Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the max amount of penalty points you're ever had?

• 01-10-2017 10:28PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 492 ✭✭

There seems to be a lot of "high-horsery" around here, people claiming that they are immaculate and that they have never broken speed limits or other rules of the road.

I'll put my hands up and say that I got 2 points a few years back (before the points went up to 3) for breaking the speed limit.

What's the maximum amount of points you've ever had? 272 votes

0 because I always obey the rules.
    0% 0 votes
    0 because I'm just very lucky.
    14% 40 votes
    0 because I have a foreign licence.
    34% 94 votes
    0% 2 votes
    0% 2 votes
    14% 40 votes
    16% 44 votes
    5% 16 votes
    0% 2 votes
    5% 16 votes
    1% 3 votes
    1% 4 votes
    1% 3 votes
    1% 4 votes
    12 (I've served a driving ban).
    0% 2 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Not a sausage and I say that as an ex White Van Man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭wally1990

3 at the moment for the mobile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭StonedRaider

Got pulled once for overtaking on continuous white line. Didn't dispute. Paid the fine but didn't get points as the guard spelt my name(first and surname) incorrectly.
    Took on 3 points as nominated driver for a speeding fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

And the funny thing is that it was for being caught speeding 3 times the same day on the new ross to Waterford road about 8 years ago.
    Eejit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭yesto24

I have zero points. I voted 0 because I obey the rules. But that is not true. I have zero points because I don't do stupid things in the wrong place. Not because I am lucky.

And I drive a white van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

CiniO wrote: »

How??? Was that all at once and did you lose your licence?

Toots wrote: »
    How??? Was that all at once and did you lose your licence?

Abroad.
    Poland.
    Limit is 24.
    But I didn't loose my licence, as exceeding the limit is not automatic ban there. Had to redo driving test though.

In Ireland, since I first started driving here in 2007, I always had 0.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 397 ✭✭polan

3. Caught speeding, didn't agree with reading, guard threatened to arrest me. Could've been worse I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Just three. Gunned at 139km/h on the M18. Saw the white i40 pull out from behind an embankment after I'd passed and knew straight away what was coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,437 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

0, but I've only been driving full time for 8 months :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

I may know someone with 26 because they have a foreign licence and take points for friends and family 😎

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,186 ✭✭✭boardsuser1

2 for no seat belt in 2006 was the only time I ever had points.

I was caught speeding in 2008, it was thrown out in court.

I drive like Miss Daisy these days.

Got pulled once for overtaking on continuous white line. Didn't dispute. Paid the fine but didn't get points as the guard spelt my name(first and surname) incorrectly.
    Took on 3 points as nominated driver for a speeding fine

Sounds identical to my brothers case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

0. 30 + years driving and I'm a stickler for driving below the speed limit. Dont care what anyone else thinks.
    Also find driving is just a necessity. No enjoyment as such.

99nsr125 wrote: »
    I may know someone with 26 because they have a foreign licence and take points for friends and family 😎

They'd be banned in Ireland if they did.
    Leeway for points for foreign licence holders finished in Ireland several years ago.
    Now foreign licence holders collect points the same as Irish licence holders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,479 ✭✭✭✭gammygils

5 - 2 of those have expired and the other 3 should expire in a month or thereabouts.
    The 1st offence 131k/h in a 100 was from Garda(I was overtaking at the time but didn't slow down afterwards)

The 2nd one 61 k/h in a 50 zone. (A well known "Shooting Fish in a Barrel spot") at nearly 12am :mad:

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,978 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Does your insurance go up by loads if you get points?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Are you sure about that because the Irish authorities may not be as efficient as they say ;-)
    Leeway for points for foreign licence holders finished in Ireland several years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,567 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

its out of 100 over here though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Zero. After driving around on the L, you get to know the usual spots they'd be. Always found it amusing when we (everyone in the right most lane) all pull into the left most lane, and someone with a paintcan for an exhaust zooms by, only to be seen pulled over further along the road by the Gardai at the usual spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

I have had 6 championship points on the older 2 point system, all for 'speeding'. Zero now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,474 ✭✭✭vandriver

I was done 8 times for speeding on the old 'pay £50 and forget about it' system.
    3 points 10 years ago for being on the mobile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,686 ✭✭✭✭Zubeneschamali

6 points from speedvans for driving safely on dual carriageways.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,597 ✭✭✭tossy

yesto24 wrote: »
    I have zero points. I voted 0 because I obey the rules. But that is not true. I have zero points because I don't do stupid things in the wrong place. Not because I am lucky.

And I drive a white van.

Most i've had is 6 because i am human being and **** happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭harr

3 but none at the moment, caught doing 80 in a 50 zone somewhere near Mullingar genuine mistake dual carriageway. Never slowed down even when I seen the cop car....cop said i had driven from an 80 into a 50 residential area even though there wasn’t a house to be seen anywhere.
    I obviously missed the saucer sized 50km sign ...
    It was like shooting fish in barrel for the cops that morning...3 lads coming from same match got done just after me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

Poll made non-public. There is nothing good to gain about knowing who had what number points unless they choose to post it in thread.
    And of course some people that may not have wanted to show their real number can now vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

3 (0 currently)
    Speed Camera Van, I was doing 124 in a 100 zone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Two for speeding on the 31 October 2002.

None since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

6 points from speedvans for driving safely on dual carriageways.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

9. All bypass fish in a barrel 100 kph revenue generators.

Two for speeding on the 31 October 2002.

None since.

The day it was introduced :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,511 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

8, all for speeding. I used to commute Tullow-Dublin and back daily. Twice I was leaving Baltinglass and within about 50m of the limit changing up from 60 to 100, which I was raging about at the time, but you takes your medicine, I guess.

Been clean for years now, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

0. Driving about 14 years.

Dunno about high horsing but I just don't find it that hard to obey the rules of the road and thankfully I've also never been in one of those edge cases, like speeds traps where the limit suddenly drops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,351 ✭✭✭Littlehorny

Highest was 6, got it back to zero and in the same month got caught for speeding so back up to 3 at the moment, know a fella who drives like a nun now because he has 10 points on his license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,634 ✭✭✭✭josip

3 points for 60 in the 50 past the Phoenix Park.

I drive like Miss Daisy these days.

You crash into fences or you sit in the back and someone else drives you?

josip wrote: »
    3 points for 60 in the 50 past the Phoenix Park.

You crash into fences or you sit in the back and someone else drives you?

I crawl around the place. Even for work.

I was often criticized for being late and asked to explain myself.

My tachograph held the answers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,244 ✭✭✭kirving

0. Driving about 14 years.

Dunno about high horsing but I just don't find it that hard to obey the rules of the road and thankfully I've also never been in one of those edge cases, like speeds traps where the limit suddenly drops.

Unless you're a robot, I have absolutely no doubt that you (and I, everyone else on the road) break multiple rules every day. By that I mean peoples daily driving is not at a standard where they'd come close to passing a driving test.

The vast majority of speeders aren't out there taking the absolute mick, they're edge cases like you say, or 60 in a 50 zone for example.

Not speeding is something that we as humans find it extremely difficult to do all of the time, akin to staying perfectly central in the driving lane, we just cannot concentrate for long periods of time on a single item and be expected not to make honest mistakes once in a while.

I'm fully in agreement with average speed cameras thought, they take consistent rule breaking for you to be caught, which is far more fair in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

had 3 points years ago for doing 53km in a 50 zone on the Dublin quays. Long since expired.

Are you sure about that because the Irish authorities may not be as efficient as they say ;-)

Yes, pretty sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,506 ✭✭✭harr

Skatedude wrote: »
    had 3 points years ago for doing 53km in a 50 zone on the Dublin quays. Long since expired.
    speed van or cop...if cop he was some bollix

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

My tachograph held the answers.

Sounds like the intro of a Dan Brown book.:D

"What are the answers???!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭Chefjom

10 points in oz. Soon moved back. Ireland 5 but a lot more careful these days and down to 3.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭Pete67

Zero. Driving 33 years. Hope I haven't jinxed myself now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

0 points despite multiple journies at 265 kmph...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Got 2 points for doing 110 in a 100 zone in Dublin in 2008. Long since expired and haven't got caught since then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭corglass

Please explain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,128 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Done for speeeding twice in 2004

M7 Portlaoise Bypass 84 in a 70 zone (mph)
    N7 Nenagh bypass 79 in a 60 zone (mph)

Lesson learned, never speed anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭wally1990

Toots wrote: »
    Does your insurance go up by loads if you get points?

Mine went up annually by €70 for 3 points

Moved to Axa this year and upon sign up as a new customer I was told 3 points won't affect my quote with them but if I get 1 more it will

I got by far the cheapest insurance quote this year from them at 30% cheaper than anywhere else
    But luck of the draw last year liberty was the cheapest

Anyway 3 points is what I have for the mobile

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,873 ✭✭✭Iseedeadpixels

Sigh.....

10 points :o all for speeding, though that was 10 years ago and I've slowed down since.