Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Olympic Cycling events

• 21-07-2021 12:26pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭

Course

Hard course for the Olympics this year.

Schedule

• Saturday, July 24: Men's Road Race from 3 AM (GMT+1)
    • Sunday, July 25: Women's Road Race from 5 AM (GMT+1)
    • Wednesday, July 28: Woman's Time Trial from 3:30 AM (GMT+1) and Men's Time Trial from 6 AM (GMT+1)

Mens Pro Team RR

Eddie Dunbar, Dan Martin and Nicolas Roche

Men Pro Team TT

Nicolas Roche

I am really looking forward to this race. Will get up at 5.30am BST

Ireland haven't a bad team either ...just hope Dan Martin who was coming good at the end of the Tour is not too knackered.

If Ireland don't win any medals for the cycling they may just win it for the kit

Take a look at Nico

Post edited by magicbastarder on

They did a great job on the kit going by that instagram video.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,380 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

What time (Irish) is the men's road race expected to finish?

I see coverage on Eurosport runs until about 1030am?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

I heard it would finish between 9.30am and 10am but could be abit faster or a bit slower

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 47,973 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

the main road race has a similar distance and elevation to the boards evil.

maybe the boards evil should be made into a UCI event.

Am I the only one who thinks Ireland may have a chance of a medal here

It will have to be an opportunistic medal and it is important the Irish riders follow the late attacks/breakaways

There will be so much marking of the big favourite that it is possible to slip away in a group ..all 3 of our riders will have to follow the attacks at different points in the race to be in with a shout and not stay in the bunch

not all attacks will come on the final big climb

• Registered Users Posts: 900 ✭✭✭nicksnikita

Anything could happen. Best shout might be Dan out of a reduced bunch at the finish.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,457 ✭✭✭lennymc

• Registered Users Posts: 5,301 ✭✭✭gordongekko

If Eddie had a few more race days over the last month I'd really fancy his chances

• Registered Users Posts: 24,011 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Love that Roche got matching equipment too. Lots of riders just use trade team kit iirc.

Good too that Ireland finally got out of that horrible Asics contract

He was quietly building form in the TdF which bodes well.

I really hope Roche gets in an early break. He is amazing for showing up for every Irish race but he is pretty anonymous once the race starts so seeing as it will be his last Olympics it would be nice to see him out in front

Was it not Spin 11 that were doing the most recent Ireland kit? Thought that was decent enough. Can't see who is doing the new ones, think it's Adidas for most of the sports but not sure about the cycling kit.

Even in the world tour some brands over the last year or so have done well by riders. Specialized with the world champs bikes and BMC for Nizzolo when he was Italian champ, they changed his bike to match his European chaps jersey now he no longer Italian champ which I spotted in the Belgian race today. Meriada had all their riders on matching bikes for their new national champs at the tour. Must feel great at any level when they give you a shiny new bike to match your jersey, I know it's marketing too but still. I'd be chuffed.

• Registered Users Posts: 859 ✭✭✭Randy Archer

Slim and f all . Sincerely hope I’m wrong

Martin did alright at the Giro, with a nice stage win, but was well over 10 minutes behind the top 3 , alas a weak team. TDF , he couldn’t really stick with the break. He’s bound to be knackered. What he has as an advantage is that he has raced and won in Japan in recent times. He’s a great man for the sound bite and excuses. Telling everyone that the first week and a bit was “boring” and that he’d come into it once they get to the Alps.. but… he came no where close to delivering it . Pretty evident too that the team favoured Woods (another total waffler about his climbing prowess , but he’s a favourite of the owner) How Dan didn’t feel like killing the owner over being publicly favoured by an unproven Grand Tour Rider (Woods) must have been a kick in the teeth .

As for Roche, a decent Giro, got a podium and Sunweb have been poor this season, he’s been good though , but …. he won’t be much use later , like the other Olympic

Eddie, I know he was being flogged at the front of the Ineoas train and did his bit in the minor races , and I know he has had awful injuries, but I worry for him and his lack of opportunities to ride in Grand Tours , wasn’t picked for the Giro (and he came third in a stage and a top 20 in his first appearance) he hasn’t ridden a lot this year.

Touch wood , he will come good, because just don’t expect much from Martin (least he had excuses) . Neither Martin and Roche have achieved good results in all the years that they have ridden in the Olympics or the Worlds , they ain’t going to change now

hope bought Eddie and Martin can stay out of crash trouble , and don’t miss breaks. Martin won’t be allowed up the road on his own for long

(Do not let the fact that they are Irish judge reality )

New Balance did the Irish cycling Olympics kits for 2016 and I think 2012

No ones is letting the fact they are Irish judge reality ..

I know exactly what they can and cant do but all three are capable of going in the right move and that is what is required

people have gotten medals for less

Would have thought Sam's UCI points would have left us with more than 3 spots but I must look up what the deal is there to remind myself of the rule. The Mexicans have got the calculation wrong it seems.

All Olympic kits are done by the same group. I was wrong to say Asics as they were an older supplier and it was New Balance I was thinking of and I remember reading about problems back around the time they were taking over the Irish soccer kit.

I know suppliers kit riders out if they have special jerseys but when cycling for the national team you often see a team all have different colour trade helmets ad I dont like it. Even worse was London 2012 when Specialised gave every on of their riders an orange bike and helmet that turned yellow flou when heated and didnt look good with any team kits

Edit: Looks like the Irish lads are going full tricolour with the helmets which I never realised they done last time too

https://www.instagram.com/p/CRn9tN6Lj4S/?utm_source=ig_embed&utm_campaign=loading

The spots are based on points scored in 2019 , the criteria for the original 2020 date

while Sam won multiple races in 2019 including Grand Tour , they weren’t the big races like he won in 2020

think the super nations only have 4-5 spots

anyway, no harm , we only have three pro riders capable of this terrain - sending anyone else to this course , including Sam would be just to make up numbers and to collect the tracksuit

• Registered Users Posts: 13,952 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

I thought the larger countries had more but you are right, the max anyone has is 5 spots - France, Spain, Italy, Belgium and Netherlands. Will make it much harder to control.

Pog and Rog with Tratnik and Polanc in support see both of them as favourites

• Registered Users Posts: 7,197 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

The problem a lot of teams will have with 4 or 5 riders is that of those, all will wake up that morning thinking they might win it.

The allocation is a lot smaller than at the WC where top nations have full GC teams

I'll be happy enough if they at least give it a go. Even if it's a slim hope hail Mary attack I would prefer it to the usual riding around in the bunch we normally get from Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 7,519 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Not expecting much from Ireland so if they got in a breakaway that would be something

I think Connor Dunne went in an early break at the worlds he rode. At Yorkshire Dan saw the bus and thought fup this I reckon and I don't blame him.

Dunne was trying to put himself in the shop window or failing that go out with a bang.

Yorkshire was just mental and one thing I noted at that race in regards to buses is Ireland don't have one. Its just a camper van and the lads really didn't look too chuffed squashed inside it getting ready and looked ready to quit just heading for the sign up

• Registered Users Posts: 6,457 ✭✭✭lennymc

Dunbar won young rider in tour de suisse while riding for carapaz, he could be a schneaky outside chance for a medal if (as posted above) he gets into the right move. I just hope he doesn't do a dunbar and go on a massive solo break for nothing. Hopefuly Nico will help with the experience.

They should just take turns trying to get in breaks and come what may. The Olympics is a hard race to control so get in the right break and at least there is some hope

• Registered Users Posts: 1,722 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

I reckon that whoever is the fastest galloper in the group that gets over the top of the Mikuni Pass first will take it. The remainder of the course looks quite difficult to pull back any meaningful break. If Van Aert could hold on to back of the climbers, it would be his. However I think the 20% bits will do him in.

The course would really suit a younger Valverde.

Forecast is now looking like light rain for much of the day on the second half of the parcours.

Dan is a younger Valverde : ) but I assume you mean a man in his 20s.

Van Aert could manage the course but I just don't see someone who done the Tour at full gas winning this.

It's such a pity France don't have Ala and Bardet there too

• Registered Users Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

So this will be on Saturday morning Irish time lads?