Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which Coalition Government would you prefer?

• 11-02-2020 07:26PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭

Can see FG and SF so left it out.

Which Coalition Government would you prefer? 258 votes

FF, SF, Green
    62% 161 votes
    FF, SF, LAB
    9% 25 votes
    FF, SF, SD
    1% 3 votes
    FF, SF, Indos
    1% 5 votes
    FF, FG, Green
    1% 3 votes
    FF, FG, Indos
    8% 22 votes
    Grand Coalition of the Left?
    4% 12 votes
    Other?
    10% 27 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Whichever one can explain to me why a 20 min eye test takes over 2 years on a waiting list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭theguzman

Grand Coalition of the left with FG providing a confidence and supply abstention. Fianna Fail should not exist as a political party for the treason they committed never mind have any say in our political system ever again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Ultimanemo

I voted Grand Coalition of the Left because I want to see them in the hot seat, It is easy to criticise when you are watching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,953 ✭✭✭Floppybits

I think we need all 3 in government to keep an eye on each other. FG for business and budgeting, SF for the social side that FG just don't get. Still trying to workout FF role, maybe peace keeper. 😀

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,130 ✭✭✭Rodin

Whichever one can explain to me why a 20 min eye test takes over 2 years on a waiting list.

Should have gone to Specsavers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

Ultimanemo wrote: »
    I voted Grand Coalition of the Left because I want to see them in the hot seat, It is easy to criticise when you are watching.

if the secret police don't gulag or kneecap you first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

How about Unity government? FG team in charge of Foreign Affairs/Brexit, FF team in charge of... eh... something, SF with health, housing.

would only work if you put somebody rigid and uncaring of public opinion in finance to reign in the fanciful spending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,560 ✭✭✭Quantum Erasure

theguzman wrote: »
    Fianna Fail should not exist as a political party for the treason they committed never mind have any say in our political system ever again.

Sinn Fein: hold my beer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,362 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Wombatman wrote: »
    Can see FG and SF so left it out.

"grand coalition of the left" hasn't the numbers - they need most of the independents as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Ideally, a grand coalition of the left. But the numbers aren't there, so I'd settle for an SF/FF/SD coalition with Mary Lou McDonald as Taoiseach. Maybe throw the Greens in there too to keep the numbers up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Wombatman

Odhinn wrote: »
    "grand coalition of the left" hasn't the numbers - they need most of the independents as well.

Might work with a Confidence and Supply arrangement.

could you imagine the madness to get it going 'everyone has to wear gender pronoun nametags and praise stalin every morning and kerry gets a new airport and south dublin is now a muslim safety zone and portlaoise gets a skyscraper of social housing and the retirement age is now 40 and all of roscommon gets free straw for cattle and cars are banned but theres a subsidy for electric charge points"

Wombatman wrote: »
    Might work with a Confidence and Supply arrangement.

..with the independents? Be like herding cats, tbh.

could you imagine the madness to get it going 'everyone has to wear gender pronoun nametags and praise stalin every morning and kerry gets a new airport and south dublin is now a muslim safety zone and portlaoise gets a skyscraper of social housing and the retirement age is now 40 and all of roscommon gets free straw for cattle and cars are banned but theres a subsidy for electric charge points"

Jesus man...that acid will fry yer brain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

If you are working and pay P.R.S.I. you can get it free

Anything that avoids us moving further left. Too many people getting free ride with other peoples money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭who what when

theguzman wrote: »
    Fianna Fail should not exist as a political party for the treason they committed never mind have any say in our political system ever again.

It's amazing to me how few people feel this way. I would vote for the nazi party before I'd vote for Fianna Fail, (and I'm not a fan of nazi's)

...at least the Nazis had nice uniforms.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Rather guiltily I voted FF FG Green, the shinners can't be trusted anymore than the rest but the rest don't have a 'northern wing' to reference and keep happy while in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 dwmcdos

Went for Grand Coalition of the left but in reality needing so many independents it would be like a 19 party coalition, far too unstable. Could live with SF/PBP/SD/GP/FF, gives the left the upper hand with numbers over FF and with 98 TDs comfortably passes the 80 seat marker allowing for a few dissenters without losing major votes.

I reckon we'd settle for a decent local bus service instead of a new airport tbh :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

dwmcdos wrote: »
    Went for Grand Coalition of the left but in reality needing so many independents it would be like a 19 party coalition, far too unstable. Could live with SF/PBP/SD/GP/FF, gives the left the upper hand with numbers over FF and with 98 TDs comfortably passes the 80 seat marker allowing for a few dissenters without losing major votes.
    And what attraction is there in that for G.P. and F.F.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

would only work if you put somebody rigid and uncaring of public opinion in finance to reign in the fanciful spending.

Like paying off Anglo's bondholders? Agreed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,497 ✭✭✭nkl12xtw5goz70

Because left-wing politics is notoriously volatile, I wouldn't expect a Grand Coalition of the Left to last for long even under ideal circumstances, but when TDs of that prospective coalition's largest party are already shouting "Up the Ra" and "Tiocfaidh ár lá," it's probably not going to get off the ground to begin with. How can the Social Democrats, with their progressive agenda, justify joining forces with TDs openly glorifying the IRA?

Probably the most stable government at this point would be FF + FG + Greens, but I can't see that happening. So we shall have to wait and see.

Edgware wrote: »
    If you are working and pay P.R.S.I. you can get it free
    No you don't for a glaucoma test. You go on a list which is between 2-3 years.

Because left-wing politics is notoriously volatile, I wouldn't expect a Grand Coalition of the Left to last for long even under ideal circumstances, but when TDs of that prospective coalition's largest party are already shouting "Up the Ra" and "Tiocfaidh ár lá," it's probably not going to get off the ground to begin with. How can the Social Democrats, with their progressive agenda, justify joining forces with TDs openly glorifying the IRA?

Probably the most stable government at this point would be FF + FG + Greens, but I can't see that happening. So we shall have to wait and see.

...the PIRA were a left wing entity......

No you don't for a glaucoma test. You go on a list which is between 2-3 years.

Go privately if you're that worried.
    What's more important? Saving your sight or saving a few quid?

Rodin wrote: »
    Should have gone to Specsavers.
    It was specsavers that noticed there might be an issue therefore I was refered to a consultant hence the waiting list.

Id go private if they think there's a problem and you'd wait years to get seen publicly.
    Shouldnt have to but that's how it is unfortunately.

But then again everyone is promising thousands of new healthcare staff...

Go privately if you're that worried.
    What's more important? Saving your sight or saving a few quid?
    I'm going private and chances are it'll be a non issue but if it does end up serious I'll be on disability for the rest of my life. Wouldn't it be better if I got it fixed and stay in the workplace paying tax for the next 30 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

I’d like to see the wish of the people who voted for change represented. So that would be a coalition of FF, SF, Greens and Soc Dems.

SF, Greens and Soc Dems would have a significant number of seats above that of FF so could call the shots in many ways.

I'm going private and chances are it'll be a non issue but if it does end up serious I'll be on disability for the rest of my life. Wouldn't it be better if I got it fixed and stay in the workplace paying tax for the next 30 years?

Why would you be on disability in your 30s?

...the PIRA were a left wing entity......

Ya, that’s why they shot people based on their religion. Straight out of the Marxist handbook?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,818 ✭✭✭✭Jamie2k9

FF, Green, SD or LAB propped up by FG for a short period of time and issues will be solved before we go back to the to the country again.

Personally I didn't vote Green, SD etc and I wonder how conferrable are those first pref voters at the prospect of them going into Gov with SF. I know SF transferred to them heavily.

Why would you be on disability in your 30s?
    The HSE wont recognise the private test so I have to wait for their conclusion which by the time they get around to it I could be legally blind and unable to do my job so I would have to go onto disability payments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 56 ✭✭ShylockWept

I;'ve been giving this considerable thought since Sunday evening. The only viable, stable government at this point in time is an FF-FG-Green coalition. I firmly believe that this is what the powers that be are planning for.

The game at the moment is to allow SF to try to form a government of the left. Unless there is a serious attempt to organise the independents into one or two blocks, then SF will fail in its attempts to form a grand left coalition. At the moment, I can see them only getting to mid-60s: SF (37) + Green (12) + Lab (6) + SD (6) + PbP (5) = 65. They would need 16 independents - so practically, every independent. It won't happen. It is highly likely that Labour will not participate given the current composition of the party

So by next week SF will have gone through the motions, and will have to approach FF with a coalition offering, which will be impossible. It would involve FF disavowing entirely what they promised throughout the election. For FF, the lesser of two evils is a coalition with FG. But I'm not sure FG would agree to this. Although Leo said he would consider a grand coalition with FF as a last resort, after the election results I would say there is zero appetite to go to bed with FF. It would allow SF to be a bigger opposition party.

So, what happens next? While I think that n FF+FG+ Green coalition is in the best interests of the country, my guess is that SF will form a minority coalition with a confidence and supply deal with independent blocks

Ya, that’s why they shot people based on their religion. Straight out of the Marxist handbook?

Simplistic nonsense, particularily when one of the founder members of the PIRA was himself a protestant.

The HSE wont recognise the private test so I have to wait for their conclusion which by the time they get around to it I could be legally blind and unable to do my job so I would have to go onto disability payments.

Or the private person you see will put you on treatment which might save your sight... IF you have glaucoma.
    Id be more worried about your catastrophising.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

You've gotta love the people who think the Greens would just jump into bed with the Shinners - chalk & cheese in so many ways as far as I can see.

Simplistic nonsense, particularily when one of the founder members of the PIRA was himself a protestant.

Ya, Kingsmill massacre and Eniskillen bombing were simplistic alright. Simplistic in that they involved murdering people based simply on being Protestant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,244 ✭✭✭swarlb

And don't forget a full stop, comma and exclamation mark has to be used at least once in a sentence. !

Or the private person you see will put you on treatment which might save your sight... IF you have glaucoma.
    Id be more worried about your catastrophising.
    We'll just agree to disagree on this one I reckon. In my opinion our public health system is flawed and needs attention. This is an anonymous forum so I'm not "catastrophising" anything.

Edgware wrote: »
    And what attraction is there in that for G.P. and F.F.?

For FF? Power, as always, plus they won't leave SF on the opposition benches building support opposite a hated coalition. The Greens? Might not go for it but they can be replaced by the left wingers. FF and FG won't want another election this year but doubt they can afford to go in together again, even if they could keep working together without the external threat of Brexit.

We'll just agree to disagree on this one I reckon. In my opinion our public health system is flawed and needs attention. This is an anonymous forum so I'm not "catastrophising" anything.

You have yourself legally blind and incapable of work in your 30s... before you've even got a diagnosis. Id call that catastrophising

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Anything that avoids us moving further left. Too many people getting free ride with other peoples money.

The only certainty in the next government is that things shift further left

You have yourself legally blind and incapable of work in your 30s... before you've even got a diagnosis. Id call that catastrophising
    I'm only using my situation as an example. I can go private and I'll be fine but there are plenty out there who can't afford it and I think it's unfair for them to wait on lists that are too long and in the longterm some will end up being a burden on the state financially when it would be cheaper to get them looked after and back to work paying tax instead of on social welfare. It's short term thinking instead of looking at the long term picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Better Than Christ

Even if FF, FG and their respective gene-pool independents somehow form a 'keep SF out' government, they'll have no choice, in terms of policy, but to make it the most left-leaning one in living memory. Anything else would result in them being trounced by Sinn Féin next time.

tenor.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭10pennymixup

So rather than vote Finna Fail you would sooner vote for a countries national socialist party that got in to power shortly after a worldwide recession, on a populist far fetched agenda with a charismatic leader, with strong links to (para)military thugs.

Oh wait.................you already have.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

I think we are looking at FF + SF + SD.