Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best flounce ever on boards?

• 15-01-2020 01:08AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,892 ✭✭✭✭

What is the best (and preferably failed) flounce you have ever seen on Boards?

For the uninitiated a flounce is where a poster threatens to leave the forum for good in the hope of getting attention imploring them to stay :pac:

It has mega fail potential as a strategy. :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭Car99

I've never been in a forum where anybody gave flying fcuk who stayed or went. Flouncing is a myth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Car99 wrote: »
    I've never been in a forum where anybody gave flying fcuk who stayed or went.
    Isn't that what Kermy is referring to though? The account closers giving lots of sh1ts but the onlookers not? Although to be fair, I can't think of any examples. You're probably right Car99 that it's not really a thing anymore. Maybe more of one when the "close account" feature was first introduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

Is that a challenge?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 949 ✭✭✭Woodsie1

There was a big one on the soccer forum,one of the old school lads over there will come along soon with who it was.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,778 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Don't think I've ever noticed one to be honest. People just stop posting and after a few months you think, "so-and-so hasn't posted in a while - wonder where he went?"

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,673 ✭✭✭✭banie01

There is a legendary storm off in the Football forum from a few years ago that is still the absolute gold standard for flouncing.

Can't link it as I'm on mobile and the search on boards is very flakey at the mo.

Well worth a look if someone else can do the courtesy of linking it.

Boards is just too busy and too big for people to do a successful flounce. A mate of mine did an amazing flounce off a small fan forum for our favourite band. Although, he did actually leave, in a hump with the admin who is also a good friend of ours. I talked him round till he calmed down, and came back with an epic post about why he'd decided to forgive us all and return. All in all he was probably gone for half an hour, and left most of the members very confused. This happened about thirteen years ago and we still reminisce fondly about that day.

I remember a chap a while ago, big drama hanging on a cross, calling out to his dad and making a fuss and everything, few days later he was walking into Lidl buying an Easter egg. Not sure if he was on boards though. Probably is.

Bit of a mean thread this, don't you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭jaxxx

Hold my beer.. .. ..

If I don't get at least 2 million thumbs up for this post I'm never going to post here again!! !! !!

A sausage roll would also suffice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭tdf7187

I just think it's hilarious that soccer requires special registration. Big manly men chanting for foreign teams in pubs, oooh. Some of 'em don't even have the balls to go into pubs. They chat about big manly men in pubs watching big manly men playing foreign games, for money, on the television. Sorry, can't take those people seriously at all.

It's like the lads on the net are in the fourth division, seriously as they take it, and even the premier league is like, well, basically, a girl's blouse sport. I mean the lads in the premier league dress over if someone touches their ****en priceless hairdoes. FFS. God be with the days of Paul McGrath hacking someone up on the pitch. Vinnie whatsisface, he was another good one. People on the pitch, they think it's all over. It is now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Various posters of the hysterical persuasion who announce to all and sundry that a thread is so bad - that they couldn't possibly engage with same. They then continue to berate and throw **** at anyone who does for as long as the thread continues

Not do much a single flounce rather serial flouncing all over the the shop.

Too many threads to enumerate tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,051 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Riemann in the second captains thread in the podcast forum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,883 ✭✭✭Feisar

It's akin to posters declaring to someone is being put on their ignore list. It's said in a way that one would believe that they feel they are getting one over the ignored.

Or people that declare they are taking a break from the internet. Sound, off with you, no one really cares.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,511 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Feisar wrote: »
    It's akin to posters declaring to someone is being put on their ignore list. It's said in a way that one would believe that they feel they are getting one over the ignore.

There was a poster a few years back who had his entire ignore list in his sig. Cosmic levels of saddo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,977 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Woodsie1 wrote: »
    There was a big one on the soccer forum,one of the old school lads over there will come along soon with who it was.

mike65 who bailed after 90,000 posts? An all time classic meltdown...and he came back under a new name shortly after *waves* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The After Hours word of the day is;

Flounce

verb

go or move in an exaggeratedly impatient or angry manner.

noun

an exaggerated action intended to express annoyance or impatience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,416 ✭✭✭✭gimli2112

Xavi6 wrote: »
    mike65 who bailed after 90,000 posts? An all time classic meltdown...and he came back under a new name shortly after *waves* :D

That destroyed a lot of us with OCD, it was way closer to 100,000 than 90K.

The chap in the Soccer forum that name-checked Turtyturd is my favourite. Does that count as a flounce, as far as I know he razed the land and salted the earth, never to return?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,844 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

This is such a stupid thread, I'm leaving it NOW!

Goodbye forever!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Any of the posters here who closed their accounts then stalked this thread until their name was mentioned: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058005532

Attention seeking, for the most part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭anewme

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    Any of the posters here who closed their accounts then stalked this thread until their name was mentioned: https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2058005532

I recognised one who actually came on in his new guise to reminisce about his previous guise, since no one else brought it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,640 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

Can barely remember who was here last week, let alone longer, save one or two friends. Who cares? All these huggy feels about account closures, continuity and community are a bit tedious. Only your acolytes, cliques and flirt buddies care if you leave and if you fcuk off, another poster will soon be along to provide content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Is that an actual thing or just one of those urban dictionary things.

Why on earth would anyone care? If you want to leave, leave, no one is going to give a rats arse!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,817 ✭✭✭Raconteuse

Fr_Dougal wrote: »

Jeez those are some good mind reading skills! :D

People might have used the "close account" button to make a dramatic exit years ago (although from what I recall, they would also preface it with a thread announcing their imminent departure) but now it's as non event as any other function here.

Seems to me that people just close an account most of the time to stay off Boards as it's too much of a distraction or they just feel like a new account. And occasionally for more sinister reasons (stalking or whatever). There are people who are attention seeking but really can't see how they'd derive this from just closing their Boards account.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,673 ✭✭✭✭banie01

I'm fúcked if I'm gonna sit here reading this pseudo-psychological mumbo-jumbo that is basically just a collection of barely literate D4 wannabes, and slightly more erudite culchie plebs! Trying desperately to understand the genius I bring to bare on every aspect of life on a moment by moment basis!

I could make Ireland great again, but you are all too stupid to grasp my plan!

With that in mind, and to save the posters here any further embarrassing incidents or upset in their persistent failures to emulate me!
    Along with the grief that subsequent comparison to my easy going and consummate brilliance brings...

I am closing my account, leaving Ireland and indeed earth for the foreseeable!
    I hope that when I return, this stew of mediocrity has at least developed into a goulash!

At least goulash is interesting!
    Although the only way it could get peppery in here is if someone unloaded a canister of CS!

Good bye foolish could have been minions!

*It needs work, but some day...
    Some day!
    That'll be me!
    Telling ye, to...
    Well do one! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

"I'm eating my breakfast Kate".

Can't remember if Paralysed threatened to leave the thread, but there was definite flounciness involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,971 ✭✭✭granturismo

Mr_Fegelien claimed to be the victim of third party flouncing where his parents were going to take the internet away from him. Unfortunately the flounce was never initiated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

amp

/thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,363 ✭✭✭nozzferrahhtoo

The After Hours word of the day is; Flounce
    Is that an actual thing or just one of those urban dictionary things.

It was a thing on a forum I used to use. The forum got real quite so I left it in the end, but it looks like it is still going when I checked it just now.

Anyway they had their own page defining what a flounce is and giving classic examples of it from the forum. Was funny at the time:

https://www.toytowngermany.com/wiki/Flounce