Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is the new Feminist movement damaging male female relationships?

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

manonboard wrote: »
    This thread https://www.boards.ie/b/thread/2057863116 is a perfect example of how feminism is damaging the relationship between male and females.

That was started by a dad. He's complaining about the creche employing a male childcare professional and worried about a man changing his daughter's nappies.

Remind me how this one is the feminists' fault?

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

Anyone who thinks they're being oppressed by feminists needs to get off the internet and start living a little more in the real world.

Honest to god, it's like people are looking for something to be outraged by.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

... we should be silent in a room when women speak, we should give way on a foot path because we are so scary to just walk beside.
    These types of messages greatly reinforce those demonized gender stereo types ...

Who said that? The imagination is quite impressive here.

I still think there are issues women face that men don't, I would like those to be resolved. But I also get on great with my partner, I have more male friends than female, I was told by quite a few men I'm very easy going and easy to get on.

I must say I have absolutely no sympathy for people complaining how feminists oppress them or how they are embarrassed by them. They don't, they just have different perspective than you do. It's perfectly easy to get on with your own sex or opposite sex. It's hard to get on with idiots though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

LirW wrote: »
    BUT there are a lot of other fields where equality can definitely be done. Housework can be split equally, education should be equal, healthcare and research should be equal.

are you going to pass a housework law? this is a makeyuppy issue. Girls have more college options than boys, i dont see an education issue to be fixed? as for healthcare, who lives longer?

LirW wrote: »
    I'm a bit short of being 30 and it still happened to me that my dad's side of the family was heavily discouraging me from anything remotely tech related "because Girls aren't good at maths". I know another guy my age whose parents decide to put him into a private school while his sisters had to go to public schools because he's a boy, there is a high potential in his influence and earning power with daddy's good contacts.
    I think you get the notion.

While there is so much progress already it shouldn't stop there. Lots of people have daughters and most likely want them to see in the best world possible for them in the future.
    I of course wish my son the same but when I compare the obstacles that they individually might face in the future because of their gender, while they are entirely different, I do think the girl would have it a bit tougher (it's not all ponies and roses for the boy either).

its rare that parents are making the choices you have highlighted, its true that boys and girls have different challenges but it would depend on the context and types of individuals involved to say who has the bigger one.

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,827 ✭✭✭AnneFrank

lol fixed, did you come up with this thread after a skinfull and a row with the wife in the early hours !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's almost as if men and women are... different, yet at the same time equal?? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

meeeeh wrote: »
    I would call myself feminist there are definitely people in femist movement that I consider idiots. However I never felt the need to be ashamed for any views I don't hold myself. Why would you need to feel ashamed for views you don't agree with.

Haha :) perhaps I should have used one of the synonyms of ashamed, it might have been more correct.

Embarrassed. I would be embarrassed to be seen at one of these mass hysteria outings where western women proclaim outrage at their down-trodden lives. I would be embarrassed to hold one of their signs that call men toxic or claim pervasive rape culture or gender wage gaps.

Apologetic. I feel apologetic to the women of countries where gender inequality is an actual fact - because radical feminism does fcuk all for them because they are too busy manufacturing problems like equity of outcome. I am apologetic to these actually oppressed women because modern feminism in fact seems to imagine their burqas and hijabs are symbols of freedom.

Regretful. I am regretful that it has come to this, a new war between the sexes, a war on boys, manufactured for a time when I thought we would all be sensibly getting along together as reasonable human beings.

I could go on. Other words that converge with ashamed. But I hate walls of text myself. So, I'll stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Shadowstrife

Anyone who thinks they're being oppressed by feminists needs to get off the internet and start living a little more in the real world.

But this is the internet. Outrage is the fuel that feeds it. Take you and your logic outta here, son.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

I'm not being oppressed by anyone. However I will quote myself from yesterday from the LO'N thread.
    cantdecide wrote: »
    I'm a grown up. I know what she says is rubbish. I'm mainly concerned about her coming after the balls of impressionable and vulnerable boys who are being convinced at every turn that they're all just waiting for a chance to become an offender of some kind.

Every time a woman is seen behaving horribly to a man, it doesn't give rise to an angry masculinist columnist working in mainstream media providing the event as evidence of some matriarchal bogeywoman. It seems right-on when the genders are reversed. It only cuts one way.

Feminist doctrine is harmful to boys and vulnerable young men. Just look at the decline of boys in education in the West - the bastion of feminist ideology that it has become.

...We are constantly being told how men are all potential rapists, abusers, we should be silent in a room when women speak, we should give way on a foot path because we are so scary to just walk beside...

I'm never told that men are all potential rapists or abusers, you should be silent in a room whenever a person speaks, that's good manners, and you should not intimidate people with your physical size and/or presence on a footpath or anywhere else, once again that's good manners. :D

Malayalam wrote: »
    Haha :) perhaps I should have used one of the synonyms of ashamed, it might have been more correct.

Embarrassed. I would be embarrassed to be seen at one of these mass hysteria outings where western women proclaim outrage at their down-trodden lives. I would be embarrassed to hold one of their signs that call men toxic or claim pervasive rape culture or gender wage gaps.

Apologetic. I feel apologetic to the women of countries where gender inequality is an actual fact - because radical feminism does fcuk all for them because they are too busy manufacturing problems like equity of outcome. I am apologetic to these actually oppressed women because modern feminism in fact seems to imagine their burqas and hijabs are symbols of freedom.

Regretful. I am regretful that it has come to this, a new war between the sexes, a war on boys, manufactured for a time when I thought we would all be sensibly getting along together as reasonable human beings.

I could go on. Other words that converge with ashamed. But I hate walls of text myself. So, I'll stop.
    Well I guess then you will go through your life regretting and apologising a lot. Personally I think it's not worth it but knock yourself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,106 ✭✭✭manonboard

jimgoose wrote: »
    I'm never told that men are all potential rapists or abusers, you should be silent in a room whenever a person speaks, that's good manners, and you should not intimidate people with your physical size and/or presence on a footpath or anywhere else, once again that's good manners. :D

lol It's certainly not my physical size anyways. I'm a slim guy boy at 5' 8". It was a gender based campaign. I think it was called "give way" and it's aim was to deal with fear that women tend to feel when walking on a footpath with a guy approaching, particularly at night. It did indeed have some good intentions behind it.

Regards the room speaking. Its not about speaking over people. It was discussions around the stats that men tend to speak alot more than women in a meeting etc, so it was about being quiet so there is more space for women to speak. I didnt like it because it was based on gender rather than what the people had to say, and i'd be more inclined to encourage others to be more assertive rather than being silent when they think they have something worth saying.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,276 Mod ✭✭✭✭Chips Lovell

I'm not being oppressed by anyone. However I will quote myself from yesterday from the LO'N thread.

Feminist doctrine is harmful to boys and vulnerable young men. Just look at the decline of boys in education in the West - the bastion of feminist ideology that it has become.

You kind of illustrate my point. I had to click through on that thread to find out what you were referring to. I've never heard of that woman and I doubt many people beyond those sucked into internet gender wars have either.

This stuff matters not a whit to most people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,364 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

You kind of illustrate my point. I had to click through on that thread to find out what you were referring to. I've never heard of that woman and I doubt many people beyond those sucked into internet gender wars have either.

You missed the point. Deliberately, I assume.

I think maybe youngfellas are more exposed to this sort of crap than most "regular" folk, via social media and girls around their age.

jimgoose wrote: »
    I think maybe youngfellas are more exposed to this sort of crap than most "regular" folk, via social media and girls around their age.

I think it's less about youngfellas being exposed to it and more about them going looking for it. As I said, it's a case of people looking for something to be outraged by. And it seems to be mainly young men who engage in it.

It's amazing the lengths they go to find evidence of their perceived bogeymen (in this case the feminists). You see people getting all het up about something that happened on some US college campus, as if it has any bearing on their lives here in Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rory28

I think it's less about youngfellas being exposed to it and more about them going looking for it. As I said, its a case of people looking for something to be outraged by. And it seems to be mainly young men who engage in it.

It's amazing the lengths they go to find evidence of their perceived bogeymen (in this case the feminists). You see people getting all het up about something that happened on some US college campus, as if it has any bearing on their lives here in Ireland.

Are they not bringing in consent classes to Irish schools? They started on a US college campus. To say the yanks don't influence us is just burying your head in the sand.

I think it's less about youngfellas being exposed to it and more about them going looking for it. As I said, its a case of people looking for something to be outraged by. And it seems to be mainly young men who engage in it.

prevention is better than cure. Its not happening in a vacuum , how many times do you want to throw something at the TV over the way the genders are portrayed on news and political programmes for example?

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

I think it's less about youngfellas being exposed to it and more about them going looking for it. As I said, it's a case of people looking for something to be outraged by. And it seems to be mainly young men who engage in it.

I was more thinking about the younger chaps - teenagers - listening to all this rigmarole and being upset by it, not the slightly older weird-beards trying to ingratiate themselves with chungwans by buying into all this shite because they've sod-all else to offer. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,726 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Are you complaining that when women enter the education system they perform better? That's not a feminist agenda to put men down. The education system hasn't changed much in the last hundred years. They still have daily lessons, homework and then exams. That's a system that was designed by men and for most time only had men in it. You can't blame women because they happen to do better in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Bob Harris wrote: »
    A lot of those signs look like they were made by people who went along for the laugh. The only ones missing there were 'down with this sort of thing' and 'John 3:16'

My personal favorite is the "Men R Thrash" sign.

Dunno what kind of men she was associating herself with down the years...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,726 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Malayalam wrote: »
    This. Exactly.

And Whatever-Wave-Feminism-We're in Now is not a sideline phenomenon, these weirdoes are our policy makers of the future.

As a woman I am ashamed of modern feminism. So much victimhood, so much ideology. When going on mass hysteria demonstrations wearing a hat that symbolises female genitalia becomes a revolutionary act and frothing at the mouth about nasty men and rape culture, well feck that...it's just incredibly embarrassing.

You're Brenda O'Brien aren't you.

Do I get a prize for spotting this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,185 ✭✭✭Rory28

Grayson wrote: »
    Are you complaining that when women enter the education system they perform better? That's not a feminist agenda to put men down. The education system hasn't changed much in the last hundred years. They still have daily lessons, homework and then exams. That's a system that was designed by men and for most time only had men in it. You can't blame women because they happen to do better in it.

It has changed drastically in the last 100 years. It wasn't too long ago girls learned a different maths curriculum. This could be why its one the only subjects the boys still perform better in. The leaving cert heavily favours anyone with an aptitude for languages which historically has been girls and as such 3 subjects(at least) are in the girls favour. I don't know how to address this problem or even if it can be addressed but there is a big problem with boys in education at the moment and it goes beyond the girls simply performing better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,314 ✭✭✭KyussB

Most of it is just column-filling shite aimed at distracting people from more important issues.

There's lots of work to be done in achieving proper gender equality in tons of areas - and the movement has been influenced to deliberately exaggerate itself, to the point where many elements of it are actively harmful to its core aims.

It's only harming relationships, if you date people with their head stuck so far up their ladybits, that they subscribe to the more extreme or tediously stupid side of this stuff.

The Guardian these days is unreadable - every time you scan the front page, your eyes get whiplash from continually rolling back so fast. I mean, look at this shit:
    M0WB76O.jpg

Every time you look at the site, there is invariably some tediously predictable garbage like that - it's not a surprise they have to consistently beg for donations these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,188 ✭✭✭Malayalam

You're Brenda O'Brien aren't you.

Do I get a prize for spotting this?
    Spot on, Grayson. You should get paid for your unusual skills! :rolleyes:

firstly, nonsense that education system hasnt changed significantly over the past twenty years.

more importantly, the contention that you clearly believe that a gender-using no other distinctive grouping or characteristics- is "better at" handling something as large scale and generic as the education system is an extremely puzzling position for someone of your -forgive me- pugnaciously right-on position to take.

even if it were consistent with how any responsible and fair-minded person would look at what our education system ought to be achieving -nb it isnt- i wonder how you would react to the following argument:

"women shouldnt complain about perceived lesser pay, rights, opportunities. the human world has evolved over millions of years and woman have been involved the whole time. you cant blame men because they happen to do better in it"

Rory28 wrote: »
    It has changed drastically in the last 100 years. It wasn't too long ago girls learned a different maths curriculum. This could be why its one the only subjects the boys still perform better in. The leaving cert heavily favours anyone with an aptitude for languages which historically has been girls and as such 3 subjects(at least) are in the girls favour. I don't know how to address this problem or even if it can be addressed but there is a big problem with boys in education at the moment and it goes beyond the girls simply performing better.

more problematic is that the math subject itself and subjects like physics have been dumbed down even since the 80's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Im not humble bragging or being a dck, but I'm gone MGTOW I had no other choice.

Men going their own way.

It's easier much easier.

I have my ducks in a row, a 17 year old son,get on great with his step-dad and mum, bigger than average house in the Burren, car paid for two year old car,mortgage payments one tenth of my monthly income.
    Public sector job,loads of Bob.

The amount of brats and self serving idiots who're looking to piggy back their future on dating sites is phenomenal.

OK I have a female friend who's very understanding for comfort and walks,movies etc
    I bring her son fishing sometimes, we meet regularly for tea or a chat.
    No sex, it complicates things,suits me and her.

She's anti femminism....because she says it's full of contradiction...

She's tired of the whole well femminism is all about equality...bull****...

What does fem mean?

Sure why not just slip yer wan the oul' beef burrito once in a while for the craic

firstly, nonsense that education system hasnt changed significantly over the past twenty years.

more importantly, the contention that you clearly believe that a gender-using no other distinctive grouping or characteristics- is "better at" handling something as large scale and generic as the education system is an extremely puzzling position for someone of your -forgive me- pugnaciously right-on position to take.

even if it were consistent with how any responsible and fair-minded person would look at what our education system ought to be achieving -nb it isnt- i wonder how you would react to the following argument:

"women shouldnt complain about perceived lesser pay, rights, opportunities. the human world has evolved over millions of years and woman have been involved the whole time. you cant blame men because they happen to do better in it"
    Is there actually some new research on it, because when I was in school it was ascertained girls mature earlier and have the advantage up to a certain age. That was 20 years ago and there were discussions of quotas for boys in medicine to get larger numbers in. That was not in Ireland but I didn't think it's new phenomena.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

It's a system dominated by woman (as in number of teachers), in which girls get far superior outcomes to boys.