Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Being told what to do in social situations

• 26-12-2018 04:55PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭Women without Makeup

I'm talking about being asked requests by people who aren't necessarily in charge. Something like "go get John there". Nobody likes to be observed, for the first time, as the person being told what to do. How do you handle these situations?

If you're put on the spot like this, and given an order in front of others, it might actually seem like a fair request though. But you mightn't have time to question whether it's a fair ask, as you have to make your decision there and then... whether you want to say "get it yourself" or whether you follow the request. In such situations I'd often actually make a point of doing it myself rather than asking someone else and possibly showing them up.

But what you don't want to do is say 'no' and look like you're trying to prove some pointless point. Often it mightn't be until you're actually carrying out the task that you might realise "why on earth did she she ask me that anyway?" or think "it would actually have made more sense for her to get it".

Recently after a funeral back at the house my bossy cousin tried something like this on me. We had run out of milk and she asked if I'd go into town for some more. It would be hard for me to say no as I wasn't doing a lot at the time. My initial response was "yes". But then I said "hang on now, they might have milk next door, (in the uncle's house) go get that", and I sort of gave her an order of my own. She seemed a little pissed that I was quick on my feet, so I do have to wonder to people get a sense of power out of bossing others around.

Another time I was given an order by a work colleague, but I was told, (not asked). I quoted her line back at herself and then asked "where's your manners?", and only then did I carry out the request. So it sort of backfired on her.
    Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,825 ✭✭✭Fart

Jahsus...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Go take that molehill, and make it into a mountain.

Good girl yourself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

I’m eating my breakfast. Kate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,440 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Here’s one for you.

Stop overthinking things

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭aaronjumper

Just be really passive aggressive for the rest of the day. People love that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 2019

I'm talking about being asked requests by people who aren't necessarily in charge. Something like "go get John there". Nobody likes to be observed, for the first time, as the person being told what to do. How do you handle these situations?

If you're put on the spot like this, and given an order in front of others, it might actually seem like a fair request though. But you mightn't have time to question whether it's a fair ask, as you have to make your decision there and then... whether you want to say "get it yourself" or whether you follow the request. In such situations I'd often actually make a point of doing it myself rather than asking someone else and possibly showing them up.

But what you don't want to do is say 'no' and look like you're trying to prove some pointless point. Often it mightn't be until you're actually carrying out the task that you might realise "why on earth did she she ask me that anyway?" or think "it would actually have made more sense for her to get it".

Recently after a funeral back at the house my bossy cousin tried something like this on me. We had run out of milk and she asked if I'd go into town for some more. It would be hard for me to say no as I wasn't doing a lot at the time. My initial response was "yes". But then I said "hang on now, they might have milk next door, (in the uncle's house) go get that", and I sort of gave her an order of my own. She seemed a little pissed that I was quick on my feet, so I do have to wonder to people get a sense of power out of bossing others around.

Another time I was given an order by a work colleague, but I was told, (not asked). I quoted her line back at herself and then asked "where's your manners?", and only then did I carry out the request. So it sort of backfired on her.

This is whats wrong with todays society. When you call out that society isnt in a good place, remember you are part of the problem. Just go and get the fecking milk! God help the man who marries you!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

You seem to have issues with these simple social interactions. I told you before; get over it or find another angle for these threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,290 ✭✭✭AmberGold

I get you, as somewhat retiring individual I've been on the receiving end of this type of thing over the years from certain gimps I've encountered. One neighbour who's an OTT extrovert and on the spectrum was ordering me about recently at a get together. An in-law who's the top dog in a huge organisation loves nothing more than dishing out the orders to all in sundry at family events.

The difference with me is my blood boils when I get a sniff of this behaviour so typically don't do myself any favours when I tell them to F'off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

It’s a defining characteristic when a person asks others to do what they can do themselves, word of advice - stay away from them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

Women without makeup means Feminist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Just keep repeating..... Burn em burn em all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

Did you mean to post this in the anal sex thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,846 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Jesus when your in a house after a funeral and asked to help isn’t the time to start making things about you. Be glad you can do anything to help a family on the day their relative is buried.

Being a functioning member of a community means sometimes your asked to do something and you help if you can, then if your stuck you ask and hopefully somebody helps you out.

If your too far up your own arrse to lend a hand in the community when asked then they are probably better without your help anyway.

• Site Banned Posts: 2 Turkey Sandwhich 10

There are people who like to find opportunities to tell people what to do out of a sense of superiority.

OP take a mental of note of these incidents and reverse the roles at a future point in time. It can be hilarious to see how they react when asked to do something they regularly ask others to do.

Also OP, don't mind the the little digs boardsies may throw your way about this topic, some people are just bothered by making the implicit explicit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

Just do what 99% of what everyone else does and use good old passive aggression - "Of course I'll go get John, no problem!!!" - then leave, don't get John, don't come back and most importantly pretend like nothings unusual. Then enjoy their reaction next time you see them.

• Site Banned Posts: 2 Turkey Sandwhich 10

_Brian wrote: »
    Jesus when your in a house after a funeral and asked to help isn’t the time to start making things about you. Be glad you can do anything to help a family on the day their relative is buried.

Being a functioning member of a community means sometimes your asked to do something and you help if you can, then if your stuck you ask and hopefully somebody helps you out.

If your too far up your own arrse to lend a hand in the community when asked then they are probably better without your help anyway.

Why are you being hostile to the OP?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭Women without Makeup

Purgative wrote: »
    Cum again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,275 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Cum again

Why thank you.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

I'm with ya OP.

Non-verbal-communication I believe its called.

I was working with some big foreign lads recently, they never gave up the macho bullsht for one second.

Swaggering around. Shouting yes/no questions and then turning their backs when you tried to respond. All that shyte.

One of them ended up swaggering his way out of a job.

I take my time answering and responding to such behavior, respond slowly and casually, pat them on the back, ask them questions back, and maybe just turn my back and walk off.

Wouldn't be taking that shyt from a higher up, let alone an equal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

bfa1509 wrote: »
    Just do what 99% of what everyone else does and use good old passive aggression - "Of course I'll go get John, no problem!!!" - then leave, don't get John, don't come back and most importantly pretend like nothings unusual. Then enjoy their reaction next time you see them.

And then when they blow up, 'sure what are you getting so upset about' 'would you ever calm down'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

The xmas cabin fever is kicking in already it would seem...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Didn't say bum em, bum em all......

I also don't think a funeral is the time or place to start trying to throw your weight around

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

bluewolf wrote: »
    I also don't think a funeral is the time or place to start trying to throw your weight around

You're right. If you want something done, you could always do it yourself instead of imposing on someone else who is grieving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

Im with the OP.
    Run into this quite a few times generally being asked for favours by people who are just too lazy to do it themselves. And same people would do sweet fa for you.

Fell for it a few times when I was younger due to my general helpful nature so unless its my wife or kids who ask my default answer is now a polite "no".

I dont get the sneering of the OP here, it a fair comment they make.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

I’m confused about where the funeral was. Back at the house. What house?

Also this is so very countryish - the uncles house next door.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭DanMurphy

Kate lives the other side....I think, but pops in for breakfast the odd day.

Getting back to the question, be interesting to know what your relative works at?
    Maybe they are used to ordering folks about and delegating jobs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

A taxi driver once told me he never gets 'told what to do',
    that he enjoys being his own boss and making own choices.

I said to him, "take a left here pal".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,625 ✭✭✭Lefty Bicek

Best way to deal with this is with humour - the more indignant you make it, the better...

1. 'Fetch me a bucket of sand and I'll sing the Desert Song for you !'

2. 'Stick a brush up my arse and I'll sweep the floor for you !'

3. 'Do you see cunnt written on my forehead ?'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭kaji

Post of the year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,365 ✭✭✭Alrigghtythen

There's always one knob who acts all sergent major.

I hear ya OP. It is a minefield. No correct answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,398 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Best way to deal with this is with humour - the more indignant you make it, the better...

1. 'Fetch me a bucket of sand and I'll sing the Desert Song for you !'

2. 'Stick a brush up my arse and I'll sweep the floor for you !'

3. 'Do you see cunnt written on my forehead ?'

Dunno, throw up a picture

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,778 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Sister used to do this. It was usually a badly-crap request rather than an order. I got her into the habit of correctly wording it be staring her firm and saying '...Please...?" as condescendingly as possible...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,698 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Clearly you should have caved her face in with the closest heavyweight object to hand..

Only way to deal with such affronts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,442 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

OP, this bossy cousin at your uncle's funeral who ASKED if you could get some milk, was that a child of the deceased who you then ORDERED next door?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

So lets get this straight, you were at a funeral, with nothing to do and someone asked you do something and you were pissed off?

Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭richiepurgas

Isn't Joe Duffy lucky he's off air this week ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

begbysback wrote: »
    It’s a defining characteristic when a person asks others to do what they can do themselves, word of advice - stay away from them

Or just tell them to fcuk off and do it themselves.

I’m confused about where the funeral was. Back at the house. What house?

Also this is so very countryish - the uncles house next door.
    I'm not sure whether it was called a removal, or a wake, or whatever the hell it's called.

DanMurphy wrote: »
    Kate lives the other side....I think, but pops in for breakfast the odd day.
    More like pops in to nag me while I eat it.

Sardonicat wrote: »
    OP, this bossy cousin at your uncle's funeral who ASKED if you could get some milk, was that a child of the deceased who you then ORDERED next door?
    I never said the uncle died. Stop trying to bait me.

I'm not trying to bait you just trying to establish the relationship of this cousin to the deceased.

It's no different from mine.

So it was your grandparent?

Well done op. I'm sure you showed her.

So it was your grandparent?

Well done op. I'm sure you showed her.
    Get out of my thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,207 ✭✭✭99nsr125

Fart wrote: »
    Jahsus...

It's

Jaysus

;-)

It's not your thread. You may have opened it bi5t you did so on a public forum and invited people to comment.

That sounded a lot like someone telling me what to do . Didn't think you approved of that kind of thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

Wakes and funerals do tend to bring the bossiness out in people

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭p1akuw47h5r3it

kaji wrote: »
    Post of the year.

The post of the year, if not of the decade, is the Amish post from a few months back.