Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

your worst nightmare partner

• 13-11-2017 12:50PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭

wondering what type of golfer would you hate to see join you on the course.
    the young lad with all the kit and drives it 310 and shouts be right every shot or the 10 handicapper who thinks he should be first on the Jimmy breun team but shoots 25 points and losses 6 balls. The 70 year old bat sh1t crazy lady or the guy off 5 beating his 7 iron against his bag every 2nd hole.

I have had my share of newbies that hit it 30 yards at a time and seasoned golfers who just can't see the fact that they hit the shots and have no one to blame.

my personal favourite is the lad with no head covers clanking his way around and having to be told to stand somewhere else but directly behind me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,734 ✭✭✭dan_ep82

The type of golfer who forgets it's supposed to be fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,448 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

A slow player.

I can handle anything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Awful players who should have a 40+ handicap and insist on putting out despite it being a stableford comp

And when you ask what they got they tell you they got a 10 there.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,331 ✭✭✭the lawman

Angry player who thinks his round and how he's playing is the most important thing to the group. Cursing and kicking at every bad shot. Sulking and hard to talk to when doing badly and loud and boisterous when it's going well.

These dudes ruin the round for the group and are completely ignorant to this fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,243 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

The real chatty ‘great craic’ fella who stinks at his 25 handicap but gives me swing tips from the second hole forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

People who talk while you're taking a shot,
    people who walk ahead of play so they are in your sight, people playing out of turn,
    and finally, lefties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭londonred

Hate the slow guys studying putts on level greens and the lad who never shuts up can be hard to play with at times especially when he is still talking when you are taking your shots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

The real chatty ‘great craic’ fella who stinks at his 25 handicap but gives me swing tips from the second hole forward.

that was the last lad I played with and drove me to starting this thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,165 ✭✭✭Anatom

The guy who says absolutely nothing to you the whole way around.

You're not sure whether its because he thinks you're a tosser and couldn't be bothered to talk to you, or whether it is in fact he who is the tosser and that he treats everyone equally in the same, off-hand, manner.

Oh, and he's usually better than you are as well, making you even more uncomfortable...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭mafc

Slow players without a doubt, also players who won’t play ready golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Raisins

The late 40's/ early 50's male who takes golf too seriously and lives his life through the club. The mall cop type who gives out to juniors and is a general ego in the bar afterwards. Usually but not always a wealthy snob who is used to being the boss. I can handle all levels and types of players off backgrounds other than that type.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

angry people, it's only a game FFS

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Not of fan of......
    • Teaching Pro-wannabes - unless they are seriously good golfers and I've asked for advice.
    • Mr/Mrs Angry golfers - it's fun, and it's not really anyone else's fault - or anything else - if you shank it.
    • "Mr/Mrs Negativity" - who does nothing except bitch about the course and the club and the fact that things change on the course and particularly if they have a stingey streak and complain about the club spending a fiver on a new rake for a bunker (that they think shouldn't be there in the first place)
    • Robo-golfer - has allllllllllll the technology and zaps everything in site with his laser, before tapping his hip with each club (like Fred A-fúcking-staire) before recording in minute detail all aspects of each shot on some app or other
    • Surveyors - every putt from every angle, even the tap-ins when they're on 18 having scored 25 pts
    • The Ethan Edwards players - they search and search and search way past the allotted 5 minutes - ffs, it's only a ball, not your mother's engagement ring!
    • Elasti-player - and his/her flexible approach to the rules and when they should apply them to themselves.

Slow play? It depends - if someone is slow because they can't move well, fair enough. Players who take an age to prepare a shot, but then knock it close, again fair enough (they're going to hit far fewer shots than I am!)......someone who takes endless practice swings, ages to line up putts, walks forward from 100+ metres to see where the pin is before returning to play etc then knocks it down.....repeatedly - not my favourite, in general - but if they were on a good score, I'd understand.

EDIT: not a fan either of gamesmanship - it is what it is - tw@ttery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,362 ✭✭✭ChippingSodbury

Geez, who ate your bun :)?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 676 ✭✭✭plumber77

Generally happy to play with most of the types mentioned; just can't stand a disrespectful player. Disrespectful to others and the course. I think we all think we play perfect golf; maybe a style that annoys other people. I know in our golf club there is a huge variety of golfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,636 ✭✭✭Hoboo

Non fixers of divots and pitchmarks, especially those that refuse to carry a sand bag on links courses. Sound or not, they're ignorant c**ts. Should be banned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Benildus

in addition to the non divot & pitch mark repairers, the fcukers who never put a pin back in when they have holed out first.

Jaysus golfers are hard to please .

lol

I'd say I do a little of all above at some stage .

But would be fast.

Geez, who ate your bun :)?

Ah, I don't mind someone taking as long as they want over an important putt.....even if they're on 25pts on 18 but the putt is for a birdie.......or the person who laments the removal of a course feature that they fondly remember.....or even someone who spots a flaw in my swing (there are many to spot) and asks me "do you realise....." in a constructive way (as in the way my regular playing partner this weekend pointed out that I was drifting back to a bad habit I'd been trying to kick).

I don't think there's ever an excuse for damaging the course out of frustration.....and if you want to beat your bag, throw your clubs around, smash them into walls etc then good luck.....not very edifying and I'd not want to play with you again.

Basically, players who can't see that it's only a game at the end of the day are the ones I try to avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,203 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Played a match against a guy earlier this year.
    Clubs were buried into tee boxes and fairways, thrown & smashed against his bag after bad shots. He actually had the gall to curse at me because I didn’t see where he hit a shot when he was wandering down another fairway but he took the biscuit when he smashed his putter 6 inches deep into the green no more than 2foot from the hole.
    A prize pr1ck, who was in my 30years of playing golf the first ever person I even felt the need to report for their behavior. Unsurprisingly when I did, it wasn’t the first time his name had been mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭rickis tache

last lad I played with had the best one yet. after hitting his tee shot into a low glaring sun reckoned it was a good shot due to the flight of his tee......ball never seen again.

Played on a corporate outing recently at a "well-to-do" course in Dublin. It was the home course of the guy who was arranging it and he organised for a few members to play with the different groups.

The guy either our group was not great company......we expressed our genuine appreciation/admiration for the course and got chapter and verse about how various committees, captains, pros had wrecked it over the years......every bad shot he hit was not his fault, it was the changes.....at one point his ball came to rest on the lip of a bunker (horrible lie and awkward stance).....there was no way he was going to get a good result from his next shot.....anywhere on the green would've been remarkable and he managed it....but he was not happy and proceeded to smack the edge of the bunker in his frustration gouging out a huge chunk.

The only thing he said that brought a smile to our faces was that he couldn't hang around for lunch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,813 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Now, I really know why I don't play.
    I think a few might need to wear Mycro Helmets if they tried some of that behaviour with me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

My worst nightmare arrives at the first tee with all the latest gear and determined to let everyone know about it. He will immediately set about sussing you out and asking where you live and what you do ? ... obviously VERY important facts in relation to golfing ability.

Having avoided his initial interregation, he will talk up the rugby as if you MUST be a rugger fan... after all, it the only true sport. At this point I usually refer to the fake blood incident in order to shut the snob up .... all the while he's duffing the ball everywhere and telling us how he's in the middle of a swing change !!! he hopes to get to single figures very soon despite playing off 23.

The last straw for me is when he blames the group in front for being slow and prattles on about how 18 holes should be done in 3.5 hours ..... it would be, if we didnt have to look for his ball on every hole :P

Low handicappers who go in after 9 cos they’re playing sh!te

Dtoffee wrote: »
    He will immediately set about sussing you out and asking where you live and what you do ? ... obviously VERY important facts in relation to golfing ability.

Why in the world would you have a problem with this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,360 ✭✭✭death1234567

3 pages and no one has mentioned 'the handbrake dropping bandit'? Minding his handicap down the last five holes after tearing up the front nine. For shame...

My worst nightmare arrives at the first tee with all the latest gear

Check

He will immediately set about sussing you out and asking where you live and what you do ? ... obviously VERY important facts in relation to golfing ability.

Check

Having avoided his initial interregation, he will talk up the rugby as if you MUST be a rugger fan... after all, it the only true sport.

Check

At this point I usually refer to the fake blood incident in order to shut the snob up ....

Ah, that's old hat.....better to mention CTE, concussion, schools rugby.

all the while he's duffing the ball everywhere and telling us how he's in the middle of a swing change !!! he hopes to get to single figures very soon despite playing off 23 15

Double check

The last straw for me is when he blames the group in front for being slow and prattles on about how 18 holes should be done in 3.5 hours ..... it would be, if we didnt have to look for his ball on every hole :P

Triple check

........I knew I'd turn up as the subject of a post on this thread :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭sofireland

Few pet peeves really have rare their head for me, some mentioned already

Most annoying is the guys who is literally running to be on the 1st tee for their time, when most civilised people arrive a good while in advance of their time.

Slow players, there is a person at our place who always putts out last, even if his putt is about 12 inches from the hole when he could tap in. Also serial leaving his trolley on the wrong side of the tee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

For me, it's lads who have melt downs after a bad shot - throw club - hit bag etc. Just hate playing with people like that or lads who don't try to play well and are too casual with their game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

For me, it's lads who have melt downs after a bad shot - throw club - hit bag etc. Just hate playing with people like that.

I agree i hate to see someone fly into a rage and start throwing clubs and effing and blinding. Handicapped golfers are going to hit bad shots there is no reason to lose the head after hitting a bad one. Its usually mid handicappers, low men have usually figure out its counterproductive.

I hate slow play too and people who take divots and just wander on and never replace them. My main hate though is the people who talk during your shot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭dball

sofireland wrote: »
    Also serial leaving his trolley on the wrong side of the tee.

Thats the one that get me, especially when its a member.
    I can handle a visitor not knowing where the next tee box is but seriously - when its a member - Aghhhh
    The other one is the high handicapper choosing the 6 iron and taking the practice swings - then going back for the 5 iron - only to change back to the 6 iron.
    Tops is 20 yards down the fairway. :eek:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

I seen a few mentions of guys with the latest gear. I don't get that one. Many golfers like to get new stuff. Most know deep down it is no better than last years stuff but like the change or the hope that it might make that difference.

backspin. wrote: »
    I seen a few mentions of guys with the latest gear. I don't get that one. Many golfers like to get new stuff. Most know deep down it is no better than last years stuff but like the change or the hope that it might make that difference.

Must admit......I like playing with decent gear, and I do buy the latest iteration of the clubs I like playing......and yes, if I see a shirt I like on the tv, I'll go buy it.

The way I see it, golf is my primary pastime and I don't have any other vices (that cost money) so why not?

I think the issue in gear is that it can be inappropriate to the handicap of the player.....for example, use of bladed clubs when your handicap would suggest otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭davo10

At some stage I reckon we have all played with people who exhibit the characteristics mentioned so far, unless you play in the same 4 ball every weekend and don't enter match play/team/captains day etc, you are bound to play with people you don't like at some stage.

Four hours is a long time to spend with someone who annoys you, for me the two worst are players with no manners and players who from the outset make it clear they have no interest in making any conversation whatsoever.

The worst behaviour I have experienced was by a club thrower in a pro am in the US, he threw his club for the umpteenth time but this time it went through the buggy and hit his pro on the other side. Pro, who was his friend, told him to get the f**k off the course and don't ever contact him again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭neckedit

a lot of the aforementioned, My real pet pev is "I Know it all Member" the guy who is obviously a Level 4 coach but hands out the Free swing advice to any one who'll listen and to those that don't. , He also happened to train as an Agronomist and could clearly do a better job than the whole greens staff on his own. finally,once he gets on the "committee" he'll do xy&z and get the club back on its feet....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,078 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Jawgap wrote: »
    Not of fan of......
    • Teaching Pro-wannabes - unless they are seriously good golfers and I've asked for advice.
    • Mr/Mrs Angry golfers - it's fun, and it's not really anyone else's fault - or anything else - if you shank it.
    • "Mr/Mrs Negativity" - who does nothing except bitch about the course and the club and the fact that things change on the course and particularly if they have a stingey streak and complain about the club spending a fiver on a new rake for a bunker (that they think shouldn't be there in the first place)
    • Robo-golfer - has allllllllllll the technology and zaps everything in site with his laser, before tapping his hip with each club (like Fred A-fúcking-staire) before recording in minute detail all aspects of each shot on some app or other
    • Surveyors - every putt from every angle, even the tap-ins when they're on 18 having scored 25 pts
    • The Ethan Edwards players - they search and search and search way past the allotted 5 minutes - ffs, it's only a ball, not your mother's engagement ring!
    • Elasti-player - and his/her flexible approach to the rules and when they should apply them to themselves.

Slow play? It depends - if someone is slow because they can't move well, fair enough. Players who take an age to prepare a shot, but then knock it close, again fair enough (they're going to hit far fewer shots than I am!)......someone who takes endless practice swings, ages to line up putts, walks forward from 100+ metres to see where the pin is before returning to play etc then knocks it down.....repeatedly - not my favourite, in general - but if they were on a good score, I'd understand.

EDIT: not a fan either of gamesmanship - it is what it is - tw@ttery

I don’t think I’d like to play with you to be honest!

callaway92 wrote: »
    I don’t think I’d like to play with you to be honest!

ah, I'm really not that bad (except obviously at trying to inject a bit of humour into a thread ;)) - I'm a firm believer in the idea that the worst day on the course will always beat the best day in work and I enjoy my golf.....its a great game, sure why wouldn't you enjoy it?

.....if I hit a bad one, so what? I'm more likely to have a little laugh at myself than anything else, especially if I'm going well and the golfing gods decide to punish any hubris :D

....having a bad round? Good time to turn it into some practice, and/or try something new on the remaining holes

....slow play? Unless there's some fairly obvious evidence to the contrary I'll never assume its the group to my immediate's front's fault.

....new partner a bit quiet? Maybe he's just shy.

The behaviours I mentioned (in my first post on this thread) I don't really mind on an infrequent basis - but if it's someone who is constantly coaching/moaning/zapping for 18 holes I wouldn't get upset (it'll not change them and if anything it'll just impact on my play) - I'll shake their hand on the 18th, wish them well and just avoid them on the timesheet.

The only red line for me, in reality, is players deliberately damaging the course out of frustration with their own game or because the rub of the green has gone against them.

Jawgap wrote: »
    Must admit......I like playing with decent gear, and I do buy the latest iteration of the clubs I like playing......and yes, if I see a shirt I like on the tv, I'll go buy it.

The way I see it, golf is my primary pastime and I don't have any other vices (that cost money) so why not?

I think the issue in gear is that it can be inappropriate to the handicap of the player.....for example, use of bladed clubs when your handicap would suggest otherwise.

Latest :eek:

How often you change your club.

I'll be honest, a lad turning up thinking he is Sergio or Rickie with the clothes and all the new gear. Top of the range gear.

I go to myself - in for a long day here. :)

Latest :eek:

How often you change your club.

I'll be honest, a lad turning up thinking he is Sergio or Rickie with the clothes and all the new gear. Top of the range gear.

I go to myself - in for a long day here. :)

Am a FKW*? No.

Also not a fan of Puma or Addidas (or Nike for that matter)......harking back to my rugby playing days (bloodgate wasn't that bad :D:D:D:D) I prefer Under Armour - but I do like it all to match, as in not the same colour, but UA troos, shirt, cap and belt :pac: - plus their colours/patterns tend not to be as 'vibrant' as some other apparel.

I prefer to play Ping so the equipment refresh cycle is a lot longer than the other OEMs - just traded for a set of G400s having played my G-30s for nearly 3 years.

*Full Kit W@nker!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,568 ✭✭✭valoren

Considering I play alone, then everyone. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Dtoffee

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    Why in the world would you have a problem with this?

To give you an example, I played with this guy a few years ago and he started asking such questions .... so I decided to call his bluff and spoofed myself up no end (rich address, apartment in SA, golf holidays etc etc). He was all over me like a rash, ignoring the other two lads and pumping me for info all the way around, whilst name dropping at every opportunity.
    Sure enough, the following Saturday he put his name down in our spot again. As soon as he seen us, he was over and telling me how he had met Mr X during the week and was hoping to get a game with him soon. By the third hole, I'd had enough and decided to tell him 'you do know I was only joking last week and I dont live there or have such holidays. Oh how we both laughed .... but funnily he didnt speak too much on the back nine and that was that.

I go out to play golf and NOT talk about work or home .... hence my worst nightmare is some Johnny jump up, who has taken up golf because he sees it as a way for him to climb the social ladder. I have played golf with some very weathy people over the years and the true mark of a gentleman is his ability to never discuss money or wealth, its vulgar and not necessary.

What difference does it make where you live and what you work at ? you are golfing. Play the game, enjoy the banter and treat your partners with respect.

To give you an example, I played with this guy a few years ago and he started asking such questions .... so I decided to call his bluff and spoofed myself up no end (rich address, apartment in SA, golf holidays etc etc). He was all over me like a rash, ignoring the other two lads and pumping me for info all the way around, whilst name dropping at every opportunity.
    Sure enough, the following Saturday he put his name down in our spot again. As soon as he seen us, he was over and telling me how he had met Mr X during the week and was hoping to get a game with him soon. By the third hole, I'd had enough and decided to tell him 'you do know I was only joking last week and I dont live there or have such holidays. Oh how we both laughed .... but funnily he didnt speak too much on the back nine and that was that.

I go out to play golf and NOT talk about work or home .... hence my worst nightmare is some Johnny jump up, who has taken up golf because he sees it as a way for him to climb the social ladder. I have played golf with some very weathy people over the years and the true mark of a gentleman is his ability to never discuss money or wealth, its vulgar and not necessary.

What difference does it make where you live and what you work at ? you are golfing. Play the game, enjoy the banter and treat your partners with respect.

I'm pretty sure anyone who has asked me was just making small talk between shots the way I do.

It doesn't make any difference at all in the end and I'd say no one cares. It would be considered polite to ask where I'm from but maybe its different at your club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭Benildus

dan_ep82 wrote: »
    I'm pretty sure anyone who has asked me was just making small talk between shots the way I do.

It doesn't make any difference at all in the end and I'd say no one cares. It would be considered polite to ask where I'm from but maybe its different at your club.

This would also be the norm with me and the club I'm in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭Webbs

I think this is more indicative of the club your playing at rather than the norm. You talk about enjoying the banter but what on earth do you talk about if you cant do the typical ice breakers of conversation with someone you have never met.
    I'd pretty much expect to be asked where I lived or where I worked just as part of conversation, not everyone has a strange idea that this is social climbing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,003 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

You hold contradictory values for how you expect others to behave versus yourself. I think I'd rather freddy kreuger in my threeball :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭londonred

Mr Paranoid is also hard to play with , he assumes everyone is cheating or a bandit , follows you into the rough and is a stickler for the rules and generally miserable .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Dbu

With all due respect, I think you are the type of partner I would avoid..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,799 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Dtoffee wrote:
    To give you an example, I played with this guy a few years ago and he started asking such questions .... so I decided to call his bluff and spoofed myself up no end (rich address, apartment in SA, golf holidays etc etc). He was all over me like a rash, ignoring the other two lads and pumping me for info all the way around, whilst name dropping at every opportunity. Sure enough, the following Saturday he put his name down in our spot again. As soon as he seen us, he was over and telling me how he had met Mr X during the week and was hoping to get a game with him soon. By the third hole, I'd had enough and decided to tell him 'you do know I was only joking last week and I dont live there or have such holidays. Oh how we both laughed .... but funnily he didnt speak too much on the back nine and that was that.

Dtoffee wrote:

How do you swing a club with that giant chip on your shoulder?