Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Second Captains Part II

• Registered Users Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭sheroman01

I definitely pick and choose OTB stuff. Generally I wait for the podcasts, speed through and drop out as soon as I'm done.

I'd give them the benefit of the doubt at the moment. The lockdowns and working from home are going to affect everyone. I'd expect them to improve slightly when normality returns.

Kilbane and Cunningham had enough time there. They both only saw the world from the position of a dressing room in a mid to low take club. They rarely saw things from a different perspective. Sometimes I think Cunningham expects forwards to use magic to play because there's no way he'd change how he'd play to help the attack, eg push up, pass out etc.

I like that team 33 takes a more nerdy approach but their craic is awful.

Kilbane was a terrible listen I felt. Seems a lovely lad but not very interesting and was sometimes forcing opinions and the “bants”.

Cunningham grew on me I must say, thanks to OTB. His analysis is quite good and so dry it’s funny but can be a little much at times, almost Lawerson-esque.

Delaney personally annoys me. I just tend to disagree with everything he says and he struggles to get his point across.

As for OTB in general, I wasn’t listening when the lads were on it so can’t say much on those times. I’ve been listening on and off about 5/6 years now and it’s hit and miss. I turn it off when they talk about rugby or when John Giles come on. It feels like they talk about concussions every week too.

The Sunday Paper Review is genuinely brilliant though. Nice mix of guests and I personally love Joe Molloy, even if he is a little too PC at times.

There was a mention of Wolly here few posts back. He’s definitely an eejit, with some questionable views on life and sport but I must say his pod, The GAA Hour is brilliant. You can’t question his passion. His and his guests analysis is great too.

Sorry for going off topic! :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 19,581 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

McDevitt's intro today is unquestionably top quality sports broadcasting.

Aw, I love these guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,204 ✭✭✭ongarite

Very hard to listen to Klinsmann on the BBC football tonight after the guys dissected his very weird accent during the week.

Probably been answered already but what is the song that they use as background for the Euro intro, the violin/cello one?
    Very familiar but can't place it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,357 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

ongarite wrote: »
    Very hard to listen to Klinsmann on the BBC football tonight after the guys dissected his very weird accent during the week.

Probably been answered already but what is the song that they use as background for the Euro intro, the violin/cello one?
    Very familiar but can't place it.

Burn The Witch by Radiohead.

Arghus wrote: »
    Burn The Witch by Radiohead.

Wow. I would never have guessed that was Radiohead! Strange, I’ve only recently been getting into them too.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,889 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Arghus wrote: »
    I know he's an acquired taste, but I don't mind Damien Delaney all that much. Maybe it's only because I've so far only had small doses of him, but when I've heard him speak I think he does an okay job of explaining things from the footballer's perspective. I appreciate that his insight is from lived experience.

With the likes of Ken, Eoghan, Murph most of what they're saying about the how and the whys of a game is probably bullshit at the end of the day. Okay maybe, not out and out crap, but there's probably a million factors that they've overlooked into why a game goes the way that it does, they'll never really know what it was like to be out there on the field playing in the game being analysed- they are just essentially barstoolers, like the rest of us.

That's not to say that the lad's insights have no value. They're great at placing things in a wider context or providing a new way of looking at things or just being downright funny and/or clever with their allusions and analogies as applied to sport and they've got great chemistry as well. All that is great and enriches the experience, but I often think their actual analysis of why something happened on the field of play has to be taken with a pinch of salt.

But the OTB guys are barstoolers too, but from what I've heard,they don't even bring in that other stuff. Their bants sounded painful and forced - really sounded like loudmouth lads killing time talking about stuff, but with zero real value or content. Fcking hell, I thought, this is kinda tragic - it just sounded so basic.

I think the big difference between the 3 lads and other presenters is that they're interesting people. They're all clearly interested in all sorts of other stuff beyond their specialist sports, and are happy to let those other interests and experiences colour the way they talk about sport - Ken in particular obviously.

For the other lads it feels like beyond the chat about sport there's not a lot there. I'm sure they have their own interests away from it all, but you'd never really know it. Their broader personalities and enthusiasms stay tucked away, and they tend to stay in sort of 'acquaintance' mode.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Slash's book was a wild ride, can't blame McDevitt for being enthusiastic about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,369 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Pity we don't see more of the likes of Jonathan Wilson and James Horncastle on more mainstream British media. They're so much better informed, entertaining and unbiased compared to the likes of Rio Ferdinand or Steve McClaren, Shearer etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,369 ✭✭✭✭siblers

~Rebel~ wrote: »
    I think the big difference between the 3 lads and other presenters is that they're interesting people. They're all clearly interested in all sorts of other stuff beyond their specialist sports, and are happy to let those other interests and experiences colour the way they talk about sport - Ken in particular obviously.

For the other lads it feels like beyond the chat about sport there's not a lot there. I'm sure they have their own interests away from it all, but you'd never really know it. Their broader personalities and enthusiasms stay tucked away, and they tend to stay in sort of 'acquaintance' mode.

On today's podcast they spent around 10-15 minutes about The Summer Of 92 and a potential cast for the England Euro film, you would never hear something like that on OTB. I'd gladly have spent an hour listening to them debate the potential cast, was great listening

• Registered Users Posts: 4,823 ✭✭✭deisedude

Was painting a ceiling listening to the podcast this evening and nearly fell off the ladder laughing at Ken at the James McAvoy suggestion to play Declan Rice in the England 2020 movie

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Evil_g

Please stop with the hotkeys!

It's painful at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,394 ✭✭✭Beersmith

Evil_g wrote: »

Yeah the last few weeks they have been going crazy with them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭Still Ill

Yeah, last Friday's show was the worst I've ever heard in that respect. It was virtually every sentence

• Registered Users Posts: 10,310 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

That's when Simon produces.. And they're added after the fact too, which sometimes doesn't work great...

Similar to stopping with hotkeys, I'm hoping Where is George Gibney has won all of the awards it'll win. It was an excellent podcast in it's own right, but that bloody piano jingle is a pain every time they talk about what they won.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,230 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

1 in 10 can be funny. But Christ, the other 9 are painful.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,060 ✭✭✭bren2001

siblers wrote: »
    Pity we don't see more of the likes of Jonathan Wilson and James Horncastle on more mainstream British media. They're so much better informed, entertaining and unbiased compared to the likes of Rio Ferdinand or Steve McClaren, Shearer etc.

I would pay for a podcast that heavily featured Johnathan Wilson. For me, he is easily the best regular(ish) contributor they have on.

Cienciano wrote: »
    1 in 10 can be funny. But Christ, the other 9 are painful.

The odd one here and there can be perfectly placed and hilarious, but some days it can just be total overkill.

• Registered Users Posts: 926 ✭✭✭Salvation Tambourine

bren2001 wrote: »
    I would pay for a podcast that heavily featured Johnathan Wilson. For me, he is easily the best regular(ish) contributor they have on.

Only if Rory Smith isn't on enough to be considered regular(ish)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,068 ✭✭✭yermandan

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Raisins

Totally disagree. Delighted they’ve brought them into it more.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

I did laugh at the 'It's a dump' they threw in when they were talking about Roscommon.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,230 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

I think Hugh Grant could be Southgate. James Nesbit has to have a part in there somewhere

• Registered Users Posts: 561 ✭✭✭thenightman

The constant hotkeys, lets do that soccer and hearing Steve McClaren and the rubbish Euro intro (not a patch on WC 2018 one with the pharcyde & soccer is popular!) have been really getting on my wick lately, ditto for Gibney, but at least thats not been too heavily featured of late.

I'm actually going to go back into scumbag mode til October-ish once the euros is done. Hopefully a break will make me appreciate the better parts of the lads (like the England squad film casting chat) a bit more!

bren2001 wrote: »

Between Football Weekly and SC, you'll get more than your fair share of Wilson! I love him too, his encyclopedic mind (sorry Grealish) is genuinely astonishing. Through no fault of his own, I'm "almost" getting a little tired of him, just because I hear him so much between the two pods!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,205 ✭✭✭Lucas Hood

Wilson has his own podcast. Greatest games

https://theblizzard.co.uk/podcasts/

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Wilson has his own podcast. Greatest games

https://theblizzard.co.uk/podcasts/

Plus one on this. This is a great podcast.

Edit: Latest one of them is an interview with Tim Vickery talking about the 92 European Cup final.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭MyPeopleDrankTheSoup

this new boards.ie is a balls

did ya hear the whatsapp notification at 01:31:52 of the Notti Magiche episdoe when they were playing out the song? i'm cancelling my subscription with that amateur crap. i've been waiting all week for boards to back so i could vent

off topic, it's a pity boards was down over the weekend with both the final and mcgregor. you only miss it when it's gone

Was going to say this last week, I think the first ten minutes of every show from now on should be Ken describing the Liveline discussion from the day before.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,693 ✭✭✭Raoul

The Copa America pod was excellent. Tim is one of the best contributors they have.

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Dick Turnip

I see they're returning to RTE Radio 1 on Saturdays for the summer. Show at 1pm tomorrow.