Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Covid 19 Part XXVI- 50,993 ROI (1,852 deaths) 28,040 NI (621 deaths) (19/10) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Gruffalux

fits wrote: »
    Anyone else feel a bit sh1te about it all today?

No.
    I can draw up a very long list of much worse things that I hope don't happen today, or any day for that matter.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Cilldara_2000

If you’re going out for the day or away for the weekend, and spending time in the fresh air with your partner and immediate family, I don’t see the problem. Quite frankly it’s got sweet FA to do with you as well, worry about yourself.

Not like I’m going to be jumping into pubs, restaurants or supermarkets.

We’ll 99% probably not even come into contact with anyone , and if we do enter a shop up the country, we’ll be wearing our masks and sanitizing before and after we enter the premises.

Some people on here just cannot get their head around the fact that people are really not going to go back to staying inside 5km/20km/inside your county or any of this BS. The cat is out of the bag.

Stop ramming your agenda down other people’s throats. We don’t all live for Rte News every evening or listen to every word that comes out of Nphet or governments mouths. Enjoy being cooped up like a battery caged hen this weekend. I and many many others will be taking the good of the last bank holiday before Christmas

A few posts on an internet forum is not ramming anything down anyone's throat. If you can't stand the criticism, stop flaunting your heroic non-compliance.

And you're the outlier here. Most people do what they are asked to do during this temporary emergency.

https://www.rte.ie/brainstorm/2020/1007/1169932-covid-fatigue-restrictions-guidelines-government-fines-arrests/

"Data from the iCARE study shows high levels of adherence to Covid-19 prevention measures across the board. Between 84 to 90% of people report adhering to physical distancing, avoiding large gatherings, maintaining good hand hygiene and practicing good coughing etiquette most of the time."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭Non solum non ambulabit

Our Minister for Health came out last week and openly said, schools are safe. I don't believe they are. Do you?

Feelings again. Wow. Data please.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,406 ✭✭✭jammiedodgers

The weather doesn't help either :/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,683 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/jdxtht/hse_leaving_schools_in_the_dark/

Schools being shut due to lack of contact from HSE. This is happening with schools here in Cork City too, they have cases but HSE just says stay open and nothing after that

• Registered Users Posts: 7,760 ✭✭✭Deeper Blue

Fifty-six Covid-19 cases linked to man who failed to isolate after trip abroad in the Mid-West region

There were cases in a sports team and up to 10 homes linked to man who did not restrict his movements.

image.jpg

Should all 56 cases be classified as 'due to travel from abroad' or would just the one index case be classified as such ?

Cnuts like this should be named and shamed

The accuracy behind that information is nothing short of unbelievable.

Especially so when we have no data on age and underlying illnesses of 30 people in ICU, or why Ireland has one of Europe’s best ICU survival rate’s (Are we admitting people to ICU that other countries don’t or is that one aspect of health care in Ireland that’s the best in Europe)

or exactly what is the quantifiable cases numbers NPHET will relax the extra restrictions being implemented later today.

The HSE has a lot of unpublished data. You'd be shocked by the number of health care workers getting reinfected with COVID-19. I'm sure it will be released to general public in it's own time.

• Registered Users Posts: 442 ✭✭Balagan1

I am building an Ark.

Don't forget the unicorn/s!

manniot2 wrote: »
    Absolutely your choice but id be very worried about the long term impact of a strategy like this.

Correct. That is a very unhealthy way for a teenager to live. We are experimenting on our kids here with locking them in their homes / rooms. Human development science would say that is a very bad idea.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,991 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Are there any figures on how many people got infected shopping in electrical retailers or at hairdressers? Surely if these places have much lower rates of infections than schools then we should keep them open?
    That would require efficient contact tracing, which we don't have. So they're shutting it all down.
    Doesn't seem to be the case for example in the UK where their Tier 3 restrictions seem to let retail open. Maybe they've got better data?

• Registered Users Posts: 38,243 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I didn't see anything in that post about feelings.
    I didn't see the minister provide any data to back up her comments.

The HSE has a lot of unpublished data. You'd be shocked by the number of health care workers getting reinfected with COVID-19. I'm sure it will be released to general public in it's own time.

Is that true? It would be huge suppression of facts if that is being hidden from public knowledge.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,560 ✭✭✭bennyl10

Nope, did that in March to what was essentially June. Not doing it now, for the same thing to happen in January again.

You’ll see a lot of cars on the road heading away this weekend. Life goes on. And the lollipop men Garda can only stand and give their best “oh you really shouldn’t do that” face.

This was always a possibility. Further restrictions

Maybe think of someone besides yourself for just a little bit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 477 ✭✭AlphaDelta1

Think it's best to stay positive. Yeah lockdown again will be tough but I genuinely believe we are weeks away from a vaccine being rolled out. It actually is incredible and a testement to human ingenuity.

I'm a lot more positive about everything than I was in April tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

It's not a few weeks though is it?

That's a huge issue

The last time we locked down it took it took from the 12th of march to 18th of May for any reopening at all

That's 67 days or
    2 months, 6 days or
    9 weeks and 4 days

I fear NPHET will be even more reluctant to reopen this time

The minimum time will be NPHET's 6 weeks and then what's the plan?

Back to level three?

Yeah the 4-week thing is infantilising us. Everyone knows the 'lockdown' will last as long as it takes to suppress the virus down to very low levels, and this is extremely unlikely to be achieved within a month.

Correct. Look at Victoria in Australia. Lockdown started in July. They are coming into their summer and 3 months later they can only now go 25km from their homes. We will be in lockdown until April at the earliest.

Victoria is called out all the time - this is the reality

As of 19 October, in Melbourne:
    • People can travel up to 25km (15 miles) from their home for exercise or shopping
    • Gatherings of up to 10 people from two different households are allowed
    • Hairdressers, tennis courts, golf courses and skate parks reopen, subject to Covid-19 restrictions
    • Two adults and two children will now be allowed to visit another person's home
    • Hospitality venues will be allowed to accommodate 70 patrons outside and 40 inside

This is where 3 months gets us.

Gruffalux wrote: »
    Is that true? It would be huge suppression of facts if that is being hidden from public knowledge.

It's known but waiting on results of large scale antibody testing been conducted by Maynooth to provide context to the data.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,042 ✭✭✭✭rob316

The Covid Restrictions Support Scheme is really ****ing useless, up to €5000 per week but the max they payout is 10% of 2019 turnover. It won't put a dent in rent for most businesses.

Hmmm that's not a good sign

It’s a deadly virus — it’s the reason we’ve had to shut down our economy and rely on social distancing. I’m sorry, but if you’ve been tested for covid and are suspected of having it and go out socialising anyway, who knows how many people you’re going to come into contact with who may be vulnerable or elderly? And even if you only come into contact with regular people, they could still suffer long term effects that will decrease their quality of life substantially. In Irish Criminal Law there is a charge of recklessness, that’s exactly what this is and it could easily lead to someone’s death.

I’m not succumbing to hyperbole, I’m being pragmatic. This “sure look be grand” attitude that some posters seem to have is what’s gotten us into this mess in the first place.

so what would you say to these lads who are stopping people and asking for their reasons for travelling amidst a deadly virus outbreak?? and this is just the ones who were caught, so this garda is also a genocidal maniac?

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/court-shuts-down-after-senior-member-of-an-garda-siochana-tested-positive-for-covid-19-39625051.html

• Registered Users Posts: 40,006 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

https://www.reddit.com/r/ireland/comments/jdxtht/hse_leaving_schools_in_the_dark/

Schools being shut due to lack of contact from HSE. This is happening with schools here in Cork City too, they have cases but HSE just says stay open and nothing after that

Like I said previously, how can schools remain fully open when contact tracing has collapsed.

More and more principals are taking upon themselves just to shut them down.

What other reasonable choice have they?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    That's a huge issue

The last time we locked down it took it took from the 12th of march to 18th of May for any reopening at all

That's 67 days or
    2 months, 6 days or
    9 weeks and 4 days

Back to level three?

I don't know why people are comparing the lockdown in March to the one we have now. Of course it took longer to bring cases down then as there were way more, just unreported. This lockdown now would be the equivalent of introducing measures in January or February. It won't take long to get these numbers down if we stick to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,099 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Its tough alright but on the plus side, I've got my first interview in 2 months tomorrow (3months unemployed now)!

I hope that these restrictions are fully enforced. If parents act responsibly, kids will be fine in school. We can suppress the virus back to a manageable daily level and then slowly relax restrictions, this time making sure its properly enforced. Hopefully my wife and our kids might get out for a dinner on Christmas eve as is tradition in our house.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    That's a huge issue

That's 67 days or
    2 months, 6 days or
    9 weeks and 4 days

Back to level three?

Then open retail which has been closed for weeks just in time for Christmas. Great f**king idea.
    The plan is keep the sh*tshow going in the hopes we will be top of the queue for a vaccine.

As part of their pandemic response action plan, many countries have enforced a ban on large gatherings of people in a bid to reduce transmission of covid19.

Schools are large gatherings of people, and despite all efforts to introduce extra safety measures in schools to try and prevent cross infection, the children will still be in close contact with each other for 6 hours per day.

National school children are not wearing masks. There is no social distancing on buses, and they are going from one house to the next in the evenings after school.

It is not possible to inforce a ban on stupidity.

It's known but waiting on results of large scale antibody testing been conducted by Maynooth to provide context to the data.

Would like to keep an eye on that - let us know if results are published, thanks.

• Registered Users Posts: 149 ✭✭KerryConnor

I teach and really want schools to stay open. But please, please start mass testing in schools.
    Schools should stay open but we need mass testing. Close down any schools with clusters for 14 days.
    At the moment we have no idea of what is going on in schools ..there could be dozens of cases in any of these schools where contract tracing is not taking place and no one is deemed a close contact. No restrictions will work til they start testing widely in schools and isolating where they need to.
    Boggles wrote: »
    Like I said previously, how can schools remain fully open when contact tracing has collapsed.

More and more principals are taking upon themselves just to shut them down.

What other reasonable choice have they?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,299 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

46 Long wrote: »
    According to Bill Gates, normality will only return once 2nd generation vaccines are available. First gen are expected to only be partially effective and they haven't even been approved yet, let alone distributed.

If he's right - and I suspect he is - sooner or later we're going to have to face the fact that we need to actually live with Covid and that lockdown yoyo is not a sustainable or appropriate response to this.

Regardless, we'll all be wearing masks for a long, long time to come.

Bill Gates is a businessman. He precisely the LAST fûcker to be listening to re: covid. Doctors, epidemiologists... certainly, Bill Gates ? NO... he isn’t an economic guru, he is a businessman , interested in making large sums of money quickly for HIS businesses. Covid isn’t compatible with his “ here, we just need to get on with it” schtick....

Guy faces down no danger from covid... he can literally hole up in one of his mansions for the duration, multiple cars, tennis courts, bowling alley, swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi. All high tech lines of communication to stay contacted and contactable and oversee the running of things... he WONT be facing any risk, his employees will be, for sure, he wants them to be, for sure.... he wants all the rest of us to be... because it adds more money to his pockets, feeds his empire... he can go fûck himself, guy is a billionaire but wants more....

GooglePlus wrote: »
    I don't know why people are comparing the lockdown in March to the one we have now. Of course it took longer to bring cases down then as there were way more, just unreported. This lockdown now would be the equivalent of introducing measures in January or February. It won't take long to get these numbers down if we stick to it.

I'll believe that when I see it

NPHET won't want us to get numbers down, then open up only for numbers to increase again

This is meant to be a short, sharp lockdown

I don't think it will be either short or sharp

• Registered Users Posts: 11,190 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Masks are doing a wonderful job look at the cases of infection rapidly decline since they were mandatory... Oh Wait

Masks are a good thing.
    Problem is if you get like 40 people going to a house party with no masks, touching everything, all beside each other. Then cases go up. As all it takes is one person to have it and pass it on.