the bruises, hear about the abuse, see the damage wrought on all those close to them as the years roll on...ugh... One of them in particular is the perfect candidate for this thread.

Street angel, house devil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

This guy I knew in college a bit, he was always a bit weird sitting there talking to himself. He told stories with ****ing relish about how he'd murdered animals, put his cat in the washing machine, cut his rabbits neck, etc. Loved telling those stories, never been so glad to never have to see someone since.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 61,331 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Yer man from the corrs?
    I nearly fall into this category but mental illness apparently excludes me, winning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Donald Trump at the minute, in a serious way, there'll be books written about him as soon as he's gone. That submissive handshake to Putin was the latest act.

Taylor Swift is another one, like an alien trying to act normal.

This guy I knew in college a bit, he was always a bit weird sitting there talking to himself. He told stories with ****ing relish about how he'd murdered animals, put his cat in the washing machine, cut his rabbits neck, etc. Loved telling those stories, never been so glad to never have to see someone since.

That's terrible, everyone knows cats are supposed to be drycleaned...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

There was a young lad that lived near me that looked like butter wouldn't melt in his mouth. I'd known him (to see) since he had been about ten. Then one day I read in the local paper that he had attacked a young woman. He had pulled down her trousers and tried to rape her but couldn't. He then beat her so severely that he permanently damaged either her eye or her ear, I forget which. He was only in his early twenties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,231 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Used to do a sport with a Scottish guy. Now he was cocky and a dick but otherwise seemingly normal.

Later got done for child porn on his computer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭jeanjolie

There was a young lad that lived near me that looked like butter wouldn't melt in his mouth. I'd known him (to see) since he had been about ten. Then one day I read in the local paper that he had attacked a young woman. He had pulled down her trousers and tried to rape her but couldn't. He then beat her so severely that he permanently damaged either her eye or her ear, I forget which. He was only in his early twenties.

Woahh......back story please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭Nabber

Homeless can't function normally?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

....... wrote: »

there seems to be a recurring theme in a lot of these cases where a woman involved,be it the mother or partner,(or family as you say too) will aggressively deny the victim's story and side with their partner, the accused.

http://www.thejournal.ie/fiona-doyle-rape-abuse-1903465-Jan2015/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,374 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Worked with a guy who had no discernible personality whatsoever. He never spoke of his own experiences, just rehashed stuff from the telly or online articles that he read and tried to start conversation with that. He was also contradictory all the time. Whatever you said, you just knew he would disagree and say the opposite, though he would rarely be able to back it up. He did it just for the sake of doing it. He seems to wear people out very quickly. I've known him for a few years and quickly grew tired of him. Don't see him as much since I left that job but I see him out and about and its always with different people and he always seems to be someone who is clinging onto the group and wouldn't be missed if he wasn't there. I've heard from other people that work/worked at that place that he alienates pretty much everyone new there though he's in a more senior position so he's not going anywhere. The boss is aware of this but loves him because he asks no questions and does all the dirty work.

I wouldn't speculate on his exact mental health, though I have my ideas. I do know he has a massive drinking problem and he's a power-tripping workaholic. He isn't exactly normal, per se, but he's made a decent living for himself.

Knew a guy in uni, seemed perfectly fine if a bit persistent. Never really liked him but I can't claim I had vibes or 'knew' there was something off about him.

A few years ago he was sent down for a good few years, he'd raped and tried to kill a girl and left her with life changing injuries. It was an horrific crime. Loads of people claimed they 'knew' something was wrong about him after it happened, but oddly enough nobody said anything at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

s15r330 wrote: »
    OP

Is this a dig at me? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

razorblunt wrote: »
    Donald Trump at the minute, in a serious way, there'll be books written about him as soon as he's gone. That submissive handshake to Putin was the latest act.

Oi fuckface. No need for that.  You can suck my hairy orange balls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

I worked with David Bourke who killed his wife for a few years.

seemed quiet polite and unassuming only weirdness was he worked in a department with people in their 20s and he was older which was weird in a non manager capacity.

http://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/children-saw-father-knife-mother-murder-trial-hears-26523355.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

Robsweezie wrote: »
    there seems to be a recurring theme in a lot of these cases where a woman involved,be it the mother or partner,(or family as you say too) will aggressively deny the victim's story and side with their partner, the accused.

http://www.thejournal.ie/fiona-doyle-rape-abuse-1903465-Jan2015/

in fairness that is one woman's biased view based on her own experience with no real evidence. I am sure that there are far more female partners who would be totally unaware of abuse within their family. I certainly would never look at any members of my family and think " better keep a close eye on him, might be a peado".

I'm sure if you google those type of cases then the majority would fall into the woman supporting kids category.

I'm not gonna look myself cos it would warp my mind to read numerous cases of child abuse within a family but knock yourself out if you want to prove me wrong.

Despite lots of experience in life which tells me I am wrong i still cling to the belief that people are generally good, they will do the right thing, make the moral choice etc, even if only for the ones they love and not society in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,374 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Candie wrote: »
    Knew a guy in uni, seemed perfectly fine if a bit persistent. Never really liked him but I can't claim I had vibes or 'knew' there was something off about him.

A few years ago he was sent down for a good few years, he'd raped and tried to kill a girl and left her with life changing injuries. It was an horrific crime. Loads of people claimed they 'knew' something was wrong about him after it happened, but oddly enough nobody said anything at the time.
    In fairness, you can't do anything about people you get a bad vibe off until they actually do something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,099 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Brendan O Donnell used to be around here a good bit as he had cousins in the area, seemed all right to talk to although you wouldn't cross him as he had a bit of a temper but nobody though he was capable of killing 3 people and was ready to kill more only he was caught in time.

In fairness, you can't do anything about people you get a bad vibe off until they actually do something.

I don't mean nobody did anything, just it was the usual 'I knew there was something off about him' after the event.

People just claiming they were so perceptive they saw something wrong with him, when the reality is there were plenty more far odder. If they were that struck by something him, they would surely have mentioned it to someone at the time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭Exeggcute

Hillary Clinton.

She's as fake as Donald Trump's hair and the stories about her being a psychopath behind the scenes are endless, even from people in her own party.

Samantha Power, the former Democrat U.S. representative in the U.N. called her 'a monster.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

razorblunt wrote: »

Taylor Swift is another one, like an alien trying to act normal.

Geopolitics is all down to the handshakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Was watching Crime & Investigation/YouTube documentaries.

Just remember, these are true stories yes but that's the exception not the norm.

Real life is a lot more boring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭Godeatsboogers

Definitely myself

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Candie wrote: »
    I don't mean nobody did anything, just it was the usual 'I knew there was something off about him' after the event.

People just claiming they were so perceptive they saw something wrong with him, when the reality is there were plenty more far odder. If they were that struck by something him, they would surely have mentioned it to someone at the time.

I know someone like this.....very very off in a way like this

Took several concerned calls from his own parents and neighbours to get guns taken off him

Brought home a girl (who i sortof know) one night who was deffo in no position about consent,
    I said to him as drunk as i was when the taxi dropping him off,your playing a dangerous game here (she couldnt stand/barly concious after 30min taxi journey)

Let the taxi driver drop her to baracks/shelters in town....but noone listens to me.....she caused uproar the following morning to get dropped home and all was kept quiet as she has a boyfriend

Hes now moved into coke dealing and has 2 kids hes admits to and at leaat 1 more i know of who wont chase him etc as she wants nothibg to do with him

A seriously fcuked up individual and id never tell the sisters who they can/cant be friends with....but told them not to be polite to him for my sake....i dont want him about visiting me

If you only meet him once,youd think hes ok,if a little unique

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Jesus Wept wrote: »
    Geopolitics is all down to the handshakes.

Oh I'm well aware, especially given his and his colleague attempts at out Alpha Male-ing each other back before his Cabinet was announced.
    Makes this submissive action all the more strange, yet not strange, when you consider it was Putin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

I suppose a couple boards users was something we wouldn't think given Larry Murphy and that fella that murdered his wife and kids last year posted regularly here, the accounts were torched so to speak of all posts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

I have a mate, works in third-level, very normal life.

Single, in his 30s, respectable looking. Not a lawbreaker or anything crazy, but...

...he has a load of gfs all the time, is a hardcore drinker, involved in lots of scenes and lots of wild ideas. Also crazy backstory of where he got where he is.

But you could totally introduce him to your mother and she'd think he was a nice boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,130 ✭✭✭Surreptitious

scopper wrote: »
    I have a mate, works in third-level, very normal life.

Single, in his 30s, respectable looking. Not a lawbreaker or anything crazy, but...

...he has a load of gfs all the time, is a hardcore drinker, involved in lots of scenes and lots of wild ideas. Also crazy backstory of where he got where he is.

But you could totally introduce him to your mother and she'd think he was a nice boy.

Loads of girlfriends and drinks? Crazeeeeeeeeeeeee.

Exeggcute wrote: »

She's as fake as Donald Trump's hair and the stories about her being a psychopath behind the scenes are endless, even from people in her own party.

Samantha Power, the former Democrat U.S. representative in the U.N. called her 'a monster.'
    Nobody would raise an eyebrow if it was said that Putin or Trump, or Mark Zuckerberg, or Rex Tillerson, was a bollox behind the public glare.

We have this odd propensity to see high-achieving, assertive men as powerful and even endearing, but a high-achieving, assertive woman is invariably labelled a "bitch", by men and women.

I'm not even talking about heads of government or business; this applies equally to workplace-management, school principals, commerce, and media.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 870 ✭✭✭scopper

Loads of girlfriends and drinks? Crazeeeeeeeeeeeee.

:D Hey, some of us don't know loads of wild people, he's my one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

Some years ago I used to work for people who are still very well liked and respected in their field.

The abuse they gave their staff was crazy. Name calling, shouting and roaring, disciplinary procedures based on things they made up, personal insults about our homes and families, one staff member got pregnant and was ran out of the place. Staff members regularly left in tears and two suffered mental breakdowns while working there. They actively encouraged bullying from two particular staff members too.
    A customer we were all familiar with came in one day and was very upset over something. They sat him down with tea and chatted for ages. Then did impressions of him being upset for all the staff after he left.

The last I heard they still had a very high staff turnover but doing well for themselves.

Whispered wrote: »
    Some years ago I used to work for people who are still very well liked and respected in their field.

The abuse they gave their staff was crazy. Name calling, shouting and roaring, disciplinary procedures based on things they made up, personal insults about our homes and families, one staff member got pregnant and was ran out of the place. Staff members regularly left in tears and two suffered mental breakdowns while working there. They actively encouraged bullying from two particular staff members too.
    A customer we were all familiar with came in one day and was very upset over something. They sat him down with tea and chatted for ages. Then did impressions of him being upset for all the staff after he left.

The last I heard they still had a very high staff turnover but doing well for themselves.
    That sounds like my ex-roomate's boss.

When we shared a flat, he would come home in the evenings and take to the bed; I'd even hear him crying sometimes. This guy is an athlete and pretty tough in every way. His boss was a five-foot middle-aged woman who would come across as very charming at social events; but made life hell for her employees, who rarely stayed longer than one year, if that. After my flatmate left, she took to hiring young women only, because she perceives them as being less assertive.

But psychopaths tend to be very good at business, and hers is thriving.