Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Say Something Good about new boards, as boardsie who preferred old

• 18-07-2021 12:02am

Come on say something good.

Me: Noobs will get greater chance to be heard if they have anything useful to contribute. Older as well as chung wuns. For a brief period, " its who you know no boards not what you know" won't be a factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,303 ✭✭✭Kaybaykwah

I quickly get board trying to maneuver the site. That must be a positive, no? It’s not a negative, yes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,810 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

Well...nah can't think of anything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,524 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

To be fair, as they introduce the features it is getting better.

Too much wasted white space is still a big problem. Not sure if it can be fixed or whether that is the skin they are using.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,770 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Initially disappointed, i now think actually rolling out new functions/features over days and weeks might actually help me with my automatic outlook of 'change is bad'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88,438 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,269 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

The font is bigger, which is better for my old eyes. That's about it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I like change so I'm willing to go along with it and see how things work out.

Or..I've no life and this is all there is;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,229 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

It's so futuristic, it feels like a New Mobile Phone in my hand as I think of the Star Trek thingy-ma-jiggy..ahhh u know,.when they use to say:Beam Me Up Scotty.. feck sake do u not remember!? It was like an old flip phone before flip phones were invented,.do u remember now!?!?

Ahhhhh forget about it ffs 👿

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Tork

I like the larger text and that your username doesn't show up on the browser when you're logged in. After that, nah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 470 ✭✭The Oort Cloud

Will there be a dark-mode for this upcoming finalisation of the new boards.ie website?. That would be a nice add-on, pretty please.

Individual people have different thoughts and understanding in regard to others opinions, but the problem is this... there are some people out there that will do everything in their power to cut you off when they do not like your opinion even when it is truth.

https://youtu.be/v8EseBe4eIU

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,714 ✭✭✭con747

Emm, Oh yeah, no, Hmm, no. Ah, it's still called Boards.ie that's good. 🙄

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

Something ‘good’? Hmmm.

Thus far, this forum update has met my expectations perfectly, without any deviation from my anticipated disappointment and awful user experience.

One might take that as ‘good’, were one to have been graced with a vocabulary matching the standards most commonly bestowed through an education in the American colonies.

Something else ‘good’? It’s not quite as bad as MySpace or BeBo were in their dying throes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,081 ✭✭✭sheesh

I think it really has captured the zeitgeist.

And it works which the other one didn't

look its fine what are we worried about at least it isn't facebook

• Registered Users Posts: 451 ✭✭sliabh 1956

Id love to as I am a huge fan I rarely post but I follow several threads avidly Mrs Sliabh reckons too much at times . But this latest incarnation leaves me underwhelmed if only I could get back my followed forums that would be a start. Or even set a new followed forum section that would be a start.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

The new quote system is way better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,702 ✭✭✭prunudo

A positive you say, I suppose I'll have more time for other tasks as I won't be able, I mean can't spend time catching up on threads I used to previously follow and browse.

Another positive maybe that it might get better as features get added. But at present I find it unusable, it just doesn't flow, takes too long to quickly browse and catch up on followed threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Can't think of anything. Hardly be on boards anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,505 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

its grand , I can post ,which is all i did on the old one.

not sure why people are making such a fuss.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,596 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

It might stop the multi quoting, that kills many a good thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

endless array of new emojis..........

..........................and that's about it really😶😕

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,414 ✭✭✭corner of hells

I ike the smell off it , sorta like an aroma of petrol and strawberries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,414 ✭✭✭corner of hells

• Registered Users Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

The missus is no longer giving out to me for being on Boards all the time.

My threads are called Discussions and my posts are called comments cool ..

Also if I'm in the middle of writing a post ohhh I mean a comment,and I go back a page to check something..my half written comment is still sitting there ready to be completed and posted,. That's cool.

Italy bayyyyyte England 3-2 on penalties in the Euros 2020/2021 Final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,775 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

You can paste an image directly into a post, rather than having to attach it as a file first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

It will get there, it's just going to take a lot of the time, the mobile site is what's awful and needs all the work, when you put it to desktop mode it seems a lot better to navigate....

But attaching GIFs and videos and the like is much easier thankfully and doesn't need a degree in vBulletin software

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,841 ✭✭✭The J Stands for Jay

Mobile site is shite.

Anyway, good points...

1. I've stopped getting countless email notifications of replies to threads (and notifications of replies that were posted 2 weeks ago).
    2. I typed "shite" in a reply and it wasn't censored.

• Registered Users Posts: 17 Bloodymice

Am I the only one who can’t figure out the new layout at all? My followed threads are gone. I used to use ‘recent posts’ all the time - has that gone too?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

Same here. The amount of unnecessary clicking that I need to do to find anything keeps making me give up and do other things. It's probably like the way the legislative UX update for smoking nearly 20 years ago made a lot of people quit.

They're in your 'view profile' .. they are now called Discussions and Comments. Scroll down the page.

It's so easy to navigate this newly refurbished Boards.

I'm sure most of us use the mobile site... And I for one have no issues with it!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,093 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

As Jimmy Carr said at the height of the controversy surrounding his tax arrangements:

"In my defence...nah, I got nothing..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 641 ✭✭✭howardmarks

Post edited by howardmarks on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,479 ✭✭✭✭briany

I like the notification bell to tell you when someone has responded to one of your posts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,609 ✭✭✭blackbox

It doesn't seem to be as slow as it was a couple of days ago.

In fairness, there's no way now to rate your own thread, and give it Excellent rating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

I’m no longer using the site so save a ton of money from bargain alerts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,311 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

I'm not wasting as much time as I did looking for bargains and posting bargain alerts.

Wake me up when it's all over.

Can anyone assure me that my emoji choices are visible to you guys. I just don't have the emoji icon at the bottom of my comment box. So I assume as I am on my android mobile...that I just use my phones available emojis. Which is grand 😎🍕👌🏻🥂🐴🎾 ←←can you see them?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭Username here

I have way more free time, because I'm barely on it anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,311 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Yes I can see them 😎🍕👌🏻🥂🐴🎾

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,178 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Uploading photos is easy now. I no longer have issues with € £ % etc. These used to turn to squiggles on old platforms for me.

Lots of negative stuff so far but lots of good changes too. A lot of moaning posters seem to forget that this is a free to use website that doesn't sell your private data. Hopefully with patience we will have a great site

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,280 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Drafts

On the old site it was very annoying losing a post you'd spent ages writing out because of a timeout or some other error when you finally clicked the post button, so I really like the draft feature

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Whenever I hear it is free to use website so because of that I should be more forgiving, not complain etc I want to puke.

Guess what, most forums are free ;)

I am not the one complaining all the time, but just because discussion forum is free, doesn't mean we should somewhat tone the complaints down.

There is no Internet forum without users, that's what builds the brand of the forum and brings revenue so it is definitely important to keep the community informed and happy.

Just my 2 cents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,234 ✭✭✭mistersifter

it makes you want to spend less time online. That's a positive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,888 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Once I figured out that I can track the discussions I'm involved in via the "Bookmarks" link in my profile, most of my complaints became invalid. It's still much clunkier than the old Boards.ie, but we'll get used to it eventually and I don't like not being able to snip out the irrelevant parts of a quoted post. I also dislike not being able to search for users posts in a given thread.

But I like the image uploading feature. Much, much, easier than having to link to an online image all the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,252 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Is it possible to make a "My forums" list like the old boards?