Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's your favourite time of the year???

• 01-08-2017 09:36PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭

As above.

Even though it can be the most stressful, I love the spring time. Calves dropping, Cow down, noting in the belly, feck all sleep and a half hour late picking the kids up, but there's something about it that I thrive in that atmosphere.

What's your favourite time of the year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Anytime other than the spring lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,599 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Calving, first day at silage and the week in the sun somewhere far away from calves and silage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,605 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Love the spring ,long days long hours but seeing cows calve and young calves bouncing around is good for the soul and I find it very fulfilling
    Also from mid July on as it's wind down time ,mist of silage made ai season over and bulls out ,loads of farm walks to go to and lots of time off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,307 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Spring time whether twas calving or lambing i always get a great buzz off of it. Love it so much that this calving now at the minute is my 4th in 2 years

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Timmaay wrote: »
    Anytime other than the spring lol.

Ah go way Tim. Secretly deep down ye love it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,578 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Autumn is my favourite time of the year. The leaves are turning gold and nature is winding down. Fodder is either in the shed or in the pit/wrapped.
    I look forward to easing the farm work load for the more mundane daily Winter routine as long as the water pipes don't freeze.
    I enjoy walking the fields picking blackberries/sloes/apples and spending a bit of time in the kitchen making jams/chutneys and sloe gin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

April ,everywhere is green and there is no maggots or scours and everything seems to be thriving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,212 ✭✭✭wiggy123

anytime the auld eyes open up-when comes morning time

Spring good time--see new growth/offspring etc..
    dislike start of autumn, dark evenings! etc..lack of grass,etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,429 ✭✭✭Grueller

August. Fodder saved, stock still out and loads of time to spend with the kids before they go back to school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,584 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Oct or Nov as the silage and most of the contracting will have calmed down. Can relax for a short while then go to Christmas roughly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,506 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

October when the first installment of bps comes in :) no really June,July,August when kids aren't at school no rush to be up early to get them off to school. Alot less stress

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,566 ✭✭✭50HX

when the clock change and you can see it getting that bit brighter earlier from there on and the aul stretch in the evenin

usually the month of May, growth ramping up and long bright days

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 875 ✭✭✭f140

End of May/ start of June. June bank holiday weekend is always one of my favorite weekends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

The first few days of the new year.
    The scutter associated with Christmas is as far away as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

All this year, perfect weather for everything and decent milk price too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭kerryjack

The first few days of the new year.
    The scutter associated with Christmas is as far away as possible.

Ya agree with you there hate Christmas time, hate spending money my favourite time is Easter time you can really look forward to the long evenings and no more keeping fires lit in house hate that job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

kerryjack wrote: »
    Ya agree with you there hate Christmas time, hate spending money my favourite time is Easter time you can really look forward to the long evenings and no more keeping fires lit in house hate that job

Who makes you spend it? The wife?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

15 November :rolleyes: . ROS deadline :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

Probably spring, long days on the way, feel good, absolutely love spreading fertiliser and seeing everything get green and grow. Also like the start of may when we're finally finished feeding and cattle are out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,623 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Who makes you spend it? The wife?

fortunately I have 5 people pulling out of my wallet at the moment its great fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

kerryjack wrote: »
    fortunately I have 5 people pulling out of my wallet at the moment its great fun.

Sure don't they pull all year round aswell ? I like to have a few grand put aside to cover extra spending from Christmas to the middle of Jan so I don't have to work if I can get away with it . Weather-wise it's usually miserable so it's nice to be able to take it easy around then .
    In saying that 5 dependants is alot for 1 person

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 827 ✭✭✭ABlur

The few summer days we get most years. Blue skies, temps over 20 and bullocks taking in the sun and looking great for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

ABlur wrote: »
    The few summer days we get most years. Blue skies, temps over 20 and bullocks taking in the sun and looking great for it!

Thanks , the tan suits me alright :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,020 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I love may/June with the long evenings. I also like when the cattle go in and the routine of feeding. Although I love the day they are let out too, the running and bucking would have to lift your spirit. A real fine winters day is lovely too, seem to get loads done compared to the longer summer days!