Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

but ireland isnt america or anywhere else for that matter its just ireland

• 10-07-2020 11:43PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27

just watching trumps rushmore speech, so much happening in the past 10 years (eh ive been away as a few of ye know)

cant understand why ireland is now importing culture from all corners of the scorned globe when we have an abundance of our own irish celtic culture, which is a perfectly alright culture to be born into and represent, its no better or worse than any other anyway.

so why are we now acting as if ireland is another state of america? when did this start? im kewl with multimedia, internet and world news channels on the sky box, yup its good to flick though and see whats goin on around but i cant understand why ireland is upside down right now

it just doesnt make actual sense. is actual sense still allowed?
    there seems to be a ready push towards polarised madness, uber extremes in all directions like an old playstation 2 game.

would loooove to know what the fine free folk of AfterHours have to suggest

apologies for my lack of contemporary knowledge, was genuinely under a rock for the past decade :)

JOH

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 27 jimmyohallogan

i see our taoisigh no longer spin, now they rotate. is this to represent the pickled kebab our country is now in?

just catching up on everything from the last 10 years, jaypers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭NickNickleby

Hey Jimmy,

I'm on my third pint (well, tin) of Guinness. Which make s me eminently qualified to offer my own philosophical take on the subject at hand. Or not.

When I was ten, our family returned to Ireland from the UK - I'd never really known Ireland until then.

The very first thing I remember was how 'American' Ireland seemed when compared to the UK. Do you know when this was?.... 1965. So, even then I was aware of a link between Ireland and America.

Here we are 55 years later, and I have lots of family connections to the US, as do quite a few of my friends. BUT, we also have many ties to the UK.

This makes us all more outward looking than inward looking, which I consider to be a very good thing. In fact, the US and the UK could benefit from a little of that. While there are some sad exceptions, I think we are very good at seeing the stupid parts of foreign culture and avoiding them.

So, all in all, there's nothing to worry about.

Cheers!

eloquence in brevity. adequate in its own unashamed succinctness. unbridled in its wild verbosity.

Hey Jimmy,

I'm on my third pint (well, tin) of Guinness. Which make s me eminently qualified to offer my own philosophical take on the subject at hand. Or not.

When I was ten, our family returned to Ireland from the UK - I'd never really known Ireland until then.

The very first thing I remember was how 'American' Ireland seemed when compared to the UK. Do you know when this was?.... 1965. So, even then I was aware of a link between Ireland and America.

Here we are 55 years later, and I have lots of family connections to the US, as do quite a few of my friends. BUT, we also have many ties to the UK.

This makes us all more outward looking than inward looking, which I consider to be a very good thing. In fact, the US and the UK could benefit from a little of that. While there are some sad exceptions, I think we are very good at seeing the stupid parts of foreign culture and avoiding them.

So, all in all, there's nothing to worry about.

Cheers!

thanks man, hope ur pre-chillin the Gcans in the freezer for 20 mins, then standing upside down for 5 before pouring (properly) into a prechilled pint glass, yes i know what u mean man, i also was over in england alot in 80s and 90s and while it was great for experience, coming home my joy was often punctured by a sense of prostitutional cultural abhorrence. we are good enough to be ourselves. we have one of the most interesting and intricate and sad and beautiful histories of all the cultures and we go back to ancient times!

(me also having a HomePint, yay :) )

Jimmy,

Ye write like Dickens. I can never make up my mind as to whether I need a calculator or a dictionary when I read my master's works.

Which - of course - adds to their charm.

BTW, as you say, 20 mins is sufficient. Any colder and the taste buds don't work. Putting another in the fridge now. (I'm a slow drinker :pac::pac::pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,007 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

American tourist wont spend Christmas here

They go into pubs for the irish experience (they think its song and dance 24/7, the friendly locals at the bar who treat them like Kings & Queens) and might buy 2 pints for the whole night

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,095 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

So, Jimmy, when you say "away", were you in the big house?

PTH2009 wrote: »
    American tourist wont spend Christmas here

They go into pubs for the irish experience (they think its song and dance 24/7, the friendly locals at the bar who treat them like Kings & Queens) and might buy 2 pints for the whole night

OUT AND OUT BASTARDS

oh dear Jimmy. If Leg End is right, does your , ahem, emphatic descriptor suggest .....GUANTANAMO

Lads, thsi Riddick film is a pile...

apart from Thandie Newton, the fox.

lol. no. ur gas. missed the pejorative irish imagination. nah man i was in oz for the past ten years, and before ye slag me they already done me on another thread when i got back, cheers lol.

Lads, thsi Riddick film is a pile...

apart from Thandie Newton, the fox.

dont diss da diesel!

(+1 yes for thandie makes ya randie!)

dont diss da diesel!

(+1 yes for thandie makes ya randie!)

yer right, and I wouldn't, well not to his face!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 20,095 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

lol. no. ur gas. missed the pejorative irish imagination. nah man i was in oz for the past ten years, and before ye slag me they already done me on another thread when i got back, cheers lol.

So, you were away for 10 years and you're wondering why the country appears to have changed in your absence?

I'd rather you did 10 years in The Joy, Jimmy, I'm disappointed in you now. I hope that you at least start every second sentence with "When I was in Australia ...", I'd hate to be disappointed a second time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,211 ✭✭✭✭ILoveYourVibes

so why are we now acting as if ireland is another state of america?

JOH
    just watching trumps rushmore speech, so much happening in the past 10 years (eh ive been away as a few of ye know)

Why are you watching his speech then?
    of our own irish celtic culture,

When was the last time you went to a ceili then? Its not exactly a hit with the kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

We consume so much foreign media from America and the UK and they have shaped our way of thinking and acting, this is just the way it is, the is also a small island mentality a lot of people have and they want to belong to something bigger.

Why not, said the caterpillar to the fork. More stories from the knobbly den next week at quarter past the hour.
    Its not even as if you can blame it on quarantine....its always been like this...

We consume so much foreign media from America and the UK and they have shaped our way of thinking and acting, this is just the way it is, the is also a small island mentality a lot of people have and they want to belong to something bigger.

I'd rather we just watch or read it, "consume" seems very contrived.

Its not even as if you can blame it on quarantine....its always been like this...

What the blazes has quarantine got to do with it? It's not as if we metamorphosed since March.

eh just watching all the greatest hits on you tube, trump is there, as is putin, macron, kenny, fagradker, loads of random ****e.

music gone weird also, anyone care to explain this

sorry i wasnt in jail? (wtf?) jaysus man just tryin to raise the price of a house for me family. hopefully now i can set up a wee operation and give few lads a leg up

Cèilidh yes man! Is breá liom cóisir!!

I think they want to break out of the 'small island mentality' and be free of it.

Cèilidh yes man! Is breá liom cóisir!!

you must be the only man in an aran jumper then in this town

no need for needless aggression lads. didnt bowie have a song one time "this is not america la de la dee la de laa"

you must be the only man in an aran jumper then in this town

ive 2 aran jumpers and 1 hat.

had them for years.

why? is it a faux pas now?

(i have other clothes too. including but not limited to, jeans, jumpers, shirts, boxers, socks and jackets.)

What the blazes has quarantine got to do with it? It's not as if we metamorphosed since March.
    Its definitely had an effect though.

why? is it a faux pas now?

Can be yeah. Are you not aware?

Sean nos is not exactly popular with the kids. Its more stormzy..beyonce ...Cardi B etc.

They don't sell aran jumpers in Aber Crombie and fitch....or whatever its called.

Teens can be brutal. Wear the wrong thing ...is over.

Now, that HAS to be a first :

Reason for editing : sartorial clarification!

How often was I in need of that in the 70's:pac::pac:

(think kipper ties, big shirt collars and platform shoes)

Now, that HAS to be a first :

Reason for editing : sartorial clarification!

How often was I in need of that in the 70's:pac::pac:

(think kipper ties, big shirt collars and platform shoes)

According the op ireland didn't have a 70's its been aran jumpers all the way down!

Right, I'm on the water now. Its the boss's birthday tomorrow, and 'we' can't afford any spelling mistakes on the highly amusing birthday card.

After all, this isn't America!

According the op ireland didn't have a 70's its been aran jumpers all the way down!

uh - oh, was I some sort of emperor, then?:eek:

Alas, poor Jimmy is now in the Boards big house.

I hope it's not too American.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭SlowMotion321

The original open prison!