Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Israeli - Palestinian Conflict *Threadbans in OP*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,784 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Odhinn wrote: »
    His comments maybe overblown but what I've seen doesn't descend to the level of anti-semitism.

You seem to be denying Israels well known arresting, detention, and interrogation of children with a deflection aimed at the corrupt Fatah. Ironic as well, in that Fatah co-operate with Israel in policing the West Bank.

https://www.btselem.org/statistics/minors_in_custody

Errm, no. I come back to my original question: The video posted by the provocateur and all-around bigot, was proven to be a lie. Do you (or anyone other than, perhaps, me, on this thread) agree? Or is it all about the whataboutism that abounds here?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,136 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Igotadose wrote: »
    Errm, no. I come back to my original question: The video posted by the provocateur and all-around bigot, was proven to be a lie. Do you (or anyone other than, perhaps, me, on this thread) agree? Or is it all about the whataboutism that abounds here?

Its not proven to be a lie, because it could simply be that he/the ones sprayed, were mistaken. It has been shown to be a false accusation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

https://www.euronews.com/2021/06/18/skunk-water-used-against-palestinian-protesters

Here's a link to euronews with a video

A tip for when you go on Twitter, when someone posts incorrect information, it doesn't invalidate the whole subject.

Its not proven to be a lie, because it could simply be that he/the ones sprayed, were mistaken. It has been shown to be a false accusation.

Hmm. So, if one knowingly bears false witness, which is the 'modern' version of putting it up on a flyer or shouting it in the street or saying it to someone's face, that's not a lie?

How do you define it? And, extra points if you use the provocateurs actions to explain the what a lie is, and not, e.g., the IDF or the NPHET or the Gardai or the #IMPOTUS. Because it seems pretty obvious to me, it's a lie.

I think we can agree that lying is bad. When the IDF does it, or the Israeli government does it, it's bad. When the US government does it, or the RCC, or the Irish government, or Donald Trump (world record holder in lies in a 4 year period by an elected official,) all worthy of condemnation.

And, not worthy of blithe acceptance, as was done by posters here when that LYING tweet was spread. Unless your willing to decry Trump's lies, but accept this provocateurs lies. Are you?

Hmm. So, if one knowingly bears false witness, which (,,,,,,,,,,,,,,)?

Theres no evidence that that was the case here with regard to the misidentification of the substance being sprayed. Yer man seems to be fond of the hyperbole but thats about the size of it.

But, uhh, the Damascus gate isn't the entry to the Al Aqsa mosque, is it?

The other libels and lies he profits from tweeting. The anti-Hinduism seems pretty telling. And, as they say, walks like a duck, talks like a duck... it's a duck. This guys a liar and an anti-semite (and anti-Hindu and who knows what else.)

And in news relating to Palestine, Amnesty have just released an article.

https://www.amnesty.ie/israeli-police-targeted-palestinians-with-discriminatory-arrests-torture-and-unlawful-force/

It makes horrific reading.
    “The evidence gathered by Amnesty International paints a damning picture of discrimination and ruthless excessive force by Israeli police against Palestinians in Israel and in occupied East Jerusalem,” said Saleh Higazi, Deputy Director for the Middle East and North Africa at Amnesty International.

“Police have an obligation to protect all people under Israel’s control, whether they are Jewish or Palestinian. Instead, the vast majority arrested in the police crackdown following the outbreak of intercommunal violence were Palestinian. The few Jewish citizens of Israel arrested were dealt with more leniently. Jewish supremacists also continue to organise demonstrations while Palestinians face repression.”

Amnesty International researchers spoke to 11 witnesses and its Crisis Evidence Lab verified 45 videos and other forms of digital media to document more than 20 cases of Israeli police violations between 9 May and 12 June 2021. Hundreds of Palestinians have been injured in the crackdown and a 17-year-old boy was shot dead.

eeepaulo wrote: »
    And in news relating to Palestine, Amnesty have just released an article.

https://www.amnesty.ie/israeli-police-targeted-palestinians-with-discriminatory-arrests-torture-and-unlawful-force/

It makes horrific reading.

The two tier 'justice' system is perhaps the clearest expression of the apartheid regime in the occupied territories.

That article certainly shows evidence of all of the criteria in HRW's description of the legal definition
    The crime of apartheid under the Apartheid Convention and Rome Statute consists of three primary elements: an intent to maintain a system of domination by one racial group over another; systematic oppression by one racial group over another; and one or more inhumane acts, as defined, carried out on a widespread or systematic basis pursuant to those policies.

Among the inhumane acts identified in either the Convention or the Rome Statute are “forcible transfer,” “expropriation of landed property,” “creation of separate reserves and ghettos,” and denial of the “the right to leave and to return to their country, [and] the right to a nationality.”

https://www.un.org/press/en/2021/sc14560.doc.htm

24 JUNE 2021
    SECURITY COUNCIL
    8804TH MEETING (AM)
    Israel Must End Settlement Activity, Special Coordinator Tells Security Council, Stressing Need for Restraint on All Sides
    The new Government of Israel must cease its settlement activity and all sides must exercise maximum restraint to preserve the fragile ceasefire which ended 11 days of bloodshed in May, the United Nations official in charge of the Middle East peace process told the Security Council today, as members called for the cessation of all measures designed to alter the demographic composition, character and status of the Occupied Palestinian Territory.

It would be lovely if israel would just abide by international law.

But we will hear nothing, until Palestinians resist, then that's terrorism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,146 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Great to see this murderous apartheid state being called out.
    It’s just a pity the US and other powerful countries haven’t the balls to do the same.
    It goes to show what they think of the poor Palestinians.

The US are losing ground and prestige rapidly. Those skirts won't be around for much longer for the zionists to hide behind.

Great to see this murderous apartheid state being called out.
    It’s just a pity the US and other powerful countries haven’t the balls to do the same.
    It goes to show what they think of the poor Palestinians.

As I've said before on these threads, support BDS. Slowly but surely it will undermine efforts to shore up the Israeli state and its colonial regime.

More abuses by the apartheid state

Amnesty International has accused Israeli occupation police of using "ruthless excessive force" against "peaceful" Palestinian protesters in occupied East Jerusalem, a press release issued on Thursday revealed.

According to Amnesty International, Israeli police: "Failed to protect Palestinian citizens of Israel from premeditated attacks by groups of armed Jewish supremacists, even when plans were publicised in advance and police knew or should have known of them." The organisation added: "Police used unnecessary and excessive force to disperse Palestinian protests against forced evictions in East Jerusalem as well as against the Gaza offensive, while Jewish supremacists were allowed to organise demonstrations freely."
    https://www.middleeastmonitor.com/20210626-israel-used-ruthless-excessive-force-against-palestine-protesters/

www.aljazeera.com/amp/news/2021/6/29/demolitions-begin-in-occupied-east-jerusalems-silwan

Palestinians being ethnically cleansed in occupied East Jerusalem by the apartheid state, more crimes against humanity.

Tumbleweed until the Palestinians resist, then we'll hear words like unrest, like there is any rest.

www.aljazeera.com/amp/news/2021/6/29/demolitions-begin-in-occupied-east-jerusalems-silwan

Palestinians being ethnically cleansed in occupied East Jerusalem by the apartheid state, more crimes against humanity.

Tumbleweed until the Palestinians resist, then we'll hear words like unrest, like there is any rest.

...always we hear about 'Israels right to defend itself' with no recognition of the Palestinian right to resist.

More (effectively) state sanctioned violence against the Palestinian population

Israeli extremists are attacking Palestinians. But are these mobs or pro-government militias?

In May, violent groups of Israeli right-wing extremists carried out attacks against Palestinians across Israel and the West Bank. Extremists tagged Palestinian neighborhoods with racist slogans, sometimes marking them for future attacks. They patrolled the streets of Israel’s “mixed cities” bearing arms, and some reportedly stabbed, beat and stoned Palestinian civilians and protesters.
    https://www.washingtonpost.com/politics/2021/06/28/israeli-extremists-are-attacking-palestinians-are-these-mobs-or-pro-government-militias/?fbclid=IwAR1uQl3oS347JrWERE5wjwbAe_jryqtH0DPjzJrzO19hjgkDtY0lZyO04qk

Policing protests with rifle fire

Since the beginning of May and the Gaza operation, at least four Palestinians have been shot and killed by IDF soldiers using Ruger semi-automatic rifles, which have seen more frequent use in the West Bank in riot control, although it is live fire.
    https://www.haaretz.com/israel-news/.premium-the-israeli-army-s-non-lethal-weapon-of-choice-killed-four-palestinians-since-may-1.9956898?utm_source=Push_Notification&utm_medium=web_push&utm_campaign=General

More and more people are calling it by its name

Former UN chief says Israeli oppression 'arguably constitutes apartheid'

Ban Ki-moon calls for a new approach to the conflict that recognises the 'fundamental asymmetry between the parties'
    https://www.middleeasteye.net/news/former-un-chief-says-israeli-oppression-arguably-constitutes-apartheid?fbclid=IwAR10bvttRPaKwNvuaLiIoa5wJ4xlnDgAjQVGL5mVE47wR0rDAYvH-sQWQIc

So it looks like the apartheid state has lost (tied) an extension to what is clearly an apartheid law.

This new prime minister is even more backwards than the last one. He doesn't even recognise the West Bank - greater judea and samaria.
    The Israeli parliament has voted down an extension to controversial legislation that bars Arab Israelis from extending residency or citizenship rights to Palestinian spouses, in an early blow to the country’s new coalition government.

After a marathon all-night voting session that ended on Tuesday morning, the Knesset decided not to renew the law in a 59-59 vote. The outcome is widely seen as a stinging defeat for the prime minister, Naftali Bennett, who failed to unite the coalition’s disparate ideological wings in what he reportedly himself referred to as a “referendum” on the new government.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jul/06/israeli-pm-suffers-setback-in-vote-on-arab-citizenship-rights-law

So it looks like the apartheid state has lost (tied) an extension to what is clearly an apartheid law.

That'd be the apartheid state with the oppressed minority in government, amiright?

Yes the same apartheid state, they broke with the Arab list previously and joined the government.

So in your mind the fact that a few Arab representatives joined the government trumps actual evidence of crimes?

I notice you didn't acknowledge the rest of my post the apartheid part.
    The Israeli parliament has voted down an extension to controversial legislation that bars Arab Israelis from extending residency or citizenship rights to Palestinian spouses, in an early blow to the country’s new coalition government.

There are no palestinians from the occupied territories represented in the knesset.

It's interesting that while israel and its lobbying and advocacy groups are pushing to have anti semitism linked to any critism of israel through the IHRA definition, more and more Jews are speaking out and saying not in my name.

I loved how Naomi Wimborne-Idrissi who was suspended from the uk labour party for critising israel phrased it, she said as a Jew it was her duty to stand with the oppressed, never the oppressor.

One law for the colonist, another for the colonised

Armed settlers were filmed in May by human rights group B'Tselem shooting at Palestinians who did not endanger them, even as soldiers stood by and spoke with them.

They were part of a group that joined soldiers in clashes in Palestinian towns in the West Bank on May 14, during hostilities between Israel and Hamas in Gaza. In video clips from two villages, a civilian and a masked person wearing army pants were caught on film firing toward Palestinians. Two Palestinians were killed in the violence, but it is unclear which shooters were responsible.

https://www.haaretz.com/israel-news/.premium-settler-masked-person-filmed-shooting-at-palestinians-as-israeli-soldiers-watch-1.10006087

• Registered Users Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

You might want to do some research there. Modern tank guns tend to be very accurate. Same with the targeting systems from planes. Neither are 100% but they're a lot more accurate than the homemade rockets Hamas were firing.

BDS - slowly but surely, piece by little piece

Ben & Jerry’s ice-cream has announced that it will no longer sell its ice-cream in the occupied Palestinian territories, saying the sales are “inconsistent with our values.”The announcement on Monday was one of the highest-profile rebukes by a well-known brand of Israel’s settlements which are regarded as illegal under international law.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jul/19/ben-jerrys-to-stop-selling-ice-cream-in-palestinian-territories

And if anyone doubts the fear this kind of thing generates within the Israeli establishment......

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2021/jul/20/israel-pm-aggressive-action-ben-jerrys-ban-ice-cream-naftali-bennett-occupied-territories-unilever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,853 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Yeah I hear Israelis have been calling it an act of terrorism lol. time to pick up more pints.